Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slimming World - II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I’m joining in January after the current plan I’m on runs out.
    Are you allowed to drink at the weekends? That’s my biggest fear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭waxmelts2000

Week 32 down 1/2lb= 65lbs lost. Onwards and downwards. Im delighted with that as I have still been off plan was off plan for 5 days, my luck is surely running out! I'm hoping to at least maintain over next few weeks as I've a good few nights out. 10lbs to target no rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Valyawl your consistent losses are inspirational, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭banoffe2

Well done Valyawl, fair play to you, that is some achievement, you must be over the moon, so many benefits, enjoy your success!

Thank you guys for your kind words, yes I'm thrilled!

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭jennyhayes123

Chipping away, have had a loss every week bar a stat the same one week. Plodding along. Feeling great and now down 8lb.
    All the 1/2lbs add up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭Lashes28

Joined slimming world two weeks ago
    First weigh in was on Wednesday and I'm 8 1/2 lb down.. absolutely delighted.
    Going to really try to have a full stone off me before the new year..fingers crossed

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭deh983

Hi all. Does anyone have any tips for staying regular??? Apologies but it’s so frustrating. I was a member a few years ago and it happened too but I only joined 2 weeks ago & im there again.

Again so so sorry for asking but it makes me want to give up coz it affecting the scales.

deh983 wrote:
    Hi all. Does anyone have any tips for staying regular??? Apologies but it’s so frustrating. I was a member a few years ago and it happened too but I only joined 2 weeks ago & im there again.

deh983 wrote:
    Again so so sorry for asking but it makes me want to give up coz it affecting the scales.

Maybe pay in advance to make you go?
    I find when I allow myself the treats and fill up on food I'm not as bad wanting the treats. I buy small bars so that I can still have chocolate (my fav) I get meringue nests, muller light yogurts and jelly for sitting down at night. Takes a while to get thru.
    I'm usually more of a treat than fruit person but got really good pears in Tesco this week that were really juicy that helped
    Also being 8lb down since I started has kept me going as I feel better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

I took that to mean the poster is constipated? maybe I'm wrong ☺ but I found the opposite. with all the fruit and veg I eat now I have no issues bathroom-wise. I eat a lots of apples (with the skin), pears, oranges, peas, broccoli, cabbage, brussels and homemade veg soup and never have any bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Maybe pay in advance to make you go?
    I find when I allow myself the treats and fill up on food I'm not as bad wanting the treats. I buy small bars so that I can still have chocolate (my fav) I get meringue nests, muller light yogurts and jelly for sitting down at night. Takes a while to get thru.
    I'm usually more of a treat than fruit person but got really good pears in Tesco this week that were really juicy that helped
    Also being 8lb down since I started has kept me going as I feel better

I thought the poster was talking about poo?

Lol silly me
    I thought they meant to keep them going to slimming world. Whoops. Sorry
    I find I go more regular whilst doing SWa

Are you drinking enough water too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Try drinking lots of water and eating fruit and vegetables that contain water like celery and melon for example. Also if you aren't very active get try walking to get things going! That's what works for me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Lashes28 wrote: »
    Are you drinking enough water too??

Absolutely this.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭deh983

Thank for all the replies. Unfortunately I am talking about constipation!! I am literally eating all those foods and make 2 big pots of soup a week. I think it’s the water actually. I didn’t drink as much towards the end of last week now that I think about it.

Many many thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

Scan bran is supposed to be brilliant to get things moving according to some people in my class. However apparently there is a shortage of scan bran at the moment.

Where would you get scan bran, never heard of it, and how would you use it, thanks for reading, go luck to all sw members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭m'lady

They have discontinued scan bran, well selling it in SW classes. Most health food shops sell it though..

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Areas

I was down 2.5 pounds last night bringing me to 53.5lbs (3stone 11.5lbs) in 31 weeks. I'm really going to work hard this week to get the 2.5lbs more I need to get my 4 stone award for christmas. I'm going to keep a good diary, drink loads of water and get some body magic in during the week and the weekend. Party season is starting on the 15th so I want to give myself the best possible start to the christmas season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

banoffe2 wrote: »
    Where would you get scan bran, never heard of it, and how would you use it, thanks for reading, go luck to all sw members

Holland & barrett do it. Some people eat them like they would crackers, I break prefer to break it up into some yogurt & fruit.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 lilythepinked

Been combining Intermittent Fasting with Slimming World. Incredible results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

Anyone ever done Slimming World online? My consultant left and we have a replacement one now. I just find her a bit irritating and insincere. I didn't go last week and have decided I'm going to weigh in at the same time at home each week and keep an eye on my weight. If I find myself losing track I will join again, but I don't think that's going to happen. Trying to lose another 6 pounds after losing 4 stone 1 1 1/2 pounds. Has anyone tried this before? Has it worked?

I agree some leaders are better than others, you have done really well crazzer22, and it gets tougher when you have less to loose, any member I know who opted out to do it on their own, put most of the weight back on. IMO the discipline of standing on the scales is a great motivator! Continue good look what ever you decide, you dont have to wait for the talk, keep up the good work, your flying!

Week 33 down 1 1/2lb= 66.5 lost. Onwards and downwards. Im delighted with that as I have still been off plan for 4days but I suppose making better choices than I would have had in the past. I'm hoping to at least maintain over next few weeks as I've a good few nights out. My Friend iscalling tonight Prosecco in the fridge but have a slimming world friendly dinner so not all bad.

2 1/2 pound down this week...so 11 pound in two weeks.
    My aim is to have 3 pound off this week and get my stone award.
    Wasn't going to start slimming world until after Xmas but so glad I did. Will hopefully be going into the new year 1 stone lighter.

Really agree with consultants. mine made me feel like I was letting myself down because I weighed and left this week. I have 3 kiddies, 2 under 2 life happens and sometimes i cant commit to sit and listen to peoples shíte for a hour, don't make me feel like a bold child!!

I feel like what I would imagine AA would be like at the meetings. They just don't do it for me. I generally try and stay anyway

I reached my 4 stone target last night. 32 weeks and 4 stone gone. I'm so happy to have reached this target. I am now half way through my journey. I'm going to keep going to slimming world over Christmas, but I'm also going to enjoy myself on Christmas day. Whether it's having a drink or 2 on a night out, or having dessert on Christmas day. I'm going to be 100% on plan right up until Christmas day and starting straight away again on New Years day. I have a wedding in May and I want to be feeling and looking great! A few weeks ago I took every singe item of clothing in my wardrobe out and anything with a size 24...22...and 18 all went in to bags for charity. Anything I have left have only been bought in the past 2 months! It was a great feeling. My size 16 jeans are now getting loose on me as well, so I'm looking forward to giving them to charity soon after Christmas as well and getting in to a size 14 for the first time in years!

Well done Areas delighted for you. Val

Week 34 down 3lbs= 69.5 lost plus slimmer of the week! No gain or maintain since I started. I nearly can't believe I'm near my target, I could cry.

Onwards and downwards. Im delighted with that as I had 3 big nights with dinner, vodkas, prosecco! I suppose making better choices than I would have had in the past and no syns since Sunday morning . I had booked next 2 weeks off but am going to go next week and get that 5 stone award!!!

Week 35 down .5=70 lbs lost .No gain or maintain since I started. Got my 5 stone award thrilled.

Onwards and downwards. I am delighted with that as I had 2 big nights with dinner, vodkas, prosecco! plus star week on top of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Whiplashy

I've been in Christmas mode for the last few weeks. Haven't been to group and haven't stepped on the scales at home, but I know I've put up a lot. Determined to get back on plan after Christmas but it's going to be ages until I get a reward as I've so much to relose. I paid for a Countdown and it's up the start of January. Does anyone know if I can go back to group, with a voucher of course :) , and rejoin as a new member. Then I can start from where I actually am and will have the rewards to spur me on. Only problem is, with the countdown, I won't have actually missed a paying week, so worried I won't be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭m'lady

Whiplashy wrote: »
    I've been in Christmas mode for the last few weeks. Haven't been to group and haven't stepped on the scales at home, but I know I've put up a lot. Determined to get back on plan after Christmas but it's going to be ages until I get a reward as I've so much to relose. I paid for a Countdown and it's up the start of January. Does anyone know if I can go back to group, with a voucher of course :) , and rejoin as a new member. Then I can start from where I actually am and will have the rewards to spur me on. Only problem is, with the countdown, I won't have actually missed a paying week, so worried I won't be allowed.

You won’t get rewards if your losing the weight that you’ve already lost if you don’t rejoin as a new member. I don’t see why you won’t be allowed to rejoin, losing your history with a voucher, just don’t bring in your card that you have now!

any advice on the Intermittent fasting?

• Registered Users Posts: 30 lilythepinked

Check out Dr.Berg. Just google him. He has loads of info on YouTube. Really good and helpful. :)

Week 36 - No official weigh in for me as I booked a holiday week. However based on my scales I'm up 8lbs!!!! I have had way too much to eat and drink completely off plan. My meals are ok but it's the snacks and booze...I still have a few nights out but will try to reign it in, I feel bloated and generally crap, however I have enjoyed it too!

Onwards and downwards.

My boyfriend said to me Christmas Eve "Can we take bets on how much weight you will gain over Christmas!!" The Fecker!!

I haven't gone to group in a few weeks (at target so don't have to go every week)
    I've been keeping an eye on the scales at home though & I don't think I've done too much damage, If my scales is accurate I'm about a 3 & a half lb over target so I only need to drop a half to keep within my target limit.

I'm actually looking forward to getting back on plan 100%, All this lovely Christmas food & junk is giving me horrible heartburn & I'm feeling sluggish. I want to get back to the lower end of my target range too, it's amazing how much you can feel the extra few lbs in your clothes!

I was up 1 lb at my weigh in on Stephens day, I'm taking a holiday week on New Years day because I'm going to be gone away for the weekend but when I come back on the 2nd I'm right back on plan with an SP week to kickstart the new year!

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭Mkelly1989

So here we go. Time to bite the bullet and join slimming world as I have gone ott over the Christmas and I now see the reality of what I need to do. 3 stone in total to lose but I believe I can do it ^_^

Anyone here a member of the group in Terenure? Would love to know what the group is like.

Thanks all!!

Week 37- Well I braved the scales today and my expected gain was not as bad as I thought but my first official gain none the less! I'm up 4.5lbs I'm delighted with that and had a brilliant Christmas having had the worst year in my personal life so I enjoyed myself and had a ball. I'm sort of back on plan but not fully, night out Saturday night but that's the end of it then. 9.5lbs to target

Onwards and downwards!! Val

I’m joining tomorrow, so nervous! Wanted to join in January so was delighted to get a coupon in the Mirror at the weekend.

Week 38- Down 1/2lb, I'm sort of back on plan but not fully, i really need to get my head back in the game! 9lbs to target, 66lbs lost

Onwards and downwards!! Val

My last weigh in was the 7th of Dec, I planned on going last week but a friend called in to me & I couldn't get away.
    I reckon I'm up about 5lbs, which isn't the worst considering the time of year... But I'll be doing well if that is all scales shows, I forgot it was weigh day when I was getting ready for work & put on a pair of heavy wool trousers & a big jumper to keep me warm! I'd say will add another 2 lbs!!

Feck it though! I've two holidays booked within the next 6 months so it's time to accept the gains & get back to plan 100%

I forgot it was weigh day when I was getting ready for work & put on a pair of heavy wool trousers & a big jumper to keep me warm! I'd say will add another 2 lbs!!

Go wearing light clothes next week....extra loss woo!!!

Areas wrote: »
    Go wearing light clothes next week....extra loss woo!!!

I'm going to feel great next week :D

I usually wear the same clothes to work every Thursday, a dress & tights, that probably weigh less that half a lb...

Does anyone else have weigh-day clothes?

I always wear the same clothes if I can. The lightest thing in my wardrobe! I didn't until I had a "bad" week and I panicked and threw off my shoes at the scales and made sure I was wearing basically nothing! I lost 3 pounds that week I think!

Up 6!

Have to drop 3 by next week or I become a paying member again!

I made the diet coke chicken recipe today it was really nice. It didn’t say serve with anything though. I boiled some basmati rice. I wonder do they intend for it to be on its own?

Looking at the vodka fusilli on pinch of nom website.

Has anyone ever tried Quark? It sounds scary.

I use quark when I'm making the berry burst cheesecake. I make it every 2 weeks either for the work canteen or for home. It's such a big hit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

In pasta dishes I often substitute Philadelphia lightest for quark (110g is your HEA or 5.5 syns). I am not a fan of quark. Himself loves the stuff though - he used it in place of cream over Christmas, I have made pannacottas before using it that he loved. I have also added it to soups for that creamy texture.