Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freesports

16781012

Comments

  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    Ireland lost 2-0


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    Ireland lost 2-0

    Hehehehehe ...... it is the pic quality I will be watching :)

    EDIT: The pic quality is very good ...... bright sharp colours and no artefacts ...... pity the cameras were not better positioned or managed.


  • Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg


    kooga wrote: »
    is that freesports uk or Roi?

    They are virtually identical, it’s impossible to tell them apart until a programme (Pro14) gets blocked.


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    icdg wrote: »
    They are virtually identical, it’s impossible to tell them apart until a programme (Pro14) gets blocked.

    Is it the ROI version that differs from the FTA version?


  • Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf


    So it is hd on fta but not on freesat yet?

    Copa America games are on at post midnight times. Hardly a great audience there.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    So it is hd on fta but not on freesat yet?

    Copa America games are on at post midnight times. Hardly a great audience there.

    The HD version is still on a testing frequency FTA.
    The SD version is properly assigned.

    We can only hope the HD version remains FTA when it is correctly assigned.


  • Registered Users Posts: 53,803 ✭✭✭✭Headshot


    For anyone interested I tuned into Sky other channels using:

    11.426 V, 27.500, 5/6, DVB-S, QPSK

    It seems a very stuttering picture with no sound while watching the Italy v Ecuador U20 match, anyone else having that same issue?


  • Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf


    Haven't they said hd is coming to sky and freesat mid july?


  • Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg


    Is it the ROI version that differs from the FTA version?

    Yes. But all differences are accomplished using the Sky conditional access system to block individual programmes. Nothing different is played out.

    Not all Copa America games are post midnight Btw - there are games kicking off at 8:00pm and 11:00pm tomorrow (on eir Sport 2, not FreeSports - as I mentioned earlier FreeSports is carrying the North American equivalent, the Concacaf Gold Cup).


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    Headshot wrote: »
    For anyone interested I tuned into Sky other channels using:

    11.426 V, 27.500, 5/6, DVB-S, QPSK

    It seems a very stuttering picture with no sound while watching the Italy v Ecuador U20 match, anyone else having that same issue?

    This seems to be a Sky box issue, other types okay as far as I can tell.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭lgs 4


    Freesport picture is looking good on Samsung 4K watching Italy and Ecuador .As long as grubby handed Sky are no not involved.


  • Posts: 0 [Deleted User]


    Headshot wrote: »
    For anyone interested I tuned into Sky other channels using:

    11.426 V, 27.500, 5/6, DVB-S, QPSK

    It seems a very stuttering picture with no sound while watching the Italy v Ecuador U20 match, anyone else having that same issue?


    Same here. Unwatchable on a SkyHD box. Fine on a Humax Freesat box.


  • Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf


    I watched a bit of the u20 soccer last night.
    I know a lot of these type of games are commentated on from a studio but Paul Dempsey (I think it was him) sounded like he was in a phone booth.

    How did teams qualify for that competition as there seems to be an awful lot of mickey mouse type teams - Qatar, Tahiti, etc.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    How did teams qualify for that competition as there seems to be an awful lot of mickey mouse type teams - Qatar, Tahiti, etc.

    Each confederation is represented by qualification. Oceania has two teams New Zealand is the other. Australia in in the Asia group these days but didn't qualify.


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    Ireland Vs Mexico live at present ..... 3rd/4th place play off.


    ..... and Ireland lose on penalties.


  • Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭cc


    Still SD on freesat on a LG tv


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    It will be until they make the switch on 252, right now you have to tune it manually.


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose


    freesports hd just went off a few minutes ago

    edit: its back again :)


  • Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭kooga


    freesports hd just went off a few minutes ago

    edit: its back again :)

    when you say freesports Hd is this manual tune on a sky box or fta box

    is it not on the sky or freesat epg?


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭FRIENDO


    @kooga

    11426
    V
    27500

    FTA at the moment, still on test


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose


    kooga wrote: »
    when you say freesports Hd is this manual tune on a sky box or fta box

    is it not on the sky or freesat epg?

    it was a FTA box


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭mackersdublin


    FreeSports HD was added to Freesat's test region on Monday. It's due to replace the SD version on Channel 252

    https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/93922861#Comment_93922861 #447


  • Registered Users Posts: 13,985 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951


    FreeSports HD was added to Freesat's test region on Monday. It's due to replace the SD version on Channel 252

    https://forums.digitalspy.com/discussion/comment/93922861#Comment_93922861 #447

    Is this on a different frequency to the FTA HD test that has been ongoing for some time?


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    Freesports HD EPG is now populated.


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭mackersdublin


    Is this on a different frequency to the FTA HD test that has been ongoing for some time?

    No. It's the same test channel (52575) on 11426 V 27500 5/6


  • Registered Users Posts: 7,811 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf


    When is this due to arrive on freesat?


  • Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭mackersdublin


    When is this due to arrive on freesat?

    Nothing official, but due to launch on Sky UK on 15th July. Hopefully it launches on Freesat on the same day


  • Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭fman


    They have confirmed on Twitter that they will go on Freesat too but not on the sky Ireland EPG.


  • Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr


    Good to see it confirmed, just as an aside if you're an Arsenal fan they are broadcasting delayed showings of their pre-season.

    It'll be interesting to see if the HD as standard gives them an edge over ITV4 in particular when it comes to picking up rights. Obviously the channel will need to bang the drum to make their visually enhanced service known to more.


  • Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭givecredit


    fman wrote: »
    They have confirmed on Twitter that they will go on Freesat too but not on the sky Ireland EPG.

    HD exclusive to non subscribers...


Advertisement