Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do you drink?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

Bambi985 wrote: »
    So recently I decided to totally cut out alcohol in an attempt to both save money and get fit. Never really was a huge drinker anyway, but with work events, client dinners, family visits, nights out with friends etc - those two gin and tonics here or few glasses of prosecco there would begin to add up.

This has led to some astonishingly social awkward situations and a real eye-opener in terms of how deeply ingrained alcohol is into the fibre of our culture, as well as just how much other people drink on a regular basis. Well above the recommended 14 units a week for most regular drinkers is what Ive observed.

So I'm interest in a general poll. How much do you drink in any given week AH?

wanna share?

i usually drink too much when i'm out, but sher you're only young once

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Oul lad was stopped staggering down the road in the local town by a Garda

'How much have you had to drink?' she asks him

'My dear lady', says he, 'there's nothing left'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Life is short and im here to enjoy it. We seem to have an industry built up by health guru's and do gooder fitness freaks telling us booze is bad for you, well guess what im sure if you booze 3 glasses of wine a day and then go on a binge every weekend it is but there is no problem with going out and getting pissed every now and then and letting your hair down (if you are lucky enough to still have some left). I'd say over the course of a year i drink about an average of 4 pints a week. Everything in moderation is fine it's the people who can't control it that are the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I´m not able to manage drunkenness anymore. I end up vomiting and then passing out. Too old for that craic.

Same. Sometimes my reaction to as few as one or two drinks can be so awful the next day with just absolute lethargy, banging headache, depression and rumination etc that I've convinced myself i have some sort of intolerance issues with it. My body is allergic or something. The hangovers after just two glasses of wine are just excruciating and that was what played into my recent decision to just stop altogether.
    LirW wrote: »
    None. I'm the child of an ex-alcoholic, ruined the family. This makes it sore and I don't enjoy it. Doesn't bother me though when other drink.

I can understand that completely. My ex had major problems with it which has made me so wary of big drinkers as it's such a thin line between someone who's out knocking back pints and shots for the laugh because why not versus someone that can't control it and is masking a deeper issue under "having the craic...great bants...let's get wasted wahey!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I haven't drank in over a decade. I just don't feel like it, I'd have no problem having a drink if the mood struck me. I don't say I don't drink and it's not something I'm bothered discussing, but sometimes people become very odd about it, and feel free to say/ask the most intrusive and inappropriate things.

Same. Sometimes my reaction to as few as one or two drinks can be so awful the next day with just absolute lethargy, banging headache, depression and rumination etc that I've convinced myself i have some sort of intolerance issues with it. My body is allergic or something. The hangovers after just two glasses of wine are just excruciating and that was what played into my recent decision to just stop altogether.

It's awful isn't it. I remember thinking my drink had been spiked or maybe I had an illness which caused me to feel this way. Nope! I just can't handle too much booze!

Three pints is my absolute maximum. Even drinking more than that but slowly over a long night doesn't make a difference. It's scary how quick the drunkenness hits me. As for wine or spirits? Forget it. A glass here and there is all.

It's funny because reading some of my posts makes it seem like I'm mad for the drink but it really is a case of one nice pint, packet of crisps, and off home :)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,799 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Very rarely.. I'm usually driving anyway, but even if not I wouldn't really bother with more than 2/3 pints on a night out (which can be months apart). Don't bother with drinking at home (it was always a social thing for me anyway).

Of course I did the whole mad sessions in my 20s but I wouldn't even have any interest in that sort of life now to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Although I like a drink now, I didn't starting drinking until I was about 23-24 so I would certainly have had The Questions from others, espcially in college. I don't really remember feeling chastised for not drinking. I think a lot of it is down to how secure you feel about the decision and yourself and I couldn't have cared less at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Too much, tbh. I need to cut it down. I'm a restless enough person so I definitely feel the need to go out at least once a week.

I don't even necessarily feel the need to get drunk, but I could drink half a bottle of whiskey over the space of a night, no problem, and still stroll home without anyone knowing I had more than a drink or two. I'd be grand again in the morning as well.

It scares me a little that my body is somewhat conditioned to the point where drinking that much doesn't really affect me. So yeah, definitely need to cut back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,763 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I had a buddy visiting for two nights over the weekend. Drank a ridiculous amount of 6% craft beers and wine and all kinds of stuff.

There are about 32 beer bottles and 2 wine bottles in the recycling bag...

I feel bloated and irritable today, time to give up for a bit, I normally wouldn't drink that much in a month, let alone a weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I havnt drank in about a year ago, I was never much of a drinker, only on social occasions which became fewer and fewer as time went on. I was diagnosed with epilepsy a few years ago, when they finally found the meds that suited me, they didn't suit alcohol though.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Drank for the first time in 2 weeks last night feeling a bit sick now

I used to drink a lot but realized how much money I was wasting so only drink once a week or sometimes once every 2 weeks . I'd have a few for matches and concerts

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

• Registered Users Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

So I'm interest in a general poll. How much do you drink in any given week AH?

Four beers on a good week. Zilch on a bad...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I'd have a glass of wine with dinner every Saturday, am happy enough to just have the one.
    Would go on a mad one maybe once every two months, and have maybe 6-8 g&t's, maybe some whiskey. Those nights are getting less and less frequent now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I try to get the recommended 4 litres of water a day, usually only manage about 2 - the bottled stuff only, don't trust the stuff outta the tap no more - maybe a couple of kombuchas during the week and at least one cappuccino a day. If I need the extra energy then maybe a red bull or coke, but this is rare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

A lot of non-drinkers on Boards - fair play to ye.

I couldn't do it though. I enjoy my nice few G&Ts socialising every 2 weeks or so on a night out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Booze blocks people off spiritually. Ever notice after a skinful all the worst traits in people abound. Look at any city at 2am when pubs shut. It's a crap drug. I spent a fortune on it back in the day.

Lot here drinking 10 or more pints in one go. That's pretty heavy going, know alcoholics who wouldn't have drank that much in one go. Although it's well known that heavy drinkers can often drink more than alcoholics.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Nothing at the moment, but would have been 1-2 drinks on a Friday and Saturday before.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭blue note

Most weeks I'd have a glass of wine with Sunday dinner. On the friday / Saturday night I'd have a couple of drinks - maybe share a bottle of wine over the two nights or a couple of bottles of beer. During the week I'd have the odd whiskey / beer. Maybe one or two a fortnight.

Then everyone two or three weeks I'd have a bit of a night out with about 5 pints. And then occasionally, at a wedding or stag or something usually, I'd have a proper binging session where I don't want to know how much I drink, which is convenient because I'd struggle to work it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

It depends on what's going on with my social life at any given time. I could drink absolutely nothing for two or three weeks, if there's no opportunity to go out. But then I could have two or three events or nights out close to together and could end up drinking a dozen pints or more over a couple of days. Most nights I go out I try to take it a bit easy - it's great fun being drunk and I do enjoy getting properly plastered sometimes - but the recovery period afterwards gets worse and worse every year. Might have the odd pint here and there if out having a meal, but generally unless I'm "out" for the night I can avoid boozing.

I'm thirty now and I still know some people who drink herculean amounts of alcohol. They haven't felt any noticeable ill health effects yet, but I do wonder what the future holds for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

On a weekly basis it's mixed,
    Often went weeks/months with no drink and then could go out maybe 3 or 4 nights over the space of a week

But rarely have more than 3 or 4 pints (have found a really nice cider I like),then usually a few spirits/shots....this has left me a lightweight,

but I'm not a messy/angry drunk so it's not too bad

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Booze blocks people off spiritually. Ever notice after a skinful all the worst traits in people abound. Look at any city at 2am when pubs shut. It's a crap drug. I spent a fortune on it back in the day.

Lot here drinking 10 or more pints in one go. That's pretty heavy going, know alcoholics who wouldn't have drank that much in one go. Although it's well known that heavy drinkers can often drink more than alcoholics.

Obviously everybody that drinks alcohol does so in this fashion.

QED.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Would only have a few beers of the weekend but the problem was that I couldn't drink those without stuffing my face full of snacks to go with it.

Decided to knock it on the head for a while and have lost a couple of pounds in just the few weeks since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭McCrack

A creamy pint of Guinness....

Beautiful

• Registered Users Posts: 16,986 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

A lot of non-drinkers on Boards - fair play to ye.

I think it's more that the drinkers aren't commenting. I'm not noticing very few heavy drinkers actually say how I they drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Couple of glasses of wine at the weekend. The odd whiskey or cider from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I think it's more that the drinkers aren't commenting. I'm not noticing very few heavy drinkers actually say how I they drink.

Yeah I feel like this thread is going to attract more non-drinkers than people who neck 10+ pints a couple of times a week. Kinda like the hygiene threads around here attract people who shower five times a day and change their bed sheets every time they lie down in them.

Maybe it's hard to admit to being a heavy drinker on threads like these.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

I'm not pushed on drinking right now. At one stage was having 2 bottles of wine every Friday night at home but stopped. If I drink cans it's maybe 2. If I'm out, I'd have maybe 6 pints, a few cocktails and depending on what I'm doing some shots.