Bambi985 wrote: » So recently I decided to totally cut out alcohol in an attempt to both save money and get fit. Never really was a huge drinker anyway, but with work events, client dinners, family visits, nights out with friends etc - those two gin and tonics here or few glasses of prosecco there would begin to add up.This has led to some astonishingly social awkward situations and a real eye-opener in terms of how deeply ingrained alcohol is into the fibre of our culture, as well as just how much other people drink on a regular basis. Well above the recommended 14 units a week for most regular drinkers is what Ive observed. So I'm interest in a general poll. How much do you drink in any given week AH?
Deleted User wrote: » I´m not able to manage drunkenness anymore. I end up vomiting and then passing out. Too old for that craic.
LirW wrote: » None. I'm the child of an ex-alcoholic, ruined the family. This makes it sore and I don't enjoy it. Doesn't bother me though when other drink.
Bambi985 wrote: » Same. Sometimes my reaction to as few as one or two drinks can be so awful the next day with just absolute lethargy, banging headache, depression and rumination etc that I've convinced myself i have some sort of intolerance issues with it. My body is allergic or something. The hangovers after just two glasses of wine are just excruciating and that was what played into my recent decision to just stop altogether.
Bambi985 wrote: » So I'm interest in a general poll. How much do you drink in any given week AH?
Stonedpilot wrote: » Booze blocks people off spiritually. Ever notice after a skinful all the worst traits in people abound. Look at any city at 2am when pubs shut. It's a crap drug. I spent a fortune on it back in the day. Lot here drinking 10 or more pints in one go. That's pretty heavy going, know alcoholics who wouldn't have drank that much in one go. Although it's well known that heavy drinkers can often drink more than alcoholics.
team_actimel wrote: A lot of non-drinkers on Boards - fair play to ye.
Sleeper12 wrote: » I think it's more that the drinkers aren't commenting. I'm not noticing very few heavy drinkers actually say how I they drink.