Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 29 Oct 2017 - *** NOTE: no number transfer!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭ooter

Trampas wrote: »
    Baby arrived yesterday during the middle of the night. So running and picking them up on way home. Some story to say in years to come. Time wise I'm not bother really so honest effort is all want

Jaysus you must feel like Brian O'Driscoll. :)
    Congrats.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

Trampas wrote: »
    Baby arrived yesterday during the middle of the night. So running and picking them up on way home. Some story to say in years to come. Time wise I'm not bother really so honest effort is all want

Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭v6e5qzawyrc3jn

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

They keep saying on the stream that Gary O'Hanlon won the national champs but surely Freddy Sittuk who came fourth counts in the national champs? He is representing Raheny? Some run from Gary though, new PB 2:18:XX at 43 years of age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

pconn062 wrote: »
    They keep saying on the stream that Gary O'Hanlon won the national champs but surely Freddy Sittuk who came fourth counts in the national champs? He is representing Raheny? Some run from Gary though, new PB 2:18:XX at 43 years of age.

Don't think Freddy is eligible (there was issue previously and was confusing given that he can score for track all Ireland's) think it's to do with residency status

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Unofficial Of course...

GOH at 2:18:54, sergiu 2:19:06, scullion 2:19:45

Mad running from gary after berlin... Looks to be first irish man home and first over 40 obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Don't think Freddy is eligible (there was issue previously and was confusing given that he can score for track all Ireland's) think it's to do with residency status

Athletics Ireland declaring Freddy as national champ now!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭AdpRo

It was mentioned early in the race he had been resident for longer than 6 mths before race so qualified for national championships.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,533 ✭✭✭✭28064212

pconn062 wrote: »
    Athletics Ireland declaring Freddy as national champ now!
    AdpRo wrote: »
    It was mentioned early in the race he had been resident for longer than 6 mths before race so qualified for national championships.
    FFS. Wasn't on the entry list, yet they announce him as the winner. How do they not sort this out beforehand?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

28064212 wrote: »
    FFS. Wasn't on the entry list, yet they announce him as the winner. How do they not sort this out beforehand?

From what I hear this was only sorted in the last 2 days hence the omission.

To be fair the fact he could medal in the steeple chase but not in the Marathon always baffled me a bit. He does a lot domestically between training, coaching and racing throughout the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I bombed anyway, went out slow and got slower. DNF at 11 miles as I couldn't keep it under 8 min pace anymore. Not sure why, legs felt like lead from early on. Clonakilty, here I come!

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

El Caballo wrote: »
    I bombed anyway, went out slow and got slower. DNF at 11 miles as I couldn't keep it under 8 min pace anymore. Not sure why, legs felt like lead from early on. Clonakilty, here I come!

Are there many people who would dnf to save the legs for another day?

I appreciate its a marathon not a 5k, hope Clonakilty goes well for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

Scullion must be some talent with that result considering where he was a year or so ago. Interesting to see his progress over the next while. Great watching the lead Irish runners sticking with the leaders, granted at mile 8 where I was. Perfect conditions and thunderous support out on the course as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I was in the Phoenix Park for a few hours with my Fix Yer Nips station. Went well, very glad to be of help to those who needed it! I very nearly ran out of Vaseline!

Got to see a few boardsies while I was out, looking fab! I'm home now and watching the livestream. As someone who watches other marathons online, it's a real pleasure to be able to watch DCM online now too! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Scullion must be some talent with that result considering where he was a year or so ago. Interesting to see his progress over the next while. Great watching the lead Irish runners sticking with the leaders, granted at mile 8 where I was. Perfect conditions and thunderous support out on the course as usual.

He ran a brave race, ultimately paid for it when he hit the wind into town. He still has alot of imrovement if he can keep his head for a year or 2

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Seemed to be a tough day out. I was in Dublin yesterday, and weather conditions seemed like they'd be ideal, but a person I'm following seems to be struggling, and he was doing really well in training, with 9:30/mile on the long runs, but seems to be hitting avg pace of 13:50 on the RTRT tracking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

I was in the Phoenix Park for a few hours with my Fix Yer Nips station. Went well, very glad to be of help to those who needed it! I very nearly ran out of Vaseline!

Got to see a few boardsies while I was out, looking fab! I'm home now and watching the livestream. As someone who watches other marathons online, it's a real pleasure to be able to watch DCM online now too! :D

I was giggling to myself when I saw your sign... I just had to pop over and say hello ☺
    Fair play to you to setting up station...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    |echancrure|2:49:20|2:48:59|
    9558|diego_b|3:43:41|3:39:30|
    |robinph|2:49:44|2:49:59|
    |ISOP|4:18:55|4:15:00|
    3868|hot buttered scones|3:21:45|3:09:59|
    4514|davedanon|3:14:18|3:09:59|
    6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|
    3241|Johnny_Fontane|3:36:18|3:24:59|
    1678|withcheeseplease|2:59:58|2:59:57|2:58:35
    |Damo 2k9|n/a|3:59:59|
    |DC.|2:56:02|2:44:00|
    |Dexter50|4:14:19|4:10:00|
    4591|Wubble Wubble|3:49:01|3:29:59|
    7703|RedRunner|3:52:30|4:15:00|
    |apjb82|3:35:15|3:10:00|
    |CCR|2:59:52|3:29:59|
    |Peckham|2:58:27|3:44:59|
    |Krusty_Clown|2:30:01|2:34:59|
    |Derco|4:16:04|4:12:59|
    |Spirogyra|3:59:02|3:39:59
    10404|Unthought Known|4:16:44|3:44:59|
    3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|
    |Slow_Runner|3:42:26|3:33:xx|
    |Fiftyplus|3:29:45|3:29:44|
    1371|Murph_D|3:28:28|3:19:59|
    |ThePiedPiper|2:49:00|3:19:59|
    3364|TFBubendorfer|2:55:07|3:15:00|
    |jaggiebunnet|3:32:39|3:24:59|
    |Jakey Rolling|3:27:15|3:29:59|
    |Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|
    |El Caballo|3:15:29|3:11:29|
    |Trampas|3:18:41|3:20:01|
    |boykev|4:00:56|3:29:30|
    1942|MisterDrak|3:07:24|3:14:00|
    |ciarraiabu1977|2:57:45|2:57:40
    1322|Singer|3:32:04|3:14:15
    |Doeshedare|n/a|3:39:59|
    2855|Martyboy48|3:18:00|3:30|
    |Brusna|n/a|3:27:59|
    |Hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1805|JohnDozer|3:59:13|3:39:59|
    |Jack Bracken|N/A|5:30:00|

I'll get the ball rolling so. Absolutely delighted with my day out. Couldn't have felt better the whole way. Can't say enough good things about the 3 hour pacers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

guapos wrote: »
    Are there many people who would dnf to save the legs for another day?.

Don't know about other people but my legs had got to the point at that stage that I would've been lucky to get within a half hour of my PB and it didn't seem worth it for the training I put in. I know there's a much better time in me, just not today so instead of a month off, I can go back training this week and hopefully get a result I think I deserve. Many people will say that's softness but sometimes you gotta know when to fold em.

El Caballo wrote: »
    Don't know about other people but my legs had got to the point at that stage that I would've been lucky to get within a half hour of my PB and it didn't seem worth it for the training I put in. I know there's a much better time in me, just not today so instead of a month off, I can go back training this week and hopefully get a result I think I deserve. Many people will say that's softness but sometimes you gotta know when to fold em.

It's being sensible about it... If you feel like that at 11 you'reprobably right to knock it....
    It's only softness if you make a habit out of it...
    Tough luck today but not the end of the world as you said.. Get those legs refreshed before kicking on with training...

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

El Caballo wrote:

Ditto, except I felt obliged to keep going as had family waiting for me at 17 miles and the finish. Hardest 4 hours I've ever put down, now cramping up in muscles I never knew I had! DNF would have been much more sensible.

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|
    3364|TFBubendorfer|2:55:07|3:15:00|3:10:20

Absolutely delighted, the best fun I've had in a while. Ran well within myself for 23 miles and then had a bit of fun putting the hammer down over the last 3. I would have been happy with 3:15, instead it was the easiest 3:10 I'll ever have.

Serious rethink required for training from here on in, definitely not getting out of my Marathons what I'm putting in anymore, very frustrating.
    Wheels fell off spectacularly in the 2nd half of the race as I lost the 3:30 pacers in the distance at the hill at dolphins barn.
    Why is there a price tag on the finishers tops?
    Gary o Hanlon, wow!

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

Well done you. Great support you had a nice vantage point and seat.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

ooter wrote: »
    Serious rethink required for training from here on in, definitely not getting out of my Marathons what I'm putting in anymore, very frustrating.
    Wheels fell off spectacularly in the 2nd half of the race as I lost the 3:30 pacers in the distance at the hill at dolphins barn.
    Why is there a price tag on the finishers tops?
    Gary o Hanlon, wow!

Freddie Sittuk got national title. O HANLON not a happy camper. Hard to blame him really last minute decision to allow Sittuk in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lazare

6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|3:58:08|

Booya

Absolutely buzzing right now.

Anyone in mcgrattans or is that a stupid question ☺

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭The Bin Man

noelearly wrote: »
    Freddie Sittuk got national title. O HANLON not a happy camper. Hard to blame him really last minute decision to allow Sittuk in.

Freddy had as much right as Gary to run in the Irish Champs. Great run from Gary after Berlin. In fact, incredible.

National champion or not, first Irishman home is an incredible achievement for GOH.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Unthought Known

6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|3:58:08|
    10404|Unthought Known|4:16:44|3:44:59|3:41:41

35 min PB. Can't describe how happy I am. Maybe went off a bit fast, but I felt so strong I just went with it. Only really felt the pain turning into the breeze for the last 2 miles.