Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 alanmacklin

If your file is signed off does that mean you cant get one of them generally unsuitable letters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭killer91

Anyone get a letter to say they are generally unsuitable? I did and am in process now of informal review, pending that outcome might have to do a formal review and pending that an appeal. Just curious is anyone else in this position. Also don't take it that your vetting is complete because its "gone to be signed off" because that's where mine was at. And it didn't get signed resulting in this.

Sorry to hear that, think someone did post a while back along the same lines as yourself.

Without going into too much detail, did they give a specific reason as to why you were unsuitable?

Hopefully you are successful with the review or at least you're able to argue you're case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Anyone get a letter to say they are generally unsuitable? I did and am in process now of informal review, pending that outcome might have to do a formal review and pending that an appeal. Just curious is anyone else in this position. Also don't take it that your vetting is complete because its "gone to be signed off" because that's where mine was at. And it didn't get signed resulting in this.

Sorry to hear that! Good luck with your review!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

I'm genuinely sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that! Good luck with your review!!

This is everyone's worst nightmare here. Really hope you get it resolved and back on track. Pray no one else receives that letter. Especially after all the time and effort everyone has put in.
    I remember someone hot that letter too. Maybe the august intake page. But maybe drive down to your local station and ask for a meeting with the sergeant/ super you were dealing with. Maybe they can shed some light on why they came to this decision and get a solution to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Lorraine_93

If your file is signed off does that mean you cant get one of them generally unsuitable letters?

No yours is 100% complete if its signed off

Was it a letter you received or an email?

killer91 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that, think someone did post a while back along the same lines as yourself.

Without going into too much detail, did they give a specific reason as to why you were unsuitable?

Hopefully you are successful with the review or at least you're able to argue you're case.

Thanks, am well I've never been in trouble in my life at any stage. Not even a fine. But there is one or two troublesome cousins. They don't actually tell you why they will never disclose a reason.

Definitely going to fight it tooth and nail, I never imagined there would be an issue. I've waited to long to let it pass me.

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Was it a letter you received or an email?

It was a letter in post.

Dreading going home from work this evening now.

I've one relative with a history

bazz1000 wrote: »
    This is everyone's worst nightmare here. Really hope you get it resolved and back on track. Pray no one else receives that letter. Especially after all the time and effort everyone has put in.
    I remember someone hot that letter too. Maybe the august intake page. But maybe drive down to your local station and ask for a meeting with the sergeant/ super you were dealing with. Maybe they can shed some light on why they came to this decision and get a solution to it.

Thanks all yere comments are appreciated , I'm not going to let it go easily. If I get a formal review there is a chance I get to meet the assistant commissioner , which I think would be a good thing , put my argument forward. Its hard when they don't disclose the reasons, because your not sure what your arguing against. Hopefully , fingers and toes crossed. I'm not going down without a fight , its what I wanted since a child!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭killer91

Thanks, am well I've never been in trouble in my life at any stage. Not even a fine. But there is one or two troublesome cousins. They don't actually tell you why they will never disclose a reason.

Definitely going to fight it tooth and nail, I never imagined there would be an issue. I've waited to long to let it pass me.

I'm just hoping I won't have the same issue. Have one or two bad cousins as well but I haven't talked to them in years.

It'll be very bad form if that's the issue. It's not like you can choose your family.

Wish you the best of luck anyway with the review/appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭damob1995

did they send you the letter after you had completed all stages? hope the review goes well

Dreading going home from work this evening now.

I've one relative with a history

Sorry I don't mean to worry you. I got the letter 23rd July I think. I'm not going to let it go, you cannot judge a person by a relatives mistakes. I haven't seen these cousins in years and its been years since they were in trouble. So I'm very hopeful it will be overturned.

Thanks all yere comments are appreciated , I'm not going to let it go easily. If I get a formal review there is a chance I get to meet the assistant commissioner , which I think would be a good thing , put my argument forward. Its hard when they don't disclose the reasons, because your not sure what your arguing against. Hopefully , fingers and toes crossed. I'm not going down without a fight , its what I wanted since a child!

Please put every resource into it that you can. I really wish you all the best. Genuinely can't imagine what you're going through

damob1995 wrote: »
    did they send you the letter after you had completed all stages? hope the review goes well

Yes have all stages complete, and was waiting for it to be signed off 😢

Best wishes to all of ye that are waiting. Thabks for comments :) I'll keep ye updated ðŸ‘

best of luck to you hope it all works, very unfair after all the time and effort you put in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 micjo123

The offers date is slowly creeping up on us

Hey are you talking about an offer for Nov? Will they be out soon? I thought it would be Oct before we hear anything

micjo123 wrote: »
    Hey are you talking about an offer for Nov? Will they be out soon? I thought it would be Oct before we hear anything

You can safely assume the week of the 18th of september or the week after

Wow I really thought it would be awhile before hearing anything. Can I ask - where did you get this information from? im really hoping for Nov as well so you just made my day! :)

micjo123 wrote: »
    Wow I really thought it would be awhile before hearing anything. Can I ask - where did you get this information from? im really hoping for Nov as well so you just made my day! :)
    its rough estimate but hes more then likely right if you go by the previous intakes first round offers are out 4 weeks before induction week then second round offers will be out the following week or two after. november intake is starting 6th of november so induction week are the two weeks before the start date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Henry2006

Yes have all stages complete, and was waiting for it to be signed off 😢
    I'm sorry to hear this but delighted you are going to stand your corner and get to the bottom of it. You have a great attitude and the fact you are being so tenacious and passionate about what you want in life and fulfilling a childhood ambition will really stand to you, thats the sort of guards we need policing our streets and I can't see how they wouldn't be impressed with that

damob1995 wrote: »
    its rough estimate but hes more then likely right if you go by the previous intakes first round offers are out 4 weeks before induction week then second round offers will be out the following week or two after. november intake is starting 6th of november so induction week are the two weeks before the start date

Ah yeh never thought of the induction week that does make sense. Thats great guys thanks. Fingers crossed :)

Henry2006 wrote: »
    I'm sorry to hear this but delighted you are going to stand your corner and get to the bottom of it. You have a great attitude and the fact you are being so tenacious and passionate about what you want in life and fulfilling a childhood ambition will really stand to you, thats the sort of guards we need policing our streets and I can't see how they wouldn't be impressed with that

Thanks so much :) really appreciate it. I feel even more confident now with all the lovely replys and messages. I won't let it pass me, many obstacles have been in the way before and you can either turn back or make your way past them, that's way I look at it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Sjh191

@Lorraine, I am so sorry to hear this. It is my worst nightmare :( I'm from the Dec 2015 and anxiously waiting for November and I am terrified of the post man for that reason! Everyone has some family member with a colorful past :(
    You probably know this already but be careful of social media, the slightest pic or comment can make a huge difference.
    Keep fighting, show resilience and determination and commitment and I am sure you will be in blue before you know it.
    Best of luck!

Sjh191 wrote: »
    @Lorraine, I am so sorry to hear this. It is my worst nightmare :( I'm from the Dec 2015 and anxiously waiting for November and I am terrified of the post man for that reason! Everyone has some family member with a colorful past :(
    You probably know this already but be careful of social media, the slightest pic or comment can make a huge difference.
    Keep fighting, show resilience and determination and commitment and I am sure you will be in blue before you know it.
    Best of luck!

I know !! I thought it was a joke first , that it wasn't legit!! :( I had a feeling something was wrong because of the time-frame . thats so long waiting, fair play to you. I'll fight it until the very end , thanks very much :) Really appreciate it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭ArifI

I know !! I thought it was a joke first , that it wasn't legit!! :( I had a feeling something was wrong because of the time-frame . thats so long waiting, fair play to you. I'll fight it until the very end , thanks very much :) Really appreciate it :)

what campaign are you from? Did they say something in the line of-

'your vetting is done and went for a final review [a formal check up by the higherups]'

Do fight it till the end. all the best.

ArifI wrote: »
    what campaign are you from? Did they say something in the line of-

'your vetting is done and went for a final review [a formal check up by the higherups]'

Do fight it till the end. all the best.

Jan 16. Nope they had said that it was gone to be signed off, weeks ago, and then this letter came in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭The Red Lad

@lorraine I'm so sorry to hear that I can't imagine how your feeling I really do hope your review goes well and you get where you deserve to be,the process is long and stressful enough without having to deal with that all the best.