Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

Henry2006 wrote: »
    Someone asked the other day what life in Templemore was like when your training. I saw this link today on FB that gives a good overview from someone who was there last year

https://careerservices.ie/an-garda-siochana/a-garda-recruits-experience

Heya Henry, how did your daughter get on with her fitness test over the weekend? All set for November fingers crossed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭Henry2006

Elliot192 wrote: »
    Heya Henry, how did your daughter get on with her fitness test over the weekend? All set for November fingers crossed?

She didn't do it as they said she wouldn't be finished by 1.00 and she had to be in work then so gave her a new date of 12 August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Elliot192

She didn't do it as they said she wouldn't be finished by 1.00 and she had to be in work then so gave her a new date of 12 August

At least that's soon and she's still in the running for November. That was nice of them too to be so accommodating. I wish her all the best with it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

Someone asked the other day what life in Templemore was like when your training. I saw this link today on FB that gives a good overview from someone who was there last year

https://careerservices.ie/an-garda-siochana/a-garda-recruits-experience

Thanks for sharing

damob1995 wrote: »
    cheers lad, just trying to get an idea on where abouts they are with them, when were you given the date?

I rang them last week myself and told a date over the phone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭damob1995

i saw this video today and thought it was good gives ya a look what the college is like and tells you a bit about day to day things down there.
    https://careersportal.ie/careerplanning/story.php?ID=2501202421#.WXYS9v_yu34

I rang them last week myself and told a date over the phone :)
    cheers appreciate it a lot, sorry for all the questions as you know yourself waiting isn't easy

i saw this video today and thought it was good gives ya a look what the college is like and tells you a bit about day to day things down there.
    https://careersportal.ie/careerplanning/story.php?ID=2501202421#.WXYS9v_yu34

Can't wait!!!!

cheers appreciate it a lot, sorry for all the questions as you know yourself waiting isn't easy

Ask away happy to help we're all in the same boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ALTHEPAL

19th of August for my PCT, Sergeant and Super meeting soon also:) anything I should need to know?

Good stuff lad your flying it now 😊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Damo1988

Still waiting for pct and still hopefull for November..vetting still not complete and I'm in low 400s. Waiting game is a killer lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Chrisbellew

There's a YouTube channel of similar interviews with recruits and some with attested Guards the info is quite good!

https://youtu.be/DLwasIpClwo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Lorraine_93

Has anyone's vetting recently been signed off , waiting since may for it to be signed off, wondering is it worth ringing? I also seen an article saying Commissioner is on 5 weeks holidays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Has anyone's vetting recently been signed off , waiting since may for it to be signed off, wondering is it worth ringing? I also seen an article saying Commissioner is on 5 weeks holidays.

Rang yesterday. They said there's a massive pile awaiting sign off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Lorraine_93

MrBlack93 wrote: »

That's good so , they will have to be signed off for November fingers crossed :-)

At least that's soon and she's still in the running for November. That was nice of them too to be so accommodating. I wish her all the best with it anyway.

Yeah it was as she didn't ask they just offered. Thanks a mill and best of luck to you too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

MrBlack93 wrote: »

Did they say what they are gonna do with it?

They should look at developing some sort of simple portal that we can log into to check on our status. I'm sure it would save alot of ringing and emailing.

TallGlass wrote: »

They should look at developing some sort of simple portal that we can log into to check on our status. I'm sure it would save alot of ringing and emailing.

Now that's a great idea! I second that.

TallGlass wrote:

Nah no timeframe etc. But that pile will undoubtedly be signed off prior to November intake.

anyone around the 700s get a date for PCT yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Mr.cool212

Still waiting like you. Been over 2 months since medical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Mulllad

I'm low 600s and still waiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Mulllad wrote: »
    I'm low 600s and still waiting

I'm in early 1000's waiting on PCT also

Vetting and medical complete

Mr.cool212 wrote: »
    Still waiting like you. Been over 2 months since medical.

looks like all the places for august PCT are given out already aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

looks like all the places for august PCT are given out already aswell.

What's dates are the PCT's on out of curiosity ?

Looking like September for us so

Canyon86 wrote: »
    What's dates are the PCT's on out of curiosity ?

Looking like September for us so

There's one on 12 August, it's worth calling and offering to go on cancellation list

theres another one on the following week aswell the 19th so i presume they are having ones on the tuesdays of them weeks aswell. Tuesdays and Saturdays are they days they hold the PCTS. I rang the office offering they just said to email the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Jimmibar

Hi guys anyone on here waiting long for a pct retest ?

Every day brings us closer to an offer. It really is a long way to Tipperary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Just read an artical, one of the things I noticed is it mentioned that the Deputy Commissioner will take up any tasks during leave that the Commissioner would normally perform, now I am not sure if that means signing off our documents. But I would say it more than likely will. Also the leave is 7 weeks, but as the first week was worked leave is 6 weeks, so 6 until the commissioner is back.