Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do men bother approaching women anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There is no way to approach a female without giving off the impression that you are a psycho or a sex offender.

I don't know which way to take your post, but I get the impression that's how people genuinely think these days, and the norm is to send and receive random cyber messages.

I was out in Dublin City Centre recently, I'm well out of the dating game, and the observation in our group came up that nobody in their 20s seem to go and talk you each other these days, basically chat each other up.

Seems that people just don't know how to do it anymore, they'd rather swipe on a phone screen than have a bit of face to face fun.

edit to reply to this
    Approaching a stranger in a pub or club is just about the strangest way I can think of to get either short or long term action in 2017. It seems pretty old fashioned and desperate tbh.

This comment strikes me as hilariously ridiculous. Sure why bother waste your time with someone of the opposite sex at all, just save yourself the time of personal communication and get yourself a sex doll.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

bluewolf wrote: »
    And women don't want to marry because then they are under pressure to quit and stay home

Apparently, the highest rate of divorce in Japan is in the age bracket of 70+.

Something to do with the culture of the men working, and women staying at home. This happens for years and years, until the man reaches retirement age, and finally the couple start spending some decent time together. Lo-and-behold, turns out they don't actually have anything in common or actually even like each other, and a separation is on the cards.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

silverharp wrote: »
    Japan might be worth looking at unless its a unique cultural thing, there are large numbers of Japanese men in particular who have not dated or had sex by their 30's .

It is hardly just men. I gather Japanese women are pretty disinterested in/disgusted by sex.

I'm 30 and have never approached a woman in my life .. Haven't had that many girlfriends but definitely not at the lower end of the scale either ... Seen my mates do it time and time again harassed a girl for the night get her drunk and boom .. I'd rather not thanks .. Gets weird after awhile watching it .... No one likes a plague lol

This is staggering, you never having the guts, or even the need to meet new people, and you basing why you wouldn't do it on some mates who obviously don't know what they're doing.

Lads that age these days are a disgrace to our reputation of supposedly having the gift of the gab :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I have to agree with the other two posters. With my Polish partner 13 years this year. Some will of course prefer to keep things within their own circles but the vast majority I've met have been open, easy to talk to and deal with.

I agree, they are very friendly people but make no bones about it when it comes to standards.

I typed that post yesterday when I was sitting with a polish friend and I asked her why she'd never gone for an Irish man and she said "they're not fit or very good looking". And that's how straight out she is about it, she's the same with everybody. I know they think it's just being honest but at times it can come across as rude.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

pilly wrote: »
    I agree, they are very friendly people but make no bones about it when it comes to standards.

I typed that post yesterday when I was sitting with a polish friend and I asked her why she'd never gone for an Irish man and she said "they're not fit or very good looking". And that's how straight out she is about it, she's the same with everybody. I know they think it's just being honest but at times it can come across as rude.

Polish blokes are hardly oil paintings themselves to be fair

Polish blokes are hardly an oil paintings themselves to be fair

Oh I don't know. :p The younger ones do tend to be quite fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I have to agree with the other two posters. With my Polish partner 13 years this year. Some will of course prefer to keep things within their own circles but the vast majority I've met have been open, easy to talk to and deal with.

10 years ago I would have agreed with her but lads are now starting to look after themselves a lot better.  Well that's the way it seems to me.  Ok a lot of them are not beefed up body builders but they are fit and lean.  What age bracket is she talking about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

They look rough as fook and usually years older than their actual age

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭crkball6

Not seen many. It was one of the things that stuck out for me while in Poland. Stunning angry looking women with ugly angry looking men.

I guess a wife beater and a can of Tyskie is all the rage.

Beautiful country though.

She's 29. Yeah I suppose there are more young men looking after themselves now.

She is stunning herself so I suppose she's allowed have a high standard. I just think it may rule out really good men for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

crkball6 wrote: »

I guess a wife beater and a can of Tyskie is all the rage.

Whats a wife beater? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

ThisRegard wrote: »
    This is staggering, you never having the guts, or even the need to meet new people, and you basing why you wouldn't do it on some mates who obviously don't know what they're doing.

Lads that age these days are a disgrace to our reputation of supposedly having the gift of the gab :rolleyes:

From my observations, most women don't really want to be harassed by men all night long...

I consider it quite unnatural for either men or women to be pestering each other. If there is an attraction there, it should be mutual... and frankly it should be organic and not forced by either party!

The problem, is that I guess people have always felt under pressure to find someone... so pursuing or being pursued became the cultural norm.

But as with many things in life, when you try too hard to force something to happen... it often ironically becomes less likely to happen as a direct result.

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

I would never do it, it's really hard work to approach someone cold like that, and I don't see the point. Don't see why I should bother.

Having said that, there is an Irish cultural thing about it, here it seems inconceivable that you would approach someone while you're both sober. When I go abroad, you actually see women going to cafes and restaurants alone, and looking open to conversation, whereas here everyone is always in a group of friends and not open to being interrupted, or drinking, when you probably can try an approach. Our relationship with alcohol in this country is completely ****ed and it affects a lot of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

From my observations, most women don't really want to be harassed by men all night long...

I consider it quite unnatural for either men or women to be pestering each other. If there is an attraction there, it should be mutual... and frankly it should be organic and not forced by either party!

The problem, is that I guess people have always felt under pressure to find someone... so pursuing or being pursued became the cultural norm.

But as with many things in life, when you try too hard to force something to happen... it often ironically becomes less likely to happen as a direct result.

Men and women pestered each other since the year .
    otherwise we'd be all extinct.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Whats a wife beater? :confused:

A vest top for men

Who said anything about pestering and harassing? And are you saying attraction is only a physical thing? And how does it become organic, through a phone app? That's not at all organic.

And I hate to put it to you, the pursuit of a partner is actually a most natural thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

"harassed", "pestering", "forced" - Jaysus, the young lads now are obviously doing it very wrong. Or else the young women are extremely unsocial. When did chatting to someone on a night out become so aggressive?

MrMorooka wrote: »
    I would never do it, it's really hard work to approach someone cold like that, and I don't see the point. Don't see why I should bother.

That's your problem, you're making it hard work, and I have no idea why people don't see the point to it.

As someone who makes their living from IT, I really do blame technology for the virtual castration of men of a certain age.

By looking at the opposite sex as a thing you only meet through a phone app is the commodification of people for one thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Guess its subjective. Id say irish guys look better than polish on average :pac:

Same, I notice when I am in Poland that waitresses and such will happily engage in conversation, you see women sitting in kawiarnie completely open to having a chat- last time I was there, a women came into a restaurant about 9 and just had a coffee, read a book and absorbed the atmosphere(I was in a large group with work colleagues). She would probably have been really open to conversation. Really stood out to me, I never see anything like that here- restaurants/bars are always full of people in groups talking with each other, and usually drink is taken.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There is a type of lad who does well on tinder? Is that just an extremely good looking guy or is there more to it?
    Good looking is a major help of course, but I suppose I was talking about hookup culture in general(socially confident average looking guys can often trump reticent good looking guys). The percentage of men who do OK in it is small enough. That was always kinda the case, but there seemed to be more for the guys who weren't so good(and less of a hookup culture too).
    Without turning this into a history lesson - how did it work before dating?
    More meeting people, hanging out "going out" to the flics or the pub(dinner was less a thing) and after a while if things were working you'd be going out together. It was less formal and the idea of dating multiple people would have been frowned upon. Certainly in the circles I moved in. I'd still hold to that TBH. "I'm dating other men". "Oh right so, you're not "dating" me anymore then". On a few occasions I found that if I respond with the "I'm dating other women" there'd be a face on. OK for them, but not for me. Plus if they're in their 30's doing that you can be sure it's a checklist in play, with migration to suburbia in mind.
    And that's how straight out she is about it, she's the same with everybody. I know they think it's just being honest but at times it can come across as rude.
    I have found that alright as a very general thing with cultures from the old Soviet Bloc. Very straight up, no beating about the bush at all. Tend to be very traditional under it all too. Gender roles are far more marked than in Ireland. Again as a general thing*.

* I have to add that caveat in before someone flips out over it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

That's your problem, you're making it hard work, and I have no idea why people don't see the point to it.

As someone who makes their living from IT, I really do blame technology for the virtual castration of men of a certain age.

Well, what is the point of it then?

And yes, it is hard work. It's different for different people, I'm highly introverted.

I will give you that this didn't used to happen. Society used to be a bit more heavy-handed, so people who were a bit introverted or socially awkward were forced to interact regardless, with various outcomes. Nowadays there are other options. I don't know if it's better or not.
    By looking at the opposite sex as a thing you only meet through a phone app is the commodification of people for one thing.

I agree, I think if you want to meet someone of the opposite sex, you should do it face-to-face, I'd never use an app or online dating. But I'm really not that interested int meeting the opposite sex at all, frankly. Don't see the point, like I said.

The "why bother" bit stuns me - I bothered and have been with her for more than half my life since - same with loads of other people I know. Might as well ask why bother making friends, or speaking to other people.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,973 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

My wife won't let me :(

What's the point of talking, having a bit of fun with, or trying to chat up someone?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Wibbs wrote: »
    * I have to add that caveat in before someone flips out over it.

You have to add a caveat over every flipping thing now to prevent them from flipping out. I wonder is this the dreaded Oversocialisation in action? Where the constant striving for perfect morals and perfect society ends up doing the damage in the long run.

And yes, it is hard work. It's different for different people, I'm highly introverted.

I will give you that this didn't used to happen. Society used to be a bit more heavy-handed, so people who were a bit introverted or socially awkward were forced to interact regardless, with various outcomes. Nowadays there are other options. I don't know if it's better or not.

I agree, I think if you want to meet someone of the opposite sex, you should do it face-to-face, I'd never use an app or online dating. But I'm really not that interested int meeting the opposite sex at all, frankly. Don't see the point, like I said.

The point of it is to meet people and hopefully meet your life long partner some day.

I think it's quite sad that you see no point in that.

Gravelly wrote: »
    The "why bother" bit stuns me - I bothered and have been with her for more than half my life since - same with loads of other people I know. Might as well ask why bother making friends, or speaking to other people.

Well, I don't bother with those other two either. :)

But yeah, it's easier now to just focus on work and spend free time playing video games or watching movies or going to the gym alone, or whatever. People don't need to live in groups to survive any more, with modern technology and society everything is more individualistic. I'm not sure if it's better or worse, but it's reality.

Well, I don't bother with those other two either. :)

But yeah, it's easier now to just focus on work and spend free time playing video games or watching movies or going to the gym alone, or whatever. People don't need to live in groups to survive any more, with modern technology and society everything is more individualistic. I'm not sure if it's better or worse, but it's reality.

It sounds very lonely to me.