Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster Bank League 2017-2018 Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

Went to Terenure vs Trinity. Some absolutely scintillating attacking rugby from Terenure, second try a real try of the season contender. Trinity were very blunt in attack, you could see they had nothing to play for. Some worrying injuries from Terenures point of view before the semi final though.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

A great day, back where we belong

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭LFCTID

D14Rugby wrote: »
    Went to Terenure vs Trinity. Some absolutely scintillating attacking rugby from Terenure, second try a real try of the season contender. Trinity were very blunt in attack, you could see they had nothing to play for. Some worrying injuries from Terenures point of view before the semi final though.

Was the trinity team at full strength or weakened do you know? Our 20s played there 20s today in the Frazer McMullen and they completely destroyed us up front just wondering if there were many missing in nure that would be under the age of 20 but normally play AIL level..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

LFCTID wrote: »
    Was the trinity team at full strength or weakened do you know? Our 20s played there 20s today in the Frazer McMullen and they completely destroyed us up front just wondering if there were many missing in nure that would be under the age of 20 but normally play AIL level..
    Trinity team for AIL was similar to most teams theyve fielded this season from the pic they put up of AIL side on twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭young munsters man

Annoying defeat today, played really really well first half tries from craig ohanlon conor hayes and 2nd half one from evan ogorman put us 26-7 and rather astonishingly we ended up losing, didnt mean too much in the end but aaghh annoyed. However in fairness to the lads they gave it evertything as they have done all season you couldnt fault their guts effort and commitment all season. Youd see them coming off field after games and lads be battered ( mind you got plenty of batterings on pitch mself, such are joys of it) if we can keep this side together we got serious potential with quality young backs

as a supporter i gotta thnk them and our backroom staff gearoid eddie chuckie mary and rob and thanks our fantastic supporters

congratulations to con, lansdowne, nure and our friends and neighbours garryowen tis a hard earned achievement getting to semis,hopefully common sense prevails and ye get to play your full sides unlike last years disgrace. And to supporters of them clubs – enjoy coz im totally jealous of ye

in other divisions congratulations to shannon on winning leage a far cry from the poor start of last season. Already looking forward to the friday night derbies.

amazing bruff in relegation dogfight, they in lotta trouble now i saw them play thomond in january in thomond on a friday and they were good value for their win – at that stage they were in promotion contention, been in freefall since be a disaster for them if they go down hoping they stay up

today marked retirment of our hooker and club legend ger slattery after 11 years with us. Richomnd boy he won grand slam at under 20s , played for munster, ireland clubs and barbarians (v arf in 2014) was our captain for year made 300 senior appearance for us, and an absolute gentleman and nice guy to boot

• Registered Users Posts: 740 ✭✭✭damianmcr

Playoffs for final 1A spot: St Marys v UCC, Banbridge v Ballynahinch
    So wait the winners plat each other?

Tad harsh.

damianmcr wrote: »
    Playoffs for final 1A spot: St Marys v UCC, Banbridge v Ballynahinch
    So wait the winners plat each other?

Tad harsh.
    Whats harsh about it?
    2nd bottom and 2nd, 3rd and 4th playoff for the final spot in each division.
    Yeah winners playoff with highest ranked side from regular season at home in the final
    What would you have in its place? It keeps season more open longer than having 2up2down straight relegation.

LFCTID wrote: »

No Silvester, Fromm(not U20), Byrne, Moriarty(not an AIL regular I don't think), R Pim, Jack Dunne, out half was new to me too so they didn't have their normal 10. Not sure if any of them were playing 20's or were injured but I noticed they didn't play today.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭LFCTID

No Silvester, Fromm(not U20), Byrne, Moriarty(not an AIL regular I don't think), R Pim, Jack Dunne, out half was new to me too so they didn't have their normal 10. Not sure if any of them were playing 20's or were injured but I noticed they didn't play today.

cheers yeah jack dunne was the only player i knew as i seen him play the six nations this year that i knew was playing against our 20s today but didnt know any of the other players on the side today that might have some ail experience. looked like a very different and stronger trinity 20 side to the one we played at the early stages of this seasons in the 20's league though.

Whats harsh about it?
    2nd bottom and 2nd, 3rd and 4th playoff for the final spot in each division.
    Yeah winners playoff with highest ranked side from regular season at home in the final
    What would you have in its place? It keeps season more open longer than having 2up2down straight relegation.
    I didn't realise one was a 1A team.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭stellenbosch

So you know exactly who wasnt playing for Trinity-short of the following:

Finlay/Dunne/Sheehan/McDermott/Sylvester/Fromm/Mollen-they had a J1 7 on the wing(McMahon) from the start and a thirds hooker. Dunne and Sheehan played for the 20s-was at the game-they destroyed Lansdowne in every single scrum and were by far the better team on the day and have some very good players who will graduate into the first team next year.

Understand Sheehan has now been called into the Irish 20s squad as well with both Clarke and Kelleher now injured.

Overall a very good season for Trinity as held Div 1A status,won the colours match,beat Marys and Buccs and Y Munster home and away with a very young side. Are in the final of the All Ireland 20s v Tarf next weekend. 20s beat UCD home and away in JP fanagan. J1s stayed in Div 1 of their league-Marys relegated from that league.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Are play offs weekend of 28th yeah?

Think they were but are now this Saturday.

damianmcr wrote: »
    Think they were but are now this Saturday.

oh really? thought they were all the weekend after..

Banbridge have posted its this Saturday the 21st

First round of playoffs is Saturday 21st with 2nd round on 28th

It would but clubs need to lead things like this
    IRFU can do far better in some areas but so much marketing that can get people in the gates has to be driven by clubs. IRFU provide assistance with training in pr or whatever but clubs need to do the most of the work. Like IRFU can work with sponsors/national media for better radio/tv coverage and articles in the newspapers but cant be expected to get clubs doing more in local media or with postering etc.

id agree with this point 100% - id be at nearly all the munsters game an in majority of cases having walk around local around you wouldnt know there was a game on til you get near the ground. Put up a few posters around the place maybe it will work maybe it wont - try it and see

also agree irfu could do more e.g if you wanna show internationals you gotta show some clips of club games , or maybe insist footage from each 1a/1b game is submitted by home club (they taping games anyway) and use that on irishrugbytv or an online channel, dont know if 2a/b/c clubs taping matches if they are -include them as well

munster clubs already have to submit tapes to munster branch

Clubs need support in how to promote themselves better and work with getting underage players and more importantly the parents of those kids attending games.

excellent point made on munster fans, best supported away regular season game i saw last 3 season were away to clontarf twice in 2016 and this year -why coz they extended ht to 10 mins and played kids game so had lotta kids and parents who otherwise may not have gone -granted they havce the artificial pitch but great idea

id agree with this point 100% - id be at nearly all the munsters game an in majority of cases having walk around local around you wouldnt know there was a game on til you get near the ground. Put up a few posters around the place maybe it will work maybe it wont - try it and see

also agree irfu could do more e.g if you wanna show internationals you gotta show some clips of club games , or maybe insist footage from each 1a/1b game is submitted by home club (they taping games anyway) and use that on irishrugbytv or an online channel, dont know if 2a/b/c clubs taping matches if they are -include them as well

munster clubs already have to submit tapes to munster branch
    All clubs have to submit tapes of games. All AIL games are recorded for refereeing training/development and IRFU may not release full games/more clips as a result of that.
    And postering has to come from the clubs and their committees doing that work. Their PROs leading that.
    My club back home have posters all across the town for games. In shop windows as well as on street but you go to a lot of towns and there's nothing.
    Clubs need support in how to promote themselves better and work with getting underage players and more importantly the parents of those kids attending games.

excellent point made on munster fans, best supported away regular season game i saw last 3 season were away to clontarf twice in 2016 and this year -why coz they extended ht to 10 mins and played kids game so had lotta kids and parents who otherwise may not have gone -granted they havce the artificial pitch but great idea
    Ive said all this already.
    Clubs do need support in promoting themselves but at same time do most clubs really need to be shown how facebook etc works?
    Half time for AIL games generally can be 10 minutes anyway and playing a minis game before/youths game after can often be better than just half time if done right.

All clubs have to submit tapes of games. All AIL games are recorded for refereeing training/development and IRFU may not release full games/more clips as a result of that..

sure couldnt they use the same videos - they already doing for try of month and quality is fine

Never said Quality of the videos nt the reason more clips arent shown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

today marked retirment of our hooker and club legend ger slattery after 11 years with us. Richomnd boy he won grand slam at under 20s , played for munster, ireland clubs and barbarians (v arf in 2014) was our captain for year made 300 senior appearance for us, and an absolute gentleman and nice guy to boot

His body finally give up? Only 30, was on the same Irish schools team as Keith earls

First round of playoffs is Saturday 21st with 2nd round on 28th

Thanks for that. Would be nice if they didn't clash with the CC semis..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

In New Zealand, all club games are done on the one day. So U20, J1, J2 and 1st XV, maybe not all on the same pitch but all on the same day. I appreciate for player availabilty and stuff, if numbers are small they might need doubling up. J1 and 20's games are a pain for players and coaches on Sundays and definitely J1s should be on a Saturday, before 1sts.

Eod100 wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Would be nice if they didn't clash with the CC semis..
    Same weekend or times? Up to clubs involved to move kick offs if they want to watch/go to Leinster game.
    AIL1A semi finals are not this weekend but the all promotion/relegation first round of games are this weekend.
    In New Zealand, all club games are done on the one day. So U20, J1, J2 and 1st XV, maybe not all on the same pitch but all on the same day. I appreciate for player availabilty and stuff, if numbers are small they might need doubling up. J1 and 20's games are a pain for players and coaches on Sundays and definitely J1s should be on a Saturday, before 1sts.
    J1s before Saturdays is fine but in New Zealand a clubs sides all play same team generally on the same day in block fixtures do they not?
    That isnt possible here unless you throw the whole system apart and start anew and do we need that?
    J1s is played Sundays for players regularly are doubling up but there isnt any reason at all that 20s couldnt change right now
    And well within clubs abilities to change that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭FellasFellas

Same weekend or times? Up to clubs involved to move kick offs if they want to watch/go to Leinster game.
    AIL1A semi finals are not this weekend but the all promotion/relegation first round of games are this weekend.

J1s before Saturdays is fine but in New Zealand a clubs sides all play same team generally on the same day in block fixtures do they not?
    That isnt possible here unless you throw the whole system apart and start anew and do we need that?
    J1s is played Sundays for players regularly are doubling up but there isnt any reason at all that 20s couldnt change right now
    And well within clubs abilities to change that

Yeah it is the same team usually. Maybe their version of J2 plays a different club but the 3 others play the same. Isnt the AIL being restructured into 2 divisions season after next? Div 1 and 2 and then Junior outside of that, 20 teams total.

rumoured to be changes but it wont be junior outside of the top 20 if these changes occur it will be 3/4 regionalised groups for the remaining 30 senior clubs.

Just wondering how they're a pain being on the Sunday? Is it just because it's a Sunday and people want the day off?