Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you kill an intruder if you were guaranteed to get away scot free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Erik Shin wrote: »
    Does your man standing at the top of the stairs with the horn count?

Well if a naked strange man is standing at the top of my stairs with a hard on, I figure he's not out collecting for the Red Cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Beyondgone wrote: »
    You can't just assume accomplices will understand.:mad:

I'm a lone wolf.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

pablo128 wrote: »
    I'm a lone wolf.:pac:

Just as bloody well with that level of "accomplice instructing". :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,271 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

OU812 wrote: »
    That's two shots.

Proper procedure is to shoot them first, then shout loudly "Stop or I'll shoot", then fire a second shot into the ceiling.

Forensics isn't going tonnnow he order of the shots and to any witness, you warned them fairly in advance.

I did that, first shot in the hid, second shot in the ceiling.

Only problem was, me missus was doing aerobics upstairs and the bullit went through her Fanny.

Didn't get the Ride for months after :(

Bastrads

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

Someone needs to construct a graph, showing "actual numbers of burglaries V numbers of Burglars battered with golf clubs V burglars battering homeowners V Homeowners who had a goose and also got battered."

I think it might put all this into perspective. "I'dbatterim" is a good Boardsies name, it might not be that realistic an option for dealing with burglars. People are usually out/fast asleep anyway. No one has yet said they'd batter the couch(assuming they didn't rob it) in an impotent rage while waiting for the Gards to hopefully turn up.

I'm pinning my hopes on the dog anyway. Hopefully the dog would shoot them.

No.

Unless I felt my life or that of my wife or child was in danger.

Otherwise, I'm not killing someone for my DVD player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

But really, could you kill an intruder if you had the means

Nah, just give them a nice hammering would do me.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

Had a lively discussion with some friends lately saying that if they had a gun and happened across an intruder in their house they would pull the trigger no questions asked, its them or me.
    But really, could you kill an intruder if you had the means or is that standpoint often just bravado especially for men?
    If for the sake of argument you had a choice between killing them and getting away with it or restraining them and handing them over to the cops, what would you do?

Why would it be "them or you"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,148 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Only as a last resort.

Who knew so many Boardsies were armed/killer ninjas? Big burly fcukers coming up the stairs, the Boardsie calmly steps away from the keyboard, takes the magnum out of the side drawer, wastes everyone and goes back to looking at YLYL.

I thought I was being ridiculous with me goose. Now I'm not so sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Absolutely, without a second thought. If they are upstairs I have to assume they are ready for confrontation. Even without a gun, I would aim to inflict profound injuries up to death on anybody I catch upstairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

If I had to, to protect people or myself, whether I'd get away with it wouldn't cross my mind. It's not a situation where you can weigh up the pros and cons as you'd have to act fast. If I didn't feel in immediate danger I'd try to lock the intruder away until help arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

....... wrote: »

or goose.

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭jeff bingham

If I thought keeping him at gun point until the guards arrived would make any difference when court case comes around I would but unfortunately it doesn't work like that.
    Maybe I'd just blow one of his kneecaps out....

Edit: I don't own a gun but I presume we are armed for this hypothetical situation

With that in mind, if I managed to kill an intruder (and believe me I would do my best), I would simply put his carcass into the boot of my car and dump it up the road into a ditch.

Job done and one less burglar.

There were two lads (in their 20s) fighting outside our house when I was about 12 one night just as the ole lad came home from a few pints in the local.

One of them asked the ole lad to let him in as the other guy had a knife or something along those lines, the ole lad told him to get lost. The guy got a bit agressive and the other lad than seemed to be siding with him too so the ole lad gave the one nearest him a few slaps and asked the other guy did he want more of the same. Anyway, they both fecked off.

The parents called the Gardai and a squad car came out.... for a looksee and a drive around to see could they find the two guys.

Anyway, they told the ole lad that if anything happened like that again it'd be best to push the bodies across the road and if any complaints were made by said bodies ...... :pac:

Absolutely, without a second thought. If they are upstairs I have to assume they are ready for confrontation. Even without a gun, I would aim to inflict profound injuries up to death on anybody I catch upstairs.

I live in a ground floor apartment and my daughters bedroom is at the front just inside the front door. My job requires me to regularly use a box cutter so its in the pocket of my work trousers just beside the bed.

I have done a dry run when my car alarm went off one night. Glasses on, knife in hand and out the door in my boxers. No-one around thankfully for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,955 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I never ever want to kill anyone.... Ever.
    However if I was put in a position by someone else where thought it was me or them I'd use whatever force necessary to save myself or someone I loved.
    I would not so much as injure someone though unless I felt my life or someone else's depended upon it.

.... box cutter...........

Stanley knife for those who were wondering :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

many years ago i lived in a rented house, married a couple of years and with a one year old child. Three times in one year we got burgled and in the end there was nothing left worth stealing. I was unemployed at the time, no insurance cos the place was rented. It took me a long time to replace everything that was taken.
    Moved to a new house and ten years later got hit again, insurance covered it thank god but i had the house like fort knox with deadbolts, alarm etc. window broken during the day, alarm going off, neighbours not giving a fk.
    my point is that you are very unlikely to meet a burglar in your home, even more unlikely to have to fight one as they will run off rather than be caught.

if I ever am unlucky enough to be in that situation then, from experience, i will do my very best to beat the scum to death. If i hurt him and hold him for cops, then when he gets out of jail he will come back for revenge. Anything i own is not worth someone's life, but i own it, i worked for it and i will be damned if any one is gonna take them from me. plus you only need to do that once and you will never be burgled again. who would risk it? If every person who caught a burglar did the same then there would be a lot less burglaries.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,478 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No, killing them for the sake just because you "get away" with it would be savagery.
    If I felt it was down to them or me (or my family) then it would be them every time.
    I know a few lads that keep a pitch fork under the bed, bachelors in rural areas. It's a great weapon to have, 5ft handle to keep a fella away and two 10" prongs with nice fine points that would pierce anything, the steel in the prongs is savage strong too. There's not too many lads that would come running at ya if you were yielding such a weapon on your own home.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Bushmanpm

Beyondgone wrote:
    I thought I was being ridiculous with me goose. Now I'm not so sure.

AND you can cook & eat said goose afterwards, thereby destroying the weapon/evidence

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

Im Murican, nuff said
    You poor Irish.... you're only allowed to show the intruder to your wallet then let them tie you up

Im Murican, nuff said
    You poor Irish.... you're only allowed to show the intruder to your wallet then let them tie you up

Not any more.;) We just have to kill them a certain way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,668 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im Murican, nuff said

I agree with the American policy of anything goes to defend your home but i suppose the question is would you be aiming for murder if it happened? And could you just live your life no bother afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Would depend on the situation, I'd certainly like to break a bone or two and I'm no internet hard man.

If someone goes into a persons house uninvited then they deserve to get smashed up,only last year an old man living alone was roughed up twice in 24 hours by scumbags looking for money.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Would say killing them is safe than restraining, both practically and legally.

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

There are a lot of "if it was them or me" scenarios going on here.

If I had to bet on either a drugged up burglar (who has most likely been in a fair few dust ups before) or a half asleep boardsie with a golf club I know who my money would be on....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

snowflaker wrote: »
    I think you'd be done for cruelty to bats- aren't they a protected species???
    no one's going to argue if you use a rabid vampire bat