Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Wouldn't have anything to do with the Tzarina of Europa.It's the Federal firearms law that has permitted this for decades.Aimed more of course at stopping Neo-Nazis from tooling up.[As if it ever bothered the extreme Left or Right in Germany from getting firepower when needed:(]

Yes, what ever happened to the Baader Meinhof lot ? Did they give up and go home ?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,972 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Actually ...YES! That is pretty much what happened to the snowflakes of the 1980s, once their sponsor, the GDR started to fold up and die. Their supply of money and weaponry went the same way.
    No one sane in W Germany was interested in their Communist rants, and once Andreas and Ulrike decorated their cell walls with their brains in Stammheim prison after the GSG9 took out the plane in Mogadishu.The whole organisation started to fall apart.It was more nuisance than actual threat, although they did pull off a spectacular with killing a German industrialist[Herrhausen] with an improvised liner shaped charge bomb in the 1980s THey disbanded ironically April 20th[Hitlers birthday] 1998. Although it is rumoured that they might make a comeback, as apparently three of these now well into their 60's militants who have been on the run since the 70 tried to rob a money transport in Jan 2016.An utter dismal failure by these pensioner terrorists,who wanted to get some retirement money.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Another qualified doctor or engineer from Syria having a bad day in Germany:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,495 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

What is i the article?

Won't click on, read, buy or acknowledge the existence of the Sun "newspaper".
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »
    What is i the article?

Won't click on, read, buy or acknowledge the existence of the Sun "newspaper".

Guy running amok with a knife in a town square in Germany, he done a family sitting having a coffee outside a cafe, lad sitting there blood pissing out of him. The eu banning guns to prevent terrorism, its not working.

Just google Ravensburg stabbing.

Ah yeah, read about it elsewhere.

There is no point rehashing it here because we've done it to death on multiple threads and over the years, but we all know banning something doesn't stop the crime.

Two shootings in the last two days in London, another the week before, and two weeks ago a guy shot on his doorstop. All in the UK.

In Ireland we had the infamous hotel shooting with criminals dressed as Gardaí and using AKs, but we also have doorstep shootings (only last week in Ballymun), shootings on the streets using illegal and prohibited weapons, and yet every time it happens the first section of community the Gardaí aim at is us.

However the story i seen about the attempted/threatened school shooting is the first one ever, afaik, in Ireland. So not only are illegal weapons being imported by criminals now so to are the values, or lack thereof, of school shootings, etc. Something that has never existed in this country, EVER.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

about the attempted/threatened school shooting

I only saw the headlines for this, did he actually threaten to use firearms? I saw what he posted and it was along the lines of "Don't come to school tomorrow if you value your life"

It was reported he sent out a lot of tweets or post on FB saying what you said, but also the words "shoot em up" on instagram.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

It was reported he sent out a lot of tweets or post on FB saying what you said, but also the words "shoot em up" on instagram.

Sligo IT had a similar threat a few years ago too it was written on a piece of paper and left in the library?
    Unfortunately some my generation thinks that kind of sh*te is funny i mean just look at Swatting over in the US:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,201 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

A screen shot of a message he was proported to have sent showed a semi auto pistol.( Irish Indepentent)
    Then you had other students posting "OMG he's got a gun" etc, etc.

When searched, no firearms were found in his home.
    Imagine the shìtstorm that would have descended on his parents if they had sporting firearms in the house.....

Was reminded that day b4 yesterday [Oct 10th] was the 6th anniversary of the Limerick District court cases that changed how firearms court cases would be fought here with the chance of costs being awarded to the license holder.

How times flies when you are having fun...:rolleyes:

In less than two weeks we get the chance to vote on removing the absurd and outdated notion of Blasphemy laws.

However the bigger vote will be for a new president.

Now most candidates are, according to polls, hopelessly behind the current president. We have all learned that polls are are trustworthy as a fart after a nights drinking and curry, and i dislike these reports because the prevailing attitude it breeds is "why bother voting, he'll win regardless".

A thought has started to spread, and not for the first time. Do we actually need a president? They [the president] are a rubber stamp for any bill, effectively have no real power, are more of a figure head for state function (although the unelected leader does his fair share so its kinda moot), cost over €5 million per year, and to me never uphold their oath of office.

So do we need a president?

The role of president was dreamt up for De Lavera, to give him a solid gold old age in his mansion in cross avenue Blackrock. So no i do not think we need a president. I cannot be arsed voting for any of them, won't be getting my arse out the armchair to do so, they are all from the same clique, or are "entrepreneurs" robber barons looking for a handy well paid number.

If we had a triple lock Governmental system that is supposed to function like the US system of Govt[which the Irish system is modelled on] With a president with executive function and powers to veto,and a functioning parliament with a Senate that actually performs a legislative task and isn't an expensive kindergarten for wannabes ,has-beens ,also-rans,and misc fruit&nuts.
    For whom only a privileged elite who attended the "right "colleges in Dublin may vote for from the civilian population and all the rest are voted in by political parties.[Think that's called an Oligarchy??]Then yes it would make sense to have a president .

But as it is now an expensive man sitting in a big house, writing Hikaru poetry in Gaelic and pontificating on the injustice of the world and how great Socialism is.Who is no more than a rubber stamp. Errr NO..We can do away with both Senad,which hasnt reformed itself at all,and office o the POI,and save ourselves a good few bob.
    Remember voting for the POI is about as important as what brand of bog paper you will buy next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Remember voting for the POI is about as important as what brand of bog paper you will buy next week.

Pretty important decision that one...

1930s+toilet+paper+ad+but+what+if+i+liked+the_5e93a6_4352728.jpg

Sparks wrote: »
    Pretty important decision that one...

1930s+toilet+paper+ad+but+what+if+i+liked+the_5e93a6_4352728.jpg

Real men don't mind splinters, GRRRRRRRRRRRR

JOKE,[and not meant to be offensive to Native Americans of any hue.]

Red Indian comes to the trading outpost for the months' supplies for the tribe. Beans, bacon, ammo and toilet paper. Not having any bog paper to hand and being a cheap fecker,the trading post owner sells the Indian a bunch of rolls of old woodchip wallpaper. The chief departs with his supplies and returns a month later for more.
    Bacon,beans, ammo and John Wayne paper is the chiefs order.

"Sorry, there chief, whats JohnWayne paper?"Asks the trader scratching his head.
    "You sell um to me last month.Many rolls"Says the chief. "Tribe use it all up, it rough,it tough and takes no s**t from Red man!

Annnnnnnnnnddddddddd there off.

Presidential debate.

First topic Casey's comments about travelers.

You are only winding yourself up watching that dreck cass. Watch a few shooting videos on youtube or read a book.

All these politicians are virtue signalling lefties, that never do sfa.

You're right, so i've deleted the posts above.

However it's important to watch this. This person, while nothing more than an overpaid tourist and rubber stamper for the Government, will be our next President.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

gunny123 wrote: »

Actually quite a few military veterans volunteer as game rangers, there are many anti poaching orgainisations set up by former military personnel
    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2017/may/30/us-army-veterans-find-peace-protecting-rhinos-poaching-south-africa

Theres , Ex-Legionnaires,Marines,US Army,British Army etc.... all taking part in anti poaching operations as they have the skillset to track and monitor the activity of poachers in Africa as many of these groups operate just like terror groups in fact they quite often fund terror organisations like Boko-Haram etc.

But to answer your question i guess some of these lads could never settle back into civilian life so this is as close as they get to being back in the military so they want to become a game ranger because its not exactly a normal civilian life.

Along with that group theres people who've grown up where elephant poaching happens and want to change it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,677 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

gunny123 wrote: »

I have alot of respect for these guys - without them we could say goodbye to the likes of big cats and elephants etc. in the wild. Remember reading about ex-Israeli special forces securing National parks in central Africa

Actually quite a few military veterans volunteer as game rangers, there are many anti poaching orgainisations set up by former military personnel
    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2017/may/30/us-army-veterans-find-peace-protecting-rhinos-poaching-south-africa

Theres , Ex-Legionnaires,Marines,US Army,British Army etc.... all taking part in anti poaching operations as they have the skillset to track and monitor the activity of poachers in Africa as many of these groups operate just like terror groups in fact they quite often fund terror organisations like Boko-Haram etc.

But to answer your question i guess some of these lads could never settle back into civilian life so this is as close as they get to being back in the military so they want to become a game ranger because its not exactly a normal civilian life.

Along with that group theres people who've grown up where elephant poaching happens and want to change it.

“People sleep peacefully in their beds only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.” Supposedly Orwell.

But it must apply to animals in Africa too i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

This is about guns and shooting - the 2018 British Militaria Meet and Shoot in Eastern Pennsylvania a few days ago, courtesy of Rob of the Youtube Victorian Riflemen channel. People came from all over the place, including England and Norn Iron.

Enjoy the half-hour movie for what it is, something that, given the present firearms laws in the Republic, represents a unique view insofar as there is not a single gun license among them, Coehorne Mortar, hand-grenade launcher or shark harpooner included....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vw-uP8FU8NM

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

More on the shooting of older-style firearms - the works of a master on show. Be amazed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewFvSecz2Nk

Small Arms Survey,the Geneva-based anti-gun research lobby.
    Finally arrive at the conclusion we have been telling them all along. Improvised weaponry is where its at,and that legal firearms rarely if ever end up unless confiscated by Govts or criminal intent on the black market.
    So why do they want to keep banning legally held ones??

http://www.smallarmssurvey.org/about-us/highlights/2018/highlight-report-improvised.html?fbclid=IwAR27HUGSrA_G83puoUOZ3JfK47zpLbAvSeEBn0V6KCr8NYXrPZSaADnVk4w

Small Arms Survey,the Geneva-based anti-gun research lobby.
    Finally arrive at the conclusion we have been telling them all along. Improvised weaponry is where its at,and that legal firearms rarely if ever end up unless confiscated by Govts or criminal intent on the black market.
    So why do they want to keep banning legally held ones??

http://www.smallarmssurvey.org/about-us/highlights/2018/highlight-report-improvised.html?fbclid=IwAR27HUGSrA_G83puoUOZ3JfK47zpLbAvSeEBn0V6KCr8NYXrPZSaADnVk4w

Wow, don't our own marxist freedom fighters feature prominently in that report ? And seeing as most firearms were banned here in 1972, and the terrorists still went on to murder over 3,000 people, its plain that persecuting legal gun owners does absolutely nothing to reduce crime or terrorism.

So this report could have been written 40 years ago.