Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Did we ever think we'd see house prices rebound so quickly after the Celtic Tiger, especially considering the global pandemic of the last 12 months?

Tough times for people living at home with their parents or renting and trying to save to buy their own place.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/house-sales-for-first-time-buyers-at-highest-level-since-celtic-tiger-1119313.html

Give it another year or two and the sweeping up after the pandemic will begin. All that overpriced PPE from China will need to be paid for and they won't be able to put all the newly created debt on the long finger forever.

Fine Gael has been pumping the property market celtic tiger style for nearly a full decade now and things are bound to come to a head

Tis bad news for me because if the crash doesn't come soon I may as well give up on buying a house in this country. I nearly had a gaff bought but it fell through - that was the last reasonably priced house around as far as I could tell.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Give it another year or two and the sweeping up after the pandemic will begin. All that overpriced PPE from China will need to be paid for and they won't be able to put all the newly created debt on the long finger forever.

Fine Gael has been pumping the property market celtic tiger style for nearly a full decade now and things are bound to come to a head

Tis bad news for me because if the crash doesn't come soon I may as well give up on buying a house in this country. I nearly had a gaff bought but it fell through - that was the last reasonably priced house around as far as I could tell.

Not to mention Brexit, the full effects we have not even started to see yet. But a walk around the local builders providers or diy shop will soon show you goods are going to go up in price, by a fair whack.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

tudderone wrote: »
    Not to mention Brexit, the full effects we have not even started to see yet. But a walk around the local builders providers or diy shop will soon show you goods are going to go up in price, by a fair whack.

Builders providers
    Couriers
    Food

But I do think the builders providers stuff has gone up by a fair whack already

Paid 5.40 for simple 1/2" to 3/4" brass fitting yesterday
    60 for a simple kitchen tap not so long ago
    Shelving. Fecking mad expensive as well

Asked a guy how much to re-tube my RIB, used to be €4k now he's up to 6.5 :eek: Blames Breksit.

Now I make out a lot of it is only an excuse, they've been dying to push up their prices for years and now they see the chance. Also a lot of the crowd ""working from home"" are doing shag all, looking after their kids and answering the odd email. If you want to get something done it can be very tedious to cajole them into action

• Registered Users Posts: 7,836 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Strange times, our eldest lad and his girl were on the verge of buying just before the pandemic and dopey here advised them to hold tough as I thought we would see a drop off in prices. Luckily they are both unaffected work wise by the pandemic and also very patient so they are still saving away and will be well situated financially when the right place pops up at the right price.

We're out in the sticks here and have noticed the bargains that used to be available for a few months are being whipped up faster than usual. No complaints, as it's great to have new permanent life in rural areas rather than seeing properties being sold to people who will just use them strictly as holiday homes. A good few of the houses that were bought as holiday homes years ago are also now full time occupied by the owners since the second lock down and I'd say a good percentage will stay that way. Nothing like a few months locked in to a small house surrounded by concrete to make people appreciate living in the countryside or near the sea.

I'd say in future people will be more aware of the size of their potential living space because of the pandemic and the pokey little places that demanded high prices simply because of location will see the biggest drop in price. I could be totally wrong too though and it wouldn't be the first time.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,951 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Mellor wrote: »
    The writer probably needs some English lessons.
    An attack on democracy is not the same as an Attack on the country. I thought that was fairly obvious.

Pearl Harbour was an attack on America. Not on democracy.

Ah ! The old lawyer tactic there Mellor?;)
    Weak on law, argue the facts. Weak on facts ,argue the law. Weak on both , attack the character of the witness?
    But seeing that Im sure Bin Ladin and Al Queida are/were great proponents of democracy and constitutional republics...I'm sure there is some merit in your in your arguement there somewhere??Just cant see it?:confused:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,459 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Just after seeing the news for the first time today.
    • May 10th - Hairdressers, libraries, click and collect on "non essential" retail, and inter county travel.
    • May 17th - All retail.
    • June 2nd - Hotels, guest houses, B'nBs.
    • June 7th - Outdoor hospitality, sports (no crowds/fans), weddings up to 25 and cinemas. (don't get the logic of 25 at a wedding or no crowds at sporting events but cinemas reopening, but i suppose "science")
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

So - who's taking May 10th off to go shooting? :)

Was just watchin that here. Yer man needs to buy a lotto ticket or two.

Not sure I like the idea of a cheaped-out 50BMG rifle where if the endcap fails it becomes a projectile -

Lot to be said for a decent trauma kit out shooting too tbh.

civdef wrote: »
    Not sure I like the idea of a cheaped-out 50BMG rifle where if the endcap fails it becomes a projectile -
    Can happen with a bolt action too. Excessive pressure, bolt handle fails and bolts finds "the path of least resistance". IOW backwards.

Only thing about a bolt action, so long as catastrophic failure doesn't occur, is you can judge over pressured rounds by the bolt lift (stiff). With and end cap you wouldn't have that.

One thing that surprised me in that video is the "low" max. pressure of the gun. 50,000+ psi. I thought it's be a lot more for a 50cal as some 308s and 300winmags can produce and/or are rated for similar pressures (up to 62,000.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Was just watchin that here. Yer man needs to buy a lotto ticket or two.

I seen a guy who had a Blaser bolt in his face, not a cheap rifle by any stretch of the imagination. He survived, but he was deformed facially. Anything mechanical can fail, that includes rifles.

The max pressure according to the guy in the video for a .50 bmg is 55,000 psi. Those slap rounds were reckoned to be 85,000 psi. It was like firing extremely hot proof rounds (proof rounds are normally only 10% over max pressure) through that rifle.

Don't blame the rifle, it was his own doing, he was very foolhardy.

Cass wrote: »
    Can happen with a bolt action too. Excessive pressure, bolt handle fails and bolts finds "the path of least resistance". IOW backwards.

Only thing about a bolt action, so long as catastrophic failure doesn't occur, is you can judge over pressured rounds by the bolt lift (stiff). With and end cap you wouldn't have that.

One thing that surprised me in that video is the "low" max. pressure of the gun. 50,000+ psi. I thought it's be a lot more for a 50cal as some 308s and 300winmags can produce and/or are rated for similar pressures (up to 62,000.

The bigger the round the lower the pressure. Some of the African heavy game rounds are not very high pressure at all, relatively. Force = pressure x area, so the more the area increases, the lower the pressure has to be for the same force on the action lugs etc.

tudderone wrote: »
    The bigger the round the lower the pressure. .

Yeah, seems counter intuitive though. You think bigger = more. Just surprising to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,030 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Ah ! The old lawyer tactic there Mellor?;)
    Weak on law, argue the facts. Weak on facts ,argue the law. Weak on both , attack the character of the witness?
    The old sad strawman trick Grizly. :rolleyes:

At which point did I attack his character? I pointed out he was willfully misinterpreting the statement. That's a stateman on his poor argument, not his character.
    But you knew that, of course. As you are doing the same. Shocker.
    But seeing that Im sure Bin Ladin and Al Queida are/were great proponents of democracy and constitutional republics...I'm sure there is some merit in your in your argument there somewhere??Just cant see it?:confused:
    To be honest, I don't for one second believe you don't understand it.
    I'm not going to give you credit for playing the dummy card.

Pearl Harbour 9/11 was a attack on the US. Neither of them were an attack of the US democratic process.
    The fact Bin ladens isn't a proponents of democracy doesn't change the attack.

Hilter was a vegetarian. WW2 wasn't an attack people who eat meat. Can't believe I has to explain that, but here we are.

Feisar wrote: »
    I do have a wry grin on my face when I see lads on here arguing the toss on US politics, like it matters, they're all gangsters out for themselves.
    100%. Couldn't agree more with this.
    The US system is completely toxic. Counter productive to anything other than making up lies and blaming the "other guys". It's a game of self promotion.

I always find it strange when people in Ireland get obsessed about their "side" over there.

You do understand/realise you must count yourself in this given your post history and defence of "your" side on this thread? Do you have that same wry grin when you're posting?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭Feisar

You do understand/realise you must count yourself in this given your post history and defence of "your" side on this thread? Do you have that same wry grin when you're posting?

Me? I can barely be bothered with our own politics! Although apathy is nearly as big or maybe a worse crime.

First they came for the socialists...

On the rifle- I dunno folks, for about the last hundred and thirty years or so bolts/breeches have been designed to have secondary and even tertiary mechanisms to prevent catastrophic failures like this.

This RN50 rifle design has 4-5 threads on the breech cap, and nothing else (and not heavy interrupted threads like you’d see on a cannon breech either) Those lugs behind the cap could have been designed sturdy enough to provide some additional containment, but instead they just sheared off and became projectiles (and were the bits coming closest to killing the man in this case).

The RN part of the design would not inspire confidence bearing in mind some of his previous creations. Serbu himself looks to be a competent engineer, but this design looks to have centred more on low cost than anything else (and still not all that cheap!)

I wasn’t the one who mentioned a wry grin. But FWIW I don’t have a “side” in the US politics either.

I’ve criticised Trump during his term for being an imbecile, or a liar. Has nothing to do with his side of the spectrum. I just dislike liars tbh.

Similarly with that previous article. It’s far-right clickbait nonsense. The author is misrepresenting a fairly basic sentence. I don’t have to be far left to point that out, nor does doing so put me there.

Again, it’s a disdain for lying, twisting people words, and the general culture of wilfully spreading fake news that’s become common.
    Nothing to do with sides. I’d call out far-left fake news just as quickly.

Feisar wrote: »
    Me?
    No. My reply to Mellor and as it was directly under Mellor's post so i didn't think a quote was necessary, plus you have posted either very little to nothing at all on the US political scene on this thread.
    Although apathy is nearly as big or maybe a worse crime.

Worse, and that is not a dig at you in any way, shape or form.

My biggest peeve is people that say/think "i can't be bothered". In relation to any subject/topic. Then they are surprised when real world stuff "appears" such as their oil/fuel costing 10% more, food costs more, their mortgage rates go up, property tax is introduced, Civil liberties are taken away.

Not picking a side is worse than being accused of picking the wrong side as silence/apathy gives credence and "strength" to the other side.

I don't agree with Mellor on his political view points and as this thread proves we've argued (to death some times) various topics on it, but i respect his conviction and ability to discuss it. Some posters lurk, read but never post and again if they don't want to discuss their views/beliefs but have them, that is fine. What makes me have a smug grin is those who are incapable of discussing any topic and simply sit back thanking posts because they cannot engage.

Not picking a side is worse than being accused of picking the wrong side as silence/apathy gives credence and "strength" to the other side.
    Just to clarify, when I said I don’t have a side in the US. I’m taking about republicans, democrats. Left, right. Whatever.
    Obviously on various issues. I’ll have an opinion. Or if one “side” posts something incorrect I’ll argue the point. But that stems from the facts, correctness, etc.
    Not a “side” I’ve committed to support/vote for for life.

I wasn’t the one who mentioned a wry grin.
    Never said you did.
    But FWIW I don’t have a “side” in the US politics either.
    Your post history indicates other, but i get your point. None of us have a side in US politics as we're not American (well i cannot speak for you given i don't know your location), but we can understand certain view points over others which can be seen as taking sides.
    I’ve criticised Trump during his term for being an imbecile, or a liar. Has nothing to do with his side of the spectrum. I just dislike liars tbh.
    You must love biden so (sense the sarcasm). A liar, imbecile, incompetent and plagiarist yet some adorn him simply because he is not the bad orange man.
    Similarly with that previous article.
    Don't know, didn't click on it or read it no more than i would with any far left rag/site.

Just to clarify, when I said I don’t have a side in the US. I’m taking about republicans, democrats. Left, right. Whatever.
    Obviously on various issues. I’ll have an opinion. Or if one “side” posts something incorrect I’ll argue the point. But that stems from the facts, correctness, etc.
    Not a “side” I’ve committed to support/vote for for life.

And there is the issue at the heart of such discussions. You, and I mean the general you (including me), immediately get labeled left/right wing and everything said is either lost on the person because they don't agree with me without ever reading/understanding the content of what I'm saying.

I'm all for less Government interference, against abortion, for free speech, less taxation, Christian, and for personal accountability. If in America I'd be seen as a Republican, but that doesn't immediately mean I'm against gay marriage, against minorities, racist, fascist, anti muslim, etc. but those labels will be attached to me regardless of my beliefs on them and hence the respondent to my posts will come into the debate believing/assuming i have these beliefs and attack that, not the content of my post.

On the rifle- I dunno folks, for about the last hundred and thirty years or so bolts/breeches have been designed to have secondary and even tertiary mechanisms to prevent catastrophic failures like this.
    They can, and do, still happen and its usually human error. I've seen, as i'm sure you have too, videos on Youtube of guns exploding because of poor maintenance and/or poor shooting practices (hot loads, wrong caliber ammo, etc).

My point is nothing is infallible.
    This RN50 rifle design has 4-5 threads on the breech cap, and nothing else (and not heavy interrupted threads like you’d see on a cannon breech either) Those lugs behind the cap could have been designed sturdy enough to provide some additional containment, but instead they just sheared off and became projectiles (and were the bits coming closest to killing the man in this case).
    At, according to the guy, nearly 50% over maximum pressure nothing was going to hold against that. He should have known that so that incident, not accident, was his fault.
    The RN part of the design would not inspire confidence bearing in mind some of his previous creations. Serbu himself looks to be a competent engineer, but this design looks to have centred more on low cost than anything else (and still not all that cheap!)
    Possibly. I'm not familiar with the make/design and my first time seeing it was on that video.

100% agreed, with that much overload it was always going to fail and be totally banjaxed.

Looking at the design though, some relatively small changes would have helped prevent the scale of what happened here. It shouldn't have been so easy to make shrapnel out of the components and that failure mode was foreseeable in this design, I reckon.

At, according to the guy, nearly 50% over maximum pressure nothing was going to hold against that. He should have known that so that incident, not accident, was his fault..
    I can’t see the video. But did a google search and seen what I assume is the same video.

How was he to know it was 85kPsi though?
    I’m not familiar with the tech specs if slap rounds. So maybe they are 85 by default.

It sounded to me like he was told by the manufacturer after the fact that it must have been 85k min to blow the cap. It could have been higher.

It shouldn't have been so easy to make shrapnel out of the components and that failure mode was foreseeable in this design, I reckon.
    Yup. Cars are designed with crumple zones, seat belts, etc. all for the worse case scenario. As you said above guns have ports and other fail safes but not all manufacturers do this and cheaper branded models would, by assumption, not have as many or any. That cap system would not be my choice anyways.
    How was he to know it was 85kPsi though?
    He said it in the video he was using slap rounds (basically sabot). As someone that reloads i know what each of my guns are rated for and most factory ammo is "lawyer friendly" so well under the maximum threshold of the guns safe working pressures. If i'm unsure i'll check and if i'm ignorant my gun will tell me with pressure signs. Flattening of the primer, excessive muzzle flash, recoil, hard extractions of spent casings, etc.

In the video he said, retrospectively, there were signs of them being hot. I got this, on a much smaller scale when using Hornady Superformance, with stiff bolt lifts, flattened primers, etc. so its why i don't use them. He should have taken more caution and stopped if in doubt.
    I’m not familiar with the tech specs if slap rounds. So maybe they are 85 by default.

It sounded to me like he was told by the manufacturer after the fact that it must have been 85k min to blow the cap. It could have been higher.
    Nor was i until he said so on his video. The slap round produces, according to him, 85,000 psi. He also said the gun is rated for the normal pressures of the round, iow up to 55,000 psi. Had he checked those the other way round, iow before firing, this could have been avoided.

glad he is alright. I had a similar experience some years back, but luckily for me the rifle held and i got a blurry eye for a few weeks and little more. Wasn't the round was at fault it was the rifle. Poor quality control when manufacturing it meant the headspace was huge which allowed the case to expand sideways.

Scared the living crap out of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Wot video are yiz talkin about? I don't see a link on the thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Asus1

BattleCorp wrote: »

https://youtu.be/1449kJKxlMQ

BattleCorp wrote: »

The original poster deleted his post with the video link. Asus1 has it there now so you'll see.