Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

Should Cork go on to win by a narrow margin, this will forever haunt waterford as another "what if".

However, I expect this will light a serious fire in the hearts of this waterford team and hopefully it'll produce the defining performance of this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭rebs23

This will only motivate Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Was thinking Waterford all along as I thought he would get off but with De Burca out I can only see a Cork win now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭rebs23

Was thinking Waterford all along as I thought he would get off but with De Burca out I can only see a Cork win now.
    I'd strongly disagree, in a strange way Waterford may have to try something new, something unknown which could work in their favour. In an amature game motivation can be a significant factor much more so than in a professional sport especially when there is not that much between the teams.
    As a Cork supporter I just don't like it. Still believe we will win but it will be very tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭HurlingRanker

One of the potential dangers of the backdoor is meeting a team down the line that you had previously beaten in the provincial championship. In recent memory the 2012 and 2013 All-Ireland finals reversed the results of when the finalists met in the provincial championships a few months earlier.

I'd be hopeful for Cork, I like how they have responded to a disappointing league quarter final defeat to Limerick earlier this year, I'll admit, having watched them outfought by an average at best Limerick team I walked out of Pairc Ui Rinn that evening thinking Cork wouldn't have much of an impact. Luckily for them they obviously had a few more gears to spare.

A lovely side to watch, that Tipp game in May was a joy to behold. All-Ireland hurling is a different animal though, but they'll know that, enough of them have already been there in 2013 and 2014. So I think they'll be ready for this.

Waterford are a solid outfit, third semi final in a row, this is their level and they have gained valuable experience in the last few years. They will have learned a thing or two from the Munster SF defeat. De Burca is a major blow. Will be hard to replace, that sweeper role isn't just a matter of sticking a player in between the full back and half back lines and hoping for the best - that player needs to have a good hurling brain, a good ability to read the game and know where to position himself and deliver the correct ball when he's looking up the pitch at an outnumbered forward unit. A lot of teams have tried a sweeper and failed miserably, just sticking a body back there for the sake of it. You need to put the right guy in there, Derek McGrath knows what he's doing in that respect and he'll make the best call.

I still feel they have a decent chance though. It's a blow but not a fatal one, they coped without Mahony after his leg break, they'll cope. Hopefully the upheld suspension is a motivating factor for them. If it starts creeping into the back of their minds as a "What if?" scenario it will just be a self fulfilling prophecy of sorts, can't go into a game with your excuses already made. I don't think that will happen, they're mature and experienced enough now. A tight and tense game on the way I reckon, much like the game we had at the weekend. Looking forward to it.

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Very disappointing for De Burca.

Cork huge favourites now.

Feel sorry for Tadhg for the ringer was put through. That appeals process needs to be cleaned up pronto and sorted out in quicker time then this. A little over 2 days before a throw in and an amateur athlete has to wait until the clock strikes midnight to know where he stands. :rolleyes: And then after all this he has a long drive back to Waterford in the middle of the night. :mad:

Im not saying whether Tadhg is innocent or guilty. id have to trust the linesman here, but surely something that happened 3 weeks ago should have been sorted long ago?

I hope Derek throws off the shackles and just bloody goes for it. Be confident in that talented crop of youngsters he has where a good few have won u21 and minor all ireland's.

No one would begrudge Waterford or Derek an All Ireland if they played positively and adventurous like we know they can do but if they persist with this negative mindset then they will continue their drought. This might win a league or two but it wont win a championship....and maybe not even a Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,734 ✭✭✭blue note

I hope Derek throws off the shackles and just bloody goes for it. Be confident in that talented crop of youngsters he has where a good few have won u21 and minor all ireland's.

No one would begrudge Waterford or Derek an All Ireland if they played positively and adventurous like we know they can do.

Feck it your right. We should play a couple of sweepers in attack. A couple of defenders is plenty. I'd hate people to begrudge us an all Ireland. I've heard people begrudge other counties all Ireland's, and I always for the impression they were sorry they ever won them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,102 ✭✭✭threeball

Feel sorry for Tadhg for the ringer was put through. That appeals process needs to be cleaned up pronto and sorted out in quicker time then this. A little over 2 days before a throw in and an amateur athlete has to wait until the clock strikes midnight to know where he stands. :rolleyes: And then after all this he has a long drive back to Waterford in the middle of the night. :mad:

Im not saying whether Tadhg is innocent or guilty. id have to trust the linesman here, but surely something that happened 3 weeks ago should have been sorted long ago?

Its not fair on the team affected either as they can't really prepare properly without knowing if the guy will or won't be allowed play.
    Quite why it takes weeks to conclude the process is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

If he took his punishment it would've been sorted 3 weeks ago. Waterford dragged this on by appealing the appeal. Rules are Rules.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 uno dos pizza

galway prefer to meet cork in the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Supporters would have better craic with de Rebels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 uno dos pizza

haha , cork onians are gas in fairness,

If he took his punishment it would've been sorted 3 weeks ago. Waterford dragged this on by appealing the appeal. Rules are Rules.

No everyone has the right to appeal irregardless. Waterford exercised their right and in fairness the TV coverage was bad. He was sent off on split second decision from the linesman and he could be innocent. The Wexford man even made a case on his behalf.

In any other sport this should have been sorted at least the previous week before the Tipp and Galway game. the early hours of Friday morning, 60 or so hours before throw in is far from ideal. Something needs to be done.

threeball wrote: »
    Its not fair on the team affected either as they can't really prepare properly without knowing if the guy will or won't be allowed play.
    Quite why it takes weeks to conclude the process is beyond me.

Take Daragh Fives for example who is rumoured to have been tried as Sweeper in training. He has to be 100% committed to a role in training he isnt even guaranteed of playing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

galway prefer to meet cork in the final

Waterford's style suits Galway more. It would be a hell of a final knowing that one of the teams would be winning an All Ireland for the first time in over 25 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Waterford's style suits Galway more. It would be a hell of a final knowing that one of the teams would be winning an All Ireland for the first time in over 25 years.

On what basis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭terryrogers

Just watched the GAA highlights from last Sunday on tg4, what great hurling we were treated to. You really can't beat an end to end long ball game of 15 v 15 with no sweepers.

One thing that I was conscious of though was the amount of throwing of the sliothar, having heard some tipp people complaining about Coen's pass for Joe's winning point. There was some amount of 'throwing' going on and ironically most of these fouls that led to a score came from tipp as far as I could see. Bubbles point soon before Joe's winner was a good example, Dan McCormick made a fine run and threw it off to bubbles for the score.

Undoubtedly we'll see even more 'throws' in tomorrow's game given the short passing playing style. What do people think, how can the GAA solve this problem? It's so hard to spot without the benefit of tv replays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭blackcard

Just watched the GAA highlights from last Sunday on tg4, what great hurling we were treated to. You really can't beat an end to end long ball game of 15 v 15 with no sweepers.

One thing that I was conscious of though was the amount of throwing of the sliothar, having heard some tipp people complaining about Coen's pass for Joe's winning point. There was some amount of 'throwing' going on and ironically most of these fouls that led to a score came from tipp as far as I could see. Bubbles point soon before Joe's winner was a good example, Dan McCormick made a fine run and threw it off to bubbles for the score.

Undoubtedly we'll see even more 'throws' in tomorrow's game given the short passing playing style. What do people think, how can the GAA solve this problem? It's so hard to spot without the benefit of tv replays.
    Agree it is hard to be certain regarding the throwing of the ball. I think a rule has to be brought in that it has to be a "clear" handpass in the eyes of the referee. If a lot of these marginal handpasses are given as frees because it is not clear that they are handpasses, players will learn that there has to be clear separation between between the hand and the ball.
    It would be interesting if a match was reviewed to see how many throw balls take place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

On a semi-related note I think Johnny Glynn might have the best handpass of anybody I can remember. He's more accurate with the paw than the hurl :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

On a semi-related note I think Johnny Glynn might have the best handpass of anybody I can remember. He's more accurate with the paw than the hurl :pac:

Be a lethal man back in the day when you could handpass the ball to the net :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

On what basis?

They play defensively and do not have the fast/skillful forwards that Cork have. Galway will relish the physicality that Waterford bring too. Galway have the talent to put together a high score against that defensive setup. Galway would fear that cocky fast unbeaten Cork team more than Waterford.
    For atmosphere I think Galway-Waterford would be unforgettable. I hope Waterford win the semi-final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭dubcat51

Heard dan shanahan on the radio talking about eoin larkin to justify waterfords use of the sweeper.larkin dropped back no doubt but he never parked himself in front of the kk back line from the off.his scoring record twlls you where he spent 99%of his time.his catch and score at the end of the 11 final with kk up by 3 tells you he was no sweeper.waterford shouls just say yes we play a sweeper but font try to justify it with rubbish talk.hopefully cork will make their sweepers reduntant tomorro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

dubcat51 wrote: »
    Heard dan shanahan on the radio talking about eoin larkin to justify waterfords use of the sweeper.larkin dropped back no doubt but he never parked himself in front of the kk back line from the off.his scoring record twlls you where he spent 99%of his time.his catch and score at the end of the 11 final with kk up by 3 tells you he was no sweeper.waterford shouls just say yes we play a sweeper but font try to justify it with rubbish talk.hopefully cork will make their sweepers reduntant tomorro

I doubt he was saying Larkin played a sweeper, but he dropped deep allowing the center back to sit deeper and Fogarty to drop back to cover the space in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭Motivator

Tell Brian Cody to enjoy watching the match tomorrow.

Have a great weekend.

Up Waterford.

I agree with you here. Eoin Larkin was a tracker and not a sweeper and every team deploys them.

Last year showed the obvious weakness of the sweeper in that the spare man who was receiving the ball was someone of the standard of Ronan Maher or Paudie Maher who had time to look up and pick their man out. I mean there is no point sweeping up at one end if you are pucking it straight down to the calibre of Cillian Buckley or Paudie Maher who can almost land a ball on a cent coin from eighty yards

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Really looking forward to the game now, Cork to win by a couple of points for me. Hopefully Lehane will be fully fit as when he is on form he can make all the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,102 ✭✭✭threeball

Hands like tennis rackets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,847 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A potential headache for the GAA if the Cork vs Waterford game is a draw 2morrow

On Saturday 19th August The under 21 semi finals take place in Thurles (4pm & 6pm) and the senior camoige semi finals take place in Limerick on the same day (times tbc and will be shown on RTE). The next day (sun 20th Aug) the first of the football minor and Senior semi finals take place in Croke Park