Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

All Ireland SHC Final (formerly SHC thread) - READ MOD NOTE POST #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I said wrote: »
    Tipp will have to get past galway first more than likely a semi final.

Why is it more than likley? If Tipp and Waterford win, and as both are favourites this would be ''more than likely'' then it is a draw to see who plays Cork or Galway as both have already played Cork so a repeat pairing is unavoidable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dionysis

DDC1990 wrote: »
    The main difference between the Cody and Connolly incidents is that the 4th Official went towards Cody first and pushed him back. You can actually see Cody saying "Don't push me!". However Cody does lay a hand on the 4th official and pushes him with the same sort of force that Connolly did. A 12 week ban should apply (not that it matters with KK out of the championship).
    Cody is entitled to defend himself, so no ban there. The official, is he going to get a 12 ban for pushing the selector and inciting trouble? No way that ban sticks, the official starting it. It was a kk ball and McGrath goes in a shouts at the lines man, which works as Waterford get the side line cut, and then roars towards Cody. Lines man needs to look at himself here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Dionysis

DDC1990 wrote: »
    The main difference between the Cody and Connolly incidents is that the 4th Official went towards Cody first and pushed him back. You can actually see Cody saying "Don't push me!". However Cody does lay a hand on the 4th official and pushes him with the same sort of force that Connolly did. A 12 week ban should apply (not that it matters with KK out of the championship).
    Cody is entitled to defend himself, so no ban there. The official, is he going to get a 12 ban for pushing the selector and inciting trouble? No way that ban sticks, the official starting it. It was a kk ball and McGrath goes in a shouts at the lines man, which works as Waterford get the side line cut, and then roars towards Cody. Lines man needs to look at himself here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

gizmo23 wrote: »
    And you don't think they haven't had it over us I think between 2004 and this year the aggregate defeat was either 14 or 19 points. Beating kilkenny was massive for us. Actually to a point where it came to big it was as if we had something won. I honestly believe the build up hampered us big time against galway it was all about wexford which it should not have been.

I honestly believe the team is better equipped to deal with Waterford then it was for the Leinster final. Should be an enthralling encounter anyway.

Come on. KK and Waterford v KK and Wexford is barely comparable.

Blaaheads visibly wilt when they see the black and amber. Ye have just been sh!te. It's part of the reason you'll never meet a Waterford person in Crossmaglen as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,403 ✭✭✭C__MC

I'd be surprised if Waterford slipped up to Wexford, there going for their third straight semi. They have some really good players as well plus the return to form of Gleason. It will no doubt be a very cagey affair but Waterford are better then Wexford. They completely out hurled kk bar the crazy last few minutes. I'm not convinced by Wexford, don't get me wrong Davy has done wonders but they looked really limited against Galway, their forwards never showed anything. I think they are happy with their worth for this season anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

C__MC wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if Waterford slipped up to Wexford, there going for their third straight semi. They have some really good players as well plus the return to form of Gleason. It will no doubt be a very cagey affair but Waterford are better then Wexford. They completely out hurled kk bar the crazy last few minutes. I'm not convinced by Wexford, don't get me wrong Davy has done wonders but they looked really limited against Galway, their forwards never showed anything. I think they are happy with their worth for this season anyway.

Agree with everything here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

https://twitter.com/sportsjoedotie/status/884737537889230848

Bad form. No wonder Nash got worked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,574 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Nasty and petty stuff from that Clare official. Should get a serious ban for that carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

danganabu wrote: »
    Why is it more than likley? If Tipp and Waterford win, and as both are favourites this would be ''more than likely'' then it is a draw to see who plays Cork or Galway as both have already played Cork so a repeat pairing is unavoidable.

Read rest of post from which you have quoted and you will see why.
    I'm not as sure about Waterford winning which will leave a draw for pairings hence if Wexford win it's Galway v tipp in the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/sportsjoedotie/status/884737537889230848

Bad form. No wonder Nash got worked up.

Sure you wouldn't know what kind of sliotar them cork lads would be using, why would they care about their bag of sliotars unless they were up to their old tricks again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,855 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Martin567

danganabu wrote: »
    To be fair to the Wexicans all 4 counties are or should be complaining as much - Waterford are still drunk after skelping the cats so don't even realise who or where they are playing yet, Clare have such a small fan base currently that no one has taken any notice and Tipp are so unpopular that we don't really count, also it would be a little ironic of us to complain about a choice of venue after last Saturday's choice of venue.

Seeing as the GAA seemed so intent on playing both of these games there, it was just as well for them that Cork won the Munster Final on Sunday.

I can't imagine Waterford (or Kilkenny) would have agreed to play Cork in Cork in a QF, with no hope of ever getting the favour returned. Tipperary would probably have had to agree as they owe Cork a few away matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Bambi wrote: »
    Sure you wouldn't know what kind of sliotar them cork lads would be using, why would they care about their bag of sliotars unless they were up to their old tricks again?

Firstly, your man had no business being behind the goal.

Secondly, how would you feel if a Kildare official on Sunday was kicking balls into the crowd to stop Cluxton taking kick outs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭big_drive

Cork use the Cummins sliotar. Not sure what Clare use but there can be quite a difference between different brands in terms of touch. If you'd trained with a certain brand all year you'd certainly like to use it on the game

I thought the semi final draw is
    Cork v Leinster runners-up (or whoever beats them)
    Galway v Munster runners-up (or whoever beats them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Why are teams supplying there own balls still? Was there not issues with this in the past?
    I cant see why Cork would be too upset unless they were using certain balls for a reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Firstly, your man had no business being behind the goal.

Secondly, how would you feel if a Kildare official on Sunday was kicking balls into the crowd to stop Cluxton taking kick outs :)

The Clare official was slowing Nash's puc outs? :confused:

Cluxton plays a different code but it happens to him anyway. I wouldn't mind so long as there's a regulation ball there for Cluxton to kick when he needs it

Cork have a track record for introducing doctored balls so the question remains..if Nash still had access to sliotars what exactly is Corks problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,794 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Why are teams supplying there own balls still? Was there not issues with this in the past?
    I cant see why Cork would be too upset unless they were using certain balls for a reason

Yes. With Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Babs used to give out yards about it when Tipp were playing Cork, wasn't there some shenanigans with an Eoin Kelly penalty in one of the games? Anyway, Babs would know all about it, of course, cos twas he himself who slipped Donie Nealon the dry ball when he drove a 21 yard free into the net against Limerick in '71.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,794 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Babs used to give out yards about it when Tipp were playing Cork, wasn't there some shenanigans with an Eoin Kelly penalty in one of the games? Anyway, Babs would know all about it, of course, cos twas he himself who slipped Donie Nealon the dry ball when he drove a 21 yard free into the net against Limerick in '71.

a dry ball is hardly in the same bracket as a different size ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

big_drive wrote: »
    Cork use the Cummins sliotar. Not sure what Clare use but there can be quite a difference between different brands in terms of touch. If you'd trained with a certain brand all year you'd certainly like to use it on the game

Clare use O'Neill's sliotars which is the regulation sliotar, everyone else but Cork use this sliotar.
    Cork have been pricking around with the sliotar for years, I can't understand why they can't just use the same as everyone else.

If it were on the streets it'd be counted as theft. Why not on the GAA field? He stole Nash's sliotars. People defending this and suggesting Cork were gonna use dud sliotars need their heads checked. Cork use O'Neills sliotars. I'm from Cork, I know a good few inter county players. I think I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭cyrils foxpit

ALL-IRELAND winning goalkeeper Donal Óg Cusack has revealed the ‘gamesmanship’ which Cork employed in a 2005 Munster SHC final with Tipperary.

In his book Come what May (which is published tomorrow), the former All Star has lifted the lid on their sliotar strategy used for penalty situations.

He said: "There was already a bit of history between Cork and Tipp with regard to sliotars. They won a penalty against us. Eoin Kelly stepped up. We had a plan. Once we had been awarded a penalty or we had given away a penalty, we were to create a bit of commotion, a diversion through which to get the right ball in play.

"If we won a penalty we’d be getting rid of the O’Neill’s ball and getting one of our favoured Cummins All Star balls into use. If we conceded a penalty I’d get rid of the match ball in use at the time and the dud ball would be rolled in. Never handed over. Rolled in, so that it would just appear to be lying on the grass waiting to be picked up. There was nothing obvious. It would just appear there. On the day, Kelly picked up the dud ball. It had been a job of work for one of our men to soften it up and still have it look like a newish O’Neill’s ball.

"It gave me great confidence to see him pick it up. To reassure opposing players, what we used to do was write the opposing county name in marker on the ball. Tipp!

"Eoin Kelly picked up the ball, looked at it and placed it for the penalty. I said to the boys, ‘we have a chance here now with this’. He took the penalty with it and we saved it. (Kieran Murphy got a point with the same ball seconds later when it broke down field, so if anybody every argued with us we could say that Kieran Murphy put the same ball over from 50 yards!)"

Cork won the game (1-21 to 1-16) and went onto win the All-Ireland final.

The Cloyne man admitted it wasn’t an isolated incident. "You’d get a great kick out of something like that afterwards. Before a game it would be a little something up your sleeve. Pulling it off in the heat of battle gave great satisfaction. And we’d have a bit of crack with it. Sully (Diarmuid O’Sullivan) nearly got raped by Limerick fellas in 2006, running the length of the field with an All Star sliotar in his shorts for us to take a penalty with."

But he is adamant that Cork were doing nothing wrong.

He reasoned: "There was room for all this carry on with sliotars because the GAA left room for it.

"We’d always be for pushing the edge with stuff like that where the GAA leaves the door open."

there's only one common denominator in these two incidents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,574 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Apparently thievery in the GAA is grand if it's against Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Malcolm Tucker

If you can find any "hatred on here towards Cork" before the above post by Golden Miller, please point it out.

I don't agree with Golder Miller's post, the fact of the matter is that Kilkenny have totally outperformed Cork and Tipp over the past 20 years as the trophy count shows, but it was quite open to posters to criticise his views rather than to lambaste the entirety of the Cork support.
    I know everyone hates Tipp but I behoove all posters to remember, reach back in your mind to as a short time ago as the early to mid 2000s, when Cork were last dominating hurling, with their bastardised egg-n-spoon version of hurling, and remember that there is nothing, nothing as breathtakingly arrogant as your typical sombrero clad, camera gawping, Rebel supporter

Those posters of a younger vintage, those that have grown up watching Kilkenny dominating the hurling landscape, perhaps you found that difficult to take but trust me, if over the next few years Cork have even 10% of the success Kilkenny have had over the last two decades you'll quickly learn the true meaning of insufferable arrogance

They've won a munster title now, you have Nash jumping around like a yahoo, their supporters all over social media predicting an All-Ireland win and now they're try to undermine Kilkenny's achievements

"We're back kiddo" <groan>
    Bambi wrote: »
    As insufferable as some Kilkenny supporters became you could always take a deep breath and think...just imagine if it was Cork winning every year. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 WestCorkRebel

I thought the semi final draw is
    Cork v Leinster runners-up (or whoever beats them)
    Galway v Munster runners-up (or whoever beats them)

if Tipp and Waterford both win then there will be a draw for the semi pairings, if either Clare or Wexford win there will no draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭big_drive

Clare use O'Neill's sliotars which is the regulation sliotar, everyone else but Cork use this sliotar.
    Cork have been pricking around with the sliotar for years, I can't understand why they can't just use the same as everyone else.

Neither Waterford or Kilkenny use the o'neills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

There's a lot of good sliotars out there now, and much more affordable than ripoff O Neills. As long as they are CLG certified, they can be used.

Taking a bag from the goal and throwing it into the stand is theft and some sort of inane attempt at cheating. The individual should be punished accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭citykat

#WeareNashsballs