Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best death in a movie. Contains SPOILERS!!! You've been warned.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

Bennett in Commando being killed via pipe and then being asked to "Let off some steam" by Arnie always stands out as a good way to go!

Also in the Running Man, Buzzsaw getting chain sawed in half by Arnie too stands out, especially when he is asked by the girl what happened, he responded by telling her "Buzzsaw had to split" :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

who knew death could be so funny :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 17,850 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Major Kong in Dr Strangelove

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If you want a kick in the feels, try watching this. It's been mentioned already but it's worth a second mention.

It's from the kids film 'UP'.

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=youtube+death+scene+from+up&&view=detail&mid=016C26BE78995398E370016C26BE78995398E370&FORM=VRDGAR

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭AlanG

frag420 wrote: »
    Macauley Culkin getting stung to death in MyGirl...

Only saw it once but this has stuck in mind for over 20 years as the most powerful death I have witnessed in film.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,392 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Not sure if the best, but Wolverine's
    death in Logan was very well
    done.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Not sure if the best, but Wolverine's
    death in Logan was very well

Spoilers!! Jesus its still in the Cinema.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Glass decapitation in The Omen.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

fixxxer wrote: »
    Spoilers!! Jesus its still in the Cinema.

Don't come into a thread about deaths in movies complaining about spoilers.

By the way Jesus dies in The Passion, but not really.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,283 ✭✭✭fixXxer

razorblunt wrote:
    Don't come into a thread about deaths in movies complaining about spoilers.

razorblunt wrote:
    By the way Jesus dies in The Passion, but not really.

Considering all the movies so far have been old I don't think it's much to ask that something still in theatres gets spoiler tags? They're there for a reason, why not use them?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I know its my fourth time but for dramatic deaths how could we forget Tadgh's in the Field. Edit; sorry about loud soundtrack had sound off, when I switched it on got a bit of a jump.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Not sure if the best, but Wolverine's death in Logan was very well done.

Dick move buddy, really.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 246 ✭✭Alcoheda

OJ Simpson in the Naked Gun.
    He doesn't actually die

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Mufasa in the Lion King....serious punch in the feels there. I think an entire generation were traumatized by it!

Also Bambi's Mother.

fixxxer wrote: »
    Considering all the movies so far have been old I don't think it's much to ask that something still in theatres gets spoiler tags? They're there for a reason, why not use them?

How old is old? There's a few classic movies mentioned already that I hadn't seen that have been "ruined" by listing a death from it. It's that type of thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Not sure if the best, but Wolverine's death in Logan was very well done.

Ever heard of spoiler tags for god's sake!

Looks like I'm wrong on this one. ALOT of folk hadn't seen that movie.

Riddle101's death will beat them all!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Sergeant Hartmann and Private Pyle in Full Metal Jacket - a man who pushed too hard and the man who couldn't be pushed anymore, D'Onofrio is simply excellent in this scene even though he doesn't speak

razorblunt wrote: »
    How old is old? There's a few classic movies mentioned already that I hadn't seen that have been "ruined" by listing a death from it. It's that type of thread.

When it's still in the cinema it needs a feckin spoiler tag. End of story.

What if it's a throwback Thursday showing?

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭ElKavo

The scene from bad taste, where Derek falls from a height with a chainsaw and cuts the alien in half emerging from its crotch, only for Derek to state "I've been reborn!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Luke Skywalker in the Last Jedi.

Truly moving Death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Kirstin Dunst in melancholia.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

When King Kong succumbed to his wounds and fell to his death.

Gets me every time I watch it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

ET dying.

I bawl my eyes out. Every time.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,966 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

CPSW wrote: »
    Bennett in Commando being killed via pipe and then being asked to "Let off some steam" by Arnie always stands out as a good way to go!
    Also from that film "I let him go"

Bennett was Wez in Mad Max 2 , another death scene there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Non movie but the deaths of Curtis and Shane in The Shield left me absolutely floored, Shane in particular.

One of my movie favourites is the exploding head scene in Scanners.

giphy.gif

One of the most poignant movie deaths was Brundlefly in Cronenbergs remake of The Fly.

Geena Davis can't bring herself to do it but Brundle pulls the barrel of the shotgun back to his head. Massively moving considering it was a grotesque animatronic monster.

For pure air punching, take that ye bastards carnage, nothing surpasses the heavy artillery scene from the most recent Rambo movie.

Cyrus "The Virus" Grissom in ConAir, a completely OTT death to match a completely OTT character

Special mention for "Why couldn't you put the bunny back in the box?" - the death was fairly standard but that line made it memorable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Cyrus "The Virus" Grissom in ConAir, a completely OTT death to match a completely OTT character

Special mention for "Why couldn't you put the bunny back in the box?" - the death was fairly standard but that line made it memorable

Speaking of boxes, the two deaths at the end of Se7en.