Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

No other person or vehicle involved?

Not that i can make out. There were three guys standing over him when i went across. None of them had rang an ambulance. :rolleyes:

I just heard the wallop. I suspect he might have pulled his front brakes and flipped himself out over. His face was swelling out, a lot of blood in his beard and around his neck. His hands were in ribbons too.

He came around eventually, told the Garda he was Brazilian. He was doing feck all moving. Got a serious rattle.

To the fair to the gardai, they had a first aid kit and started on him patching him up straight away.

Frightening how it happens so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

I didn't see it, just heard it across from me and saw him sprawled out. Looks like he got flipped right out over the handlebars. No helmet on him.
    Wouldn't help with a faceplant unfortunately. Been there, done that, got the stitches.

TheChizler wrote: »
    Wouldn't help with a faceplant unfortunately. Been there, done that, got the stitches.

Yeah, i dunno. My auld lad did something similar years ago with no helmet. He came off and hit his forehead. Got knocked straight out. He basically slid on his face along the road. Broke his nose and front teeth. His face was a full friction burn.

He was concussed for over 12 hours as well.

Wouldn't have happened if he had the helmet on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Yeah, i dunno. My auld lad did something similar years ago with no helmet. He came off and hit his forehead. Got knocked straight out. He basically slid on his face along the road. Broke his nose and front teeth. His face was a full friction burn.

He was concussed for over 12 hours as well.

Wouldn't have happened if he had the helmet on.
    It's impossible to say really. Might have helped with the concussion but I'm unsure about the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,995 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Would that be similar to how Ashbourne Connect often have a coach or double-decker parked on the double-yellows outside Treasury Building on Grand Canal St during evening rush hour?

447597.png

So it turns out that there IS an official bus stop at Treasury Building for yonks, for the Ashbourne 194 route. And it is double-yellow lines all the way along, with no 'bus stop' markings and no bus stop sign.

Did somebody forget something?

https://goo.gl/maps/pNm7KFXpxCR2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Weepsie wrote: »
    Would it in fact not be the other way round.

Isnt concussion caused by the brain basically banging around/shaking violently in the skull. So with or without a helmet the head is moving at the same speed.

Helmet would help with blunt trauma and other impact injuries.

Clarification: Concussion is thought to be caused by torsion in the centre of the brain not the brain impacting the skull. So hits the spin your head are worst (Rugby, American Football anyone).

Helmets are rated to protect against skull fractures. Nothing else.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Attempted left hook last night, going straight through, guy not paying attention nipping up the bus lane going 90 slowed right beside me and I just new he hadn't noticed anything. Weird split second call where I knew hauling the brakes would have meant I crashed, so I just let roar as he turned across. I skimmed through going left to avoid the car and right to avoid the traffic island, and just made it out unscathed as the driver stopped.

No idea how.

Taxi driver who pulled up after the other car drove off had that look on his face of, thank f*ck, not sure I could deal with seeing you splattered across the junction.

I just stood there, not sure if I was even annoyed, not sure if I care anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

CramCycle wrote: »
    Attempted left hook last night, going straight through, guy not paying attention nipping up the bus lane going 90 slowed right beside me and I just new he hadn't noticed anything. Weird split second call where I knew hauling the brakes would have meant I crashed, so I just let roar as he turned across. I skimmed through going left to avoid the car and right to avoid the traffic island, and just made it out unscathed as the driver stopped.

No idea how.

Taxi driver who pulled up after the other car drove off had that look on his face of, thank f*ck, not sure I could deal with seeing you splattered across the junction.

I just stood there, not sure if I was even annoyed, not sure if I care anymore.

You seen the light but made it out! A lot of plonkers driving these roads! I had a Dublin Bus pass me last night or Wednesday and then immediately drop anchor to let off a passenger. Needless to say I had to take evasive action. I pulled along side, tapped the drivers window and said “that was a stupid and igrorant thing to do. You could have and should have waited” The driver started to say “I indicat...” and I said “I am not staying here to listen to you try to explain your ignorance” and cycled off.

Really nice cycle nearly the whole way in this morning. There were a few DBs within a minute of each other and we seemed to be playing a game but it was all very nice, with the 145 slowing, letting me out, and me repaying the favour and waving thank you. Sun was shining. One shock when Finnegans of Bray laid on the horn for a car that went into the bus lane. I was just in front and it caught me off guard but all in all, lovely. That is until I get to the turn for "The Rise", the one left before the turn for Fosters Ave. I always take the lane here, like alot of other cyclist as if you stay in the cycle lane, you disappear out of the viewing area of many drivers at Fosters Avenue. The turn always has a few cars waiting so you never slow traffic, in fact, you probably speed it up by doing this as other cars are not panicking if they can turn or not (they could look over their shoulder but lets not push the boat out here). So as I wait, Blue Minibus man revs is his engine. I thought that he thought the light was about to change and just sort of revved and clutched when it didn't. As we took off though, he rolled right upto my rear wheel and started clutching and revving. I looked behind to see a man about to sh1t himself with rage, swinging his arms wildly towards the bike lane, roaring to get over. I stopped and turned around (traffic in front anyway) and asked what he wanted me to do, he drove the bus at me and slammed on. I was about to lose my sanity when I seen five faces of innocence pop their heads above the seat to look out and see what is happening. I waved my hand and cycled on. back on the bike lane a minute later, I next see the bus almost a km down the road. There is no traffic, so that's how long he was stuck back there. The last I see of him he is beeping at another cyclist that he swings in at and then he swings back into the main traffic on the N11. What is wrong with people, I really despair. Nearly every other bus driver at this junction knows what you are doing, many wave, slow down or in some way facilitate it as they see the benefit, even if only slight.

Report that lad to the Gardai straight away. That sounds like he is recklessly endangering road users and his passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

within about 300m this morning I had 2 people separately overtake me only for both to immediately indicate and pull in. the first was trying to park, second turning left at a junction. in both cases after indicating and commencing their turns they then stopped to wait for me to go up the inside through the tiny gaps they had left.
    i politely declined and cycled around the outside of both, in both cases the drivers looked confused and I could tell from their reactions that they thought they hadn't done anything wrong. the second one had her window open so I said in a normal tone "please just wait the 2 seconds you just lost anyway"...again with the blank look...

Report that lad to the Gardai straight away. That sounds like he is recklessly endangering road users and his passengers.

Camera turned off on me due to dead battery and I didn't get as reg plate. I think I know what school he was dropping too (well one of two) but unless I see him again, not much I can do. If I get the reg another morning, I might try and let the school know about the language and behaviour in front of their students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,551 ✭✭✭VW 1

Saw a guy come off the bike on kevin street this morning.

Young lad stepped off the path and the guy on the fixie in front of me jammed on to stop, went straight over the handlebars landing at this lads feet and hitting the deck hard as he was still clipped in.

Crowd of people around to help him up, at this point i realised the lad who walked out in front of him had simply walked away, not even bothering to check if the faller was ok.

Terrible to see,should have just ploughed on through him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

long time lurker first time poster.

i was coming along the bike lane from terenure juntion heading towards rathgar when a commercial van turns left while still rolling half way into the bike lane towards aldi without indicating as I was level at side door. only for me going a pace and a general left propulsion of body and rear wheel (an actual massive shift i did lucky to hold without hitting the footpath), did I miss getting creased.

not so much as a wave of apology as the penny dropped that there may be cyclists approaching on his inside. closest call in traffic on the bike in 11 months of commuting into the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

CramCycle wrote: »
    I looked behind to see a man about to sh1t himself with rage,

:D I have to borrow that phrase some time :D

This morning I have a big artic turn across me, he was turning right across the lanes in the opposite direction on the old Airport road. I reckon he thought that because there were no cars he can handle one squishy cyclist. That or he didn't appreciate that bike can go faster than 5kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Not the nearest but closer than it appears and then breezes through a red light. He then ended up stuck in traffic 250m up the road :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Had a run in with the Bus Eireann coach heading for Limerick on the south quays earlier. Kudos for him not letting a pesky cyclists delay him on his journey.

Heading down the south quays, taking the lane in the bus / cycle lane and going straight on. The stretch leading up to the turn off left for the hill where the brazen head pub is. Conscious of a coach behind me.

Numb nuts decides to overtake me, then squeeze in left in front of me. I had to brake hard to avoid being hit. All this to roll up to a red light.

It’s a long time since I challenged a bus driver, but this guys total disregard for me an another cyclist who was treated similar required further investigation.

“Did you not see me? I’ve a huge strobe on the back. You overtook me and cut in left in front of me, nearly hit me”

“Yeah, I can’t see cyclists when they’re on my left. You were cycling up the inside of me”. Slid his window shut. I have it all on camera.

It’s hard to know where to start with some one like that. Are the geneuinely stupid? Or just don’t care? Or hate their job? Or hate me? And why are they in command of a 25 tonne vehicle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Are the geneuinely stupid?..And why are they in command of a 25 tonne vehicle?

Smart people don't apply to be bus drivers.... :pac:

Not the nearest but closer than it appears and then breezes through a red light. He then ended up stuck in traffic 250m up the road :rolleyes:

That’s shocking driving. The speed of him too - totally irresponsible and dangerous. And for what?
    I would be showing that to the Garda just to the right! A bloke near me has a similar van. No NCT, No Insurance and to cap it all, an expired tax disc from a different vehicle (!) and he drives like that nutter too. You would be unlucky to be stopped these days for a traffic violation!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

ED E wrote: »

That's just not true

nee wrote: »
    That's just not true

It’s more true than it’s false. So many of them don’t seem to realise they are driving a large vehicle rather than a go cart and also forget that they are responsible for the safe transport of their passengers...

Kaisr Sose wrote: »
    It’s more true than it’s false. So many of them don’t seem to realise they are driving a large vehicle rather than a go cart and also forget that they are responsible for the safe transport of their passengers...

No, nope it's a lot more false than it's true. I know several bus drivers, none of them intellectually challenged.
    On my day to day cycles buses form a tiny minority of the incidents I experience. Going by the metric described above every motorist is intellectually deficient, as most of the incidents I experience are with regular cars.

There are stupid cyclists. There are stupid motorcycle riders. There are stupid car drivers. There are stupid bus drivers. There are stupid HGV drivers. There are stupid tractor drivers. They do not define the whole of their respective modes of transport.

Attitudes like that are really antagonistic. Being pissed off at a dangerous interaction with a car/bus/moto/tractor/hgv driver is entirely understandable and I frequently feel it myself. Judging all drivers of these modes of transport as less intelligent is dehumanising and only others every other road user, which is pointlessly divisive and just ignorant.

There's no need. There are good and bad in every vehicle on the road. they do not define the whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

ED E wrote: »

A totally unnecessary and blatantly untrue generalisation. Completely uncalled for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

That’s shocking driving. The speed of him too - totally irresponsible and dangerous. And for what?
    I would be showing that to the Garda just to the right! A bloke near me has a similar van. No NCT, No Insurance and to cap it all, an expired tax disc from a different vehicle (!) and he drives like that nutter too. You would be unlucky to be stopped these days for a traffic violation!

Did the guards do anything when you reported this guy?

No, nope it's a lot more false than it's true. I know several bus drivers, none of them intellectually challenged.
    On my day to day cycles buses form a tiny minority of the incidents I experience. Going by the metric described above every motorist is intellectually deficient, as most of the incidents I experience are with regular cars.

There are stupid cyclists. There are stupid motorcycle riders. There are stupid car drivers. There are stupid bus drivers. There are stupid HGV drivers. There are stupid tractor drivers. They do not define the whole of their respective modes of transport.

Attitudes like that are really antagonistic. Being pissed off at a dangerous interaction with a car/bus/moto/tractor/hgv driver is entirely understandable and I frequently feel it myself. Judging all drivers of these modes of transport as less intelligent is dehumanising and only others every other road user, which is pointlessly divisive and just ignorant.

There's no need. There are good and bad in every vehicle on the road. they do not define the whole.

It takes a certain degree of stupidity and outright recklessness to put your passengers (customers) in danger. As a bus driver you have no right to do that. You are supposed to be professional. No professional in any other walk of life would be allowed to treat customers like that. They can and do get sued for misconduct etc. Bus drivers don’t think they are responsible for lives but they are. It’s their job. The same way a Dr is responsible (though differing codes of practice apply)

All the other examples of stupidity are quite valid, but they do so generally as social domestic and pleasure road users, so a lower standard of competency can apply. It’s not their job to ferry people around for monetary reward.

I see lots of bus drivers, such is their road awareness and respect that they really should not be driving any vehicle. They drive like idiots and lots of idiots are also stupid.

Let’s just end by saying you have your view and I have mine.

Did the guards do anything when you reported this guy?

What’s the reason for asking? I never said I reported him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

You know the type of people. Always right. Never wrong. They cycle, drive cars, buses and have legs. Some people are just ignorant. I try as much to laugh it off.

We all make mistakes, it's knowing when your wrong. Admitting it, saying sorry and get on with your life. Some people just cannot do this, and lose the run of themselves. As we hear and see, buses HGV driving violently at cyclists. Bus drivers blinding and effing in front of passengers. Car drivers forgetting cyclists do have licences to drive and understand the rules and laws on driving.

And drivers to each other it's hilarious. Beeping and going mental only to get caught in traffic or a red light. Everyone just needs to chill out.

It takes a certain degree of stupidity and outright recklessness to put your passengers (customers) in danger. As a bus driver you have no right to do that. You are supposed to be professional. No professional in any other walk of life would be allowed to treat customers like that. They can and do get sued for misconduct etc. Bus drivers don’t think they are responsible for lives but they are. It’s their job. The same way a Dr is responsible (though differing codes of practice apply)

All the other examples of stupidity are quite valid, but they do so generally as social domestic and pleasure road users, so a lower standard of competency can apply. It’s not their job to ferry people around for monetary reward.

I see lots of bus drivers, such is their road awareness and respect that they really should not be driving any vehicle. They drive like idiots and lots of idiots are also stupid.

Let’s just end by saying you have your view and I have mine.

All dangerous road users endanger other road users. There isn't a hierarchy of victims in that scenario.

There is no one mode of transport proliferated by more 'stupid' people than any other. They're all as good and bad as each other. Any other belief is just prejudice.

We'll have to agree to disagree on it.

I'm equally irritated and endangered by them all :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭Felexicon

All dangerous road users endanger other road users. There isn't a hierarchy of victims in that scenario.

There is no one mode of transport proliferated by more 'stupid' people than any other. They're all as good and bad as each other. Any other belief is just prejudice.

We'll have to agree to disagree on it.

I'm equally irritated and endangered by them all :pac:

I'd like to disagree and offer "The Dublin Taxi Driver" as evidence.:P

Felexicon wrote: »
    I'd like to disagree and offer "The Dublin Taxi Driver" as evidence.:P

Nope !

I was only thinking yesterday the reason it feels like there are more incidents with taxis as one close passed me Is because of proximity more than anything else. Incidents with cars increase for me just after 7pm and of a Sunday when normal cars are in the bus lanes, taxis are in with/ beside us there all the time.