Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near misses - mod warning 22/04 - see OP/post 822

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭site_owner

Where you parked in the bus lane? :confused:

447463.jpg

Edit/ to add, taken at 18.49 yesterday so I guess this is the well parked poster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I made a statement. His behaviour was appalling and in all likelihood I will contact Gardai. It's not a subject for "debate", but nor should I be expected to keep quiet.

Cyclists wonder why they are disliked, I'm giving you an example why.

No, you're giving us an example of a person who's behavior was unacceptable. As others have said not all people who cycle a bike are of the same character. Plenty of asshats who drive motor cars too but you don't see anyone here tarring all car drivers with the same brush do you?

I hope you can see from the comments here that the leap you made from one guy to 'all cyclists' is wrong. And as you came in here to tell us that we're all assholes it is indeed a subject for debate.

#motorist #pedestrian #runner #andacyclist

If it is the car above, I genuinely doubt their version of events. They clearly lied about where they were parked.

I also saw them ignore at least 2 requests to move from cyclist who had difficulty getting past while I took that photo.

As I passed I also called out thay they can't park there but the driver appeared to be texting and either ignored me or couldn't hear.

Every story has more than one side. I didn't witness any harassment of the driver and it's **** if it did happen, but I doubt it did. The driver is clearly inconsiderate to anyone other than themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,499 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

site_owner wrote: »
    If it is the car above, I genuinely doubt their version of events. They clearly lied about where they were parked.

I also saw them ignore at least 2 requests to move from cyclist who had difficulty getting past while I took that photo.

As I passed I also called out thay they can't park there but the driver appeared to be texting and either ignored me or couldn't hear.

Every story has more than one side. I didn't witness any harassment of the driver and it's **** if it did happen, but I doubt it did. The driver is clearly inconsiderate to anyone other than themselves

If it is the car then it’s might be worth calling into clontarf Garda with the photo just to show that there is a second side to the story. I doubt mrs shuttleworth will be back to confirm it later though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I do hate the way every single motorist is inconsiderate and selfish and the way all of them stop and park in places where they are blocking progress of other vehicles. Motorists wonder why they are so disliked, this is why.

If it is the car then it’s might be worth calling into clontarf Garda with the photo just to show that there is a second side to the story. I doubt mrs shuttleworth will be back to confirm it later though.

I didn't get a reg unfortunately. Only took the photo to email to local council to try get something done about this section as it's going to be a ****show over the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

site_owner wrote: »

I didn't get a reg unfortunately. Only took the photo to email to local council to try get something done about this section as it's going to be a ****show over the summer
    I'd suggest copying Councillor Ciaran Cuffe on your email. He was instrumental in getting the alterations done at the Vernon Avenue car park, and is a cycling enthusiast so will be sympathetic towards this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Anyway, getting back to the usual near misses and completely unnecessary close passes.

Heading home this evening, cycling up park gate street past the courts of justice, arm out and turning right to enter the park. I’m center lane.

Some tool in a land cruiser - the long wheel based version must be close on 2 tonnes - decides to overtake me, almost hitting my outstretch arm, on the song side of the road, then swerve again in front of me to avoid oncoming traffic in order to turn right and enter the park.

I did a quick check list as to what would have promoted this reckless move.

Helmet - yes
    Hi-vis - yes
    Lights - yep. Back and front.
    “Road tax” - yep all paid
    Insurance - yep. Car and bike.
    Breaking rules / cycling recklessly / breaking a red light - nope

So basically no reason. Just another idiot on that constant urge to get from a to b without scant regard of humans they may encounter.

Anyway all captured on a rear facing camera. Will look back but it probably warrants reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

A positive story today: there may have been a single near-miss overtake but I can't be certain because it passed in the blink of an eye and genuinely was the exception as a reasonable amount of drivers tend to observe MPDL (or sensible distances at any rate) here in Sheffield. Whilst cycling into and out of work today - the amount of drivers that I've had either give way, wait, or hold back has been quite noticeable. Even a few white van & work-van drivers in there too. But the one bit that I really remember was the lad with the windows down belting out drum & bass who held back behind me until it was safe to overtake. When I caught up with him at the back of a queue of traffic onto a roundabout about 30/40m ahead, there was one of those 'London black-cab' style taxis pulled over by the side of the road blocking me but not the other traffic; he pulled out a bit to allow me through. Gave him a thumbs up as I filtered through.

I don't always get days like this, but sometimes I really do think that Sheffield rules for cycling.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,743 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    on the song side of the road
    which song though?

(sorry, couldn't help it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭bikedude

WTF is wrong with people that they can’t wait for 30s behind a cyclist.

Lambs Cross this morning, a blue Octavia <snip> decided that waiting the club spin to make their way on the narrow part of the road was too much for him. He was flashing and honking for me to move, I was driving in front of him waiting for the group in front. He decided when we got to the school he had enough and overtook me in the car and the club spin in front, giving a punishment pass to the group leader at the front. Catched him up in Belarmine, stoped to have a “word” with him and He was showing the watch as he was in a hurry.

20 min later, Driving up to the trails in Kilmacanoge climb (we all know is a hard one) 2 cyclists in front of me, I was waiting to overtake when safe. The driver behind me was going mental, flashing the lights and looking if he could overtake me and the cyclist.

WTF is wrong with people that they can’t realize is another human being in front of then and they should respect them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭rodneyTrotter.

Simple , selfish cnuts . Totally self absorbed and borderline hostile. Their driving reflects their personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,463 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Not really a near miss but f&#king annoying all the same.

On the way home from work yesterday and had just come through the crossroads at Airside heading towards Swords. Half way down the hill an empty Swords Express overtakes me and gives me plenty of space. He then throws on the left indicator pulls in on front of me and stops about 10 meters on front of me. I was forced to stop and wait for a break in traffic to go around the bus. As I passed I noticed the driver getting out for a smoke so stopped and asked could he not have pulled in behind me if he was just stopping anyway. Just shrugged his shoulders and had that "couldn't give a bollox pal" look on his face.

Surely it is illegal for their buses to stop there while they wait for their next run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Felexicon wrote:
    Surely it is illegal for their buses to stop there while they wait for their next run?

I've often seen them & Dublin Bus's pulled in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,995 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Felexicon wrote: »
    rushfan wrote: »
    I've often seen them & Dublin Bus's pulled in there.

Would that be similar to how Ashbourne Connect often have a coach or double-decker parked on the double-yellows outside Treasury Building on Grand Canal St during evening rush hour?

447597.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Would that be similar to how Ashbourne Connect often have a coach or double-decker parked on the double-yellows outside Treasury Building on Grand Canal St during evening rush hour?

Could well be. They're usually parked in the bus lane on the way down from Pinnock Hill, always have hazards on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

bikedude wrote: »
    WTF is wrong with people that they can’t wait for 30s behind a cyclist.

Lambs Cross this morning, a blue Octavia <snip> decided that waiting the club spin to make their way on the narrow part of the road was too much for him. He was flashing and honking for me to move, I was driving in front of him waiting for the group in front. He decided when we got to the school he had enough and overtook me in the car and the club spin in front, giving a punishment pass to the group leader at the front. Catched him up in Belarmine, stoped to have a “word” with him and He was showing the watch as he was in a hurry.

20 min later, Driving up to the trails in Kilmacanoge climb (we all know is a hard one) 2 cyclists in front of me, I was waiting to overtake when safe. The driver behind me was going mental, flashing the lights and looking if he could overtake me and the cyclist.

WTF is wrong with people that they can’t realize is another human being in front of then and they should respect them.

It’s really bad around there. And don’t talk to me about mornings when school run is in full flight. Some motorists won’t stop for the traffic wardens and some that do beep and flash for them to hurry.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

bikedude wrote: »

Nothing new though, along time ago now a guy was giving out to me one time as an ambulance had blacked the road for the person lying on the ground with a possible spine injury (thankfully not in the end). Some people = sh1t. This is not a new or isolated phenomenon regretably. EMT asked would I go up and just explain that no traffic could come through. He was too concerned he was going to be late for work. This was clearly far more important than the person lying on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

while out on a long spin yesterday I had at least 4 incidents, 2 near miss, 2 almost identical cases of light breaking.

1. on the way up the canal towards Harolds cross bridge, while the ped lights were green a lady who'd been mainly focused on her phone in her lap up to this point while stopped at the red then decided to just drive straight through while still on red for her, green for peds.
    2. descending by the featherbeds and overtaking a cyclist on my left while still well within my lane the motorist coming up the hill against me decided to overtake another cyclist right in front of me. didn't seem at all phased by my eyeballs out, back wheel lifting off the ground while letting out a loud yell reaction. thankfully I was into a headwind so my speed was a good bit lower than it might have been.
    3. back towards Harolds cross bridge from the Terenure side and a dude pulls into the bus lane that I was cycling in about to undertake him. completely oblivious.
    4. while waiting at the lights at the bridge another motorist who was waiting at the red light while ped lights were green just decided that waiting is for fools and drove straight through the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Kop Idol

Unusual one...out yesterday with the club, near home so I trailed off on my own to finish off by climbing a local hill. Was halfway up the hill when a young teenage girl on a horse came out of a gate on front of me completely oblivious as she was staring down at her phone at the time ! The horse actually got a bit of a fright which brought her back to reality pretty quick. Wasn't exactly dangerous (apart from possibility of me getting a kick from the horse) but may have been a completely different ending had I been coming down the hill at the time :ermm:

Coming down by the sugarloaf yesterday. Cyclists coming up other direction, cars just behind them waiting, grand. Car coming out of an entrance to my left...I'd seen it as soon as it came into view and just *knew* (you know the way). As I descend closer (you know the speed you're doing coming down there) - the ****er starts to move out while looking in the other direction. Had to swerve out quickly as he started moving out as I got close.
    Cyclists on their way up could see it happening, I could see it happening. Could see other cyclists wincing. No one could do anything but hope either he stopped or I could move out quickly enough...that would have been a nasty accident.

F*cking dickhead.

Felexicon wrote: »
    Not really a near miss but f&#king annoying all the same.

On the way home from work yesterday and had just come through the crossroads at Airside heading towards Swords. Half way down the hill an empty Swords Express overtakes me and gives me plenty of space. He then throws on the left indicator pulls in on front of me and stops about 10 meters on front of me. I was forced to stop and wait for a break in traffic to go around the bus. As I passed I noticed the driver getting out for a smoke so stopped and asked could he not have pulled in behind me if he was just stopping anyway. Just shrugged his shoulders and had that "couldn't give a bollox pal" look on his face.

This sh*t happens all the time. They overtake you just to stop straight after overtaking. WTF..wait three seconds.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

45A this morning, overtake was fine but pulled in and slammed on straight away afterwards. So desperate to be in front that he actually missed the bus stop. Would have been quicker to wait behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Kop Idol wrote: »
    Was halfway up the hill when a young teenage girl on a horse came out of a gate on front of me completely oblivious as she was staring down at her phone at the time !
    Was the horse wearing hi-viz and a helmet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

CramCycle wrote: »
    Nothing new though, along time ago now a guy was giving out to me one time as an ambulance had blacked the road for the person lying on the ground with a possible spine injury (thankfully not in the end). Some people = sh1t. This is not a new or isolated phenomenon regretably. EMT asked would I go up and just explain that no traffic could come through. He was too concerned he was going to be late for work. This was clearly far more important than the person lying on the road.

Had one like that many years ago on the N11 north of Kilmacanogue. We were first on the scene and there were two vehicles and at least one person thrown out the window. Directing traffic off the N11 and at least one driver said "sure there's a clear bit, I can go through there"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭elusiveguy

Kop Idol wrote: »
    Unusual one...out yesterday with the club, near home so I trailed off on my own to finish off by climbing a local hill. Was halfway up the hill when a young teenage girl on a horse came out of a gate on front of me completely oblivious as she was staring down at her phone at the time ! The horse actually got a bit of a fright which brought her back to reality pretty quick. Wasn't exactly dangerous (apart from possibility of me getting a kick from the horse) but may have been a completely different ending had I been coming down the hill at the time :ermm:

On the horse thing, she 100% should have looked but it would really help if cyclists called ahead. I've lost count of the number of times I've nearly been buried in a ditch because a cyclist "sneaked up" on us at full clip. Not an attack on cyclists but as I rider(I'm both), I'm just trying to let cyclists know what would help :o

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,743 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

elusiveguy wrote: »
    On the horse thing, she 100% should have looked but it would really help if cyclists called ahead.
    in this instance, it doesn't sound like a situation where he was approaching the horse from behind with an opportunity to call out.

elusiveguy wrote: »
    On the horse thing, she 100% should have looked but it would really help if cyclists called ahead. I've lost count of the number of times I've nearly been buried in a ditch because a cyclist "sneaked up" on us at full clip. Not an attack on cyclists but as I rider(I'm both), I'm just trying to let cyclists know what would help :o

I gave some poor chap a heart attack last week on way down from viewing point as I arrived beside him and said 'good morning' :pac: Slowed on approach and everything as knew I'd be passing him before a bend.