If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I've SWITCHed! - General discussion - WARNING IN POST 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,327 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

i personally am ok with no youtube and netflix apps

would rather nintendo concentrate on making great games than have yet another media device.

phone does the portable youtube and netflix
    xbox one x and pc does everything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭Inviere

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Well, it's all about choice.
    You can have all the things you want from your games console, including none of the things you consider "bloat", by just choosing not installing them.

Precisely. It's also about making the Switch as relevant as possible. Why force users to turn off the Switch, and have to use another device like an Xbox, Playstation, or PC...just to do something that they could have done on the Switch anyway? It's beyond stupid to at least not give users the choice, because once that Switch is turned off, the PS4 is turned on, Nintendo are putting themselves at a disadvantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭WeleaseWoderick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Well, it's all about choice.
    You can have all the things you want from your games console, including none of the things you consider "bloat", by just choosing not installing them.

Others, who want the option, can exercise their choice too, and install it.

Right now there is no choice as, for some reason, a Netflix/Prime Video/Plex series of apps have not emerged.

Nintendo have had such things in their ecosystems before, so why not now?

The question I was answering though is “Why would someone be glad of less features?”.

Well simply because those features wouldn’t add any value for that person and they would rather all efforts to be spent on the core functionality of the product.

Now of course I understand other people would like something like Netflix and it is for Nintendo to balance whether it makes sense for them to implement it. But it is not correct for someone to think more functionality is always better for a product so if they want something it should be added because it won’t affect people who don’t want it. The reality is that adding new features affects both usability and development/maintenance ressources alocation which won’t work on something else (and Nintendo might have a long list of things they want to do before Netflix based on their ressources - a proper online service and a virtual console beeing the obvious first contenders).

I was giving the exemple of Japanese cameras as I am a fairly experiencied photographer, and some brands (I’ll mention Sony but there are others) can’t help always adding more functionalities and menus with very niche features. The problem with that is while the cameras have good core components (sensor, lens) it makes them more complicated to use and in the end it makes the core and important fonctionnaliy less accessible (so while they appear to have many options, most people will use these cameras in fully automatic mode as they have no clue how all these menus work or won't bother with them as too cumbersome, while if you give them a Leica with much simpler control layout and much less options, people will actually start using the core and important manual controls a lot more because they have less options).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Nintendo will only care if the presence of those apps were going to affect sales, in which case they would have been ready in the first few months of the Switches life.

Most likely I would say that if sales start to slow then that's when streaming/Netflix type apps would show up. The Switch is doing fine at the moment so there is no need to rush them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Lord Spence

Lads quick Question Splatoon 2 or Doom?... Getting rid of Payday2 today as I just cannot get into it

Personally, Splatoon 2. Its been played constantly in our house since launch.

Lads quick Question Splatoon 2 or Doom?... Getting rid of Payday2 today as I just cannot get into it

Depends on what you’re looking for.

I have only played Doom so don’t have the full picture. But I’d say: Doom if you want an engaging and gore single-player campaign which pushes the console close to its limits in terms of graphics, and Splatoon if you want a family friendly and fun multiplayer game.

Also Splatoon is probably more of a long term keeper while Doom is more a cool experience to move on from once you’re done with it (which I don’t mean as a bad thing, it possibly gives more of a sense of achievement and it was definitely worth the 6 euros it cost me between what I paid to purchase the game card and how much i sold it for once done; but to me it is not worth its full price on the eShop while Splatoon might be as it is probably more the kind of game people can go back to all the time if It is there thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,731 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Buy Doom, play the 15 hour campaign, trade it, then get Splatoon 2. :)

Mr E wrote: »
    Buy Doom, play the 15 hour campaign, trade it, then get Splatoon 2. :)

That’s what I was kind of trying to say without saying it ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭blockfighter

They were talking about it recently on the latest episode of NVC. Had nothing but good things to say about it. Looks good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

I'm finding Doom tough to get into. Splatoon is great fun no matter how bad you are at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,836 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Banjo wrote: »
    I'm finding Doom tough to get into. Splatoon is great fun no matter how bad you are at it.

I still haven't done more than play the tutorial of Splatoon because of a sense that I will be terrible and won't be able to get any craic out of it. For some reason the same feeling didn't apply with Rocket League which I happily plunged headlong into.

If I was to give Splatoon a spin would I be as well to start off with the single player campaign for a couple of hours to get used to it? I presume online is graded and I'll be playing with other no-hopers?

keane2097 wrote: »
    I still haven't done more than play the tutorial of Splatoon because of a sense that I will be terrible and won't be able to get any craic out of it. For some reason the same feeling didn't apply with Rocket League which I happily plunged headlong into.

If I was to give Splatoon a spin would I be as well to start off with the single player campaign for a couple of hours to get used to it? I presume online is graded and I'll be playing with other no-hopers?

You could play the multiplayer in Splatoon 2 and never touch the single player if you wanted. They don't really connect with each other. Best thing would be to jump in for a few quick play matches. I recommend the Rollers as weapons.

For reference it took me an hour or two to get confortable with the controls (after enabling motion control) and get into the story/mechanics of the game.

First 30-60 minutes were a bit painful and I was questioning whether it was a good decision to buy the game. But after that initial period no problem and the game kept me entertained and engaged until the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Bob24 wrote: »
    The question I was answering though is “Why would someone be glad of less features?”.

I was speaking about the apps in the conversation (Netflix and YouTube and similar), not a bunch of random bloatware.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    I was speaking about the apps in the conversation (Netflix and YouTube and similar), not a bunch of random bloatware.

Yes my posts all relate to those (to avoid misunderstandings on terminology, bloatware can be replaced by “non-core functionality application with a limited audience” in my previous posts but it doesn’t change the rationale and someone who is not part of that audience can consider it bloatware if is added to the UI for everyone and/or takes Nintendo ressources away from other features’ development/support).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Lord Spence

Cheers all, I went for Doom in the end got it for a tenner plus my copy of Payday2. As someone mentioned I will finish it and then trade for splatoon 2 at some stage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Doom is simply incredible.
    I'd put it alongside the original tbh.
    Pity that the likes of VFR won't be possible on the Switch, it's a fantastic expansion on the original .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

But you have to aim up! And they jump around!
    I feel like Wreckit Ralph when he tries to be part of Hero's Duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭Inviere

Bob24 wrote: »
    Yes my posts all relate to those (to avoid misunderstandings on terminology, bloatware can be replaced by “non-core functionality application with a limited audience” in my previous posts but it doesn’t change the rationale and someone who is not part of that audience can consider it bloatware if is added to the UI for everyone and/or takes Nintendo ressources away from other features’ development/support).

Anyone can consider particular software bloatware, it's highly subjective. Ciderman's post hit the nail on the head though, simply give users the choice on whether to install/have these things. Do I believe for a minute that apps for Netflix, Youtube, Twitch, et al, would be a big deal (dev wise) for Nintendo, not at all. This is a company with a budget the size of a small country...they could have these things in place by the end of the Summer...developed, debugged, and ready for public use without breaking a sweat.

Would such features be popular? Putting aside Nintendo's backward and staunch opposition to the likes of Youtube & Twitch, I feel at the very least, people would be using their Switch if they have the desire for such software...instead of being forced to power the Switch off, and use a competitors machine like an Xbox or Playstation. It's business 101, don't give people a reason to use the opposition services if you don't have to.

Nintendo are simply incredible at what they do, they've defined gaming for whole generations, and continue to do so. They're often far more right than they are wrong, and their first party stuff is competing with the very cream of the crop. They make some stupidly Nintendo decisions at times though, which can be infuriating. The lack of VC on the Switch at this stage is inexcusable. Development began on the Switch six years ago...six years! It's been out for over one year now...no online services, no virtual console, no Youtube functionality, no Netflix functionality, no Twitch functionality...crazy stuff altogether. Whether we value such services individually is irrelevant, they're all massively popular and hugely relevant for gaming (Netflix aside).

I agree to a point, that not everyone will bother with the above examples, what I don't agree with though, is not giving users the choice. I think it's a bad business decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

Inviere wrote: »
    Anyone can consider particular software bloatware, it's highly subjective. Ciderman's post hit the nail on the head though, simply give users the choice on whether to install/have these things. Do I believe for a minute that apps for Netflix, Youtube, Twitch, et al, would be a big deal (dev wise) for Nintendo, not at all. This is a company with a budget the size of a small country...they could have these things in place by the end of the Summer...developed, debugged, and ready for public use without breaking a sweat.

Would such features be popular? Putting aside Nintendo's backward and staunch opposition to the likes of Youtube & Twitch, I feel at the very least, people would be using their Switch if they have the desire for such software...instead of being forced to power the Switch off, and use a competitors machine like an Xbox or Playstation. It's business 101, don't give people a reason to use the opposition services if you don't have to.

Nintendo are simply incredible at what they do, they've defined gaming for whole generations, and continue to do so. They're often far more right than they are wrong, and their first party stuff is competing with the very cream of the crop. They make some stupidly Nintendo decisions at times though, which can be infuriating. The lack of VC on the Switch at this stage is inexcusable. Development began on the Switch six years ago...six years! It's been out for over one year now...no online services, no virtual console, no Youtube functionality, no Netflix functionality, no Twitch functionality...crazy stuff altogether. Whether we value such services individually is irrelevant, they're all massively popular and hugely relevant for gaming (Netflix aside).

I agree to a point, that not everyone will bother with the above examples, what I don't agree with though, is not giving users the choice. I think it's a bad business decision.

Nailed it on the head there.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

But you have to aim up! And they jump around!
    I feel like Wreckit Ralph when he tries to be part of Hero's Duty.

I play it with all the anti nausea measures off, because I don't get motion sickness.
    As a result it plays almost exactly like Doom 2016 and it's great fun.
    In its default state it feels not cool at all.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Inviere wrote: »
    Precisely. It's also about making the Switch as relevant as possible. Why force users to turn off the Switch, and have to use another device like an Xbox, Playstation, or PC...just to do something that they could have done on the Switch anyway? It's beyond stupid to at least not give users the choice, because once that Switch is turned off, the PS4 is turned on, Nintendo are putting themselves at a disadvantage.

See this is my problem not having Netflix.
    I traded my PS4 for the switch and don't get me wrong its a fantastic console.But I used to use the ps4 for everything-Netflix,youtube and gaming.
    However I find myself lately wanting to be able to switch between a session of Mario and watching Netflix.
    I also find myself playing the XB1 more than the switch lately because its so easy to transition from gaming to watching TV.
    I think that Nintendo are doing themselves a disfavour by not having the apps on the switch.
    And as you said above--try to keep the consumer away from your competitors products at all costs. In my case I don't have any choice but to use the Xbox for Netflix.Jesus they are even sharing the same hdmi slot on the TV with the switch going through the pass through on the xbox one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Since I got a smart TV I find myself using my Xbox one less and less now due to the fact that if I was bored with netflix youtube etc I would usually stick on a game but now Im just meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

Has anyone had a wobbly joycon when in handheld mode? It was driving me mad. Fair play to Argos, replaced the whole thing for me today. The new one is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,679 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    Has anyone had a wobbly joycon when in handheld mode? It was driving me mad. Fair play to Argos, replaced the whole thing for me today. The new one is perfect.

But what about all your game saves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭wheresmahbombs

I seem to have the same thing regarding the wobbly Joy-Con.

Sometimes, button presses aren't registered properly on the Joy-Cons. I usually use them with the grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Gizmo55

TitianGerm wrote: »
    But what about all your game saves?

I only bought it on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,679 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Gizmo55 wrote: »
    I only bought it on Monday.

Well that's a different story :pac: