Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone know what the ethnic Traveller Status statement actually means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,514 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

mynamejeff wrote: »

the vast majority of those crimes you mentioned aren't traveler speciffic.
    JamboMac wrote: »
    Is this all coz of the bloke from love/hate who went to america and claimed that black's in america is the same as traveller's in ireland. Black's where discriminated against for no reason, traveller's earned it for decades of criminal activity because they wouldn't just fit into society.

actually, they are discriminated against effectively for no reason. bigotry and the fact there are no consiquences for doing so. some black people are involved in crime yet discrimination toards black people as a whole is rightly not tolerated. travelers didn't earn discrimination. discrimination cannot be justified. not fitting into society isn't a justification for anything.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Just wondered if anyone had a great interraction with a Traveller calling to their house.

I am sure there must be so many positive experiences, so let us know.

Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,298 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

The big question for those who love Travellers is...

Personally I don't love all travellers nor do I hate all travellers. I know travellers that have full time jobs, paying taxes, the lot. I also know that a lot of travellers are into crime and violence. There's an ignorance in some posters making out that all travellers are the same. It's like saying all blond hair girls are the same or all curly hair boys are the same. It's not true and it's a foolish way to see the world imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

actually, they are discriminated against effectively for no reason. bigotry and the fact there are no consiquences for doing so. some black people are involved in crime yet discrimination toards black people as a whole is rightly not tolerated. travelers didn't earn discrimination. discrimination cannot be justified. not fitting into society isn't a justification for anything.

Exactly. Above you have someone calling for mass murder of people because they are travellers.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

It's almost 2 decades since they were recognised as a separate ethnic group in NI. I presume the apocalypse came to pass up there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

God, there's an awful lot of racist arseholes on this thread.

Fair play to the traveller people anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,923 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Esel wrote: »
    Thanked by sixteen users when I looked back.

Now down to fifteen! Who slyly unthanked?

Name and shame:

Thanks: arayess, booterboy, Bscan86, Commotion Ocean, DanMurphy, DavidLyons_, Dr Turk Turkelton, Filmer Paradise, Icsics, Johnny Jukebox, lazybones32, Oblivoid, Parachutes, Richard Hillman, ronnie3585, Super_Sonic

There are actually sixteen in the above list. There are twenty now:

Thanks: arayess, BattleCorp, booterboy, Bscan86, Commotion Ocean, DanMurphy, DavidLyons_, doncarlos, Dr Turk Turkelton, Filmer Paradise, Gavinz, Icsics, Johnny Jukebox, lazybones32, Oblivoid, Parachutes, Richard Hillman, ronnie3585, Super_Sonic, Vowel Movement

Not your ornery onager

The big question for those who love Travellers is...

Do you live next to them right now?

OR, Would you live next to them and their caravans and all the rest of it?

I doubt you would like it, so you are trolls IMO if you say yes,

Would genuinely like an answer.

how are they trolls if they say yes, exactly? i suppose you believe that anyone who doesn't give you the answer you want to hear is a troll. and it's not about "loving" anyone, it's about not being a bigot and not discriminating against whole groups of people just because you can and you want to feel superior to others
    Nope it was the bloke from love/hate you might be able to get his show from the RTÉ player, also claimed they where like the native Americans and Mexicans. Fit in as in get a job since sharpening tools is gone, going to school, if they want to be actual travellers then staying in one spot isn't being a traveller and how is schooling going work if they actually did travel?

if you want them to get a job then quotas for all employers is the only way that is going to happen. that isn't going to happen so the unemployment rate is going to remain high.
    Exactly. Above you have someone calling for mass murder of people because they are travellers.

indeed, i saw that particular poster's post. sounds like a nasty individual to me.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Just wondered if anyone had a great interraction with a Traveller calling to their house.

Boss.

Yes, several times when I was about 13 one of them called to my house to play football with us & a few other lads.

So yeah was a good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Boss.

Nope last week probably everyday of the week asked to cut the hedges and once twice in the same day, the second time just after my dad left in the jeep, I wonder why they would do that?

Have travellers actually bother trying to sociable with us country folk as they would call, we won't trust them because they want to keep their secrets and they won't trust us because we expect them to go to school and get a job.

Is it a good time to invest in a caravan and a hitch folks since id would be recognised as been part of an ethnic culture for some bizarre reason as opposed to simply being a person who chooses to live in a box with wheels ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Cant wait for traveller history month

"My uncle antnee bet your faader below in ennis"

Bambi wrote: »

Will it not be into the west on a loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Traveler history is there most bogus thing ever. It was never written down for obvious reasons so it just gets the word of mouth treatment. There are A LOT of travelers that think they were the indeginous population before all of us arrived.

Nope last week probably everyday of the week asked to cut the hedges and once twice in the same day, the second time just after my dad left in the jeep, I wonder why they would do that?

Have travellers actually bother trying to sociable with us country folk as they would call, we won't trust them because they want to keep their secrets and they won't trust us because we expect them to go to school and get a job.

no they don't trust you because of discrimination. it's none of your business whether they go to school or get a job, that's the business of the authorities and revenue who we elect on our behalf to monitor such activities in relation to the population.

From the low level intellegence conversations going on in this thread I wouldn't expect anybody in Ireland to get a job anymore if there all this thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

There are actually sixteen in the above list. There are twenty now:

Thanks: arayess, BattleCorp, booterboy, Bscan86, Commotion Ocean, DanMurphy, DavidLyons_, doncarlos, Dr Turk Turkelton, Filmer Paradise, Gavinz, Icsics, Johnny Jukebox, lazybones32, Oblivoid, Parachutes, Richard Hillman, ronnie3585, Super_Sonic, Vowel Movement

Your high horse is getting bigger.

Bet you €1,000, you wouldn't let your kids walk into a halting site.

"Yeeeesss it started in Ballymahon when i bate you, and we met a year after and i bate ya agin"

no they don't trust you because of discrimination. it's none of your business whether they go to school or get a job, that's the business of the authorities and revenue who we elect on our behalf to monitor such activities in relation to the population.

Well in fact when they are dossing around with little education and no employment prospects it will be his business then because as a taxpayer his taxes will be funding this 'ethnic culture'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

What are the elderly people of rural Ireland, who are intimidated by this "special culture" going to think. Seeing Enda Kenny giving them more rights. than the people they are intimidating?

Surly this is the end for Enda.

What a cnut.

But is that not them discriminating/prejudging settled people, see it's well that back in the day they had useful functions to do things farmers and so on, times changed they didn't.

All children in this country must go to school/get an education, their are truancy laws no, as for a job, how do they support themselves?
    From the low level intellegence conversations going on in this thread I wouldn't expect anybody in Ireland to get a job anymore if there all this thick.

Sorry I couldn't write thesis on the plight of travellers maybe you can discuss the topic and not people in the thread, I'm not gonna resort to calling you names because your chip on your shoulder speaks for itself.

What are the elderly people of rural Ireland, who are intimidated by this "special culture" going to think. Seeing Enda Kenny giving them more rights. than the people they are intimidating?

Surly this is the end for Enda.

What a cnut

A weak miserable bully. The sooner that hapless clown retires from politics the better. That said, FG are full of his sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

The amount of virtue signalling on Boards makes me sick. I bet all these people would cross the road if they even thought a traveller might be approaching them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

Slightly off topic but why do travellers receive so many dispensations in everyday life?

And don't say 'Pavee Point'. Honestly, what benefit do politicians stand to gain from pandering to these people who, regardless of how you feel about it, as a whole contribute little to the country? Is it extra votes? Fear of being called racist? Fear of getting a broken jaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The big question is, how many of those TDs that voted Yes would totally lose their **** if little Donncha or Sorcha came home with Jimmy Connors Jr or his sister :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I'll have some of that action. Who holds the dosh?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Its the new thing these days don't upset anyone or say no for fear of being called racist or getting sued.

I can't get what this has to do with politics as they should be working on more important issues and getting a government that can actually run the country.

85% unemployment rate amongst the group.

There may well be nice people in the group but by god the ones I come across are far from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,923 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

It's a bet. You can name the halting site (as long as it's within a 30 mile radius of where I currently reside).

Maybe we can get one of the original **** thankers who have 'ironically' thanked (i.e. stalked) my posts to hold the money? There will be no seconds, just you, me, the kids and the escrow agent. I'm here all through Lent.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

It's a bet. You can name the halting site (as long as it's within a 30 mile radius of where I currently reside).

Maybe we can get one of the original wthankers who have 'ironically' thanked (i.e. stalked) my posts to hold the money? There will be no seconds, just you, me, the kids and the escrow agent. I'm here all through Lent.

Jaysus don't let any of that lot hold your money, not to be trusted that lot....

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,298 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

A traveller lady calls into the house next door to me. She's doing every Saturday for the 20 odd years I'm living here. My next door neighbour brings her in for a cup of tea and a chat or sometimes lunch. They even exchange Christmas gifts. This is a very positive thing for my neighbour.