Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are people who have affairs/cheat bad people?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭Ficheall

blue note wrote: »
    So to go back to the original question; are cheaters bad people? Grow up, it's not that black and white! It's a whole ****ing rainbow, including the colours that you can't even see!
    While your story is sad and the cheating understandable, the "spectrum" imagery is a bit rich.

"Yeah, I was feeling a bit horny and my wife had taken little Timmy to the hospital, so I rode her sister instead - don't judge me, I'm just a bit further along the cheating spectrum than you are, I guess..."

• Registered Users Posts: 18,285 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We all have made mistakes.

Why do people keep using the word "mistake"?

Cheating isn't a mistake, nobody ever tripped and fell onto somebodies dick by mistake, nobody ever went back to a different girls house by mistake.

It isn't a mistake, its a choice, one that the cheater made with full knowledge that what they were doing was cheating.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,285 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Ficheall wrote: »
    While your story is sad and the cheating understandable

It really wasn't, it was self pitying nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭AnGaelach

Jesus, hysterical much. (And don't go dragging peoples mothers into it - seriously, what fúcking age are you!)

The fact remains if a married man or woman decides that THEY don't need to honour THEIR marriage vows - then why exactly should anyone else feel obliged?
    In fact it's in equal parts judgemental, puritanical and condescending to say "Never mind your own thoughts on the matter, I'll decide what's acceptable for you"

But then again - you do kinda strike me as that type.

Because not only does cheating hurt the other person you've just cheated on, it also ruins whatever children are in that family. I'm not going to pretend like it's okay for someone to sleep around because "well dude it's their decision!".

I would have much preferred if my parents had divorced and found partners that way, instead of having my mother heartbroken.

If you don't like how I talk about cheating little scumbags, then don't do it or don't get caught. Until then I'll continue calling them out for the filth that they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

HensVassal wrote: »
    One doesn't have to cheat to contract or spread an STD.
    MadDog76 wrote: »
    Huh? :confused:

So two, STD-free, people in a relationship with no cheating can contract an STD ......... how the f*ck do you think that's possible!??!! :D

True, but let's be honest, most of them are. Hence the mode of transition being in the name. One partner could develop candida though say and pass it, or various minor herpes variants. But realistically, I was talking about the major ones that are transmitted primarily through sex and are more likely to infect a monogamous partner if his or her polygamous one is sleeping with other people.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/infidelity-africa-hiv-epidemic-782192-Feb2013/
    It's a similar mindset to "she's off limits, she's married" - I don't get that one either - that means she's promised to stay away from other men, not that other men have swore to stay away from her. If you take a vow, the onus is on you to keep it, not the rest of the world!
    While it is, there's something a bit..slimy about making a play for a married man or woman. Whether you want to admit it or not, you're knowingly helping to hurt someone badly, and that you're helping the one person they should be able to trust betray them is just... you're not the Saruman in the situation, but a bit Grima.
    *"You", is, ofc, a general term. I really wish English would get another term for the general "you" rather than the specific "you" other than "one", which gets pretentious or confusing after a while.

Don't see any point in condemning wholesale as bad people. Lot of reasons, lot of different circumstances and most people don't set out to cheat.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Not necessarily , in some cases i dont even believe those cheating are doing anything wrong. My friends parents got divorced a few years ago after his dad met someone else and had an affair.

However 10 years before the affair when my mate was only 11 or 12 his mam became a born again christian after having his youngest sister ( i still think it was a bit of post partum depression at the start) , deeply into the church and her faith , his dad had no interest in god or any of that craic , but she basically told him that she was done with sex , they were only in there mid thirties. To be fair to his dad he hung in there for about 5 or 6 years in a sexless marriage , where she got more and more into the church, stopped drinking , socializing all that stuff because it was sinful. He eventually met someone in work , and to be honest i know literally no one who blames him for having the affair including my mate who is now far closer to his dad and soon to be step mum then he is to his own ma , who's still mad as a box of cats with the Jesus stuff.

I think you have to really look at why the person cheated , was it just about sex , love what was missing in the original relationship etc... I wouldn't be quick to judge at all.

All of that stuff may excuse him for wanting out of the marriage, but it does not excuse him cheating. If his marriage was that bad, end it and THEN go sleep with whoever he wanted.

PS, no offence but I do have my doubts about the whole story. I'm a born again Christian, and although there are plenty of nutty variations about I've never yet heard anyone suggest that having sex with your husband/wife is sinful, regardless of the other half's lack of belief. And I do know plenty of mixed (i.e. one Christian, one not) couples.

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭mayobumblebee

She sounds like a particularly horrible girl ......... please PM me her phone number so I can send her a very angry text!

Oh I wish i could she's a sly one can look u dead in the eye and lie I believed her inocent for so long till she tripped herself up. No respect left for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭misstearheus

The Internet is full of GOOD people who are totally committed to their Partner and have every intention of staying in their Relationship for the long haul, but they are looking for extra-marital fun and nothing is gonna change that. And it's not about them splitting up and having to part with their money either, I think there actually is a genuinity /sincerity there to some degree that, - in some insane way lol, - they're serious about staying committed and loyal in some form, to who they chose as their life-long partner! It's mad shtuff altogether!

There was a Thread in some Forum where a few seemed 100% sure their partner would never cheat. But they have noooooooooooo idea! Their Partners might never leave them yeah okay maybe they can be 100% about that, but there ain't no guarantee about cheating! Websites are the proof of it!

It all certainly adds a whole new interesting tier with a twist to commitment and loyalty and faithfulness on another level! It's hard to know what to think about it all!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭StudentDad

The Internet is full of GOOD people who are totally committed to their Partner and have every intention of staying in their Relationship for the long haul, but they are looking for extra-marital fun and nothing is gonna change that. And it's not about them splitting up and having to part with their money either, I think there actually is a genuinity /sincerity there to some degree that, - in some insane way lol, - they're serious about staying committed and loyal in some form, to who they chose as their life-long partner! It's mad shtuff altogether!

There was a Thread in some Forum where a few seemed 100% sure their partner would never cheat. But they have noooooooooooo idea! Their Partners might never leave them yeah okay maybe they can be 100% about that, but there ain't no guarantee about cheating! Websites are the proof of it!

It all certainly adds a whole new interesting tier with a twist to commitment and loyalty and faithfulness on another level! It's hard to know what to think about it all!

It's not all that difficult really, in my book anyway. You either have integrity or you don't. The promises you made to your partner either mean something or they don't. If they don't, why bother getting into the relationship in the first place? If you feel that there is a fundamental change in your relationship that means you cannot hold to the promises you made, end the relationship or renegotiate the terms. What always pisses me off about adultery is the deceit. The other partner left clueless. Why would anyone treat their partner like that? Do they not have the bottle to sit down and actually communicate with their spouse? I've noticed over the years that adultery usually makes everything worse. The partner always finds out eventually at which point all bets are off. That amicable separation that may have been possible? Gone. Children get caught in the crossfire. Suddenly the family is rent asunder and it takes years for any sort of healing to begin. All because he/she couldn't act like an adult and take their commitments seriously. I have a few friends and family that years after the fact are still dealing with the fallout. Children who won't go to a family function if dad or mum brings their 'new friend' to the party. I could go on. Ultimately it all boils down to integrity. You have it or you don't.

SD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

If you sleep with someone you know has wife/husband or girlfriend/boyfriend does that make you a bad person? Assuming you don't personally know the Other-Half ...........

I don't think it is tbh

Even if you pursue them...I dont think it's that bad either (assuming your single!)

It's them cheating not you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

DrPhilG wrote: »
    All of that stuff may excuse him for wanting out of the marriage, but it does not excuse him cheating. If his marriage was that bad, end it and THEN go sleep with whoever he wanted.

PS, no offence but I do have my doubts about the whole story. I'm a born again Christian, and although there are plenty of nutty variations about I've never yet heard anyone suggest that having sex with your husband/wife is sinful, regardless of the other half's lack of belief. And I do know plenty of mixed (i.e. one Christian, one not) couples.

to be honest had he ended the relationship he would have had to leave the family home , his kids who he was very close too and really did and does love , lose a good chunk of his salery etc. It was a much better option for him to just go along with the marraige charade and have the affair at the same time.

I don't know weather the no sex thing was as a result of becoming born again christian or weather that was just coincidental (as in both happened at the same time but not related) but story is 100% true , his mam definitely stopped drinking and socialising and became completely obsessed with sin after finding Jesus or whatever. In my book her finding God was more detrimental for there marriage then his affair to be honest she became a completely different person, didn't just ruin her marriage it ruined her relationship with there friends and her kids at this stage too.

I always had allot of respect for him hanging in there as long as he did about 6 years before he had and affair , if it was me i wouldn't have lasted 6 weeks listening to that sh!t. My folks used to be quite close friends with them as well when me and my mate were smaller but now they wouldn't see his ma at all still see his da and his now fiance regular enough though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

+1 the onus is fully on the person in the relationship / marriage ... don't believe in any of the home wrecker crap.

Potential partners may look at it as sketchy. They won't call you names but will not consider you for a relationship. It shows a lack of empathy and raises the question 'what else would they do?'.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

While it is, there's something a bit..slimy about making a play for a married man or woman. Whether you want to admit it or not, you're knowingly helping to hurt someone badly, and that you're helping the one person they should be able to trust betray them is just... you're not the Saruman in the situation, but a bit Grima.

I'll have to admit my ignorance here and confess I don't know what the Saruman / Grima reference means (I'll look it up when I get a chance!)

I don't think it's slimy or sleazy to make a play for a married man or woman - provided they are interested. I actually think it's a bit degrading to look at any person as property of another, if that's not how they see themselves - ie that's his wife, or that's her husband - if they agree, then fine, but if they don't then that's your answer, they aren't.
    It's sleazy to pester anybody, attached or not if they clearly aren't interested. There are laws against it in fact!
    AnGaelach wrote: »
    Because not only does cheating hurt the other person you've just cheated on, it also ruins whatever children are in that family. I'm not going to pretend like it's okay for someone to sleep around because "well dude it's their decision!".

I would have much preferred if my parents had divorced and found partners that way, instead of having my mother heartbroken.

If you don't like how I talk about cheating little scumbags, then don't do it or don't get caught. Until then I'll continue calling them out for the filth that they are.

I'll go easy because you're clearly hurting.
    I don't know your personal circumstances - maybe your old man is a just a narcissistic asshole who just doesn't give a toss what trouble he causes others, maybe he's a decent man who loves his kids but no longer loves his wife -maybe that's his fault, maybe it's hers, maybe it's neither, maybe they just changed as people and grew apart - I don't know.
    But no matter what way it happened, it's too simplistic to say "just don't do it, think of the kids". I very much doubt your father had an affair because his wife was a dream come true and he was just too damn happy and needed some shít to deal with. There are 2 sides to every story.

All sorts of things fúck kids up, including when families break up and also when they should break up but don't. In reality there are no perfect families and there are no amicable separations. Sometimes life just deals you shítty cards unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 sohsoh

Who are we to judge

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I'd say pretty much all of my male friends who are married or are in relationships have cheated,some do it wholesale.

No wonder it's not seen as a bad thing to do, it seems to be universally accepted as just one of those things now.

This whole 'good people sometimes do bad things' s.hit really grinds my gears. It's any excuse to cheat rather than to deal with issues at home. Whether that's to make or break, at least you are taking the other persons heart into consideration. It's bad enough when it's just a couple in a relationship, it's people who are married with children doing it that are the biggest cnuts going. Family destroyers with not a thought for anyone else, all for the sake of a silly little thrill. I don't give a s.hit if they claim it's a loveless or sexless marriage, gtfo of it.

I would go so far as saying that I would cut contact with someone I knew was cheating, it says an awful lot about their character.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

AnGaelach wrote: »
    Will ye ever stop with this appeal to nature shíte? You know ducks rape each other during mating season? Should I be justified in raping someone because ducks do it? No, you utter spastic. Christ alive, stop trying to justify things on the basis of "well it happens in nature:DD"

Why are you equating what ducks do with what humans do? What a stupid statement. Why don't you stick to the things that it is natural for human beings to do.

"Utter spastic" ??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Potential partners may look at it as sketchy. They won't call you names but will not consider you for a relationship. It shows a lack of empathy and raises the question 'what else would they do?'.

I had an affair with a married woman when i was in college , nothing serious just casual sex as far as i was concerned, but everyone in the class new , i dated 3 or 4 other girls in the class after that ended, no bother, didn't seem to trouble any of them. I'm actually engaged to one of them now, 5 years later.

Somewhat unsurprisingly the girl i had the affairs withs marriage ended shortly after we finished college , she had other affairs with lectures and pleanty of random ONS etc.. after we ended our thing , think her hubby eventually got sick of it and left her and the kids. Either way i know shes back living with her folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

Shergar6 wrote: »
    The main problem here is that you didn't dump her asap. It's really not her fault you cheated. And considering you twigged that your friend was wanting a one night stand before you even got into the car, you had plenty of time to walk away from it. It's not like it was a heat of the moment thing.

And as usual you demonstrate that nowadays people are so badly educated or so well conditioned that they can't tell the difference between an explanation and an excuse.

You want to scorn someone but when given an explanation that doen't sufficiently scorn them you heap vitriol on top.

Huh? :confused:

So two, STD-free, people in a relationship with no cheating can contract an STD ......... how the f*ck do you think that's possible!??!! :D

Uhm......you can contract an STD during one sexual encounter and then pass it on in another encounter. You don't have to fucking cheat to contract or pass on an STD. You could be single and shagged somebody and contracted chlamydia, totally unbeknownst to you. You could then start dating someone a week later and pass it on.

It's not rocket science.

I'll have to admit my ignorance here and confess I don't know what the Saruman / Grima reference means (I'll look it up when I get a chance!)

I don't think it's slimy or sleazy to make a play for a married man or woman - provided they are interested. I actually think it's a bit degrading to look at any person as property of another, if that's not how they see themselves - ie that's his wife, or that's her husband - if they agree, then fine, but if they don't then that's your answer, they aren't.
    It's sleazy to pester anybody, attached or not if they clearly aren't interested. There are laws against it in fact!

I'll go easy because you're clearly hurting.
    I don't know your personal circumstances - maybe your old man is a just a narcissistic asshole who just doesn't give a toss what trouble he causes others, maybe he's a decent man who loves his kids but no longer loves his wife -maybe that's his fault, maybe it's hers, maybe it's neither, maybe they just changed as people and grew apart - I don't know.
    But no matter what way it happened, it's too simplistic to say "just don't do it, think of the kids". I very much doubt your father had an affair because his wife was a dream come true and he was just too damn happy and needed some shít to deal with. There are 2 sides to every story.

All sorts of things fúck kids up, including when families break up and also when they should break up but don't. In reality there are no perfect families and there are no amicable separations. Sometimes life just deals you shítty cards unfortunately.

Very true. There are many kids who loathe the father for cheating. There are also kids who scorn the mother for NOT cheating, i.e. for wasting her life in a loveless marriage when she had a chance at a bit of happiness only to grow old looking back on a lifetime of squandered opportunities.

These things happen. Relationships end in many ways. There are people out there who have been dumped and NEVER get over it. In fact many of them fare much worse than people who have been cheated on. The love business is a messy and complicated enterprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

HensVassal wrote: »
    There are also kids who scorn the mother for NOT cheating, i.e. for wasting her life in a loveless marriage when she had a chance at a bit of happiness only to grow old looking back on a lifetime of squandered opportunities.

I've heard it all now. Perhaps these kids might wish their mother ended the marriage to find someone who makes her happy. No kid wishes a parent would cheat. That's codswallop, and you know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I had an affair with a married woman when i was in college , nothing serious just casual sex as far as i was concerned, but everyone in the class new , i dated 3 or 4 other girls in the class after that ended, no bother, didn't seem to trouble any of them. I'm actually engaged to one of them now, 5 years later.

Somewhat unsurprisingly the girl i had the affairs withs marriage ended shortly after we finished college , she had other affairs with lectures and pleanty of random ONS etc.. after we ended our thing , think her hubby eventually got sick of it and left her and the kids. Either way i know shes back living with her folks.

People have different standards. I know someone that went after a married guy, slept with him and tried to get him to leave his pregnant wife. The guy was more wrong for cheating but she was the single one and it seemed to close some options off for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Very little in life is ever black and white.

Some people just don't give a toss about others, we all know people (usually men it has to be said, but not exclusively) who will just fúck anyone that will have them and don't think twice about the consequences. Those people are generally assholes in every way, shape and form. I'm happy to judge these as simply bad people.

The women who do it (and there are as many) just have a collection of mental disorders / troubled upbringing etc excuses to "explain" their behaviour.
    But there is a also a large cohort of people who for one reason or another are unhappy and just trying to get by - it's far too simplistic to just say end it with your partner and start again, that's fine when you're twenty and living with your parents - things get much more complicated when there are kids and mortgages and so on. These people, I try not get too judgemental with. No one really knows what goes on behind closed doors and it could simply be some man or woman striving to stay sane in cold hard world.

Cheating is never the answer. If you are that "unhappy" then either leave, or talk to your spouse and try to work it out. If the person they are cheating with is so great, they will immediately drop their spouse and kids to be with them and live happily ever after LOL. You hear the whole "unhappy" thing but in many cases the spouse never says they are "unhappy", they just pretend everything is fine and then go off and cheat, and then claim they were "unhappy" for a long time. It's mostly complete BS. In fact the betrayed spouse is often miserable themselves trying to please the supposedly unhappy one and wondering what the hell is wrong with them.
    That being said - it just wouldn't be for me, the idea holds very little appeal for me whatsoever.

I have also noticed a tendency to blame the other man or woman. "That bitch broke up a happy family" kind of thing, which I find bizarre - if the family was all that happy, there wouldn't have been another man or woman would there!
    It's a similar mindset to "she's off limits, she's married" - I don't get that one either - that means she's promised to stay away from other men, not that other men have swore to stay away from her. If you take a vow, the onus is on you to keep it, not the rest of the world!

100% agree there.

Yeah I think it surprises a lot of guys who are raised that women are the "moral guardians" of society and men are amoral assholes, it certainly surprised me how many women have zero morals - often the same ones loudly criticising other women for the same actions - and I've been surprised in the opposite direction with men - some of them do have strong morals. I'd say it's about 50 / 50.

Shergar6 wrote: »
    Schwarzeneggar's term as Governor of California was coming to an end. Considering who was just elected president, do Americans actually care about their male presidents being the epitome of virtue?

Pure bull**** that Woods or Arnie suffered AT ALL. Woods is still as respected as ever and Arnie is a legend.

Meg's career crashed and burned and Stewart worked her ass off to get back on her feet and is still tagged with it in a lot of commentary online.

It's amazing that you could have the opposite viewpoint, it really is.

Tiger Woods lost tens of millions in sponsorship? When is the last time you saw him advertising ANYTHING?

blue note wrote: »
    I cheated while in a relationship of about 8 years. It was an awful relationship that I had fallen into - she was constantly sick for the 8 years which I used as an excuse to rationalise her treatment of me. She was completely demanding of me, would get angry and shout and threaten to hurt herself if I didn't do whatever she wanted. I lost contact with lots of my college friends in this time. If she came on a night out with me to meet them she'd put a dampener on the evening for everyone, or if she didn't come she'd be p1ssed off with me for leaving her. There were constant put downs in private and in front of my family and friends. The day my mother sat down with me when I was home for the weekend on my own and asked me if my girlfriend talked to me like that when we were on our own was one of the most upsetting moments in the whole relationship. I knew what she thought already and I knew that everyone else thought it too, but to actually hear it out loud from your mother was crushing.

Then one night, I was hammered drunk in a nightclub with a few friends including the girl I took to my debs 10 years earlier. I still remember my friend asking her if she wanted to share a taxi home - we were in Rathmines, I lived in Ranelagh, she lived in Drumcondra and he lived in Santry. She said it was handier to share with me (for people unfamiliar with Dublin - I was 10 minutes walk away and she was on the same road as the one to my friends house). So while it might be obvious to everyone else what was happening, I still wasn't exactly sure. It certainly sounded kind of like I had "pulled", but bear in mind that I had only ever done that one other time - about 9 years ago. I hadn't as much as kissed another girl since I was a teenager and in my entire time with that girlfriend I had never been in a situation that was in any way like this. At that stage the only "romantic" attention I was used (attention from someone who was supposed to love me) were put downs, moaning and being reminded of all that was wrong with me. And then suddenly someone was being really nice to me - paying me loads of compliments. I'm welling up here a little thinking of how nice that felt, but I'd basically been listening to the opposite for years. Even though I thought I knew it wasn't true, it had sunk in. And anyone that thinks that someone withholding sex is no excuse - try being in that situation for a few years. You try to initiate it and are shot down. You try to chat about it and she tells you how selfish you're being for bringing up something you know she's self conscious about. You try nice gestures, dates, doing all the housework, everything you've read that might work - and she's simply never going to initiate it regardless of what you do. So you're rationed to depressing sex once every month or two. And then suddenly one day, someone actually wants you and finds you attractive. In truth at that stage I was a shell of the man I was before I started going out with that girl. I sheepishly went through with it and kind of enjoyed it. I'd say it wasn't the most thrilling night for my debs date of 2003, but it was an important night for me.

I think I'd somehow have gotten myself together and gotten out of that relationship eventually, but that night was probably the start of it. It wasn't just that someone else might find me attractive, it was more that I was reminded of what it was to be treated nicely. I had gotten so used to a relationship being all about the other person I had given up fighting for things I wanted. So it still took me over a year to break up with my girlfriend, but I suppose it was a bit of a gradual process looking back. We had two conversations where I basically demanded that she treat me better - that we'd do the things I wanted to do sometimes, watch what I wanted to watch on TV sometimes and that she'd help with the housework and basically stop shouting at me all the time. Neither conversation changed anything, so I just started going off and doing what I wanted more and more and to hell with the consequences. Eventually, I packed up my stuff and sat her down to tell her we were finished. It was the strangest feeling in the world after - melancholy (and I still can't quite put my finger on what I was sad about), relief, curiosity about what was going to happen now and as tiring as it was I felt energised. Not as much pity for the hurt I'd inflicted on another person as I'd expected.

So that's my little story. Do I feel guilty about the cheating? Of course I do! God knows I wish I was stronger and I had broken up with her long before that. But I wasn't and while I still feel guilty I'm very accepting of what I did. And thankful I did it. Most of my life had been put on hold for the 9 years I was with that girl. I feel a bit like I'm playing catch-up in life now, but I think I will catch up. And as daunting as it is trying get to where others are in life who might have left college with me, I'm enjoying the process. And over two years later I still have the odd person tell me how great it is to have me back. And as awful a moment as it was when my mother sat me down the couple of years before, I kind of had the opposite moment a couple of months after. I was at my niece's Christening and she gave me a big hug and said I looked happier than I had in years. And I don't think I had seen my mum look as happy in years either. Of course she was at her first grandchild's christening, so I can't take all the credit!

So to go back to the original question; are cheaters bad people? Grow up, it's not that black and white! It's a whole ****ing rainbow, including the colours that you can't even see!

I understand what you are saying, and I can see how that happened, but if it were me, I would come home and tell her I cheated, and finish it with her. It would gnaw away at me.

Secondly, you or your "cheatee" weren't married with kids. That's a whole other level of cheating. Doesn't make it right, but on a cheating scale of 1-10, this was a 3 (would have been a 1 if you hadn't had sex, and had told your partner and broken up with her. :D )

The ironic thing is it is quite possible she was cheating on you all the time - she certainly was showing all the symptoms of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,522 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I've read many posts here and I see so many people using bad partners or bad relationships as a means to excuse or justify cheating on their partner or having affairs.

But really should they not acknowledge their weakness and deception in not facing up to the reality of being in a bad relationship and end that before moving on with their life.

I'm no spring chicken but every single time I've seen people start having affairs and cheating it just compounds the problems and widens the circles of hurt. More innocent people get drawn in when the charade collapses and it always does.

Two wrongs don't make a right, if your in a bad relationship or with a horrible person then end that situation, face the reality in life and move on. Cheating is cheating, even if you cheat on a bad person - being a cheat isn't exactly making you a better person.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

twill wrote: »
    In the case of my father, yes, he is just a narcissistic individual who didn't give a damn about the trouble he caused and who used the second chance my mother gave him to go out and do exactly the same thing again. There weren't two sides to the story. He just did it because he wanted to.

I'm not sure if cheating is more prevalent today than formerly, but I would guess there are more people who think they can have everything they want without having to sacrifice any impulse or wish.

Narcissists are out there - and they will do whatever the hell suits them at the time. You are both better off without him to be honest. There just is no happy ever after with somebody like that.
    professore wrote: »
    Cheating is never the answer. If you are that "unhappy" then either leave, or talk to your spouse and try to work it out. If the person they are cheating with is so great, they will immediately drop their spouse and kids to be with them and live happily ever after LOL. You hear the whole "unhappy" thing but in many cases the spouse never says they are "unhappy", they just pretend everything is fine and then go off and cheat, and then claim they were "unhappy" for a long time. It's mostly complete BS. In fact the betrayed spouse is often miserable themselves trying to please the supposedly unhappy one and wondering what the hell is wrong with them.

A lot of people simply can't leave. For men in particular, you break up with the missus - she gets the house + the kids and you get to pay for both and see the kids on the weekend. If you are say 50 years old, what are you going to do? A bank wont give you a mortgage unless you earn a kings ransom, so you're options are basically stay put or go couch surfing.
    It's not as simple as come clean and face the consequences - it's that simple when you're twenty and living at home, not when times against you and you've kids and a mortgage.