Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

As in too much N? Would have got about 55 units N since early July.

Possibly, in drier weather more N may not have been used and is all coming together now with growthier conditions. Have heard it can sour grass. As mf said too tho, if they have been getting meal or silage they might just be giving out in the hopes of more the feckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

What rate did u mix and spray the sea water?

I know this is an anonymous forum.
    But still I'm not advising anyone to do it.

But just what I did myself.
    4 or 5 litres/acre diluted 20:1 with non chlorine water.

Some say to dilute it out further to 30:1.
    Obviously don't get it near a sewage discharge or industry.

From my own observations spray during the daytime. A cloudy day seems to be best and as long as there's good moisture in the ground and forecast.
    Rinse out your sprayer very well beforehand. Possibly leave the lid off and let the sun shine in for a while too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,742 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

orm0nd wrote: »
    are you about dosing or vaccine?

Soiry dose for worms etc. Was pour on I used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭White Clover

mf240 wrote: »
    They are spoilt. Leave them there.

That was my first thought too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

That was my first thought too!

A lot of n in my opinion for this time of year. Grass lush As It is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,117 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Pretty sobering figure in the journal where j.k reckons they are looking at a 150k loss this year, really drives home the financial impact dairy farmers are facing heading into the winter with bills mounting and milk Cheques going to be getting smaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Would ye rather they dumped it in the ocean, that was the kiwis attitude to it.
    There only a by product and the general population need to stop using palm oil and palm kernel products not the farmers to be honest.

Exactly... not a tree planted for the bounty that is pke ...
    Cart before the horseism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Exactly... not a tree planted for the bounty that is pke ...
    Cart before the horseism

Mightn’t be such a bad idea if it was banned from entering the Eu so...

I think they want to ban the oil and PKE
    from being allowed in, then to ban all products containing palm oil.
    I would support such a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,742 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Pretty sobering figure in the journal where j.k reckons they are looking at a 150k loss this year, really drives home the financial impact dairy farmers are facing heading into the winter with bills mounting and milk Cheques going to be getting smaller

And tax bill to be paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

jaymla627 wrote: »

Aren’t they sitting on a couple of hundred thousand in the bank?
    Comes in handy when a little blip happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,117 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Aren’t they sitting on a couple of hundred thousand in the bank?
    Comes in handy when a little blip happens.

120k, handy put away to be fair, when you are living hand to mouth re fodder stocks

Mightn’t be such a bad idea if it was banned from entering the Eu so...

I think they want to ban the oil and PKE
    from being allowed in, then to ban all products containing palm oil.
    I would support such a ban.

I still get confused sometimes about your stance on protectionism lol..
    Bit like the non gmo aspirations it'll never make a value added base for milk just a new norm with added layers of cost imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I still get confused sometimes about your stance on protectionism lol..
    Bit like the non gmo aspirations it'll never make a value added base for milk just a new norm with added layers of cost imo
    The majority of the oil goes to biodiesel. Its not a terrible idea to stop them chopping down rainforest and maybe put a more solid base under likes of osr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Don't know why people want palm kernel at all. It effects the milk and damages our green image. In NZ they are paying premiums to farmers who don't use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Don't know why people want palm kernel at all. It effects the milk and damages our green image. In NZ they are paying premiums to farmers who don't use it.

And at end of the day it’s nothing only. ****e quality filler for rations .

The majority of the oil goes to biodiesel. Its not a terrible idea to stop them chopping down rainforest and maybe put a more solid base under likes of osr

My tongue was well planted in my cheek.
    No doubt Palm oil replacing plant and animal fats .it's not a bad idea at all Sam but there will be no premium for the primary producer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Beet pulp nuts through the parlour? Will I have any issues, are they palatable enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Beet pulp nuts through the parlour? Will I have any issues, are they palatable enough?

They were always legendary for forming lumps if that's any help to you.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    And at end of the day it’s nothing only. ****e quality filler for rations .

Filled a gap for many when max parlour nuts were fed and fodder short
    Didn't drop cow's here.

So don't risk it ha?

Filled a gap for many when max parlour nuts were fed and fodder short
    Didn't drop cow's here.

No doubt they did and will again but hulls or beet pulp much better feed value .all things equal u wouldn’t like to see it in a mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Filled a gap for many when max parlour nuts were fed and fodder short Didn't drop cow's here.

I can understand why. When you don't have a diet feeder it's easy to feed in a field. Look it might be suitable during emergencies like some lads had but it wouldn't want to become the norm.

Still feeding silage here pushed the cows up 2.5 kgs of meal (2 barley and 0.5kg soya) and they went up 3 litres.

Gonna take at least a week maybe 2 before I can pull the silage.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    No doubt they did and will again but hulls or beet pulp much better feed value .all things equal u wouldn’t like to see it in a mix

Hulls used also. Low in protein% for high feeding rate I felt .
    Fed 10 kgs dairy and hulls at one stage with pk in paddock and cow's were very content on little grass and milked v well.
    Just my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Hulls used also. Low in protein% for high feeding rate I felt .
    Fed 10 kgs dairy and hulls at one stage with pk in paddock and cow's were very content on little grass and milked v well.
    Just my experience.

You were literally just filling a gap with the pk. Too many thought there was performance to be got from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

We used to feed every spring with diet feeder in the field at home, worked well

You were literally just filling a gap with the pk. Too many thought there was performance to be got from it.

Yes fair enough to a point
    Didn't see any promotion of it as anything else. But gap has/had to be filled and I was surprised and happy with it and the convenience involved.
    Shur its all about sharing experiences on here lads.
    It's something that punches above its weight I found .
    The global sustainability questions and morals involved in feeding it are for another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

There's a proposal being voted on soon by MEP's to ban all palm oil imports for biofuel. The timeline though is nonsense - by 2030!! Not a tree will be left standing in SE Asia by then!!:(

Thank Fook I didn't blow them in, put them in the feed face for today's buffer and the cows weren't keen at all on them, took 3hrs to clean them out against 5mins with the hulls.

Miolassed of unmollased Tim ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

found it took the cows over a week to take to them , now most of them are mopping them up

seems to be helping b/f and controlling mu and dungs are nice and solid