Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Buffer reduced by 25% this morning. We'll see how it goes. 1000 covers. Around 12kg/hd allocated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Buffer reduced by 25% this morning. We'll see how it goes. 1000 covers. Around 12kg/hd allocated.

Drought still bitting here good growthbup to Friday but crashed again ,more rain and lots of it needed .3.5 kg dm silage and 3 kg 3 way mix still been fed out here for another week at least I’d say ,cows pumping tho 2.06 kgms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Drought still bitting here good growthbup to Friday but crashed again ,more rain and lots of it needed .3.5 kg dm silage and 3 kg 3 way mix still been fed out here for another week at least I’d say ,cows pumping tho 2.06 kgms

Rain here everyday fir a bit. More of a mist really but it isn't forecasted. Great to get it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

It'd be grand to be back to those levels of feeding. 4.5 kg silage dm and 7.5 kg conc dm. Just over 2kgms. Probably being a bit generous with them today but don't want to shock the system too much.

5.2 average going in in parlour as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Had rain of some sort for 5 days straight till Fri inclusive. Really turned things around here, my issue is all the grass is coming at once so could do with a dry day here and there to take out a few fields. Amazing differences in a small country. Feeding 6 kgs at the minute along with grass and getting just over the 2kgs solids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,662 ✭✭✭straight

My milk recording always give me a few litres extra than the collection docket. Also all of the constituent percentages are consistently higher and the cell count is always higher too. It seems to be a more sensitive test. Getting over 2 kg solids now from milk recording but only 1.8 from milk docket. Is this something that the rest of ye experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Just after reading the article by Peter Hynes on the Independent. There seems to be an element of "poor me" , we need a better milk price because we've had a hard year.
    No i don't begrudge any dairy farmer earning money. But why should the consumer care about bailing us farmers out just because its been tougher than a normal year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,117 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Just after reading the article by Peter Hynes on the Independent. There seems to be an element of "poor me" , we need a better milk price because we've had a hard year.
    No i don't begrudge any dairy farmer earning money. But why should the consumer care about bailing us farmers out just because its been tougher than a normal year.

Can’t stand the man to be honest, was hammering on this spring how efficient farms can afford the new high tech parlours/auto calf-feeders/big sheds and all the latest gizmos, and the lad slogging away making do was on a road to no-where.....
    If you drop half a million on farm improvements in a year like himself, the last thing you should be at is crying wolf when a tough year comes along

Yep poor me and poor dairy farmers ,I’m a dairy farmer and embarrassed reading crap like that ,how about beef farmers ,sucklers,sheep tillage ,most of them in the doldrums for years ,some dairy farmers are forever crying wolf despite been supported and backed time and time again by the govt and Dept .farmers expanded and took on debt and have to live with consequences

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Can’t stand the man to be honest, was hammering on this spring how efficient farms can afford the new high tech parlours/auto calf-feeders/big sheds and all the latest gizmos, and the lad slogging away making do was on a road to no-where.....
    If you drop half a million on farm improvements in a year like himself, the last thing you should be at is crying wolf when a tough year comes along

I was in his farm a while back at at open day, and it was very shiney and new (lots of ugrades) and he was talking in glowing terms of how must money could be made by being a progressive farmer. I thought he'd be the last man publicly looking for support.
    I dunno, maybe i lead a sheltered life.

Yep poor me and poor dairy farmers ,I’m a dairy farmer and embarrassed reading crap like that ,how about beef farmers ,sucklers,sheep tillage ,most of them in the doldrums for years ,some dairy farmers are forever crying wolf despite been supported and backed time and time again by the govt and Dept .farmers expanded and took on debt and have to live with consequences

My brother who is the man dairy farming at home never expanded much but did purchase 18 acres joining us 5 years ago. I work with him and hes quiet open with the books with me. As he said himself, he wont go hungry this year. And he doesn't t have half the cows Peter has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I just read the article now.

It doesn’t look or sound right that the ‘Kardashians’ of Irish farming have the begging bowl out.

In my little patch I consider that my number one job is to manage risk...from sending off an inexperienced driver on a job that’s too much for him, to managing drought or flooding risk, to market volatility exposure.
    That’s my job.
    If I can’t do that I’m sure there are plenty out there that can...

You’d swear a mighty oath that ye actually experienced a drought...no ye didn’t!
    A bit of soil moisture deficit for a few weeks is all. Ffs.

straight wrote: »
    My milk recording always give me a few litres extra than the collection docket. Also all of the constituent percentages are consistently higher and the cell count is always higher too. It seems to be a more sensitive test. Getting over 2 kg solids now from milk recording but only 1.8 from milk docket. Is this something that the rest of ye experience?

Haven't recorded in a while. Do they take a morning and evening sample for solids? Was told recently they don't which I thought strange. When we had our old tank it would only hold three milkings but driver was told to collect two as the odd milking would effect the solids results for the load. Maybe I was told a line but you'd wonder if it would. 're the yield perhaps get the meters serviced perhaps rubber etc is worn. At the end of the day it's what goes into tank that counts anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Last I read about the German farmers they were looking for a billion of a bailout.
    Such nonsense.

They didn’t get anything the last time either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Last I read about the German farmers they were looking for a billion of a bailout.
    Such nonsense.

They didn’t get anything the last time either...

What are the French looking for?

They’re looking for to end Palm oil and PKE imports into the Eu Reggie...

For once, on environmental and even moral grounds, I support them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A bit of an interesting one.

I sprayed a field with diluted seawater last year (December) but didn't do one paddock. This field was reseeded about 5/6 years ago with tyrella in the mix so sometimes the cows could be iffy when going into a paddock. Start bawling at you basically.

There might have been slightly more grass on this particular paddock.
    Anyways no complaints eating the other paddocks, heads down, take no notice of you when shutting in.
    Last night I was on the lane to shut them into this paddock and some of the cows were coming back to the yard and the rest bawling away not happy at all with it.

It'll definitely be getting the same treatment now that the other paddocks got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

How long does it take for cows to stop coughing after they have been dosed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

whelan2 wrote: »

could take up to 4 weeks if there was lung damage

did you just dose or get some analysis done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

orm0nd wrote: »
    could take up to 4 weeks if there was lung damage

did you just dose or get some analysis done?

I have glanbia health screening results. They have been done for ibr about a month ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭White Clover

A bit of an interesting one.

I sprayed a field with diluted seawater last year (December) but didn't do one paddock. This field was reseeded about 5/6 years ago with tyrella in the mix so sometimes the cows could be iffy when going into a paddock. Start bawling at you basically.

There might have been slightly more grass on this particular paddock.
    Anyways no complaints eating the other paddocks, heads down, take no notice of you when shutting in.
    Last night I was on the lane to shut them into this paddock and some of the cows were coming back to the yard and the rest bawling away not happy at all with it.

It'll definitely be getting the same treatment now that the other paddocks got.

I put heifers into a paddock Tues am. Reseeded in 2010, good fertility, lovely grass in it. They're not one bit happy in it and I'll have to take em out of it this evening with grass still on it. It must be sour for some reason?

Worth a test for N? Would tgat put em off? Following cows here. Going baling 10 acres 2moro. Should do more but too much N in it for the wilt it could get I reckon, very rich green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I have glanbia health screening results. They have been done for ibr about a month ago

are you about dosing or vaccine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

They’re looking for to end Palm oil and PKE imports into the Eu Reggie...

For once, on environmental and even moral grounds, I support them.

Would ye rather they dumped it in the ocean, that was the kiwis attitude to it.
    There only a by product and the general population need to stop using palm oil and palm kernel products not the farmers to be honest.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Too much of anything makes a grass sour / or kills it.

There was a picture up on one of those Albrecht soil testing companies website from the UK.
    It was a picture of dairy heifers in a field of lush grass all standing at the fence. And the caption was that the paddock they were in, tested too high in Boron and the paddock beside it was ok for Boron and they were trying to get into that paddock and not happy at all where they were.

I had one paddock come back fairly highish in Boron this year the rest were on the floor. The only difference i can think of with this paddock was that it was always the dedicated "horse" paddock.
    That got diluted seawater last year too. There doesn't seem to be any palatability issues so far with it anyway.

Edit: to get all geeky about it. Boron is formed from cosmic rays hitting our atmosphere and one of those reactions from this occurring is the formation of Boron. Now that we are in a solar minimum and the earth's magnetic shield is lower more cosmic rays are able to penetrate into our atmosphere and thus more Boron reaching the ground.

Beam me up Scotty!!

Mooooo wrote: »
    Worth a test for N? Would tgat put em off? Following cows here. Going baling 10 acres 2moro. Should do more but too much N in it for the wilt it could get I reckon, very rich green

As in too much N? Would have got about 55 units N since early July.

Too much of anything makes a grass sour / or kills it.

There was a picture up on one of those Albrecht soil testing companies website from the UK.
    It was a picture of dairy heifers in a field of lush grass all standing at the fence. And the caption was that the paddock they were in, tested too high in Boron and the paddock beside it was ok for Boron and they were trying to get into that paddock and not happy at all where they were.

I had one paddock come back fairly highish in Boron this year the rest were on the floor. The only difference i can think of with this paddock was that it was always the dedicated "horse" paddock.
    That got diluted seawater last year too. There doesn't seem to be any palatability issues so far with it anyway.

Edit: to get all geeky about it. Boron is formed from cosmic rays hitting our atmosphere and one of those reactions from this occurring is the formation of Boron. Now that we are in a solar minimum and the earth's magnetic shield is lower more cosmic rays are able to penetrate into our atmosphere and thus more Boron reaching the ground.

Beam me up Scotty!!

What rate did u mix and spray the sea water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭mf240

They are spoilt. Leave them there.