Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    So you'd slope it off and roll it, would this be just disturbing a lot more of the pit than is necessary? If Tim could get a loan of shear grab for next while so he would have a clean pit face and just leave open maybe?

You wouldn't stop the air getting at it. Best thing to do is break down the face and roll it to exclude the air and recover it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    So you'd slope it off and roll it, would this be just disturbing a lot more of the pit than is necessary? If Tim could get a loan of shear grab for next while so he would have a clean pit face and just leave open maybe?

Don't worry I got a shear grab ha. I'm definitely not going to try ramp it down, it's 8ft high and only 30ft left in it ha. I'm only feeding out 5grabs a day and on a 60 day rotation, so once any bit of growth comes I'll speed up the rotation and drop the silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭cjpm

What type of ballcocks are you using. I found the few brass ones we had left on the early part of the dry spell. Could not match demand at all. Last few replaced a couple of weeks ago. All inch and a half here. Got caught one Sunday morning 3 weeks ago. Cows beating each other away from the water trough. The leg was actually broken on a low pressure standard ballcock so flow was at maximum. Not nearly enough. Fitted a hi flow one drama was over in 30 mins.

Using the black and green hi flow philmac ones. Valve isn't the problem, the water pressure at the trough just collapses as soon as the valve opens. 1 inch pipe just isn't good enough for me. Just for the first 2 hours after milking....

Do ye find a trough either in the collecting yard, or on the way out of the parlour is worth installing. Opinions appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

cjpm wrote: »
    Using the black and green hi flow philmac ones. Valve isn't the problem, the water pressure at the trough just collapses as soon as the valve opens. 1 inch pipe just isn't good enough for me. Just for the first 2 hours after milking....

Do ye find a trough either in the collecting yard, or on the way out of the parlour is worth installing. Opinions appreciated

What pressure is your pump cutting in at?

We have always had a couple of troughs on the run out of yard along roadways. Sometimes they get well used sometimes ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

straight wrote: »
    80 cows. I'll prob need alot of new troughs and valves. Troughs are mostly downhill with a few uphill of the pumphouse. I just don't like the idea of putting in a pipe too big as I dread leaks with them. They say 25mm mdpe is the same as the old 3/4 inch.

I've 90 cows. I've 3/4 normal guage pipe sitting on top of the ground under the fences, 240gln concrete troughs with fast flow valves. Working away grand. Over the hot spell, theyd have the troughs emptied for maybe a couple of hours after milking but there wouldn't be too many waiting around to get into it either. Level would start building after that and after about another hour the trough would remain full

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

You wouldn't stop the air getting at it. Best thing to do is break down the face and roll it to exclude the air and recover it

Or just spray a mix of propionic acid on it, roll down the plastic, secure with tyres or palets, be grand...

I've 90 cows. I've 3/4 normal guage pipe sitting on top of the ground under the fences, 240gln concrete troughs with fast flow valves. Working away grand. Over the hot spell, theyd have the troughs emptied for maybe a couple of hours after milking but there wouldn't be too many waiting around to get into it either. Level would start building after that and after about another hour the trough would remain full

That was costing you milk yield. Conservatively €1800 over the eight weeks warm weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

13.5 mm over night and 2.5mm yesterday. It's a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭cjpm

What pressure is your pump cutting in at?

We have always had a couple of troughs on the run out of yard along roadways. Sometimes they get well used sometimes ignored.

Cuts in at 40psi

Cuts out at 60

Cuts in at 40psi

Cuts out at 60

I'd be raising the cut out to 80/85.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

That was costing you milk yield. Conservatively €1800 over the eight weeks warm weather.

Milk yield didn't drop when the warm weather started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

One outside the exit is most user here as would want a bit after nuts, have one in collecting yard too and mightn't one go near it during milking at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Rang factory agent there to book in cows. He said Monday or Wednesday. Was surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

22mm Thursday, 20 mm Friday, 8mm so far saturday, all 8 am to 8 am. Would gladly take the dry weather back rather than this ****e :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Signpost wrote: »
    22mm Thursday, 20 mm Friday, 8mm so far saturday, all 8 am to 8 am. Would gladly take the dry weather back rather than this ****e :(

Couldn’t agree more. In the middle of digging out tank here too for new shed so weather far from ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Signpost wrote:
    22mm Thursday, 20 mm Friday, 8mm so far saturday, all 8 am to 8 am. Would gladly take the dry weather back rather than this ****e

Ah here ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

lab man wrote: »
    Ah here ffs

Some lads are unreal. A few days rain. Next week is to be back to dry hot weather again. A few mixed days won't kill anyone

Reggie. wrote: »
    Some lads are unreal. A few days rain. Next week is to be back to dry hot weather again. A few mixed days won't kill anyone
    Had to resurect my Reggie hat again today

whelan2 wrote: »
    Had to resurect my Reggie hat again today

Jaysus it's a wonder you still have it/ wasn't stolen

It was hidden in the dairy, he never goes in there :D

This is edging towards dangerous territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,388 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Dairying how are ya!!

I've a gate in the parlour that keeps the cows in the holding pen from coming into the parlour. Anyways I have the system set up that I don't have to leave the pit only reach in and grab the gate to close.

To cut a long story short I reached in to grab the gate and the last cow in the row kicked me square on in the head. Only for I was wearing glasses I most likely could have lost an eye.
    I'm thinking of sueing my employer.
    I'm not sure who that is though? It's either myself, Glanbia, the dept of ag or bord bia.

Dairying how are ya!!

I've a gate in the parlour that keeps the cows in the holding pen from coming into the parlour. Anyways I have the system set up that I don't have to leave the pit only reach in and grab the gate to close.

To cut a long story short I reached in to grab the gate and the last cow in the row kicked me square on in the head. Only for I was wearing glasses I most likely could have lost an eye.
    I'm not sure who that is though? It's either myself, Glanbia, the dept of ag or bord bia.

?

?

I agree.

Milk urea gone crazy here, last one was 40 :eek::eek: I think it's down to fertiliser on the ground?

What's the protein % in your meal?
    Any scope to reduce that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Dairying how are ya!!

If it happened to someone working for ya they'd get more of the insurance than you would when it would happen to yourself

What's the protein % in your meal?
    Any scope to reduce that?

16% only getting 3kg

Mooooo wrote: »
    If it happened to someone working for ya they'd get more of the insurance than you would when it would happen to yourself

Figures. Ah it's not too bad.
    Just another thing in a crappy year.

16% only getting 3kg

You have scope there to go down to a 13% now if you wish.

Probably know about the risks of abortion on too high a milk urea.