Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

kerry cow wrote: »
    Are these guys really farmers , who pump 12 millon into 1200 cows .that 10k per cow .
    Is it the real world ?
    The general joe soap can never aspire to that .
    We ll just keep plodding along .
    What do ye make of these guys who splash the cash and then become poster boys for us all to come visit .?

This guy is real alright. Know of at least 3 lads that big in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

kerry cow wrote: »
    Are these guys really farmers , who pump 12 millon into 1200 cows .that 10k per cow .
    Is it the real world ?
    The general joe soap can never aspire to that .
    We ll just keep plodding along .
    What do ye make of these guys who splash the cash and then become poster boys for us all to come visit .?

He done it all by renting land for tillage, a very hard worker, I don't see his name in the top ten SBP anytime either.
    You know what they say ''the harder you work the luckier you get''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

wrangler wrote: »
    He done it all by renting land for tillage, a very hard worker, I don't see his name in the top ten SBP anytime either.
    You know what they say ''the harder you work the luckier you get''
    Fair play to him, the next question which I don't know the answer is would it be wiser to invest your 12 million elsewhere..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

First of autumn calvers dried off and dosed this morning. Will be milking under ten rows now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭White Clover

If I had 12 million and wanted to milk cows, I'd milk 40 in a 10 unit parlour. No stress or headaches and still have my cows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

If I had 12 million and wanted to milk cows, I'd milk 40 in a 10 unit parlour. No stress or headaches and still have my cows!

Sure milk 50 which is just 1 rotation of the rotary and leave the rest of the lads finish off the next 600 #sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I had a look at that alfalfa hay today. Very dusty to my mind, looked to be an awful lot of stem. I couldn't see anything that looked like flowers but I couldn't see much leaf either. Maybe a function of the big square balers but it seemed to be chopped? I wouldn't be rushing to buy atm. Any thoughts dawg?

It’s always going to be dusty because the leaves just break down to dust. As Jay said it should be a deep dark green.
    When I sell it there’s always a sample analysis, why don’t the retailers furnish one?

visatorro wrote: »
    Is molasses any use feeding on straw or hay? For milkers

Excellent feed. Water it down.

Sure milk 50 which is just 1 rotation of the rotary and leave the rest of the lads finish off the next 600 #sorted

Could i back the 165 into that to get the cows milked if the power went?

visatorro wrote: »
    Is molasses any use feeding on straw or hay? For milkers

Molasses is excellent but hay and straw are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Now there is a man talking sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Fairplay to him. Prob employing 10 or 12 by the time he is up and running along with everything else twill bring to the area. Lads like that who've worked hard to get where they are prob don't stop up anyway, just keep on going. Dunno the lad but best of luck to him

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Fair play to him, the next question which I don't know the answer is would it be wiser to invest your 12 million elsewhere..

I Suppose the question is, what does it take for a cow to pay you back 10K - and not 10K in land, but in concrete, parlours, cubicles etc...

She must pay you - 250? - to rent the acre she eats.

She must pay you - 450? - for the three days work she takes a year

And when she has done that the profit you have left from her milk is the return on your 10K. I suppose she might be giving you 2 or 3% back in OK years...

It's a lot more work than a trip to the post office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Could i back the 165 into that to get the cows milked if the power went?
    Splash out and get a 168:D

Mooooo wrote: »
    Fairplay to him. Prob employing 10 or 12 by the time he is up and running along with everything else twill bring to the area. Lads like that who've worked hard to get where they are prob don't stop up anyway, just keep on going. Dunno the lad but best of luck to him

He runs on adrenaline, as you say they don't stop....one of my tenants is the same, he has 27 tractors contracting all around the country, I never see him

kowtow wrote: »
    I Suppose the question is, what does it take for a cow to pay you back 10K - and not 10K in land, but in concrete, parlours, cubicles etc...

And when she has done that the profit you have left from her milk is the return on your 10K. I suppose she might be giving you 2 or 3% back in OK years...

does the infrastucture cost €10000/cow, surely you'd get out a lot less than that

Splash out and get a 168:D

I had my eye on a 290 but i couldn't face the stress of the repayments on it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

It’s always going to be dusty because the leaves just break down to dust. As Jay said it should be a deep dark green.
    When I sell it there’s always a sample analysis, why don’t the retailers furnish one?

Definitely not dark green. More like the colour of poor hay.

does the infrastucture cost €10000/cow, surely you'd get out a lot less than that

You certainly should, I was going by Kerry's figure above. The reality is a fair amount of the 10K per cow might be in land, in which case some of the 275 is paying you back as well.

One way or another it's a fairly low ROI unless - and this is the critical one - you can reduce the labour per kg/ms ... in a big operation done right, or a small operation done cleverly, you may well be able to do that.

Definitely not dark green. More like the colour of poor hay.

Expensive gutfill.

kowtow wrote: »

Five lads close by are grouping together to create a 220ha farm.
    Investing €1.5mln for housing for 150cows and three duck sheds.

None of them ever milked a cow...

Met them last year and they were telling me their plans...I offered them the dairy farm with 280ha for the price of their investment...no go. I thought I was making them a good offer but the look of a new shed tickles the fancy of some folk.

Alfalfa (lucerne) hay isn’t much good for milking cows. Excellent for young stock.

In the form of hay it retails at about €90/t...~€45/big square.

Alfalfa in wraps is a brilliant feed for dairy cows. Retails at about €140/ton. At around 30%dm, 4kg is equal to a kg of soya, but feeds out better iykwim.

* Extrême caution when buying...
    If baled (wrapped) before any flowers appear it should be 23-24% protein. Quality plummets rapidly when flowers appear...

Likewise with alfalfa hay. Good hay would come in at about 18% protein, but as the flowers appear it plummets rapidly.

The dregs of alfalfa is when the seed has been harvested...that means that it was way past flowering and resulting hay (straw!) would be only gutfill.

I’d buy hay or straw over the phone, but I’d go see alfalfa before buying.
    Careful now.

Saying 18%.

Five lads close by are grouping together to create a 220ha farm.
    Investing €1.5mln for housing for 150cows and three duck sheds.

None of them ever milked a cow...

Met them last year and they were telling me their plans...I offered them the dairy farm with 280ha for the price of their investment...no go. I thought I was making them a good offer but the look of a new shed tickles the fancy of some folk.

I met a group very like that at greenfields one day. They were definitely working off the greater fool theory. Whole proposed operation was based on some poor sucker being delighted to come in to manage their operations more or less fir the joy of working with cows. None of them had ever milked a cow or had any intention of ever doing it. One phrase kept coming to mind as I observed them and was when thieves fall out. I don't mean to diparage them but I got the feeling the rose tinted glasses were being worn by everyone and if the bucks weren't as free as expected I wouldn't be sure how long they'd stay committed. Could get very messy esp if the phrase " joint and several" appeared in any loan agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Anyone here have a bit more in depth knowledge of milking machines than my basic level?
    Want to make a single unit milking machine in the calving shed.
    I have a dump bucket with a pulsator on it already and I have a motor and a vacuum pump from our old 6 unit.
    Is it just a matter of getting the motor wired up and getting the pump plumbed up and sticking a gauge on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Anyone here have a bit more in depth knowledge of milking machines than my basic level?
    I have a dump bucket with a pulsator on it already and I have a motor and a vacuum pump from our old 6 unit.
    Is it just a matter of getting the motor wired up and getting the pump plumbed up and sticking a gauge on it?

When you say a gauge you mean a regulator? Definitely needs a regulator, pressure will keep going sky high otherwise and stall the motor. If you still got the old milking machine the whole lot should be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

And a full-time labour unit to leave things handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Would you not buy one of them mobile bucket type on wheels. They come ready to plug in and go. Vac gauge, pulsation etc.
    I bought one couple of years ago from Connacht agri, and I think it’s the bees knees. I’ve often put it on heifers while they are calving and I’ve beastings to stomach tube the calf with straight away.
    I give it a good wash after each cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

He runs on adrenaline, as you say they don't stop....one of my tenants is the same, he has 27 tractors contracting all around the country, I never see him

Except on payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Snowfire wrote: »
    Would you not buy one of them mobile bucket type on wheels. They come ready to plug in and go. Vac gauge, pulsation etc.
    I bought one couple of years ago from Connacht agri, and I think it’s the bees knees. I’ve often put it on heifers while they are calving and I’ve beastings to stomach tube the calf with straight away.
    I give it a good wash after each cow.

That was always the plan but gathering the money for it can be hard justified at the best of times, never mind with the way this year could be ending up ATM. If I could make it up with out buying too much I'd try it.
    We run paracitic and hot water through our dump bucket after every cow. Keeps it fairly right

Saying 18%.

Did it test as 18%?

Or are they saying that it should be 18%?