Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

3 events?

Rain snow and drought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I really hope that not too many farmers are relying on a plan of grazing into December and silage in October! If anything this year and last year should have done away with ideas like that.

Why wouldn't it be do able? We grazed calves into December last year and it was a dog wet back end. We usually always graze into mid to late November with cows any way, another 2 weeks is not impossible if the weather is there.
    It's going to take absolute biblical rain to make land as wet as it was last back end.
    And yes I probably most likely will have silage in October. It's land away that I was going to use for calves in the autumn but I'll manage with them at home.

Jesus lads ye really are a positive bunch! You'll find problems if you go looking for them. I'd much rather spend my time thinking about solutions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Jesus lads ye really are a positive bunch! You'll find problems if you go looking for them. I'd much rather spend my time thinking about solutions

I was very close to closing my account here last night with all the phuck you I'm grand Jim posts yesterday not to talk of the backstabbers.
    Some lads/ladettes need a kick in the hole.

There's a load of alfalfa coming into Glanbia down this part of the country. If anyone's interested.
    Just about nearly out of grass myself here now.
    Although going on form here lately there's posters will love that sort of news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

Why wouldn't it be do able? We grazed calves into December last year and it was a dog wet back end. We usually always graze into mid to late November with cows any way, another 2 weeks is not impossible if the weather is there.
    It's going to take absolute biblical rain to make land as wet as it was last back end.
    And yes I probably most likely will have silage in October. It's land away that I was going to use for calves in the autumn but I'll manage with them at home.

Do u remember the rain flooding the plough match last year? Tents shut and pumping out water. Storm Ophelia in mid October. Just 2 of the reasons why silage then may not be possible.
    I really hope your right, and we are all positive, however id prefer not to be depending on the weather in the winter to play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The heat makes lads tetchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

I was very close to closing my account here last night with all the phuck you I'm grand Jim posts yesterday not to talk of the backstabbers.

There's a load of alfalfa coming into Glanbia down this part of the country. If anyone's interested.

Can't be to many lads with grass. I'm not what you'd call fierce heavily stocked and have some boggy land. But getting very very scarce on the green /yellow stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Jaysus Ped dont be mad. Too many good posters leaving as it is. You have me half tempted to take out the old sprayer and start melting urea into it. :) you must be running out of names in your head at this stage anyway. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭straight

I went through a tough spring myself here and i think farmers should stick together and not blame each other. We're a dying breed as it is. Neighbours in general were very good to help each other out around here with fodder in the spring. I also think some people are mad for numbers alone. 60 good cows makes more sense than housing and feeding 100 bad cows to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Mooooo wrote: »
    Rain snow and drought

1995 had them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Not having a go at you but who would have been believed if they said it would get this dry a few months ago?

Everyone should be sitting down and working through 5-10 plans of various scenarios from a great end to the year and an early spring next year to poor growth/grazing conditions into next April.
    Whatever happens happens but you should have some points identified on paper where stock has to be sold etc if targets aren't being hit, otherwise we're just a shower of cow boys winging it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Trying to find solutions to the situation is taking up a lot if head space..

Went to the beach for a day and forgot all about it....bliss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

What do Glanbia charge for the Alfalfa?

Did anyone here feed it earlier in the year during the cold snap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Solutions offered but scoffed at ,nothing personal certainly on my behalf but no point been brain washed either serious shot happening now and action (serious action)needed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

1995 had them all

23 years later And you're still going, which was my point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I was very close to closing my account here last night with all the phuck you I'm grand Jim posts yesterday not to talk of the backstabbers. Some lads/ladettes need a kick in the hole.

I wouldn't take it personal I know a lot of this is aggro towards Teagasc who over the last few years have ostracised any high producing low Ebi cows and winter milking farmers. Policy needs to change and do does nutritional advice from Teagasc. In the future farmers will have to focus on milk yield as well as fertility. You can have both. Look at stan and mahoney_j. We need a cow that responds to feed during tough times but also a cow that can produce on a mostly grass diet. Ideal cow for me is a cow that can produce 7500-8000 litres on 1-1.5 tonnes of meal with high solids.

Honestly don’t know where your getting that impression from .some of us here with different train of thought in same boat .**** times for us all ,u don’t like alternative views just ignore or take a break .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Jaysus Ped dont be mad. Too many good posters leaving as it is. You have me half tempted to take out the old sprayer and start melting urea into it. :) you must be running out of names in your head at this stage anyway. ;)

Seriously though what's the phuckin point in posting if you just want to have a go at someone.
    It's not going to make one bit of difference bar boost whatever insecure ego you have already.

Spreading water after 8 o clock into the night and then reading posters telling other posters they should seriously consider cutting down on stock. Why? Because they obviously have it all worked out and know best. The poster themselves will know their own situation and know how other years worked out.
    At the moment down here you'd be lucky to carry a cow to 5 acres when other years you'd carry 2 cows to an acre no sweat.
    So we should all make decisions on our stocking rate based on this event?
    As I say there's no logic to it. It just sticking the boot in for the sake of sticking the boot in.

Clough if I close I'll close and that will be that. There's too many posters turning into gob****es here as is.
    If you have help and advice give it or spot something interesting that you think could help other people post a link to it. Otherwise this place will die a death with contrary posters responding to themselves. It's very nearly gone that way as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Coolfresian

As far as I can see nothing is being made personal by anyone. Solutions are being offererd, as a farmer heavily stocked in derogation myself, stocking rates is a sensible place for me to look at. Im glad to see some farmers here are prepared for this and I don't think they should say nothing just because it might offend someone. It's a discussion board and it's good to see different ideas and ways of doing things without being jumped on.
    On the other hand maybe some farmers shouldn't say anything about having cows out in January/February in case it's not what others that aren't out until April want to hear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

whelan2 wrote: »
    What are dairy stock making now. Scanned in calf cows?

Pm if you’re selling Whelan.
    Must be TB, Brucellosis and IBR free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

kowtow wrote: »
    Was looking at the grass growth chart yesterday on twitter, don't have it to hand.

Anyone able to take a stab at the likely overall reduction in growth over the year? If it rains heavily in mid July would we still stand a chance of making it through the year with average growth or would the deficit be too large to make up? When - approximately - does the reverse of magic day usually fall?

don't have any newer figures but overall average yields are still very similar to modern yields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Pm if you’re selling Whelan.
    Must be TB, Brucellosis and IBR free.

I might buy. Has to be Johnes free herd

Seriously though what's the phuckin point in posting if you just want to have a go at someone.
    It's not going to make one bit of difference bar boost whatever insecure ego you have already.

Spreading water after 8 o clock into the night and then reading posters telling other posters they should seriously consider cutting down on stock. Why? Because they obviously have it all worked out and know best. The poster themselves will know their own situation and know how other years worked out.
    At the moment down here you'd be lucky to carry a cow to 5 acres when other years you'd carry 2 cows to an acre no sweat.
    As I say there's no logic to it. It just sticking the boot in for the sake of sticking the boot in.

Clough if I close I'll close and that will be that. There's too many posters turning into gob****es here as is.
    If you have help and advice give it or spot something interesting that you think could help other people post a link to it. Otherwise this place will die a death with contrary posters responding to themselves. It's very nearly gone that way as is.

Christ go take a cold shower and cool down what’s wrong with cutting stocking rate ???!ehats the issue with it afraid of milking less cows and having neighbours or lads on twitter here elsewhere talking .who cares these are drastic times and drastic decisions have to be made.some of us are offering real solutions and differing opinions and are been vilified for it just cause it’s not the perceived right way the contrary posters are the ones who don’t want to accept it ive destocked no shame in it lots heifers comming thru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Solutions offered but scoffed at ,nothing personal certainly on my behalf but no point been brain washed either serious shot happening now and action (serious action)needed now

Mj it's a bit of a dry spell. Most of ye aren't used to it but pretty normal in this area. There was always going to be some event to balance the wet and cold of last winter. There's no quota. Keep production going. Keep income coming in. You won't clear the same money as you would in a more normal year but you won't starve either. I'd agree with g2m about cutting stock numbers. Early culling maybe but that would be the absolute max. Too much of a knock on effect otherwise.

A review of your system might be in order but I'd be coming at from a point of view of what do I need to change to maintain my desired output level rather than cutting back. First thing to check is soil fertility. I have yet to see a headline in relation to this that said anything about the overall situation on farms improving even slightly. Are you maximising output when growth is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

What do Glanbia charge for the Alfalfa?

Did anyone here feed it earlier in the year during the cold snap?

Alfalfa (lucerne) hay isn’t much good for milking cows. Excellent for young stock.

In the form of hay it retails at about €90/t...~€45/big square.

Alfalfa in wraps is a brilliant feed for dairy cows. Retails at about €140/ton. At around 30%dm, 4kg is equal to a kg of soya, but feeds out better iykwim.

* Extrême caution when buying...
    If baled (wrapped) before any flowers appear it should be 23-24% protein. Quality plummets rapidly when flowers appear...

Likewise with alfalfa hay. Good hay would come in at about 18% protein, but as the flowers appear it plummets rapidly.

The dregs of alfalfa is when the seed has been harvested...that means that it was way past flowering and resulting hay (straw!) would be only gutfill.

I’d buy hay or straw over the phone, but I’d go see alfalfa before buying.
    Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Mooooo wrote: »
    23 years later And you're still going, which was my point

1995 was the last time their was a drought of this significance, droughts arent common in ireland in way or the other

don't have any newer figures but overall average yields are still very similar to modern yields

So I suppose the rule of thumb from that spreadsheet would be that on average by 14th July we have grown 2/3rds of what we will grow in the year?

But in 1996 at the end of July we still had 40% of 14 t/dm left to grow after a very slow June?

Think '96 is the one to look at for inspiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm fairly new to this, or we supposed to agree to every post, I'm a rather argumentative fellow at the best of time, massaging big egos don't suit me. I enjoy sarcasism its an escape from reality, read the posts not all of them are about you. I love farmers, everything is so bad and yet we will pay 350 an acre for grazing land. Best advice is always meant to be given to others, not used by ones self.

The weather seems to be agreeing with the more buttery kind of Holstein...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Think '96 is the one to look at for inspiration.

It sure is. Huge crops of grain and wheat at £130 and I mean £ off the combine. Milk from memory was heading for £1.20 gal. A neighbour who finishes a lot of cattle said to me that was the first year he had a thousand pound bullock. As in a bullock that grossed £1000 in the factory. That slow June just meant nice steady growth through the backend. And the best cartoon ever on page 2 of the comic. Combine cutting a nice standing crop of something and the farmer in the foreground roaring "lower and slower you're leaving too much straw behind". First year the full CAP payment kicked in too.

Mj it's a bit of a dry spell. Most of ye aren't used to it but pretty normal in this area. There was always going to be some event to balance the wet and cold of last winter. There's no quota. Keep production going. Keep income coming in. You won't clear the same money as you would in a more normal year but you won't starve either. I'd agree with g2m about cutting stock numbers. Early culling maybe but that would be the absolute max. Too much of a knock on effect otherwise.

A review of your system might be in order but I'd be coming at from a point of view of what do I need to change to maintain my desired output level rather than cutting back. First thing to check is soil fertility. I have yet to see a headline in relation to this that said anything about the overall situation on farms improving even slightly. Are you maximising output when growth is there?
    Production certainly kept going milk and solids sold up every month year on year bar March which was slightly back on 2017 .cutting stocking rate I just see as sensible especially where practically no grass lots of feed going in and silage that’s already scarce been fed out no rain predicted for 10 days and scorched ground will take time to recover so there will be no quick end to heavy feeding
    Maximizing growth and feeding soil a priority here all owned land index 3/4 and only minimum lime needed ,stock outvearly within reason to clear winter growth and promote tillering.fertliser and pk front loaded and sulphur out from April relatively high Sr on milk block 3.4 but I’m managing still no silage in but day is getting close production holding well and just over 2 kg ms