Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

How will you draw home that? Was plenty of stuff down there in cushinstown I could have took but draw was too far for me. Might regret it in time to come

I went the opposite side of county.

I hope to not have to draw it myself but will if I have to.
    Anywhere you ring now it's gone.

The jungle vine reports of some dairy farmers feeding 16 bales of silage/day.
    It's all being hoovered up. Even artics with flatbeds were pulling in in camolin on their way down here. It's a scramble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Yea myself and Mahoney, Buford cracked heads open by private message and you'll know now we've reached an accord and have absolutely no ill feelings towards each other.

It's no harm to keep the mods on their toes too Buford.
    We're all human.

To seal the peace twas agreed I’ll buy the 99s and say my name will buy the cold cider at the ploughing in September !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    To seal the peace twas agreed I’ll buy the 99s and say my name will buy the cold cider at the ploughing in September !!!!

For all boardsies??? Ye lads are real sound :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

So it's back to being all luvvy duvvy again now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

If it's still 99 and cold cider weather at ploughing match time I'd be researching camel farming.

Just a small tip if you think you have no grass. Walk through the paddocks, you'll be surprised how much is on them. Spoke 2 farmers today. One on very dry land feeding alot of silage. Other farm same land as myself grazing second cut grass atm. I have enough grass for 2 weeks without supplementation. On the other hand found 2 drinkers with broken ball valves and water everywhere. Wouldn't happen in a wet year. Pump under pressure as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Jfc water troughs are only fit for giving water to the birds pricks of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Yea myself and Mahoney, Buford cracked heads open by private message and you'll know now we've reached an accord and have absolutely no ill feelings towards each other.

It's no harm to keep the mods on their toes too Buford.
    We're all human.
    Great stuff lads, thanks on behalf of the mods here.

And I get to post my favourite gif so good news all round:pac:
    200w.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

There must be lads nearly on full silage and meal now in places I would imagine? Have ye thought ahead if this continues will ye just put cows on sacrifice paddock on silage rather than grazing off regrowths? I think if we start grazing off covers of 300 or so it will take forever for farm to recover when rain does come. Short term pain(hopefully) for longer term gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Mooooo wrote: »

Put on Dung Deal there’s someone for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭older by the day

I find its too weak around the ball cock if the pipe is low they over fill. If the water runs dry the cattle are dragging them around the field, what prices are concrete troughs

Am waiting 2 weeks for a price from glanbia for 4 concrete water troughs, will go to local farm store when I get time to get them, they will appreciate my business

Still have a few here. Put lots of flat stones in them so they can't shove them around if empty. They are crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

mf240 wrote: »
    If it's still 99 and cold cider weather at ploughing match time I'd be researching camel farming.

There's plenty experts on that here too judging by how often they get the hump .

Not getting it often enough is a worse problem :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Just Fucin Counterproductive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

350 gallon for 400 in glanbia. If you can buy off the fellas that make them you should get them for a euro a gallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    There must be lads nearly on full silage and meal now in places I would imagine? Have ye thought ahead if this continues will ye just put cows on sacrifice paddock on silage rather than grazing off regrowths? I think if we start grazing off covers of 300 or so it will take forever for farm to recover when rain does come. Short term pain(hopefully) for longer term gain.

That will be the plan here.

Spread the CAN on the paddocks when the cows go into the sacrifice paddock and let the paddocks grow in their own time.
    There is a little growth (very small) on paddocks that get a bit of CAN. But nothing on paddocks that get none (here anyway).
    I've given up on spreading water with the tanker as my tanker is too small (1300 g) and I'd be spending my whole life on trying to get something reasonable on the paddocks.

My theory is the calcium in the CAN counteracts the sodium from the moisture evaporating from the soil.

It's my money lads, before posters jump in and say I should leave it in the bag. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

whelan2 wrote: »
    Am waiting 2 weeks for a price from glanbia for 4 concrete water troughs, will go to local farm store when I get time to get them, they will appreciate my business

Bought a go of spilane troughs few weeks ago. 290€ for 300 gallon. Murphy's were that price for 240 gallon. Granted they came with a ball cock though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

If they are empty,they will get pushed around. If theyre kept full, they're grand

The big round ones are a disaster. They are very hard to get level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

visatorro wrote:
    350 gallon for 400 in glanbia. If you can buy off the fellas that make them you should get them for a euro a gallon

Spillane s nenagh are even better value and serious trough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Prices for Spillane troughs at Dairygold last week: 150gal bottom fill €169. 300gal bottom fill €335. 300gal Top fill €335. Top fill didn't come with fast flow ball clock but bottom fills did. Price inc VAT and delivery. They were in stock and delivered same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,669 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The big round ones are a disaster. They are very hard to get level.
    A dairy farmer that I used to help with during calving time had them inset into the ground. He also used the older type cubicles welded together as a barrier to protect them iykwim.

It worked well for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭older by the day

Base price wrote: »
    A dairy farmer that I used to help with during calving time had them inset into the ground. He also used the older type cubicles welded together as a barrier to protect them iykwim.

It worked well for him.
    I was looking at youtube one night at the yanks making watertroughs out of big tractor tyres with a floating ball cock and fill in the floor with concrete, they expand in the cold. Any one try that

See on Facebook Darragh mc cullough talking about the farm he is in partnership with. Feeding 20 bales of silage a day and 2.5 tonnes of meal. Costing over €7k a week. 65 extra milkers this year sending the same amount of milk now as this time last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Saying what works for you is fine and indeed helpful, but calling out lads with a different system whom may be struggling now is pointless. Plenty lads here older than me, how many of ye can remember a weather spell like this? Or even have all three events we've had this year come in the same year? We are where we are and if lads change tack after this year all well and good but everyone is going to have a toughspell to get thru at some stage, it's a case of get thru it learn and move on. If anyone had all the answers we would all be doing it that way. It's outside the door, look after yerselves and do the best ye can

This year isn't a patch on 1984 no rain from April to September and there wasn't half the crying about it even though there were plenty farmers stocked at a cow to the acre and over. I know a man that grew peas for Eirn foods in 1984 and the peas got no rain from the day they were planted to the day they were harvested. The following year was very wet for the whole summer and plenty trouble making fodder until the Indian summer cane in September and October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

See on Facebook Darragh mc cullough talking about the farm he is in partnership with. Feeding 20 bales of silage a day and 2.5 tonnes of meal. Costing over €7k a week. 65 extra milkers this year sending the same amount of milk now as this time last year

Same as a 100 cow herd spending over a thousand a week, which wouldn't be far off in similar conditions

They would also have bought in alot of feed in the spring. It is turning into a very expensive year for some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

That sounds about right for that number of cows.
    This shyte is fairly real