Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭cute geoge

i can not figure how farmers can forecast how much milk they will be supplying in 5 years time .Are you supposed to luck in to a crystal ball ,there does be big changes in 2 years not to mind 5 years!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Agriland? The biggest farming sh1t rag on the internet. I wouldn't be taking much of what they say as gospel.

I think that it could actually be the IFJ.
    They were only quoting Mr. McCormack of the ICMSA...

Had a run of that last year. Curing it quickly enough with synalux, marbocyl and tolfine injections. Can't remember what tube I was using. Went pre dipping as well as post dipping with a chlorohexadine and lactic acid dip and haven't had a case since, touch wood.

Would the vaccine Startvax be of any use?
    I’m probably miles out..,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Would the vaccine Startvax be of any use? I’m probably miles out..,

I asked the vet about it, only knew one farmer who was using it for a year and stopped then. It's quite expensive think around 6 euro a jab and 3 jabs per cow. She said it is used in Spain quite alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Would the vaccine Startvax be of any use? I’m probably miles out..,

Think that is staph specific not strep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

cute geoge wrote: »
    i can not figure how farmers can forecast how much milk they will be supplying in 5 years time .Are you supposed to luck in to a crystal ball ,there does be big changes in 2 years not to mind 5 years!!!

It's crazy nonsense as there are so many factors that can decrease or increase your supply. I wonder could dairygold tell us what price we'll be getting for milk every year for the next 5 years? Do other co ops also have this forecast or is it only Dairygold's brainwave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,857 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It's only to project/justify their capital spend. This is for various actors. Its shareholders/farmers who can promptly blame for an inaccurate forecast, resulting in over/underspend.
    Also to their bankers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It's crazy nonsense as there are so many factors that can decrease or increase your supply. I wonder could dairygold tell us what price we'll be getting for milk every year for the next 5 years? Do other co ops also have this forecast or is it only Dairygold's brainwave?

Kerry do it as well to project the rate of rise in demand for processing so they can keep up with demand for processing.

With dairygold they expect you to be within 10-20% above or below your actual production and there's a penalty if not.

Your projected production from what you expect to produce from the survey?

Christ on a bike, that would cause revolution here! Our production could easily be up or down 20% depending on the area and rainfall.

Your projected production from what you expect to produce from the survey?

Christ on a bike, that would cause revolution here! Our production could easily be up or down 20% depending on the area and rainfall.

Yes projected production, a few suppliers left because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

That penalty clause has never been enforced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭kevinm177

As far as I know there have been no penalties so far. I think its more to avoid huge discrepancies like suddenly doubling figures with no notice. I may be wrong though

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

God lads ye are complete drama queens.doing one in carbery at the moment ,no big deal-they said the last one was surprisingly accurate.id be disgusted if any processer wasnt doing it.

But in reality, Carbery don't give a rats ass if you're inaccurate.

K.G. wrote: »
    God lads ye are complete drama queens.doing one in carbery at the moment ,no big deal-they said the last one was surprisingly accurate.id be disgusted if any processer wasnt doing it.
    1mxnum.jpgvia Imgflip Meme Generator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

K.G. wrote: »

I'd have no problem with them either other than the fact that the terms and conditions state they can use your info in any way they choose and give it to whomever they choose. It reads like the terms and conditions of a fairly unscrupulous social media company tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,763 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'd have no problem with them either other than the fact that the terms and conditions state they can use your info in any way they choose and give it to whomever they choose. It reads like the terms and conditions of a fairly unscrupulous social media company tbh.

What was it? 8 pages?

No processor should need a specific figure. It would be reasonable to ask, what level, one is aiming for. For example;
    Staying as is,
    Increasing less than 10%,
    Between 10 and 30%
    30 and 50%
    50 and 100%
    Greater than 100%.

No downside to giving this info.
    This would be similar in structure to the survey done by the IFA and AIB a few years ago. The aggregate of all their suppliers will give them a quite accurate picture.

I’m letting an employee go here...

Excellent worker, absolute demon to work. Honest, reliable and an excellent timekeeper. Brilliant attitude and always in good form. A pleasure to have around the place.

Has a partner and young child of one and a half, so would need good accommodation.

Fluent in Romanian with broken French and only one word in English (begins with f...).

He won’t be left go until I find something suitable for him.

Pm for details.

Bump.
    Did someone mention à labour shortage a while back?

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I asked the vet about it, only knew one farmer who was using it for a year and stopped then. It's quite expensive think around 6 euro a jab and 3 jabs per cow. She said it is used in Spain quite alot

The guy I know that uses it is paying less that that and blanket jabs the herd twice a year. He reckons it’s the dogs...

Did she consider it useful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭einn32

Bump.

I got a lad no issues. Good worker. He was never originally a farmer and shows sometimes but Overall I think I can work with him. Trying to find enthusiastic people is hard. I don't get it, they could be stuck in an office as opposed to out in the air but they never see the benefits. Pay is pretty good for Ireland I would have thought but some people are never happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Bump.

I'd say gawd while there is a shortage I'd say majority would be issues getting someone a couple days a week or just the spring as work or money may not be there for full-time worker, whether lads realise it or not. Also the amount who would have accommadation also would be smaller again I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mooooo wrote: »
    I'd say gawd while there is a shortage I'd say majority would be issues getting someone a couple days a week or just the spring as work or money may not be there for full-time worker, whether lads realise it or not. Also the amount who would have accommadation also would be smaller again I'd imagine

Esp for a family unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Had a heifer calve yday grand quiet one. Her dam, grand dam and great grand dam were/are thundering whores in the parlour. 4 generations to breed out bad temperament or perhaps pure chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭White Clover

Bump.

Has he any word of English at all besides the f word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Too much f word used around these parts for the last week....

Quota all filled up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

The word, to be fair, has a multitude of uses. It is one of the most used in the English language, and maybe just one of the most important terms now used in farming..

Its origin is obscure but is usually considered to be first attested to around 1475, although it may be considerably older. In modern usage, the term **** and its derivatives (such as ****er and ****ing) can be used as a noun, a verb, an adjective, an interjection, or an adverb.

He’s quite intelligent. He’s got a degree in pure mathematics.
    Very good French considering that he learned it from me...he would pick up English in no time.
    Quick to learn in every way but just lacks the hand/eye coordination to make a driver. He can do basic driving etc but that’s it.

Pretty much every Friday I slip him a fifty as an appreciation of his work. That says it really.
    Irish lad here reckons he can shovel shyte better than a sideslinger.

Kills me to let him go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭einn32

alps wrote: »
    Too much f word used around these parts for the last week....

Quota all filled up...

A lad in an excavator was asked how the dig was going, he replied I ran out of F's an hour ago!