Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Cow euthanized. Womb ruptured when vet calving her. Didn't get calf out either :(

Whelan, it's been a tough week a real bastard for man and beast. The best of run places had losses this week that they wouldn't normally encounter. We have top notch facilities and have a shed of 45 bull calves get a serious chill the night before the snow despite our best efforts.

All calves got 4 litres of beastings at birth were on adlib milk in a brand new shed and 2-3 weeks old. Wind just chilled them. We've been keeping the worst of them under lights and in our little hospital since. The lads who take care of them are gone home till 3.30 so I made a call, rang knacker and he's just left with the nine of them.

It fookin killed me, I'm sitting in our little farm canteen not able to go home for a bit of grub I'm so upset. The other side is that the time they were taking was compromising the attention to the others.

Since the warning was issued nobody has called to collect calves as they normally would do we're chocka and I'm concerned that this could have a knock on effect. I've guys coming in the morning to collect calves. Bvds I've posted I've no doubt haven't made Enfer or if they did they're closed till Monday ensuring a further delay.

We've had 63 calvings up to midnight last night since this shyte began and this is testing us.

I have to say we have great staff with one guy travelling 15 miles every morning and collecting a colleague on the way. Despite this they both have been here 1 hour early every morning since Wed to keep the wheels turning.

Lift you head everyone we're all in the same boat and things will improve sooner than later.

Just for perspective the morning after the storm we had to dig a track with the loading shovel for an ambulance to collect a little 11 yo boy whose a class mate of my second lad to get him to hospital. Thankfully all is well. So Fook the calves, cows and frozen pipes for an hour and have a sit down at the fire.

I feel better now, rant over
    Hear people talk about animals having a chill and everyone nods theit head and seems to know what it is.define "chill",i always take it as am infection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,430 ✭✭✭tanko

Id say a chill is the early stages of pnuemonia and will lead to it if not treated promptly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

wrangler wrote: »
    I built a new shed in the eighties for 90 calves and went by all the advice, same thing as you a whole lot perished. an adviser came from kerry Coop as we were using bloom at the time, told us to put canopies around the wall about 4ft high and 4ft out from the wall and solved the whole lot.....why couldn't Teagasc or whatever they were called at the time have told us that, all they said was ventilation, ventilation and more ventilation.
    It was so obvious after, they'd lie out away from the canopy on the warm days and go in under the canopies on the cold nights.
    Water under the bridge now, but I know what you're going through.
    Look after yourself anyway

calf jackets are a mighty job as well,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Its hard to put a price on something to reduce stress. People would be going on about a generator costing 3 grand, and the money could be used buying in-calf heifers (or anything). But its worth 10 times that if it reduces stress when the time comes that its needed.

+1000
    Any half decent genny €3-4K
    Space heater for parlor €2/3K

Thinking that extreme weather events are only once every 30-40yrs is not facing reality.

It’s the events that come out of left field that always get you.

I think that this has relevance across all farming systems and all first world countries.

http://www.darrinqualman.com/canadian-net-farm-income/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

+1000
    Any half decent genny €3-4K
    Space heater for parlor €2/3K

Thinking that extreme weather events are only once every 30-40yrs is not facing reality.

It’s the events that come out of left field that always get you.

Agree but all these 2/3/4 k spends all add up on a typical Irish dairy farm where scale may not be there for a spend on something used only now and again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Agree but all these 2/3/4 k spends all add up on a typical Irish dairy farm where scale may not be there for a spend on something used only now and again

I suppose the trick is to identify a list of the small things which help in any bad weather event. Could be as simple as torches / clothing, shed doors & gates... and then take the time & effort to put them in place during the better months. I am sure some people do this naturally, I'm just not one of them!!

The OH pointed out to me this morning that in the five odd years that she has been running a business here there has been no single winter in which days of production were not lost to bad weather, this winter (so far) it's 11.

So while each 'event' may be out of the ordinary in itself, the fact that they occur is par for the course!

Edit: one thing I'll definitely be doing is buying some thermostatic heat trace tape, we used to have it in the cotswolds where farm water would regularly freeze, until now I hadn't realised how cheap it is - www.heattrace.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Reg calves last tuesday, bvd results on Thursday. Still no blue cards, and really needed these calves gone today...

Postman had only 26 letters for the entire area....

Think that red alert spread a lot earlier than we imagine..

mahoney_j wrote: »

Jeep, quad, ski holiday...etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

3 days hardship V Months of pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I'm in a v rural area where if electricity goes it will be days to return, while mahoney is located in a more populated area. If I were him I'd be less in a rush for a Genny as power will be restored v quickly. Buying one myself when funds alloy as the other one blew up during the last storm

Jeep is paid for and 10 years old ,don’t Own a quad ,small farmer I walk for my cows !!!!,havnt been on ski holiday for few years

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I'm in a v rural area where if electricity goes it will be days to return, while mahoney is located in a more populated area. If I were him I'd be less in a rush for a Genny as power will be restored v quickly. Buying one myself when funds alloy as the other one blew up during the last storm

Very lucky there Kev ,I’m on same 3 phase line as local school ,never without power long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

we have an ice bank for cooling the milk and as the water froze in the well, the ice bank burnt out, now id say its fair pricy to replace so we rang up fbd today and the said they only cover in the event of fire, flood or storm and this wont be insured, anyone else have experience of anything similar?
    could i say that it was a snow storm that was the cause of it breaking down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Henwin wrote: »
    we have an ice bank for cooling the milk and as the water froze in the well, the ice bank burnt out, now id say its fair pricy to replace so we rang up fbd today and the said they only cover in the event of fire, flood or storm and this wont be insured, anyone else have experience of anything similar?
    could i say that it was a snow storm that was the cause of it breaking down

You'd imagine for equipment like that it should be fully comprehensive like a bike or a camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

What is the difference between net cash flow and cumulative net cash flow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Anyone have an office in the farm, one thing I'd like in the long run, have an attic above the dairy I'm thinking of going at in the future, kettle, paperwork, wifi etc
    I dunno, would your documents get damp and would it be warm enough to sit down and go registering etc. Mice in the cupboards living in the box of teabags. I'd prefer my home office I think, what's the advantage of having it outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

What is the difference between net cash flow and cumulative net cash flow?

cumulative cash flow is the net cash flow combined over a number of years. net cash flow relates only to one year. that is how I understand it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

yewtree wrote: »
    cumulative cash flow is the net cash flow combined over a number of years. net cash flow relates only to one year. that is how I understand it anyway.

Yep that makes perfect sense to what I'm looking at. Thank you.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Well ,both pumps up and running ,scrapers back working,cows out on grass,parlour got a powerwash as eldest was at home and finally git the feeders up and running in the parlour.i like life again.a big thank you to a fella called noel o sullivan from around bantry who was hired into the council with his snow plough on a new holland.he did a pile of clearing to get the milk lorries on the roads around here.

An elderly man and his nephew turned up last night. He owns 10.1ha piece of a field that I’ve rented rented off him on an 18yr revolving lease.
    The nephew obviously wanted it sold so I obliged and bought it. Good deep land and now I own the field in total.
    Any guess on price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

An elderly man and his nephew turned up last night. He owns 10.1ha piece of a field that I’ve rented rented off him on an 18yr revolving lease.
    The nephew obviously wanted it sold so I obliged and bought it. Good deep land and now I own the field in total.
    Any guess on price?

10k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Any guess on price?
    Must be great to have money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Any guess on price?

30k? Prices are well lower than here and rents are more or less set by the state I think you .mentioned before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Any guess on price?

60000?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

MF290 wrote: »
    60000?

Average land price on France in 2016 was €6030/h, maybe closer to 70k now for the 10 he hectares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭farisfat

Any guess on price?

Would a low cost seasonal calving system work in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Strep uberis lads any of ye get control of it?. Ophelia opened the door I think and have acc issues now. Was 150 avg of Jan, bulk tank over 300 now. Vet reccomending mamyzin and double course of tubes sensitivity tests suggest synulox or ubro yellow should do. Tylosin will be no good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,855 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The price is, whatever you paid for it.

10k.

Yep.
    Offered him 30k a couple of years ago when I took on the land. His piece of the field was surrounded by mine but he said he’d let it be for his nephew. No bother with me.
    The rent is 125/ha.

I’ve to pay conveyance costs of circa €1k.