Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Road issues that irritate me.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,766 ✭✭✭degsie

Stop lines, STOP LINES, can drivers please educate themselves on what they are and how to use them. PLEASE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Drivers ahead tapping the brakes every 10 seconds on a clear road for no apparent reason. I'm talking wide single carriageway or motorway and like clockwork braking every few seconds.

Some people are behind cars and can't maintain a constant distance without braking, but the ones at the front of a queue braking every 10 seconds really baffle me?!?

Maybe you are driving far too close to them for safety... I do that then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not on main roads with a hard shoulder and a sign that says 100kph. I was following a car and van last night and we were doing 100kph, then the van pulled off and the car in front of me slowed down to 80, like they were afraid to be the lead car.

Does not mean you HAVE to drive at 100k. I never do and never will..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭Johnboner

Johnny 4 pots.you know the ones who drive around with front fog lights on constantly."I'll leave these on if you don't mind,helps me see the road better and to be honest I don't care if they blind everyone I meet".id love to boot those fog lights clean out of their bumpers.
    The true blue brigade aswell.bright blue headlight bulbs in a clapped out civic that blind everyone on the road and scare every last animal out of the hedges.
    Last one is sitting in traffic and the selfish animal in front of you leaves their big fat foot down on the brake pedal blinding the person sitting behind them instead of just pulling the handbrake.
    Not alone is it driving the people behind you crazy,it's also a sure sign of a lazy clueless driver to me.

You need to go back to driving school yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,524 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Graces7 wrote: »

No, but you should be able to keep up with other traffic, and should not be causing obstruction to other road users by driving too far below the legal limit.

The "It's a limit not a target" line irritates, people fail their test if they can't drive at the limits correctly (given road conditions, type of road etc.), why does it cease to matter once someone passes? Excessive speed kills, correct speed should not, don't want to move fast? Walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Failure to keep with traffic provided it's within the speed limit and conditions is called failure to make progress and you will fail your driving test over that. If you cannot control your car at 100kph in clear conditions on the motorway you should not be driving imo. It's only 60mph in old money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,385 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

RayM wrote: »
    Impatient people who flash their lights at me when I'm doing 100 km/h (which, quite frankly, is fast enough for anyone) in the fast lane on the M50.

it's for overtaking, there's two other lanes there for you to daydream in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

don't take the bait ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

don't take the bait ffs

He's kinda right, the "fast" lane is the over taking lane and not for driving in regardless of what speed you're doing. If you are in the overtaking lane and the traffic behind you is moving faster than you move to the lane to your left as soon as you can and let the faster traffic pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭grogi

One actually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭s15r330

grogi wrote: »
    One actually...

What M50 do you use?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,995 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

s15r330 wrote: »
    What M50 do you use?!

the same as everybody else. Lanes 2 and 3 are both overtaking lanes.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,695 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

grogi wrote: »
    One actually...

The lane in the middle is for 79.9kph only, for when the person on the right lane is going 80kph.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

the same as everybody else. Lanes 2 and 3 are both overtaking lanes.
    Pffft, anyone who uses the M50 in traffic knows that the best lane to be in for overtaking others is lane 1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

love some of the rules in US e.g. the left after stopping at red but here we have drivers who just sail through red as though it were green, have no problem driving around a corner in our town even when light is red/no green arrow lighting and pedestrian man is obviously green, so i could never see a rule like that work here.

older drivers, definitely over 70's, need medicals every year and maybe a refresher course in driving also. i'm not singling out elderly only. many people in their 20's/30's etc could do with same refresher course.
    reason i mention 70+ is their reaction time. how do some elderly who can barely manage to walk around be expected to react suddenly when driving if needed? the actual things checked in a medical/patient history etc should all be taken into accoun. i'd even question whether every gp is really doing a full and thorough medical on a patient and not just ticking boxes on someone they know wants to hold on to their independance a while longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

And that is grand, no problem.
    Just do not deliberately hold up other drivers.

Why Not?

Because you cannot know where they are going or why.

Is that driver you are impeding an on call Emergency Responder?
    Perhaps they are driving their own personal vehicle on their way to report at the Fire Station responding to a road accident or house fire? Maybe Life Boat crew or Mountain Rescue? Could they be an on call Doctor en route to a seriously ill person.....

Now , think again. Should Anyone deliberately impede another driver's progress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭califano

There is surely worse but for me the most maddening is coming up behind cars stopped at lights on a busy enough 2 lane each way non filter junction, you want to go straight through on green. The lead car stopped on the right hand side of the 2 lanes has no right indicator on so you assume they are going straight through on green. Wrong assumption because there is nothing surer than when the lights go green only then they choose to put on their right indicator screwing everyone in behind them. Acting completely oblivious. I'm sure some are oblivious but i'm convinced people do this on purpose.
    These people are close to the top of the list.

My default no matter what is to stop in the invariably longer queue on the left. Its longer for a reason, people on a regular route are wise to these offenders.

2 of the worst offending junctions of this on a regular route i take are consecutive junctions on the Northumberland road heading towards Merrion Square at the Haddington Rd junction and Clanwilliam place junction. Even when you happen to be stopped at the head of affairs on the right you always notice the car behind stopped about 2 car lenghts behind you smelling a rat ready for what they expect you to do to give them leverage to come out from behind you. I feel like waving them closer ''Yer alright im not one of them, im definitely going straight through''!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

Johnboner wrote: »

Says the lad driving a bike on small number plates so speed vans or greed vans as you call them yourself won't be able to catch you.good lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Says the lad driving a bike on small number plates so speed vans or greed vans as you call them yourself won't be able to catch you.good lad

His thread was asking is that why people had small plates, not that he has a small plate. nice try tho

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Don't bring discussion from another thread to this one to make a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

Had three beauts today. The first two were on a roundabout no such thing as stop lines in there case just straight out onto it while there was traffic trying to exit at the next exit how the driver avoided both of them I'll never know. Beaut number 3 decided to stop and start reversing into parking space with no indication and had obviously not used her rear view mirror when I blew my horn at her I got the two fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

Johnboner wrote: »

I don't get what you're on about there.

Of the three things he mentioned, the first two are illegal and the third is definitely something a driving instructor would tell you to do (it would be called something like "failing to use primary controls" in a driving test)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

If you think 100 is some kind if crazy, time and space bending speed then you're right. If you happen to live in 1917.
    If you do actually live in the present century and you are an able bodied person driving a car no more than 20 (or even something decent from 30-40 years ago) years old, 100 is barely cruising.
    I drove a Skoda the other day and 180 was cruising in that thing.
    So if you say "Jaysis, shlow down, we're going a MILE A MINUTE!!!!", maybe you are an unsure driver and maybe you need a refresher course.
    Just sayin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Carpentry

Johnny 4 pots.you know the ones who drive around with front fog lights on constantly."I'll leave these on if you don't mind,helps me see the road better and to be honest I don't care if they blind everyone I meet".id love to boot those fog lights clean out of their bumpers.
    The true blue brigade aswell.bright blue headlight bulbs in a clapped out civic that blind everyone on the road and scare every last animal out of the hedges.
    Last one is sitting in traffic and the selfish animal in front of you leaves their big fat foot down on the brake pedal blinding the person sitting behind them instead of just pulling the handbrake.
    Not alone is it driving the people behind you crazy,it's also a sure sign of a lazy clueless driver to me.

I drive automatic. Wife passed the test recently, was never told by the instructor to go into neutral gear and use hanbrake. Thats one thing.

Another thing is that cars like Mercs and Lexus have "leg handbrake", dont know how to call it, but you basically put/release brake pedal which is next to the gas pedal on the left using your foot. I know, parking brake its called. Cant imagine doing this every time I stop.

Another thing, indicators on the car in front of you, they can be more disturbing than brake lights, especially at night. What would you then ? Sunglasses after dark ?

Some things are unavoidable.

But not using indicators when turning, parking, rundabouts, taxis when stopping is the most fcuking annoying and dangerous thing.

All I want to do is to stop, brake the fcuking lever and stick in the moron's asre, or throat, even better.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

If I could pick just one issue it is the utter contempt for the Rules of the Road displayed by far too many members of An Garda Síochána.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭WestWicklow1

Hermy wrote: »
    If I could pick just one issue it is the utter contempt for the Rules of the Road displayed by far too many members of An Garda Síochána.

A Garda Traffic Corps car passed me the other day with two Garda occupants in the front. Both were on their mobile phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Gardai are exempt in certain situations. Do not turn this in to a Garda bashing thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Drivers who come to a stop after the stop line, and who then can't see the green filter arrow when it appears . . .

Beep beep, well go on, you can turn now, beep beep ... they finally get the message (just as the green arrow goes out)!

Moral of the story > STOP behind the STOP line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Drivers who seem to expect a different shade of green at traffic lights. That green is the only one there is.....MOVE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

LordSutch wrote: »
    Drivers who come to a stop after the stop line, and who then can't see the green filter arrow when it appears . . .

Beep beep, well go on, you can turn now, beep beep ... they finally get the message (just as the green arrow goes out)!

Moral of the story > STOP behind the STOP line.

not exactly the same - but similar - ones who arrive at certain light controlled junctions and dont understand the flow of traffic - for example the lights at Merrion Sq E/ Mount St Lower/ Holles St.

Often those turning right into Holles St end up stopping in the middle of the junction as the lights change during the manoeuvre - they have already (legally) crossed the stop line and should proceed but end up parked in the middle of the lights. What happens next? Traffic starts coming "straight through" from Merrion East into Holles st.

Now admittedly that is one piss poor staggered junction and more should be done at is as nearly every change of lights leave some poor fecker looking confused (whether its pedestrians/ drivers half way through a turn etc)

Moral of the story > do not STOP when after the STOP line (if clear to proceed and legally crossed the stop line).