Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the weather like in your area 2

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

ArKl0w wrote: »
    Attached is a map of where snow should be falling according to the latest guidance by tomorrow evening,looks like even I'm flukily in the firing line :eek:

Pink is snow

By that map I might just escape...hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

ganmo wrote: »
    By that map I might just escape...hopefully

I'm screwed. I'm in Templemore for the night and much of tomorrow so I'm not looking forward to seeing the snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,368 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

It's gonna miss us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Reggie. wrote: »
    It's gonna miss us

You're going to be at ground zero Reggie.

A polar low changed track on the forecast today. It was going to go down the west coast now it's going straight down through the country.
    There will also be strong winds and a band of snow with this.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=102237361&postcount=404

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    You're going to be at ground zero Reggie.

A polar low changed track on the forecast today. It was going to go down the west coast now it's going straight down through the country.
    There will also be strong winds and a band of snow with this.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=102237361&postcount=404

Someone I have till 8pm to finish up tomorrow

Don't take the times on that as gospel.

But forecasters are getting hyper about snow.

This a screen grab from tonights BBC forecast.

screenshot_1.png

• Registered Users Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Grand dry morning, kids were devastated there's no snow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

whelan2 wrote: »
    Grand dry morning, kids were devastated there's no snow :)

Aye them weather presenters know what there at

I said wrote: »
    Aye them weather presenters know what there at

You'd think we were in for snow of the.proportions of 1947...... I laughed when the weather man said it would be all gone by Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Wet wet wet here,and quiet mild, was expecting blizzard like conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 787 ✭✭✭ArKl0w

whelan2 wrote: »
    You'd think we were in for snow of the.proportions of 1947...... I laughed when the weather man said it would be all gone by Saturday

Yeah but the chances of it returning a LOT colder from the east by the following weekend have increased and to put that in perspective,that would drag in air from Poland and Russia where it's as low as minus 30 at the moment,so keep an eye on it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭White Clover

Yeah but the chances of it returning a LOT colder from the east by the following weekend have increased and to put that in perspective,that would drag in air from Poland and Russia where it's as low as minus 30 at the moment,so keep an eye on it?

What direction did the 09/10 cold come from?

farmerjj wrote: »
    Wet wet wet here,and quiet mild, was expecting blizzard like conditions

Where are you by the way?
    Just to put some flesh on this
    There is a wave depression over Munster and south Leinster at the moment
    The rain on that is currently engaging with the cold air coming down from the north so is turning to snow in places like parts of Cork up to Laois as expected
    We've had light sleet from it here and there's snow on the hills
    It's dragging away so should die out soon
    It's actually behind that that the snowy weather is in shower form and by evening it's going to be affecting all of Ulster,North Leinster north Connaught and west Munster
    There's another wave approaching from the northwest today also which might enhance the snow showers all the way down into the southeast by evening

What direction did the 09/10 cold come from?

In 2010 it came from Siberia via Scandinavia
    This easterly if it happens will come from Siberia also but via mainland Europe
    The difference is it would be much colder because it would be making two thirds of its journey here over land on continental Europe that's already down to minus 20 to minus 30
    *shiver*

The chances are lowish enough still though
    I'll keep ye posted

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭White Clover

In 2010 it came from Siberia via Scandinavia
    This easterly if it happens will come from Siberia also but via mainland Europe
    The difference is it would be much colder because it would be making two thirds of its journey here over land on continental Europe that's already down to minus 20 to minus 30
    *shiver*

The chances are lowish enough still though
    I'll keep ye posted

Jaysus! Be sure to keep us posted! Thanks.

Still no snow. Wet and kinda warmer than yesterday

Bitter wind here

You must have the MRS on your lap because it's only 2c in your neck of the woods :D

https://www.tiitraffic.ie/weather/

To repeat,you might have no snow now but it might be a different story this evening as the really cold air is only starting to enter the fray from now on especially if you're in north Leinster Ulster Connaught or west Munster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Where are you by the way?
    Just to put some flesh on this
    There is a wave depression over Munster and south Leinster at the moment
    The rain on that is currently engaging with the cold air coming down from the north so is turning to snow in places like parts of Cork up to Laois as expected
    We've had light sleet from it here and there's snow on the hills
    It's dragging away so should die out soon
    It's actually behind that that the snowy weather is in shower form and by evening it's going to be affecting all of Ulster,North Leinster north Connaught and west Munster
    There's another wave approaching from the northwest today also which might enhance the snow showers all the way down into the southeast by evening

Cork. Has changed since I wrote that now is getting cold and slushy snow flakes falling. Will be a horrible day.

You must have the MRS on your lap because it's only 2c in your neck of the woods :D

https://www.tiitraffic.ie/weather/

To repeat,you might have no snow now but it might be a different story this evening as the really cold air is only starting to enter the fray from now on especially if you're in north Leinster Ulster Connaught or west Munster

:P not as strong a wind ya see.

Croghan area near me just now on the Wicklow Wexford border about 5 miles west of Arklow

Blackstairs are white here beside me.
    Still snowing lightly here.
    I'll get a pic when it clears up in an hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just the first wee flurry of snow here in Cavan town. 1c.

5 degrees on temp guage in jeep

The Mountains still haven't cleared.
    But here is the best pic I can get.

2017_01_12_12.jpg

Meanwhile in mitchelstown in north cork :)

https://twitter.com/sybilmccarthy/status/819509411429412864

• Registered Users Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Meanwhile in mitchelstown in north cork :)

https://twitter.com/sybilmccarthy/status/819509411429412864
    Snowing off & on here from 0840
    Road is clear, bout 1 inch on fields

Not a thing here still

Small shower at dinner time

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭MF290

Spitting a tiny bit of snow here for a few mins