Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cringeworthy irish traditions that won't just die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

Candie wrote: »
    This is a Child of Prague. Its a statuary representation of the child Jesus.

It's a Catholic thing, they used to be in most houses along with holy water fonts at the hall door in generations past. Apparently, if you put the statuette outside when you want good weather and say a prayer, then you'll get it.

It's an old-fashioned, harmless, and quite charming Irish tradition.

As is being obsessed with immersion heaters being left on.

An Indian colleague of mine over for work managed to flood his serviced apartment by keeping the immersion heater on. Blew a hole in the tank and drowned the place.

We should be getting rid of immersion heaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Harvey Normal

murpho999 wrote: »
    This is not an Irish thing. I've experienced many nationalities doing this.

It's more the 'once a year' package holiday flier who does it.

It's not Irish at all. Europeans and Americans do it far more.

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

siblers wrote: »
    I like Séan Nós for the most part but what pisses me off is when you're in the pub having the craic and all of a sudden, someone will stand up and just starting singing. You have to sit their in silence till they are finished..it's not just Séan Nós though..happens all the time. Having a great time, then someone gets out their ****ing guitar and starts singing "the old triangle" and your night out has been hijacked by a sing song session :mad:

There are ways to deal with that:

Just sayin ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Begrudging people their begrudgery. We fcuking love that word, and use it far too often and usually wrongly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Thinking something is uniquely Irish when in fact loads of nationalities do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Celebrating when 'our team' gets a 0-0 in an international.

Can't remember the last time Ireland drew 0-0, never mind it being celebrated :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 51,178 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

- Obligatory Padre Pio sticker on the inside of your car's windscreen.

- Irish people going on holiday abroad and the first thing they do is head for is an Irish themed pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Pretending to be nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,260 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Stinks of making it up as you go along
    So does jazz. There's an improvisory component to each form. As it happens, I'm fond of both.

Do you always get pissed of by things you don't understand?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

Clapping on Ryanair is a Spanish/Italian and in recent years less of an Irish thing. It couldn't be further from a British, French or German thing to do(in my experience)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,241 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

BabyE wrote: »
    Clapping on Ryanair is a Spanish/Italian and in recent years less of an Irish thing. It couldn't be further from a British, French or German thing to do(in my experience)

It's ****ign hilarious when a plane lands and the ONLY people who do it are the four or five Irish 20-somethings on their first trip abroad in ten years, thinking the entire plane was up for it....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

It's ****ign hilarious when a plane lands and the ONLY people who do it are the four or five Irish 20-somethings on their first trip abroad in ten years, thinking the entire plane was up for it....

Group of Spaniards(Andalucians) did it on my last trip home from Spain, think they were on a stag here.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,485 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

what or who is sean-nos:confused:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Clapping when the plane lands.

I think that is more to do with the type of flight than with the nationality of the passengers.
    Holiday package flight to the sun > clapping.
    Aer Lingus/Ryanair flight from A to B ( or 80km's away from B) > no clapping.

And last time i was in a plane full of Dutch people going with a holiday package, the clapping thing happened as well. Been a while that one though, was still allowed to smoke on that trip...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The child of Prague is a statue of baby Jesus. If left outside it supposedly brought good weather.

Why do they take the bastard back in then?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

21st birthdays in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

bazz26 wrote: »
    - Obligatory Padre Pio sticker on the inside of your car's windscreen.

- Irish people going on holiday abroad and the first thing they do is head for is an Irish themed pub.

Where do those stickers even come from? I've never seen one on sale anywhere yet every single second hand car I've ever bought has had one?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,165 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Just flicked past TG4 and saw some auld lad doing Sean Nós singing and it gave me an idea for this thread.

Like whats the point of Sean Nós. Stinks of making it up as you go along

The most cringeworthy thing is fellas who cringe or are embarressed at being Irish, how insecure is that?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

joe.ie

Copy and Paste of tweets and adding "this is gas" has now become a core skill.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

osarusan wrote: »
    Up for the Match.

Winning Streak, when they introduce all the family and friends along to support the contestant and they have their handmade banners and all that.*
    Every now and again, you get a little sharp reminder that some parts of Ireland are still back in the 1960s and 70s.

Kenny talking about pornography "corrupting" the young yesterday was one of those times.

But Irish TV is where it usually comes from. The painfully cringey amateurishness of the late late show, when bands are performing like they're in the corner of a pub. Or they get some member of the public up and the whole interaction is just painfully clunky.

Or when they give out a free bag of spuds to everyone in the audience. Like they did a few weeks ago.

I'm not sure what it is. Live TV in Ireland has always had this, "we're used to running pub quizzes and don't really know what we're doing" quality to it.

Even things like the rose of tralee. There's no polish to these things. We lack any presenters with real charisma. Which is ironic considering that two of the best presenters in UK TV history are Irish - Wogan and Norton.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

darlett wrote: »
    Thanking someone for carrying out a duty is not cringeworthy.

Do other countries have begrudgery? Im sure its a myth that they dont, but the people who predictably line up to take chunks out of successful and popular groups like Rose of Tralee or Bono or McIllroy or Edna (hehe) or the Late Late or Gaa or generalising attacks on culchies or the Dubs(as if either group is defined by one person someone met pissed in the jacks) or the prods or the RCs or...

Sorry Ive gone of the reservation. The tradition of whinging over **** which is actually totes avoidable if one desires it. All of the above are actually avoidable except for those complaining about them.*

*this post. Not actually a complaint cos complaining fills in silence and big empty cringe hungry gaps in conversation.

The Brits embrace with the whole "very British Problems" theme.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

So basic manners to a person who has provided a service to you makes you cringe?

It wasn't always that way. It only became a thing recently.
    When I was a small boy there used to be a conductor on the bus. Usually when you were getting off the bus the conductor had collected all his fares and was down with his arse parked against the front panel chatting to the driver.
    Interrupt that conversation with an insipid "thank you" and you'd be met with 2 pairs of baleful eyes and a "g'wan, get lost ya scaldy wretch!"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,387 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Clapping when you successfully get home on your own.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I love our mad traditions. Nothing cringeworthy. Embrace it all I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

kowloon wrote: »
    Clapping when you successfully get home on your own.

I do like to fist bump the steering group wheel

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭mattser

The fields of fcukin athenry

• Registered Users Posts: 12,412 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

HensVassal wrote: »
    It wasn't always that way. It only became a thing recently.
    When I was a small boy there used to be a conductor on the bus. Usually when you were getting off the bus the conductor had collected all his fares and was down with his arse parked against the front panel chatting to the driver.
    Interrupt that conversation with an insipid "thank you" and you'd be met with 2 pairs of baleful eyes and a "g'wan, get lost ya scaldy wretch!"

That is not true unless I come from an excessively polite family which I doubt, saying thank you and hello a lot is more common in Ireland and it is not a modern invention.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Every man and his dog shaking hands with the grieving family after a death.
    Especially the double & triple dippers who have to shake hands with everyone
    At the wake
    After the mass
    At the graveyard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Clapping when the plane lands.

This and clapping when the film ends in a cinema are American phenomena and drove me mental while living and studying in the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭valoren

seamus wrote: »
    Even things like the rose of tralee. There's no polish to these things. We lack any presenters with real charisma. Which is ironic considering that two of the best presenters in UK TV history are Irish - Wogan and Norton.

It's like Irish footballers. The talented players get scooped up by scouts from English clubs ;)