Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Angola's ambassador on line 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

The listeners in Angola will be highly insulted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

looks like all the retired gards are ringing in !

:D:D:D:D

Ex-garda Declan with an Inspector's defined benefit pension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

snubbleste wrote: »
    Where's the obligatory telly pole?

On the way, no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"A necessary evil"?
    I hardly think that's an appropriate term.

Traffic jams to Newry, no doubt.

ah here.

more like doughnut shops the length and breadth of the country are bricking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Ah who'd be an auld maid in the Gardai

He had a H-Block thrown at him?

A block thrown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

A block thrown?

H Block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

How much is his pension now?

Retired in 2008, lump sum payment and a massive pension...and possibly another career now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Let's be careful out there....

here ya go Harry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bigroad

23k is not a bad wage for any young person to start on with a view to an increase all the way up to 44k not including allowances.
    Very few workers start off with a wage good enough to get a mortgage.
    It takes time for everyone not just them.

baldbear wrote: »
    How much is his pension now?
    X - 12% = €xx,xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

It'll be like the last days of the Roman Empire, Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,051 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ThisRegard wrote: »
    They didn't take it though?

The ministers didn't, the td's did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Retired in 2008, lump sum payment and a massive pension...and possibly another career now

Sitting in a Go Safe van on the N4 probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

She thinks just because you're a public servant, of any kind, you're 'entitled' to all these things.

What about those in the private sector?

Tough, you exist for nothing but to fund the public servants luxurious lifestyle, kinda like humans in the Matrix.

Helen is dictating the agenda of the conversation now.

bigroad wrote: »
    23k is not a bad wage for any young person to start on with a view to an increase all the way up to 44k not including allowances.
    Very few workers start off with a wage good enough to get a mortgage.
    It takes time for everyone not just them.

i know lads working 20yrs in a factory getting 21k.

pisses me off no end to hear them say some snot nosed lad straight out of templemore with no experience is "badly paid".

Joe being told to provide some balance..

They don't matter....(as long as they keep footing the bill for paying all these ex-Gardai their fat pensions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭baldbear

If the corporations pull out over increased tax then the teachers will still have jobs.

it'll be those in the private sector who will suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Mary should have said authors and artists when asked who was not paying their fair share of tax...

It's not corruption you oul bag.