Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭guile4582

i only listen in the car - because as mentioned the music (for most part) is the best out there for my taste

maybe I need a new car that has an aux input!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

guile4582 wrote: »
    guys we seriously need to talk about morning glory - marty goes facebook free for feb

What do you mean..??
    i only listen in the car - because as mentioned the music (for most part) is the best out there for my taste

maybe I need a new car that has an aux input!!

Is it an 80's car.......stick in a cassette......biggrin.png.....

Its not the car thats the problem..wink.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,746 ✭✭✭✭L1011

What do you mean..??

Is it an 80's car.......stick in a cassette......biggrin.png.....

Its not the car thats the problem..wink.png

I seem to remember VW had some baseline cars with a cassette only unit until the late 1990s!

L1011 wrote: »
    I seem to remember VW had some baseline cars with a cassette only unit until the late 1990s!

:D:D:D......no way.....I've been listening to some old BBC evening shows I taped in the 90s....some cracking stuff

L1011 wrote: »

its a pug. cd and radio only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,183 ✭✭✭furiousox

Who's idea was it to put that Australian girl on nova in the mornings?
    She has not got a voice suited to radio, and that's putting it mildly.
    As soon as I hear that whiny nasal drone I either hit mute until she's gone or change channel for a couple of minutes.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

furiousox wrote: »
    She has not got a voice suited to radio, and that's putting it mildly.
    As soon as I hear that whiny nasal drone I either hit mute until she's gone or change channel for a couple of minutes.

But at least she can pronounce Irish things (including some really Irish placenames) properly.....unlike the "learned colleague" that does the news on Pat Cournays shows.

My current gripe is the poor woman that does The A-Z of Rock. I'd say she is totally embarrassed by what it put out in her voice. To me it sounds like she had to record an Irish and English version and some eejit spliced them together to make it sound like the most bastardised language ever. I know that it's probably just KBs way of trying to follow the BAIs laws on Irish content, but it just comes off sounding like a teenager sticking out their tongue at the teacher.

furiousox wrote: »
    She has not got a voice suited to radio, and that's putting it mildly..common..??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

FanadMan wrote: »
    But at least she can pronounce Irish things (including some really Irish placenames) properly.....
    No she can't. Howth a particular problem. And derby games too

cdeb wrote: »
    No she can't. Howth a particular problem. And derby games too

She can - to my culchie ears anyway lol :P Heard her doing sport results.....club GAA stuff and had the clubnames perfect. Anyway, her pronunciation is better than hearing tHaoiseach and tHainiste multiple times an afternoon. Might just be one of my bugbears but I'll still keep listening to Nova.

If you think she's bad...Johnny Bowe..all fcuking day...Patrick Thistle...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

FanadMan wrote: »
    She can - to my culchie ears anyway lol :P Heard her doing sport results.....club GAA stuff and had the clubnames perfect. Anyway, her pronunciation is better than hearing tHaoiseach and tHainiste multiple times an afternoon. Might just be one of my bugbears but I'll still keep listening to Nova.

Advertising your stupidity you clown. Defending one person over another merely because of your putrid prejudices. The young woman reading the news in the mornings is doing her very best in a trying circumstances, notwithstanding having to negotiate Irish placenames etc in a station not geared towards news and the bloke on afternoons may be high and mighty but has a great voice and strong delivery. Taoiseach is an Irish word and therefore is pronounced correctly 'as gaeilge'. You're a bloody imbecile slagging off young people earning a pittance doing their best working in an unfriendly environment. Get real you dope.

Emmmm not get the lay in awhile?

Was thinking kinda the same thing lol.....Especially seeing as I was defending her pronunciation :D

I thought personal abuse was an offence on here....:confused:

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,793 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I thought personal abuse was an offence on here....:confused:
    It is yeah.

So is backseat moderating.

Caught the results of Jukebox Hero this morning. Marty won with 55.5555% of the votes...and by one vote.

Would they really get as few as 9 votes for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,746 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Caught the results of Jukebox Hero this morning. Marty won with 55.5555% of the votes...and by one vote.

Would they really get as few as 9 votes for that?

Easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I do hope that wasn't Ed Sheeran i just heard on Nova.

Am i the only one who doesn't one the fuss made over the radiothon? Comes across as virtue signalling to me. I also have a distrust of larger commercial charities who have no real reason to solve the problems they're set up to solve. Plus media mis-reporting doesn't help, like the fuss over the homeless guy who died outside the Dail a few years back, and it emerged that he'd been given two houses and made the same bad decisions twice to end up where he was. But instead we hear about how we're all only two or three months without a pay cheque away from being on the streets ourselves, which is a complete lie when you look at how hard it is to get your house repossessed here.

Anyways, that's my rant over. ☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Am i the only one who doesn't one the fuss made over the radiothon? Comes across as virtue signalling to me. I also have a distrust of larger commercial charities who have no real reason to solve the problems they're set up to solve. Plus media mis-reporting doesn't help, like the fuss over the homeless guy who died outside the Dail a few years back, and it emerged that he'd been given two houses and made the same bad decisions twice to end up where he was. But instead we hear about how we're all only two or three months without a pay cheque away from being on the streets ourselves, which is a complete lie when you look at how hard it is to get your house repossessed here.

renting doesn't have that security

but I agree with the whole charity collection thing

I agree ...do you know people who got greedy and ended up losing everything...i do...they even had some clown on who had had a "charmed life" but ended up on the street...delighted for you idiot....i dont consider these people hard done-by....
    nice_guy80 wrote: »
    renting doesn't have that security

but I agree with the whole charity collection thing

Funny that...they hardly mentioned it.....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Schwanz

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I do hope that wasn't Ed Sheeran i just heard on Nova.

The man's a genius, get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭sally cinnamon89

TXFM was the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

TXFM was the best.

At what exactly?

Not gaining listeners, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Schwanz wrote: »
    The man's a genius, get over yourself.

Hahaha.

First of all, his watery nonsense has no place on a rock station.

Secondly, genius? Good God in heaven. Worst genius ever.

giving out about a radiothon which raised €50,000 for charity? Lads, this is a new low.
    Not really. The commercialisation of charities has long been a topic of discussion. Paul Theroux and Dervla Murphy have written about their negative experiences of charities in Africa, for example - how they perpetuate the problems they're trying to solve, or how they are fronted by people with positive intentions but no clue about the negative impacts they can be causing.

There's no harm in being cynical about charities, especially given the number of scandals involving them in recent years (not this particular charity, I hasten to add). That said, the Peter McVerry Trust has regularly called for increases in rent supplements, which can only lead to increased rental costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Broadcastonfm

Not really. The commercialisation of charities has long been a topic of discussion. Paul Theroux and Dervla Murphy have written about their negative experiences of charities in Africa, for example - how they perpetuate the problems they're trying to solve, or how they are fronted by people with positive intentions but no clue about the negative impacts they can be causing.

There's no harm in being cynical about charities, especially given the number of scandals involving them in recent years (not this particular charity, I hasten to add). That said, the Peter McVerry Trust has regularly called for increases in rent supplements, which can only lead to increased rental costs.

It is a disgusting new low . A charity today has an extra €55k to spend on homeless services thanks to this initiative

As for TXFM , it went out of business because of its minuscule listenership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

As for TXFM , it went out of business because of its minuscule listenership

no, it went out of business because it's costs and the business model it was expected to follow were way too high. it should never have been licenced as a full commercial station but a community of interest licence. yes, the listenership was small, and that would have meant less advertising and less money. but when a small station playing a niche format is expected to behave like a full service commercial radio station operating a popular format which brings in money, then it's not surprising that one day it will end in disaster.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Broadcastonfm

no, it went out of business because it's costs and the business model it was expected to follow were way too high. it should never have been licenced as a full commercial station but a community of interest licence. yes, the listenership was small, and that would have meant less advertising and less money. but when a small station playing a niche format is expected to behave like a full service commercial radio station operating a popular format which brings in money, then it's not surprising that one day it will end in disaster.

Small listenership meaning less advertisers is a.common misnomer . Actuality is that it means people are not listening in sustainable numbers .