guile4582 wrote: » guys we seriously need to talk about morning glory - marty goes facebook free for feb
guile4582 wrote: » i only listen in the car - because as mentioned the music (for most part) is the best out there for my taste maybe I need a new car that has an aux input!!
Max Headroom wrote: » What do you mean..?? Is it an 80's car.......stick in a cassette........... Its not the car thats the problem..
L1011 wrote: » I seem to remember VW had some baseline cars with a cassette only unit until the late 1990s!
furiousox wrote: » Who's idea was it to put that Australian girl on nova in the mornings? She has not got a voice suited to radio, and that's putting it mildly. As soon as I hear that whiny nasal drone I either hit mute until she's gone or change channel for a couple of minutes.
furiousox wrote: » Who's idea was it to put that Australian girl on nova in the mornings? She has not got a voice suited to radio, and that's putting it mildly..common..?? As soon as I hear that whiny nasal drone I either hit mute until she's gone or change channel for a couple of minutes.
FanadMan wrote: » But at least she can pronounce Irish things (including some really Irish placenames) properly.....
cdeb wrote: » No she can't. Howth a particular problem. And derby games too
FanadMan wrote: » She can - to my culchie ears anyway lol :P Heard her doing sport results.....club GAA stuff and had the clubnames perfect. Anyway, her pronunciation is better than hearing tHaoiseach and tHainiste multiple times an afternoon. Might just be one of my bugbears but I'll still keep listening to Nova.
Howitzer the 5th wrote: » Advertising your stupidity you clown. Defending one person over another merely because of your putrid prejudices. The young woman reading the news in the mornings is doing her very best in a trying circumstances, notwithstanding having to negotiate Irish placenames etc in a station not geared towards news and the bloke on afternoons may be high and mighty but has a great voice and strong delivery. Taoiseach is an Irish word and therefore is pronounced correctly 'as gaeilge'. You're a bloody imbecile slagging off young people earning a pittance doing their best working in an unfriendly environment. Get real you dope.
guile4582 wrote: » Emmmm not get the lay in awhile?
Max Headroom wrote: » I thought personal abuse was an offence on here....
cdeb wrote: » Caught the results of Jukebox Hero this morning. Marty won with 55.5555% of the votes...and by one vote. Would they really get as few as 9 votes for that?
cdeb wrote: » Am i the only one who doesn't one the fuss made over the radiothon? Comes across as virtue signalling to me. I also have a distrust of larger commercial charities who have no real reason to solve the problems they're set up to solve. Plus media mis-reporting doesn't help, like the fuss over the homeless guy who died outside the Dail a few years back, and it emerged that he'd been given two houses and made the same bad decisions twice to end up where he was. But instead we hear about how we're all only two or three months without a pay cheque away from being on the streets ourselves, which is a complete lie when you look at how hard it is to get your house repossessed here. Anyways, that's my rant over. ☺
nice_guy80 wrote: » renting doesn't have that security but I agree with the whole charity collection thing
Ol' Donie wrote: » I do hope that wasn't Ed Sheeran i just heard on Nova.
sally cinnamon89 wrote: » TXFM was the best.
Schwanz wrote: » The man's a genius, get over yourself.
Former Former wrote: » giving out about a radiothon which raised €50,000 for charity? Lads, this is a new low.
cdeb wrote: » Not really. The commercialisation of charities has long been a topic of discussion. Paul Theroux and Dervla Murphy have written about their negative experiences of charities in Africa, for example - how they perpetuate the problems they're trying to solve, or how they are fronted by people with positive intentions but no clue about the negative impacts they can be causing. There's no harm in being cynical about charities, especially given the number of scandals involving them in recent years (not this particular charity, I hasten to add). That said, the Peter McVerry Trust has regularly called for increases in rent supplements, which can only lead to increased rental costs.
Broadcastonfm wrote: » As for TXFM , it went out of business because of its minuscule listenership
end of the road wrote: » no, it went out of business because it's costs and the business model it was expected to follow were way too high. it should never have been licenced as a full commercial station but a community of interest licence. yes, the listenership was small, and that would have meant less advertising and less money. but when a small station playing a niche format is expected to behave like a full service commercial radio station operating a popular format which brings in money, then it's not surprising that one day it will end in disaster.