Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Megathread 22/08/16 to date

• Registered Users Posts: 19,592 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

pc7 wrote: »
    Jebus turned the radio off driving home.
    Newstalk - mistress mick and Henry McKeen
    Matt Cooper - the Kardashians
    Rte 1 - a poor little boy misdiagnosed

I've AC/DC blaring.

F*ck that.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do the likes of Kimmage, Quinlan, Drico have any formal broadcasting training?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

is there a drive time thread? if so apologies for this... sarah whatever her name brought up something called 'reverse ageism' into the liberal agenda, i'd never heard of it to be honest so i googled it and it is apparently young people being discriminated against in the work place for being too young to be considered to be promoted, which is nuts but fair enough i suppose in this present world of 'isms', but she brings it to a level where babies/infants who are acting the b*llocks and somebody feels annoyed during a meal, on a plane etc. are "reverse ageist". she is officially a lunatic, which makes me a sexist misogynistic pro reverse ageist anti mental health etc

• Registered Users Posts: 20,414 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

is there a drive time thread? if so apologies for this... sarah whatever her name brought up something called 'reverse ageism' into the liberal agenda, i'd never heard of it to be honest so i googled it and it is apparently young people being discriminated against in the work place for being too young to be considered to be promoted, which is nuts but fair enough i suppose in this present world of 'isms', but she brings it to a level where babies/infants who are acting the b*llocks and somebody feels annoyed during a meal, on a plane etc. are "reverse ageist". she is officially a lunatic, which makes me a sexist misogynistic pro reverse ageist anti mental health etc

Breakfast and Drivetime have turned into amateur hour,**** knows what Hook is supposed to be doing.Only for Moncrieff I wouldn't listen to it at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

kneemos wrote:
    Breakfast and Drivetime have turned into amateur hour,**** knows what Hook is supposed to be doing.Only for Moncrieff I wouldn't listen to it at all.

Pat Kenny is still at the top of his game.

Ah yeah,forgot Pat.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

kneemos wrote: »
    Ah yeah,forgot Pat.
    Pat is the only daytime bit of Newstalk worth listening to. I used to love Hookie for drivetime, but I usually cant listen at lunchtime. Drivetime is just totally ****e across the board now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I think the problem with Hook at lunchtime is that he was giving free reign, there's no goo producer in the background steering the show like at the Right Hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

This is gonna sound crazy, but does anybody else hear a squeaking sound every time Sarah McInerney speaks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

This is gonna sound crazy, but does anybody else hear a squeaking sound every time Sarah McInerney speaks?

That could be Chris

I've heard the squeak.Don't think you're crazy,unless we're both crazy.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 soundcrowd

I thought it was just me. It's a nasal sound, really off-putting. Once you hear it you'll hear it continually!!

• Registered Users Posts: 27 carlowmanken

Their signal in Carlow is awful the past few days, sound keeps dropping and there's like an echo or something. really off putting.

Count your blessings, it's a sign...'turn the dial'

Am actually somewhat warming to Morning Ireland, I honestly think it has a lot to do with the absence of some of the worst unfunny dumbass loudmouth shouty radio ads known which newstalk specialised in, the morning Ireland ads pass by without me noticing. Also, It's all fairly well researched uninterrupted news and interviews conducted by professionals who know what they are talking about and are impartial, I have no real dislike or admiration for, just respect for doing the job they were given. Maybe I'm just getting old and have gone into the RTÉ 1 bracket...or Newstalk breakfast is now an utter pile of steaming shįte.

soundcrowd wrote: »
    I thought it was just me. It's a nasal sound, really off-putting. Once you hear it you'll hear it continually!!

Thank you! I was just about to phone the doctor. That's exactly how I would describe it, "nasal". And she has a lovely soft voice, but that irritating sound is just there all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I was really enjoying this show recently and thought she sounded 'dead on'.

Then in the past 3 days she's slipped in how she 'doesn't have to worry about her mortgage', how her husband is an actuary and today moaning about the roadworks on the Howth Road delaying her commute.

Just seems a bit smug to me. Maybe I'm a bitter begrudger :pac:

Sarah is sounding particularly squeaky today.

I was really enjoying this show recently and thought she sounded 'dead on'.

Then in the past 3 days she's slipped in how she 'doesn't have to worry about her mortgage', how her husband is an actuary and today moaning about the roadworks on the Howth Road delaying her commute.

Just seems a bit smug to me. Maybe I'm a bitter begrudger :pac:

she told them to sort the roadworks out last night because it was delaying her. I think she was being genuine about sending this message out.

begrudger? nah, she seems like a right stuck up cow with serious notions about herself. shes also very crap at her job.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭theoldbreed

begrudger? nah, she seems like a right stuck up cow with serious notions about herself. shes also very crap at her job.

Was very willing to give her a chance but I have to agree, she is terrible. She is just not cut out for it and she comes across as self righteous and at times unprofessional. I believe it's her job to report in an unbiased fashion but she increasingly lets her own very smug opinions take over. Comparing teachers striking to terrorists? I mean seriously.
    Also thank God I'm not the only one who hears that squeaking, although I turn off now do that solved that issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Comparing teachers striking to terrorists? I mean seriously..

Except she didn't.

By 'squeaking', do people mean that sibilance that seems to come through?

Chris - "The show will be utterly biased this evening".

as opposed to what ???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Is it just me or has the latest reshuffle in slots and presenters meant the quality of the station as a whole has taken a nosedive.

Paul Williams is close to unbearable in the mornings. He tries to be witty and friendly but it's just not in his make up. The man would eat himself if he could. Far too smug and the 'banter' compared to Ivan and Chris is just crap.

Because of the rescheduling I get to hear only half an hour compared to an hour of Moncrieffe after work now.

However the 'Drive Time' slot is easily the worst now. Chris has nobody to keep him down now that Ivan is out of the picture. He's so banal as a presenter and his overly biased views can be too much. Sarah seems to be genuinely dim as well. She rarely has a good grasp of the topic at hand and she made some outrageous comparison with teachers and terrorists which unsurprisingly wasn't picked up on.

Just disappointed that one of the best radio stations by far has taken a huge dip in quality. Surely the listeners have dropped by thousands? Anyone any info on this?

NufcNavan wrote:
    and she made some outrageous comparison with teachers and terrorists which unsurprisingly wasn't picked up on.

Again: Except she didn't.

What she did do was draw an analogy with the strategic logic behind a choice of tactic: that is, going for maximum impact.

And it was picked up on by listeners very quickly, and she made a further clarification of her meaning.

On the schedule changes in general, it's pretty terrible, I agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Again: Except she didn't.

What she did do was draw an analogy with the strategic logic behind a choice of tactic: that is, going for maximum impact.

And it was picked up on by listeners very quickly, and she made a further clarification of her meaning.

On the schedule changes in general, it's pretty terrible, I agree.

I understand what she meant, but it says it all about how useless she is when she has to explain herself by using an analogy that included teachers and terrorists..

What's interesting is that the last two posters to jump on the "she said teachers are like terrorists" thing are both infrequent contributors to the Radio forum, but regulars in Teaching and Lecturing.

That tells me that someone, somewhere has definitely picked up on her analogy...

What's interesting is that the last two posters to jump on the "she said teachers are like terrorists" thing are both infrequent contributors to the Radio forum, but regulars in Teaching and Lecturing.

That tells me that someone, somewhere has definitely picked up on her analogy...

to my knowledge I haven't a post on that teachers and lecturers forum you mention (cue thralling through my post history, :)

i heard her, she said "like terrorists" trying to cause maximum damage when chris mentioned the specific strike dates. it's no reason to be offended, she compared a teacher strike dates to terrorist action...she's an idiot and a very poor journalist, no more no less.

chris must be delighted, she makes him look competent.

she's an idiot and a very poor journalist, no more no less.

chris must be delighted, she makes him look competent.

I think she's certainly out of her competency zone. I can't comment on her print output, but it seems like someone at NT said, "hang on, yer one can answer a question on Tonight with VB, I bet she'd make a good radio anchor..."

Totally different medium, totally different context. However, I might just give her the benefit of the doubt til she learns on the job.

Because the rte and Today at that time don't work for me at all...

Starting to think Newstalk is being sabotaged from within.

Listening online there, an ad for the Wild Atlantic Way just started playing as Chris was talking. Like more ads in between the ad breaks.

And I'd just heard the ad a few mins ago.

F*ckin tired of this. Podcast time.

"Currently unable to connect to the Newstalk stream"

How helpful you are, Newstalk app.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 barryegan

But I think they are trying to help you.