Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Routes News 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Nibs05

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭Tangey99

333bus wrote: »
    AA - Miami
    Delta - Boston
    I know it's not to do with EI, but looking back on this thread, it appears 333bus was in the know when it came to the boston route (or it was just a guess).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Nibs05 wrote: »

The article suggest that Qatar have received only three A350s to date. In fact, 11 have been delivered and 13 are on order.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,750 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Nibs05 wrote: »

Al Bakar being as mature as usual
    "We are at the mercy of Airbus"
    Give me a break. They guy could do a press release next month blaming Airbus for the failure of the route launch. He is the MoL of the Middle East.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭john boye

Tenger wrote: »
    Al Bakar being as mature as usual "We are at the mercy of Airbus" Give me a break.

I'm not sure I'd call a Dublin route a given based on AAB's comments in that report, sounds like he's just bashing Airbus and using a possible Dublin route as a means to do it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

john boye wrote: »
    Tenger wrote: »
    Al Bakar being as mature as usual "We are at the mercy of Airbus" Give me a break.

I'm not sure I'd call a Dublin route a given based on AAB's comments in that report, sounds like he's just bashing Airbus and using a possible Dublin route as a means to do it

I agree QR have form with BHX for example they spent more less twp years talking to media before they lainch it.

IMO I think they may struggle on DUB but when has that stopped them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭jackinthemix94

If they price it competitively enough they'll be absolutely grand - way too many people book solely on price for that not to be a winning strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Jan_de_Bakker

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/transport-and-tourism/emirates-high-flyer-worries-about-dublin-airport-s-capacity-constraints-1.2853695

So he is talking about the A380 coming into Dublin - but DUB needs work before it can.
    This is hinting at a new longer runway, but I read elsewhere the issues with the A380 in DUB is not the runway length but the parking gates ?

That guy prob read his info here. Ive actually had dealings with him in the distant past.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Parking is the biggest issue at the moment, and there is some work needed to make the rapid exit turnoffs more A380 friendly, due to the size of the aircraft. At present, while technically a 380 could be handled, it would need a lot of specific assistance from escort vehicles to get it to a parking stand (remote only at present), and the same again to get it off stand and on to the departure runway.

There might be technical issues with ground power, stairs, push back tugs, high loaders and high capacity air start units, but that's for the handling company to deal with, rather than DAA, so there should be enough lead time to deal with that for scheduled services. Shannon has accepted and handled several A380 diversions, so hopefully, there are not too many differences between the 380 and the larger 330's or 777's in terms of towbar, and things like toilet and water servicing.

There are no contact stands that can officially take a 380 at present, due to the slightly larger wingspan, there are plans in process to put in the necessary jetways on one of the T2 stands, and to increase the stand size, the planning application was reported some time ago, but we've not heard anything about a completion date, and I'd be worried about how quickly the taxi way improvements could be implemented, I suspect that the second runway will have to be in place before the changes needed could be carried out.

In terms of congestion, the issues are with slots and wide body stand availability, and a 380 will not help with slots, as the separation requirements for the 380 would mean the likely loss of a landing slot behind it, and a longer departure delay for following traffic, at peak periods that would not be helpful.

There is a stand congestion issue at T2, especially during the morning peak, simply because the turn round time for long haul wide body flights is longer than that required for a short haul flight, a short haul stand will probably be able to turn 3 flights in the time that a long haul will be on stand, and there's limited long haul stands on the older piers.

Given a pro active response from the DAA, there's nothing that can't be managed, but looking at the last number of years, their track record over time is not exactly stellar.

The 380 has a high passenger capacity, but more significantly, a large cargo capacity, which for some routes is significant, clearly some operators see a potential for use to Dublin, hopefully, the begrudgers will not immediately jump in and come out with the old mantra that there's not enough traffic to justify that size of aircraft. If the hub aspect of Dublin was more aggressively marketed, I can see IAG/EI justifying the use of larger airframes in time, and the longer the expansion of Heathrow is delayed, the better that chance becomes.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Ive just read on Twitter that QR will start DOH-DUB with a 788 in May, moving to A350 once the frames are available.

Nope. What the QR CEO actually griped about in a >140 character interview was that "we want to launch this route, using our B787s. But to do that we need Airbus to delivery the A350s to free up those B787s. We are at the mercy of Airbus"

Quite a few fanboys on DUB spotters facebook page getting a bit carried away with this info without actually looking beyond the soundbit.

So, no actual proof that the route will 100% launch. Just a PR blame game from a CEO who loves to court the media and cry wolf. If it doesnt launch he will blame Airbus, if the A350s get delivered he will say it was too late to launch or that the purple paint was the wrong shade and send it back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Another new route from Dublin to Pittsburgh has been announced by Wow Air....but of course involves the obligatory layover in Reykjavik. I don't understand why this airline's announcements are always seized by the media as new routes for Dublin when it involves a layover. I can fly Delta from Dublin to Havana via Atlanta or to Johannesburg via Amsterdam by KLM or 100s of other similar layover journeys with other airlines. Why are Wow's considered new Dublin services??

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/transport-and-tourism/wow-air-adds-more-ireland-to-us-flights-from-129-99-one-way-1.2857535

• Registered Users Posts: 7,856 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

ongarboy wrote: »
    Another new route from Dublin to Pittsburgh has been announced by Wow Air....but of course involves the obligatory layover in Reykjavik. I don't understand why this airline's announcements are always seized by the media as new routes for Dublin when it involves a layover. <snip>
    newspapers in Ireland (and their websites in particular) seem to pass on any press release given to them as being news without much thought into whether its newsworthy or not, and this is a prime example.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭Pat Dunne

ongarboy wrote: »
    Another new route from Dublin to Pittsburgh has been announced by Wow Air....but of course involves the obligatory layover in Reykjavik. I don't understand why this airline's announcements are always seized by the media as new routes for Dublin when it involves a layover. I can fly Delta from Dublin to Havana via Atlanta or to Johannesburg via Amsterdam by KLM or 100s of other similar layover journeys with other airlines. Why are Wow's considered new Dublin services??

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/transport-and-tourism/wow-air-adds-more-ireland-to-us-flights-from-129-99-one-way-1.2857535
    newspapers in Ireland (and their websites in particular) seem to pass on any press release given to them as being news without much thought into whether its newsworthy or not, and this is a prime example.

Why growl and grumble about it here? There is a comments section at the bottom of the Irish Time webpage carrying the story. Show em up for what it really is!

TE are saying Tuesday for EI route news and another source has confirmed Tuesday is the day and bigger announcement that I was expecting.....they have done well to keep most of it quiet!

I had been told Tuesday myself (by an EI staffer) but we've been fooled too many times before at this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Hopefully this is finally the one, we've been on edge since September!

JCX BXC wrote: »
    Hopefully this is finally the one, we've been on edge since September!

It is!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    TE are saying Tuesday for EI route news and another source has confirmed Tuesday is the day and bigger announcement that I was expecting.....they have done well to keep most of it quiet!

You big tease!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭man98

we've been on edge since September!
    September? Many posters here expected it in July :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭Noxegon

I'll believe it when the announcement is made.

I develop Superior Solitaire when I'm not procrastinating on boards.ie.

EI have dropped MIA onto website from 1 September....

3 a week. What else can we expect, as you said you were surprised they had kept most of it secret ;)

Van.Bosch wrote: »
    3 a week. What else can we expect, as you said you were surprised they had kept most of it secret ;)

My source is not really prepared to share much information.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,140 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Do ye think it was accidentally released?

I notice only the outbound flights are listed. EI141, departing at 15:00 on an A330-200.

My source is not really prepared to share much information.

Fair enough of course, based on Willie's comments in the US press it might be a second transatlantic route.

Do ye think it was accidentally released?

I notice only the outbound flights are listed. EI141, departing at 15:00 on an A330-200.

Yes as they gave a clue about MIA away a while ago but it was swiftly removed once pointed out to them and before many copped it.

Not at all surprising that A332 will likely operate.

Yes as they gave a clue about MIA away a while ago but it was swiftly removed once pointed out to them and before many copped it.

Not at all surprising that A332 will likely operate.

Or else it was a test before they went home for the day.