Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

awec wrote: »
    Donegal is too far out of the way.

I thought you were based in Belfast, didn't realise you were in Dublin (according to another poster)

The Lyrath in Kilkenny is nice. http://www.lyrath.com/

Cliffhouse in Waterford http://www.thecliffhousehotel.com/

On the less expensive side... Wesport Plaza is nice, loads to do in Westport http://www.westportplazahotel.ie/

Already mentioned but Wineport Lodge and Kellys in Rosslare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Have a look at the Holiday Guru app , you can get some great 2-3 night European deals for 120-160 incl flights and hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Donegal is too far out of the way.

Ah, only saw this now. What's your limit travel wise? Popping down as far as Wicklow only? Heading out into the midlands somewhere?

molloyjh wrote: »
    Plus the Tap Room does Kinnegar and wood fire pizzas. Never actually stayed there, but been in a couple of times and would rate it. Def an option awec. Even has an interesting rugby wall would you believe.

Look, we all know Donegal is the answer but he's ruled it out as too out of the way.

• awec wrote: »
    Don't really care about sun, we'll get that on proper honeymoon. Wouldn't mind somewhere cold.

Just something relaxing for a few days, but with a few things to do.

Dingle.

Fair few strolls (Kerry Camino). Whiskey Distillery. Tom Crean museum. Gaeltacht up the road. Conor Pass for a nice drive. Slea Head drive for another. Dick Macks & Foxy Johns for one or six Harps.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Plus the Tap Room does Kinnegar and wood fire pizzas. Never actually stayed there, but been in a couple of times and would rate it. Def an option awec. Even has an interesting rugby wall would you believe.

It's the kinnegar brewery's tap room. Those pizzas are amazing.

• Administrators Posts: 55,117 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ah, only saw this now. What's your limit travel wise? Popping down as far as Wicklow only? Heading out into the midlands somewhere?

Wedding is in Clare, we live in Dublin.

Ideally it'd be somewhere around either of these places (or in between the two), but an hour or two out of the way would be ok (like Kerry). Just don't want to be driving for 4 hours to Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

If you can get a pint of Harp in Foxy Johns I will pay for the wedding

(Dingle is a brilliant suggestion though, and loads of lovely places to stay around there)

dregin wrote: »
    It's the kinnegar brewery's tap room. Those pizzas are amazing.

Have you had the ice creams they do during the summer in the same flavour as the beers? My first time up I started with the beers, then had the pizza and then finished it off with beer and beer flavoured ice cream (tastes a lot nicer than it sounds). That was amazing.

Ideally it'd be somewhere around either of these places (or in between the two), but an hour or two out of the way would be ok (like Kerry). Just don't want to be driving for 4 hours to Donegal.

Kerry is further from Dublin than Donegal, but if you're going from Clare.... Kenmare is a nice spot, Lake Hotel in Killarney is lovely too.

The Wineport Lodge is probably about half way between Ennis and Dublin, so handy for both, 1hr30 ish either way.

In that case I'd be inclined to stay West. There's loads of nice places in Wicklow but you can go there any time from Dublin. Make the most of where you're going to be. Dingle sounds like a good shout.

• awec wrote: »

If you're looking for something a bit mental, I stayed here for a night on the way to Dingle a few weeks back. Great chats with the owners, lovely people, unbelievable views, local pub in the one-horse-town village is also the shop (too far to walk from the house unfortunately), distinct feeling of Father Ted about the house though! Felt like a step back in time, in a great way.

Also, while on the way there you could actually stop at the Father Ted house.

If you can get a pint of Harp in Foxy Johns I will pay for the wedding

(Dingle is a brilliant suggestion though, and loads of lovely places to stay around there)

I'll invite you if you pay for it!

And if anyone asks who you are just say you are my cousin Bruce from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

If you're starting from Clare definitely go to Dingle. I've been there 4 or 5 times now and it's always a great laugh with loads to do. If the weather is decent drive in our out via Conor pass(provided you're not terrified of heights and a decent driver). A pint in Foxy John's is a must.

Sounds like Dingle it is, I'll raise this with her ladyship this evening!

Rugby forum never lets me down!

Sounds like Dingle it is, I'll raise this with her ladyship this evening!

Rugby forum never lets me down!

You know it's a 4+ hour drive back to Dublin from Dingle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Scythica

Bled in Slovenia - don't know about flights from Ireland though, but my god its stunning

(and cheap)

You know it's a 4+ hour drive back to Dublin from Dingle...

Do you work for the Donegal tourist board? :D

Not at all. I was just down in Kerry a few weeks ago and it's a bloody long drive, even with the motorway going most of the way. Good early test for the marriage though, 4-5 hours in a car together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Not at all. I was just down in Kerry a few weeks ago and it's a bloody long drive, even with the motorway going most of the way. Good early test for the marriage though, 4-5 hours in a car together.

That's nothing to awec, he's done 10 whole minutes in a clothes shop with herself - without breaking down!

• Not at all. I was just down in Kerry a few weeks ago and it's a bloody long drive, even with the motorway going most of the way. Good early test for the marriage though, 4-5 hours in a car together.

Ah he'll be grand. A nice little stop off at Obama Plaza on the way too.

https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/Dingle,+Co.+Kerry,+Ireland/Moneygall,+Ireland/Dublin,+Ireland/@52.7276962,-10.5043141,7z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m20!4m19!1m5!1m1!1s0x484ffbc7249c4991:0xa00c7a99731cc00!2m2!1d-10.2640136!2d52.1409389!1m5!1m1!1s0x485ceea6f20cf57d:0xa00c7a997321580!2m2!1d-7.9578079!2d52.8797376!1m5!1m1!1s0x48670e80ea27ac2f:0xa00c7a9973171a0!2m2!1d-6.2603097!2d53.3498053!3e0

It's three hours from Dublin to Letterkenny, bit more then if you go further north or west.

I passed that myself the last day. Couldn't help but laugh. They've got a massive sign up for your man's pub where Obama had a pint and a big "Ancestral Home of Barack Obama" sign up too. Fair play to them, I say, milk it while you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I had a really nice sandwich at the Obama plaza just a few weeks ago actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

It was badly needed for that motorway. Since it was built a few more have sprung up.

That place is an abomination!

• Subscribers Posts: 43,231 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

That place is an abomination!

obama-nation

When I was in Kerry recently I passed through the Healy-Rae's hometown. It's quite something. They seem to own the whole place. One of the son's faces is above the pub, the other is on the gable end of a house beside their filling station and there's a smiling Jackie waving at you as you leave the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

When I was in Kerry recently I passed through the Healy-Rae's hometown. It's quite something. They seem to own the whole place. One of the son's faces is above the pub, the other is on the gable end of a house beside their filling station and there's a smiling Jackie waving at you as you leave the village.

Property prices must be through the floor...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

We've a holiday house in inch (about 20-25 mins from dingle) and I agree with the lads. Lovely bars, some great eating houses and if you are lucky you might find harp there!!