Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Released some details of his plans for SpaceX to go to Mars. Wants to sent a manned mission in the next decade.

I think he's a great guy and we'd be better off with a few more Elon Musks in the world but seems wildly optimistic. The video they released also hinted at terraforming Mars at the end. I don't believe there's any chance of this being close to possible within my lifetime.

Yes would take an incredibly long time to complete that but interesting to hear him suggest his opinion that there could be a fully sustainable population there within 40-100 years of the first landing. But he also made the point that it's up to other people to achieve that.

I didn't see his presentation, just the little CGI video on YouTube, did he give any details? The radiation, the cold, the gravity compared to earth, the lack of an atmosphere, I don't see how it's doable.

He said that radiation isn't an issue, he said he thinks the importance of it is overstated. He did say there might be an issue if there was a solar flare or storm during transit but if they repositioned the ship to have it's rear pointed to the sun as well as some other things he said the risks would be minimised and they would be halved further on Mars, he spoke about building microwave shields to reduce the risk further. He did accept there'd be an increase risk of cancer but he claimed it would be minimal.

He said they can heat up the planet but I don't remember if he went into any specifics as to exactly how they'd do it. I think I remember him addressing that before in the past but again I think he'd probably look to someone else to take on that part.

He said the gravity would be "fun". He also alluded to lower gravity conditions potentially making certain industries more profitable (IE Ricardian theory).

At the end though he made the point that he is basically building the transit that allows us to make it to Mars and it would be other businesses and governments which would go about actually doing everything after that point. I don't know what happens if noone else is ready by the time he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The radiation, the cold, the gravity compared to earth, the lack of an atmosphere, I don't see how it's doable.

Sorry is it Mars he's heading for or Drogheda?

• He's a Space Cadet himself

• Administrators Posts: 55,101 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Have none of you lads ever seen the Jetsons?!

Have a bit of faith!

• He said that radiation isn't an issue[1], he said he thinks the importance of it is overstated[2]. He did say there might be an issue if there was a solar flare or storm during transit[3] but if they repositioned the ship to have it's rear pointed to the sun as well as some other things he said the risks would be minimised[4] and they would be halved further on Mars[5] , he spoke about building microwave shields to reduce the risk further[6]. He did accept there'd be an increase risk of cancer but he claimed it would be minimal[7].

He said they can heat up the planet[8] but I don't remember if he went into any specifics as to exactly how they'd do it. I think I remember him addressing that before in the past but again I think he'd probably look to someone else to take on that part.

He said the gravity would be "fun". He also alluded to lower gravity conditions potentially making certain industries more profitable (IE Ricardian theory).

At the end though he made the point that he is basically building the transit that allows us to make it to Mars and it would be other businesses and governments which would go about actually doing everything after that point. I don't know what happens if noone else is ready by the time he is.

Well if Elon says it then it must be true...

Looking forward to the hyperloop that he has said this of
    Elon Musk wrote:
    .. honestly I think it's a lot easier than people think....
    ..it's really not that hard...
    ..I swear it's not that hard...

turns out there might be a few issues....

Well if Elon says it then it must be true...

Looking forward to the hyperloop that he has said this of

turns out there might be a few issues....

Well luckily this guy is completely free to making his youtube videos telling us why it won't ever happen while other people can make other youtube videos telling him why he's wrong in a sort of masturbatory unproductive "loop", which might end up very nicely mimicking the real thing! I'm just happy that in the meantime Musk continues spending millions/billions of dollars hiring engineers who work to achieve it, and if we end up advancing technology during the process then we all benefit even if he doesn't actually achieve the end result on time. At least it's someone reinvesting their ludicrous wealth.

For the Hyperloop, they're lucky in that they can start by transporting cargo wherever they end up building it, if they do, so they have a viable path to market for the eventual passenger system. It does seem his proposed timeline is completely mad.

• Well luckily this guy is completely free to making his youtube videos telling us why it won't ever happen while other people can make other youtube videos telling him why he's wrong in a sort of masturbatory unproductive "loop", which might end up very nicely mimicking the real thing! I'm just happy that in the meantime Musk continues spending millions/billions of dollars hiring engineers who work to achieve it, and if we end up advancing technology during the process then we all benefit even if he doesn't actually achieve the end result on time. At least it's someone reinvesting their ludicrous wealth.

For the Hyperloop, they're lucky in that they can start by transporting cargo wherever they end up building it, if they do, so they have a viable path to market for the eventual passenger system. It does seem his proposed timeline is completely mad.

Except of course that the video that you've just linked to doesn't in anyway actually debunk the one I did.

The depressurizing issue doesn't go away, not even with billions of dollars spent on it.

Except of course that the video that you've just linked to doesn't in anyway actually debunk the one I did.

The depressurizing issue doesn't go away, not even with billions of dollars spent on it.

Well I'm not a physicist, nor did I get time to see these videos (apart from a quick scan through to make sure he's not a loon!), but that's actually a video in a series of three and I believe they go on to address the pressurisation claims later.

EDIT: Oh turns out the guy in the original video isn't a physicist either. Well that explains that then

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Have any of ye in the IT world had a bad collarbone break? I'm two days out of surgery and still not sure what to tell work regarding when I'll be back. The doctors couldn't give a straighter answer other than "max of six weeks". Break is right down where the bone joins the shoulder, so a plate wasn't an option {at least its not what they wanted to goo with as first choice) - they've anchored the collarbone to a bone below instead.

dregin wrote: »
    Have any of ye in the IT world had a bad collarbone break? I'm two days out of surgery and still not sure what to tell work regarding when I'll be back. The doctors couldn't give a straighter answer other than "max of six weeks". Break is right down where the bone joins the shoulder, so a plate wasn't an option {at least its not what they wanted to goo with as first choice) - they've anchored the collarbone to a bone below instead.

Depends on where you work. Some places if you are signed out medically for six weeks you aren't allowed come back before that.

Most places though will allow you back early if you are well enough. I haven't had the break but someone I know came back mid way through the 3rd week (so two and a half weeks). Up until then they were still in discomfort and had a sling etc.

I'd give you're employer the full facts, it could be upto 6 weeks but you hope to be back much sooner and that as soon as you think you can manage your key responsibilities you will be in.

Can't say I've ever had that I'm afraid. If one of my guys had a broken collarbone I'd encourage them to take the time off though.

Anyone watching this season of South Park. Just watched 20.3 and it's a masterpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,997 ✭✭✭✭phog

I've been to the GPO, Collins Barracks & Kilmainham this year and would recommend all of them.

Are there any other venues in Dublin that have 1916 Exhibitions that are worth viewing?

Where is the Pearse museum and is it worthwhile?

phog wrote: »
    I've been to the GPO, Collins Barracks & Kilmainham this year and would recommend all of them.

Are there any other venues in Dublin that have 1916 Exhibitions that are worth viewing?

Pearse Museum is in St.Enda's park near Marley and just off the M50 in south Dublin.

It's a large house with Pearse related stuff in it. Personally I thought it was a complete snore fest but whilst I've an interest in Irish history, I never really took to Pearse as one of the rising leaders and consider him to have been an odd individual with a death wish.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Anyone watching this season of South Park. Just watched 20.3 and it's a masterpiece.

Was about to but chose You're the worst instead. Will catch it tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Josh Gordon you clown. The greatest player that never was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Buer wrote: »
    Josh Gordon you clown. The greatest player that never was.

Would it have gone any different if he was drafted by a top team like the Patriots? Cleveland seems like a basket case.

A team like that wouldn't have picked him, he went through the supplementary draft because he was such a lost cause in college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

A team like that wouldn't have picked him, he went through the supplementary draft because he was such a lost cause in college.

Ah I see. He was the leading receiver in 2013 despite missing two games, he obviously was a superstar when his head was right.

On another football topic, I saw the attendance record was broken for college football.

gettyimages-602245136.jpg

156,990 at Bristol Motor Speedway in Tennessee. Un-effin-real. I can't imagine the views were great though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Ah I see. He was the leading receiver in 2013 despite missing two games, he obviously was a superstar when his head was right.

Largely based on a record breaking 4 game run where he simply exploded. He was untouchable. He logged back to back 200 yard games during that run.

He wound up suspended after that and, when he came back in the middle of the 2014 season, he was a different player. His numbers were well down.

Given he has missed the entire 2015 season and is set to miss the entire 2016 season, he's pretty much done. Only a team with nothing to lose will give him a shot in their training camp, if even.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,775 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

A friend of mine has drafted him every single bloody year in fantasy so he'll have him when he gets back from suspension :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Well the Golf isn't going so well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

bilston wrote: »
    Well the Golf isn't going so well

You spelt shìte wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Have to win this session

2 1/2 to 1 1/2 is a bare minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭swiwi_

swiwi_ wrote: »

I doubt I will ever darken the door of this place and if the food is bad then it's bad but the Kehoes stuff is silly. That place is an institution, of course it's packed.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

phog wrote: »

The one in the ambassador was decent as long as you ignore the last part where sinn fein show their hand. Utter cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Fine place to get a drink, went on a date there a few weeks ago.