If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Philip Cairns' Murder finally confirmed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

Fleawuss wrote: »
    This case is an absolute mess. Its going nowhere. The chief suspect is dead and cannot answer charges. The Garda investigation is a shambles. The evidence brought forward recently seems to have been around for years. All we actually know after it all is that Philip Cairns is still missing. It looks like he always will be.
    In fairness we don't know what AGS are doing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,350 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I specifically asked for posts from people who are now up to date on this story
    Not the moronic knee jerk reactions from when the story broke.
    But you knew that already
    Nobody is "up to date" on this story.

We all only know what the media knows / thinks it knows / sees fit to publish, with God knows what agenda or just to titillate with a view to increasing sales.

Nobody on here has the full story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

We all only know what the media knows / thinks it knows / sees fit to publish, with God knows what agenda or just to titillate with a view to increasing sales.

couldn't agree more, but nonetheless there are some who see fit to call for the woman, 9 at the time, to be flung in jail for 30 years.

I can't help think that if she was so young at the time and witnessed any of this as seems to be the case that she might even have suffered memory loss as a result of PTSD. Anyway, it's very plausible that she has been living in incredible fear ever since hence I find the pitchfork bridge deeply offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭wokingvoter

Yes actual we're up to date with the story as presented to us in the media.
    The vast majority of us don't have any access to any current affairs stories other than through the media, as flawed as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

couldn't agree more, but nonetheless there are some who see fit to call for the woman, 9 at the time, to be flung in jail for 30 years.

I can't help think that if she was so young at the time and witnessed any of this as seems to be the case that she might even have suffered memory loss as a result of PTSD. Anyway, it's very plausible that she has been living in incredible fear ever since hence I find the pitchfork bridge deeply offensive.

It's unfortunate that your boards name is what it is in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Bear in mind this man was a vile human being, he strangled, raped, threatened.. Who knows what else..

Just hearing they have three separate samples of DNA off the bag. Jim Guerin said there were three people involved in the abduction...

Maybe one at least is Philips..

I hope they're not going to pin this on one already dead man if there were more involved particularly if they are still alive..

Unless there's a major development we never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Unless there's a major development that they decide to allow into the media we never will.

FYP

Unless there's a major development meaning an arrest leading to a successful prosecution and imprisonment we never will.

FMOPEFY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Curious, does everybody believe 100% now that Cooke murdered Philip?

A former DJ who worked at Radio Dublin and an ex-garda who worked
    on the case don't believe he did it. They were on Joe Duffy today. Both
    mentioned that the girl was only nine years old after all. Why did that
    disturbingly remind me of the reasons why many abused children did
    not report it? How many of them have we heard say over the years
    that they feared they would not be believed? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

FMOPEFY

Fixed My Own Post...EFY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

brooke 2 wrote: »
    A former DJ who worked at Radio Dublin and an ex-garda who worked
    on the case don't believe he did it. They were on Joe Duffy today. Both
    mentioned that the girl was only nine years old after all. Why did that
    disturbingly remind me of the reasons why many abused children did
    not report it? How many of them have we heard say over the years
    that they feared they would not be believed? :(

WHEN well-known DJ Gareth O’Callaghan learned that missing Philip Cairns was his cousin, he became “deeply touched” by the case - but he thinks the latest link to notorious paedophile Eamon Cooke “doesn’t add up”.

“Can you trust the evidence of a then 9-year-old girl who has come forward to say that she saw Cooke hitting him on the head? She was vulnerable and upset. Can we trust her statement so many years later?

“Now that I look back, the girls were never around for more than a week or two and then they disappeared. A girl who worked on my show told me she wouldn’t be coming back because her mother wouldn’t let her. I thought it was because of her studies but something far more sinister was going on that I wasn’t aware of.”
    Gareth said that looking back now it all seems so “shocking”.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/popular-dj-gareth-ocallaghan-the-link-between-paedophile-cooke-and-my-cousin-philip-doesnt-add-up-34796982.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

It's unfortunate irrelevant that your boards name is what it is in this thread.

:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

WHEN well-known DJ Gareth O’Callaghan learned that missing Philip Cairns was his cousin, he became “deeply touched” by the case - but he thinks the latest link to notorious paedophile Eamon Cooke “doesn’t add u

“Can you trust the evidence of a then 9-year-old girl who has come forward to say that she saw Cooke hitting him on the head? She was vulnerable and upset. Can we trust her statement so many years late

“Now that I look back, the girls were never around for more than a week or two and then they disappeared. A girl who worked on my show told me she wouldn’t be coming back because her mother wouldn’t let her. I thought it was because of her studies but something far more sinister was going on that I wasn’t aware of.”
    Gareth said that looking back now it all seems so “shocking”

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/popular-dj-gareth-ocallaghan-the-link-between-paedophile-cooke-and-my-cousin-philip-doesnt-add-up-34796982.html

I'm not sure this was wise of O Callaghan. He is not only speculating by but also questioning the bona fides of the witness.
    Who is going to come forward now given the way this witness has been vilified? I doubt he is acting as a spokesperson for the family. There for I think he would be well advised to shut up while there is the possibility of other witnesses coming forward now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

WHEN well-known DJ Gareth O’Callaghan learned that missing Philip Cairns was his cousin, he became “deeply touched” by the case - but he thinks the latest link to notorious paedophile Eamon Cooke “doesn’t add up”.

“Can you trust the evidence of a then 9-year-old girl who has come forward to say that she saw Cooke hitting him on the head? She was vulnerable and upset. Can we trust her statement so many years later?

Gareth said that looking back now it all seems so “shocking”.

Gerry Carroll said almost the same thing about the girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

LorMal wrote: »
    I'm not sure this was wise of O Callaghan. He is not only speculating by but also questioning the bona fides of the witness.
    Who is going to come forward now given the way this witness has been vilified? I doubt he is acting as a spokesperson for the family. There for I think he would be well advised to shut up while there is the possibility of other witnesses coming forward now.

I agree. I found his interview with joe duffy unsettling.

As there is no suspect to charge the witnesses will not be needed against Cooke. They might be needed against Gardai if GSOC takes a look.

There is a body to be found. We don't know the full truth yet. I suspect we will learn much more shortly.
    Witness testimony is still vital at this stage.

There is a body to be found. We don't know the full truth yet. I suspect we will learn much more shortly.

I hope witness or witnesses might be able to locate remains. I doubt it. Time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 mr_baynes

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Curious, does everybody believe 100% now that Cooke murdered Philip?

Philips father, who has since passed away, always implied in interviews that he had suspicions regarding the identity of the perpetrator and never insinuated at someone of Cookes description but then again he may have been wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,505 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Can anyone shed any light on the rumor of the peado ring operating in a local pub and what pub that might have been ? sick ****s out there there really are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Strumms wrote: »
    Can anyone shed any light on the rumor of the peado ring operating in a local pub and what pub that might have been ? sick ****s out there there really are..

At the moment, that is all rumour as far as I can tell. The sort of "ah, everyone knows/knew that was going on, I remember..." thing that people start suddenly remembering when speculating on past events through suspicion-tinged spectacles. Maybe there's some truth in it, maybe there isn't, maybe it's exaggerated truth.

I may be completely wrong, mind you. Just this story seems to trace back in circles with no clearly defined starter. It's got every element of rumour including twenty-three legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

Just adding this since its salient to the thread...

From twitter:
    So many aspects of the so-called 'new' developments in the Philip Cairns case make absolutely no sense but journalists swallow them whole

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/741948996307013632

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

This is purely speculation on my part, but I don't think that someone who was abused, manipulated, saw a murder and was a small child of nine would be in the best place mentally. Some have dismissed her speaking up as attention seeking
    "Attention seeking?" Ah, wtf is wrong with some people? :(

And stuff like "She was there, fainted, and now he is dead so she comes forward? Hmmm..." I don't get what's so "hmmm" about it.

It really does seem like this went further than just one person - that there were more people, in powerful positions, protecting/aiding them. I don't think it is feasible for such a thing, related to such a high-profile case of interest, to be kept quiet for three decades without sinister forces at play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,326 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

On newstalk today with Pat Kenny, they said if there is one it's probably in the container he used for bouncing radio signals from Montrose. There's now an apartment block on the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I agree.

Anytime O'Callaghan seems to comment on this case, it reads like he's promoting a book imo.
    I don't think he should comment on any of it. He started working at the station a year after the "Mutiny", (presumably Cooke would have cleaned up his day to day activities a great deal by then.) and says he was Philip Cairns cousin after researching his family tree and realised that they had the same Great grandfather. - He may well have been, but what relevance is that?
    Seems like a bit of a sad attempt at linking himself to the case any chance he gets.

Allyall wrote: »
    I agree.

Anytime O'Callaghan seems to comment on this case, it reads like he's promoting a book imo.
    I don't think he should comment on any of it. He started working at the station a year after the "Mutiny", (presumably Cooke would have cleaned up his day to day activities a great deal by then.) and says he was Philip Cairns cousin after researching his family tree and realised that they had the same Great grandfather. - He may well have been, but what relevance is that?
    Seems like a bit of a sad attempt at linking himself to the case any chance he gets.

I don't mean to be nasty to him but I do think he tends to attention seek. It's not appropriate behaviour in these circumstances.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/philip-cairns-case-garda-to-interview-ex-radio-dublin-staff-1.2683266
    Retired detective inspector Gerry O’Carroll, said: “I have serious questions. I don’t for one instance feel all the dots have been joined or that we have yet reached a stage of conclusivity that Eamon Cooke took little Philip... Part of this entire story lacks credibility.
    “I can’t figure out how this little witness of nine years of age, who was an abused child herself, could have witnessed what went on in the studio without someone seeing.

'I don't feel all the dots have been joined' 'part of this story lacks credibility' - he's just having a guess himself.
    What does he mean 'I can’t figure out how this little witness of nine years of age, who was an abused child herself, could have witnessed what went on in the studio without someone seeing.'.
    Why not? It was hardly BBC Television Centre.

Gerry O'Carroll was never one to let facts get in the way.