Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playstation VR Discussion Thread

Doge wrote:
    Cant see how a golf game is only 3 hours long also, where did you read that?

They were talking about Falcon Age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

3 hours? I'll wait for a sale so.

Tried EVerybody's Golf VR Demo last night, and yes, I'm buying it. Can only do the practice range, and they pricktease you with one of the holes from a course, but you can't actually play it. But the practice was enough to let me know I'll be getting this. I reckon it will take off!

I'm maybe too excited for it. The second I stood at the tee looking down at the fairway/green I was blown away. It felt like I was on a course for real.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,865 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm maybe too excited for it. The second I stood at the tee looking down at the fairway/green I was blown away. It felt like I was on a course for real.

Yeah, I definitely had a few minutes of just taking it all in. I'm really excited for it, I think this will be the next must have VR game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Got to give the golf a go today!!
    Yeah it's seems good.
    Took me a couple goes to get the controls down. I was trying to really swing the move at first.

Kinda stupid you cannot play the actual hole on it. But it looks cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭Doge

They were talking about Falcon Age

My apologies! Couldn't figure out why a golf game would have such low replay value!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

Where are people getting the golf demo? All I can find in the PS store is the option to preorder the full game

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Where are people getting the golf demo? All I can find in the PS store is the option to preorder the full game

Doesn't show up on the search. I think you need to go to the demos section

JimBurnley wrote: »
    Doesn't show up on the search. I think you need to go to the demos section

It took me a good 5 mins to find the demo tab after reading your post! :o

Bit silly it doesn't come up in the search

• Registered Users Posts: 13,657 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

any confirmation on the price and release date?

I'm on the UK store and it's 24.99 stg. Coming out on 22/5

great price... I was up for a copy of Rage 2 as well (probably only flatscreen game I'm interested in at the mo) but it's up around €65.

We're very lucky in the VR world sometimes :)

If anyone is still looking for it, you'll find it if you search 'Golf VR'.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Are people playing the Everybody's Golf Demo on the Pro? I've only the standard PS4 and while I really enjoyed the demo, the blurring in the distance really ruined it for me. I couldn't see where my ball ended up!

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SomeSayKos

Would be good if the demo let you play 1 hole. The driving range seemed grand, but it'd be nice to get a feel for how an actual round plays out. seems good though!

SomeSayKos wrote: »
    Would be good if the demo let you play 1 hole. The driving range seemed grand, but it'd be nice to get a feel for how an actual round plays out. seems good though!

100% this was a massive disappointment they bring to the hole and go look this is what we can do but you are not hitting a ball at it, oh no! But they game to do that, enjoy yourself on the driving range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Yeah I found the Golf demo a bit ridiculous in that respect - it's great you are letting me hit the ball over and over again, but any chance I could play even a single hole to see how it works from tee to putt?

Anybody getting aboard the hype train yet for Blood & Truth? :)

Some guy on reddit said it's possible to play the entire hole by not pressing the circle button or whatever. I'll try to find it...

https://www.reddit.com/r/PSVR/comments/bnqj9i/everybodys_golf/

Scroll down to the question about "playing entire hole"

I dunno if it works as I'm abroad and have yet to sample the delights of VR golf :/

In the demo, you can play a full hole from the pitch training. You can't do it with the driving range, but select the pitching practice, and after the ball has come to a stop, one of the face buttons on the controller is to continue, think it's O also.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Update announced for Firewall later this month, including 2 new maps (one initially in aircraft hangar, another to follow at later date). Could be a good time to dust off the old Aim controller

I chipped in from 100 yards today :) Haven't looked forward to a game like this since Skyrim VR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

JimBurnley wrote: »
    Update announced for Firewall later this month, including 2 new maps (one initially in aircraft hangar, another to follow at later date). Could be a good time to dust off the old Aim controller

I think both maps are coming in the update (Hangar and F.O.B) along with a UI overhaul and intro of daily tasks etc. Can’t wait for this update myself, still my favorite PSVR game.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,220 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

In the demo, you can play a full hole from the pitch training. You can't do it with the driving range, but select the pitching practice, and after the ball has come to a stop, one of the face buttons on the controller is to continue, think it's O also.

Anyone tried this?
    Does it work.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Anyone tried this?
    Does it work.

Yes. It's just on the approach practice. It's a not real hole.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,544 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Anyone know what happened to Minotaur Project from Jeff Minter?
    I've been waiting for it for ages and no sign, and not a peep on-line either

I know it's not PSVR but some of ye don't read outside this thread but this kicks so much ass

mrcheez wrote: »
    I know it's not PSVR but some of ye don't read outside this thread but this kicks so much ass

Class, but don't use it outside, the sun will destroy the screen/lenses.

Not really a problem in Ireland on most days.

I think most people warning about that are living in the US where Spring/Summer would be akin to France/Spain.

I might take it for a spin in a football field next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Are people playing the Everybody's Golf Demo on the Pro? I've only the standard PS4 and while I really enjoyed the demo, the blurring in the distance really ruined it for me. I couldn't see where my ball ended up!

It's making me consider getting a Pro. But then should I just wait for PS5. Not sure what the best strategy is?

mrcheez wrote: »

This is deadly.

The best part will be the videos posted of lads with VR headsets running under cars and off cliffs.
    More then likely into walls and tripping over things!!

But this is a great bit of tech all the same. Best of luck with the purchase.
    Don't have the funds to be upgrading to this just yet!

coolisin wrote: »
    The best part will be the videos posted of lads with VR headsets running under cars and off cliffs.
    More then likely into walls and tripping over things!!

I'm more worried about running into a set of goal posts ... I think start midfield and then every 5 mins or so just lift up headset to get a bearing ;)