Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Gamebred wrote: »

Don't know what to make of that. No way its real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

That bully was planted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Haha ridiculous.

Totally different posture walk etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

some setup involved for a fake video...still clinging to the hope this is real...john, you have any insider knowledge on it? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

califano wrote: »
    Thinly veiled brag you were in the company of a said American nutritionist:pac:.

You completely missed the context of that comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

Depp wrote: »
    some setup involved for a fake video...still clinging to the hope this is real...john, you have any insider knowledge on it? :D

Seems like a real video of a guy who looks somewhat like Conor,doesn't sound one bit like him imo,but who knows what lengths people go to these days in the name of getting some internet attention,maybe it is all a work.

newbbieb wrote: »
    Seems like a real video of a guy who looks somewhat like Conor,doesn't sound one bit like him imo,but who knows what lengths people go to these days in the name of getting some internet attention,maybe it is all a work.

It's 100% a fake video. No doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Doesn't sound like him at all, has a different beard to him and I can't remember McGregor walking around Dublin in a suit when there is no press stuff going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Went in to get my book signed by John, it went really well...... :o

20161028_134537_2.jpg

Wore the Reebok gear 'n all! Shameless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Very nicely done! :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

No even attempt to defend the choke poor heart shown Wonder you're a fanboy gazelle ha

Fair play to John making time for ya.

20161028_134537_2.jpg

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Any mods able to rename this the "Wonderfullife stories, ramblings and self-promotion page"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Best thing that ever happened in the thread, without a doubt! :D

Sorry for questioning you the other day!

You win!

Any mods able to rename this the "Wonderfullife stories, ramblings and self-promotion page"?

You're welcome to put in 16 hours of your free-time to write a free-MMA-blog with no ads on it and post it here.

I might ramble but i'm at least trying to talk about MMA, give people reading material for their Luas/bus home and drive discussion in the forum. Are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

20161028_134537_2.jpg

Whatever anyone wants to say about JK the one thing that he is without a doubt is a sound fecker. People make stupid posts about his coaching but anyone who's trained under him or had a chat with him will all tell you the same thing, he's a good auld skin.

Brilliant photo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

BOHtox wrote:
    What's his snapchat?

Jitzwrestler

• Company Representative Posts: 64 Verified rep JohnSBG

People make stupid posts about his coaching
    what have people being saying?? :confused::confused::eek:

just playing, nice to meet you 'wonderfullife' - clearly have a lot of knowledge on our sport.

@JohnSBG

Word of advice,I wouldnt take photo ops like this if I was you as people have sued Matt Hughes and Chuck Lidell for similar claiming they were left with ''injuries,emotional distress and mental anguish'' so just a heads up.

• Company Representative Posts: 64 Verified rep JohnSBG

Gamebred wrote: »
    @JohnSBG

Word of advice,I wouldnt take photo ops like this if I was you as people have sued Matt Hughes and Chuck Lidell for similar claiming they were left with ''injuries,emotional distress and mental anguish'' so just a heads up.

they're welcome to give that a go.

JohnSBG wrote: »

In this day and age dont be surprised Coach,

Good luck with Peter tonight!

JohnSBG wrote: »

Well, there goes my dastardly plan..... :D

Thanks again John, i look forward to seeing the Dream Team in action tomorrow night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

@johnSBG, any idea if that above video of Conor and the bully is real?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    @johnSBG, any idea if that above video of Conor and the bully is real?

He answered on twitter,no its not.

Last time Conor fought at 155

McGregor_Main2.jpg

Looked terrific hes grown since no doubt,a scary prospect at an optimum weight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

20161028_134537_2.jpg

Just end the thread now

Perfect ending and fitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Fair play for coming down, dude! I actually read your article on BE the day it went up. Good stuff. You can only get better at writing, never worse. Unless you lose motor function, obviously. Was my confused bemusion to being asked a photo op that bad that you wouldn't post it, or is it for your personal collection!? 😂

I suppose I did give myself away with my punctuation, you sluethy ba$terds.

I hope i'm not betraying anyone here but i really wanted to share this story.

When i walked into SBG i saw Richy Condon and asked for a selfie. I'm not sure if he was honoured or freaked out! I suspect 50% of Column A, 50% Column B :D

Anyway, i had a brief chat with him and he told me to go sit on the couch in reception, that John was "expecting me". Ominous!

There was a class on and i could see Sinead Kavanagh, Dylan Tuke and Luka Jelcic in the distance on the mats. I went and sat down. You can't see the mats from the couch, so i saw John strolling towards me at the very last second. He smiled and very graciously signed my book and had a chat with me. When i looked towards the mat i saw everyone was still working.

So, he had made some time mid-class for me. That'll stick with me.

I asked him would he mind if i waited around discretely to try get a photo with Sinead and Dylan. I kept a low-profile, i didn't want to distract from the important stuff going on. I'm very aware the last thing John needs is Conor super-fans mobbing the gym. So, i kept a low-profile and never moved out of the reception area.

On the couch beside me was a disabled, mute guy in a zip-up Liverpool tracksuit top. I'm not good at guessing age and even less so with people of disability but i'd say he was mid-30's. He was clutching a copy of the EA Sports UFC game. He kept tapping me on the shoulder and pointing to Conor McGregors face on the game and smiling at me and making joystick movements with his hands.

I've never really tried to communicate with a mute person before but i tried to keep it to single words like "playstation?!!". He'd poke me again on the shoulder, just to point to the game and Conor again and smile. I pointed to Ronda on the game and said "Ronda Rousey (yeah)?" and he shook his head.

This repeated for half an hour.

It then moved to hugging. He'd poke my shoulder, point to his game and throw his arms wide for a hug. All i could do was smile and give him a hug and a thumbs-up.

I spotted Sinead leaving and asked her for a quick selfie and she very kindly chatted to me for a few mins about Invicta, Cris Cyborg, a 145 UFC division, the Belfast card etc. A little fella was with her (Her son maybe?), he looked about 9 or 10 to me and he absolutely blew me away. I had come to meet John for a signature but this little fella was amazing!! He was able to accurately tell me Gegard Mousasi's last few opponents, debate the merits of the Belfast card and give an overview of the womens 135lb division!!

I was happy with my lot at that stage. I had my book signed, a selfie with Sinead, a quick chat with Richie Smullen about the upcoming Bamma card. I was raging i missed Dylan Tuke and Aisling Daly (they actually drove past me while i went wandering down the street checking bus times the old school way).

Just as i was about to leave Conor arrived and the mute guy ran over to me jumping up and down waving trying to get Conors attention. He then pushed me on the shoulder and did a beard sign with his hands and pointed to the game and pointed towards Conor. His smile was unreal. He didn't need words.

Conor ducked in to the changing rooms. A short while later he came back out and the fella jumped up and down again waving his arms in the air. And poking me again with the "it's him, it's him" look on his face. And another hug.

Conor is 2 weeks from the biggest fight of his life. He walked over with Colin Byrne and gave this man a proper, genuine hug, a huge smile and patiently waited while the man handed us his IPad and made photo signals with his hands. Conor took the iPad from him, launched the camera and we took photos of the 3 of them together. The mute guy stood beside Conor, kept pointing to his UFC game, poking Conor in the arm and pointing to Conors face on the game, in a "you're on the cover of this game!!!" way. Conor was like "haha yeah i am".

I'm telling ye lads, words could not describe the look on this guys face and how happy he was.

Say whatever you want about Conor McGregor but that was a touch of pure class.

SBG - a great tribe.

(For any begrudgers, i'm not looking to give McGregor a Sainthood or the keys to the city, so relax).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭MichaelScarn

Normally just a reader/browser but joined boards to have my say.

I followed the debate between Wonderfullife and JK about JK's online postings. I think Wonderfullife was coming from a place of concern for JK's image. Don't know if JK realises he is on a world stage now so his craic might not be perceived as such! No harm done though.

Wonderfullife, your articles are brilliant and can only get better, and your contributions are excellent to this forum. You should branch into podcasting and other mediums.

JK you are by many accounts a savagely nice fella. I bought your book and I found your perseverance to be inspiring...in your position I would have probably folded and gone on to get a "normal" job. Best of luck in New York! If Conor is going on a break I look forward to you being able to develop your other talents at the gym.