Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,254 ✭✭✭SteM

Embedded #1

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    Going by the body language of Nate. I dont think he cares if he wins or loses.

All about cashing in on the fight.

Course he cares, its a huge opportunity for him financially, but he knows he is at a disadvantage due to stepping in at the last minute and its a big ask for him.

Since I guarantee I need to clarify this, I am not saying he would beat Conor with a full camp, I am saying it is naturally a disadvantage to have to step in to a fight with 11 days notice.

He cares, and I hope he shows up with the right attitude and in the best shape he can be for fight night and makes a contest out of it, don't expect him to see the end of the 2nd round either way though.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

How is Conor supposed to cut back to 145, realistically do we think he'll ever defend that belt? He's about 175-180 with very little fat right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

How is Conor supposed to cut back to 145, realistically do we think he'll ever defend that belt? He's about 175-180 with very little fat right now.

I can't see it happening. I say he just wants the status of having held two (possibly three??) belts, & once 'that photo' is taken, he'll vacate the 145 belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Myrddin wrote: »
    I can't see it happening. I say he just wants the status of having held two (possibly three??) belts, & once 'that photo' is taken, he'll vacate the 145 belt.

It gets more complicated if he loses to RDA, then he's just a contender climbing the ranks again (assuming he vacates the 145 belt). I'm assuming he'd drop just back down if he lost, it'll be difficult now though.

Very true, , I guess whatever happens next really comes down to 196, & 200 with RDA.

I know this goes against the current thinking, but I find it hard to believe that McGregor won't defend the 145 belt at least once. Surely he'll want to defend it once just to cement his 'legacy'. I mean, does it not tarnish his championship reign if he never defended the belt?

SteM wrote: »
    I know this goes against the current thinking, but I find it hard to believe that McGregor won't defend the 145 belt at least once. Surely he'll want to defend it once just to cement his 'legacy'. I mean, does it not tarnish his championship reign if he never defended the belt?

I'd say he'd love to, but the weight cut for 145 looks as if it damn near kills him. I don't think it'll ever tarnish his achievements, if he did take the 155 belt, 145 would simply have been a stepping stone for him in cementing his legacy if the UFC as the first person to ever hold two belts.

But John Kavanagh suggested that the weight cut for the Aldo fight wasn't as bad as for previous fights because they had some new specialist on board.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

If there was a division full of killers chasing him he'd nearly have to defend it but hes beaten Aldo Mendes and Holloway on the way up rest the division is finished for him,Edgar fight isnt a huge ppv earner is he worth starving himself to get down and fight? I dont think so,If Edgar wants to fight him have it at 155 some time,Soon as Conor has the 155 or 170 belt he will vacate the 145 but he needs to keep hold of it so hes the current 2 weight champ for the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,044 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Aldo explains why he turned down the fight... (Article in the Journal.ie)

"JOSE ALDO INSISTS that he does want an opportunity to avenge his defeat to Conor McGregor, but this Saturday just came a little too soon.

Aldo was the only featherweight champion in UFC history until this past December, when he was knocked out by McGregor in just 13 seconds at UFC 194.

The 29-year-old has been calling for a rematch ever since, claiming that he’d be willing to face the Irish star “any time, anywhere”.
    The opportunity to do so arose for Aldo last week when an injury forced Rafael dos Anjos to withdraw from his bout against McGregor, which was scheduled for UFC 196 this Saturday.

The UFC offered Aldo the chance to replace his fellow Brazilian at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, but he turned it down because he wasn’t prepared.

“Any professional needs time to train,” Aldo told Ariel Helwani on The MMA Hour. “It’s not a cockfight where I go there and put my rooster in to fight. It’s a high-level sport, I’m going there to do my job. When I have time to train, it can happen at any time, anywhere.”

No announcement has yet been made regarding the next challenge for Aldo — who’s keen to feature at UFC 200 in Las Vegas on 9 July — but he’s adamant that the only fight that makes sense is a featherweight title bout.

The picture is currently unclear in the 145lbs division. McGregor may be the champion but as he prepares to face Nate Diaz this weekend at 170lbs, speculation is increasing that his time as a featherweight has come to an end. Frankie Edgar is also desperate for a shot at the 145lbs title.

“I know I deserve an immediate rematch,” Aldo said. “People who say I don’t, I don’t care about them. What’s important is what the UFC think and what [my team] think. We came to the conclusion that we’re having an immediate rematch.”

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Course he cares, its a huge opportunity for him financially, but he knows he is at a disadvantage due to stepping in at the last minute and its a big ask for him.
    I'd be surprised if this financial opportunity is affected by whether he wins or loses.
    The extra muscle he's put on would come off easily if he needed it too.

It's be a lot easier for us mere mortals if muscle was permanent. ;)

i remember reading christian bale turned up to the audition for batman begins and NOLAN said he was scrawney. He came back 4 months later and was too big, nearly 210lbs apparently!!

NOLAN said "he looked like a bear" and demanded he shed the muscle!!
    Bale ran on the treadmill till he burned into his muscles and took himself to cira 190lbs!! so YES I think he could do it, dont you just starve the muscles like marathon runner would do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Mellor wrote: »
    I'd be surprised if this financial opportunity is affected by whether he wins or loses.

Wut?

Of course it will have an effect whether he wins or loses, he wins he becomes the guy who stopped the runaway train that is McGregor, he gets talked about for title shots, he gets a much stronger hand in the next contract negotiation.

He loses, he becomes just another number and his big payday is a one off.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭OrgasmicBaz

I think Edgar deserves a shot at the FW belt, currently he's 5-0 and his recent losses came to Bendo & Aldo which is respectable.

People saying that it wouldn't generate much interest must be mad! He's one of the most consistent fighters around and could give McGregor a real head ache with his movement & wrestling. I honestly thought that was the fight they were going to go with after Edgar & McGregor exchanged a few words & disposed of Mendes the night before

Other than Diaz been a head case, this fight isn't one that im hugely excited about. I can see Diaz losing the head halfway through the 1st round, hands down, inviting McGregor to engage which would be a mistake

Either way, its a McGregor fight so im looking forward to it, but would of preferred Edgar to Diaz / RDA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

Every fight Conor has, people are saying if it goes to ground he's screwed. He has a brown belt in BJJ, they don't hand them out for fun, could he really be that bad on the ground? Or is it just that he's at such a high level now that the guys he's facing are elite grapplers/wrestlers?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

His striking is so good that we haven't seen his ground game tested.Maybe once when he did brilliantly to escape the guillotine v Mendes. As you said, he's a brown belt and has probably spent thousands of hours on the mat rolling with John and Gunni

I should add, he was on the ground for 2 rounds against Holloway too and completely dominated with 1 leg

I think personally he would destroy frankie edgar and has nowt to prove.
    It's not a fight I'd be happy to see. edgar has a real in-two punches-out two punches, one overhand and duck under for take down style. he stood up with maynard and his face was recognizable by the end of the round, amazingly he won the fight going on to beat maynard but imagine that was mcgregor, sorry but he'd be finished. again I think looking at the height in that division, he's like Gulliver, with the exception of maybe hollaway and poirier when he fought em, but the big 3, Lamas, Mendes and edgar are like satellites in that 145, waiting for a 2nd and 3rd shot!!! it bores me to tears!

**** off edgar, your best is behind you!! I know ill get slated but he beat penn twice, maynard about 3 times and on and on, he has a great profile and legacy at 155, I'd see it being smashed by mcgregor being too sharp and powerful, new blood and all that.

Mcgregors strength lies in his ability to close off the cage, force you back and land amazing shots. he closes distance with punches and those switchkicks which are super effective, once they've had a taste of that power, they're on the back foot and panic under immense pressure (brandao, siver and poirer) , they abandon strategy and the blows reign in!! you need someone to charge in at conor only there's the problem, he's super at fighting backwards, look at aldo, brimage and Buchinger!!!

he is right, they do all want it, til they get it and then it's like sparring a beast you thought looked easy enough to figure out from your armchair!!

on my break so loads of time to waffle!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I think Edgar deserves a shot at the FW belt, currently he's 5-0 and his recent losses came to Bendo & Aldo which is respectable.

People saying that it wouldn't generate much interest must be mad! He's one of the most consistent fighters around and could give McGregor a real head ache with his movement & wrestling. I honestly thought that was the fight they were going to go with after Edgar & McGregor exchanged a few words & disposed of Mendes the night before

Other than Diaz been a head case, this fight isn't one that im hugely excited about. I can see Diaz losing the head halfway through the 1st round, hands down, inviting McGregor to engage which would be a mistake

Either way, its a McGregor fight so im looking forward to it, but would of preferred Edgar to Diaz / RDA

Frankie is another free tv fighter of late the last few years he hasnt been on ppv,his skills have nothing to do with it generating interest people seem to mix up skills and skills to sell a fight,hes a quiet humble guy who doesnt talk **** hes not a ppv star it has zero to do with his wrestling or movement why it wouldnt generate interest,there is much bigger paying fights out there for Conor than cutting to 145.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,044 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Awesome promo pic...

12813909_1221499691251661_7317286752617459616_n.jpg?oh=09de217e2038e4d1eb7e53ad3fb60275&oe=574AE9C2&__gda__=1465872230_b85aea63ae9be56b77d731d08a08cd6f

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Isn't Edgar injured so either way they fight wouldn't be happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,306 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Great response from Madadi there at the end. Looks like the lads don't want none of the 'Bums who picked against Conor' video that will eventually make it's way online. Population....Mike Wilkinson.

Isn't Edgar injured so either way they fight wouldn't be happening?

To my knowledge Edgar was not injured when they announced McGregor / RDA, but I may be mistaken.

rusty cole wrote: »
    It's not a fight I'd be happy to see. edgar has a real in-two punches-out two punches, one overhand and duck under for take down style. he stood up with maynard and his face was recognizable by the end of the round, amazingly he won the fight going on to beat maynard but imagine that was mcgregor, sorry but he'd be finished. again I think looking at the height in that division, he's like Gulliver, with the exception of maybe hollaway and poirier when he fought em, but the big 3, Lamas, Mendes and edgar are like satellites in that 145, waiting for a 2nd and 3rd shot!!! it bores me to tears!

**** off edgar, your best is behind you!! I know ill get slated but he beat penn twice, maynard about 3 times and on and on, he has a great profile and legacy at 155, I'd see it being smashed by mcgregor being too sharp and powerful, new blood and all that.

Mcgregors strength lies in his ability to close off the cage, force you back and land amazing shots. he closes distance with punches and those switchkicks which are super effective, once they've had a taste of that power, they're on the back foot and panic under immense pressure (brandao, siver and poirer) , they abandon strategy and the blows reign in!! you need someone to charge in at conor only there's the problem, he's super at fighting backwards, look at aldo, brimage and Buchinger!!!

he is right, they do all want it, til they get it and then it's like sparring a beast you thought looked easy enough to figure out from your armchair!!

So your saying he has nowt to prove in the FW division? I think he should at least defend his belt at least once then move on to LW / WW. Yes he has blitzed through everyone on his way to the belt but that question would always be there what if he defended the belt against Edgar or even Aldo.

You & I mentioned his movement, in & out, that would be something that we haven't seen Conor come up against yet, and to me it would make an interesting fight. Edgar's footwork is up there with Mighty Mouse & Cruz. Plus he is durable, and has a good chin. He isn't the most entertaining Edgar, but id rather see a good fight than a good embedded series leading up to it

And im not slating McGregor in any way, personally i love him as a fighter and think he's hillarious. I say he would do RDA at 155 but taking on Lawler & the other WW is a different beast altogether

ps this arm chair is nice & cosy mate :)

So your saying he has nowt to prove in the FW division? I think he should at least defend his belt at least once then move on to LW / WW. Yes he has blitzed through everyone on his way to the belt but that question would always be there what if he defended the belt against Edgar or even Aldo.

You & I mentioned his movement, in & out, that would be something that we haven't seen Conor come up against yet, and to me it would make an interesting fight. Edgar's footwork is up there with Mighty Mouse & Cruz. Plus he is durable, and has a good chin. He isn't the most entertaining Edgar, but id rather see a good fight than a good embedded series leading up to it

And im not slating McGregor in any way, personally i love him as a fighter and think he's hillarious. I say he would do RDA at 155 but taking on Lawler & the other WW is a different beast altogether

ps this arm chair is nice & cosy mate :)

I dunno, I think movement wise, Holloway looked more of threat than edgar and he seemed overwhelmed by McGregor. yes it would be a decent enough fight but I think a few thumps and it's over. he'd need to get very busy with counter punching on the way out which he's known for, again edgar is with Lamas and mendes down in Lilliput!! mcgregors reach advantage is fat too much but look, I'd say yes, let him defend it though cos you're correct, real champs defend!! at least once anyway!
    I think edgar would end up like denis siver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Gene_Parmesan

rusty cole wrote: »

I think you're selling Frankie very short here tbh.

Edgar by all accounts walked around at 155/156 while he was the held the 155lb title. Yes, he was smaller than everyone at 155. That's where a large part of his appeal came from. The small guy that gets smashed in fights because his opponents are much bigger than him gutting it out and still having enough to come through. The smallest division in the UFC was 155lbs and he hald that title fighting much bigger guys. there was no place for the likes of Dillashaw, Cruz, Faber, Mighty Mouse etc and by rights Frankie) in the UFC while Frankie fought there and held a title there against much bigger opponents. Its a large reason that he was one of my favourite fighters to watch back then and is put further into perspective by the fact that a potential move to bantamweight is being mentioned - because he could make that weight easily.

Also, FWIW, he beat BJ Penn 3 times (Frankie's title shot against BJ, BJ's title rematch and a third unnecessary match at FW after they coached TUF) and fought Gray Maynard twice (a draw and a win - both very good fights, particularly the first). In fact, his only losses in the last 8 years came in title fights against Benson Henderson (a massive lightweight at the time who now competes at Welterweight - whom Frankie beat in their second fight IMO) and Jose Also, who you may have heard of (in a very close fight that a lot of people think Frankie won - not me).

Since that loss he has gone 5-0 against some of the best names in the division.

Also, Edgar is 34. Heavyweight champion Fabricio Werdum is 38, Lightweight champion Daniel Cormier is 36, Welterweight champion Robbie Lawler is 33 (5 months younger than Frankie) and Holly Holm is 34.

But yeah... "**** off edgar, your best is behind you!!" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

RonanP77 wrote: »
    Every fight Conor has, people are saying if it goes to ground he's screwed. He has a brown belt in BJJ, they don't hand them out for fun, could he really be that bad on the ground? Or is it just that he's at such a high level now that the guys he's facing are elite grapplers/wrestlers?

A brown belt from JK is a black belt in other places. The man does not give out belts easily, I've seen and heard about even the blue belt tests being insane.

I've watched Conor roll a few times and he's very good on the ground, he's just never needed it really as the fights don't really get to that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭VisibleGorilla

RonanP77 wrote: »
    People have this view for a few reasons;
    • His two losses are both from submissions
    • He was helpless on the ground against Mendes, asking the ref to stand them up.
    • He seems to avoid anyone with a wrestling/BBJ background bar Mendes.
    • Only seen glimpses of him on the ground vs Holloway where he was ok.
    • He really only has that straight left that no one can seem to avoid.

He is going up against a black belt with several finishes by submission, I'd expect him to be much worse than Diaz on the ground.