If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

This is just astounding. Who are all the crazy stupid people?

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/793540267294986244

A least 50% of the people I know regularly drink and drive and make no attempt to hide it.As a thing to do its just not taboo and really hasnt reduced much despite all the checkpoints and publicity :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Can't believe that figure.

200 !!!

Thought figures like that existed in 1986 not 2016

Driving while drink taken doesnt even enter the furthest parts of my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭maximum12

Can't believe that figure.

200 !!!

Thought figures like that existed in 1986 not 2016

Driving while drink taken doesnt even enter the furthest parts of my mind.

On what basis are you shocked? Numbers are meaningless without context. If we don't know how many people were tested, then 200 is a meaningless number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

If they were to have a checkpoint out my way they would get at least 20-30 drunk/ish drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 LSVCP

Who still drinks drives in this day & age?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

LSVCP wrote: »

Obviously lots of people ;)

Sadly seems to be the way... I wish more people would wake up to the risks involved.
    There should be a confidential line that you could report people that have been drink driving. a former neighbour of mine worked with a close friend. The close friend told me they were drink driving every Friday. And they would be drinking from lunchtime, driving to schools, then around housing estates.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,830 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I'd say a good chunk of that 200 is people caught the morning after a night out. Unless you have a breathalyser at home, it's nearly impossible to tell whether you've still got alcohol on your breath and you might feel 100% fine and you might have to be somewhere etc.

The last time I was breathalysed was in Portugal and they asked had I drank the night before. This was at 4pm in the evening, so either they were idiots or they do catch people still drunk at 4pm the day after a big night.

I know of one country pub in Galway that would be packed with cars until the early hours and come closing time, everyone gets in their car and drives home. They sell very few soft drinks and all the locals know to text the owner if they see a checkpoint on the nearby roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

maximum12 wrote: »
    On what basis are you shocked? Numbers are meaningless without context. If we don't know how many people were tested, then 200 is a meaningless number.

Shockingly high...regardless of the amount tested.

Funnily enough, we run a checkpoint & speed van page for all provinces in ireland. This is one checkpoint notification we refuse to post.

Drink driving cost's lives, and if your going try avoid a checkpoint with drink on you, we don't want a part to play in that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

need a bit of this :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

rex-x wrote: »
    A least 50% of the people I know regularly drink and drive and make no attempt to hide it.As a thing to do its just not taboo and really hasnt reduced much despite all the checkpoints and publicity :(
    Well, you must live in a different world to me, because for people I know I'd say it's about 5% (if even that), and VERY taboo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭whippet

i live rural enough and it is well accepted locally (of those who frequent the pub) that a 'couple' of pints is alright to drive home .... its just a state of mind and as most in the pub will do it; it becomes a herd like mentality.

If I lost my license I would loose my job .. so I am the opposite end of the scale .. if I do go out drinking I will make sure I don't have to drive anywhere the following day - just couldn't risk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Funnily enough, we run a checkpoint & speed van page for all provinces in ireland. This is one checkpoint notification we refuse to post.

Drink driving cost's lives, and if your going try avoid a checkpoint with drink on you, we don't want a part to play in that!

But do you give uninsured drivers a heads up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭whippet

I reckon I have been breathalyzed about 20 times.

A couple of times on a sunday morning between 9am and 10am and a good few times in the early hours of a sunday / saturday morning. The very odd time late evening.

I was probably a target as I played football every weekend and wouldn't be drinking but often would go out and have a few lads in the car with me on the way home .. or a full car heading to a match early on a sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,141 ✭✭✭✭GBX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

GBX wrote: »

At 130mph I'm surprised he stopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

No insurance and a good head start,

If its a quattro I'd take my chances tbh :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Looks like one of the Insignias in the picture so should actually be able to keep up.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

flazio wrote: »
    Looks like one of the Insignias in the picture so should actually be able to keep up.

As long as there's no corners :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

Tigger wrote: »
    At 130mph I'm surprised he stopped

That brings me back many years , bring her out to the Nass road to she what she'll do top end .

tossy wrote: »
    As long as there's no corners :D

Wife has an Insignia SRi, the thing sticks to the road like a go-kart on bends and corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Wife has an Insignia SRi, the thing sticks to the road like a go-kart on bends and corners.

Big change to the vectra which was one of the worst handling cars I ever drove.

Funny how perception differs, I drove a sig a few weeks ago - think it's Sri spec anyway - factory lowered with 18s, awful yoke -, it had both power on and lift off understeer, On continental tyres too so wasn't the rubber at fault..

Insignia vs a tt quattro on backroads? they wouldn't have a hope in hell of staying with the audi.

Big change to the vectra which was one of the worst handling cars I ever drove.

We had one of those too, standard version, was even yucky inside.

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Funny how perception differs, I drove a sig a few weeks ago - think it's Sri spec anyway - factory lowered with 18s, awful yoke -, it had both power on and lift off understeer, On continental tyres too so wasn't the rubber at fault..

Insignia vs a tt quattro on backroads? they wouldn't have a hope in hell of staying with the audi.

Might have been the thing behind the steering wheel.

Anyway, nobody claimed they're a match on back roads.

Might have been the thing behind the steering wheel.

Geez sorry did I strike a nerve? My post was not at all intended to upset.

But ill bite anyway, The thing behind the wheel does alright generally, he's no Ari Vatanen but knows the difference between a go kart and a container ship, the insignia being the latter.. in his opinion of course.

Relax, I was taking the piss. But they don't handle poorly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Cheensbo wrote: »
    the difference between a go kart and a container ship, the insignia being the latter.. in his opinion of course.
    they don't handle poorly.

Can't tell if the Insignias are any good in the twisty bits but ThisRegard is well able to chicane around things, that's for sure!