If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭Jesus.

bazz26 wrote: »
    You honestly see nothing wrong with driving around without insurance or driving a vehicle with no working rear lights?

Didn't say that. But I wouldn't have a feeling of "happiness" when I hear of Cops doing folk for it. I feel nowt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

bazz26 wrote: »
    You honestly see nothing wrong with driving around without insurance or driving a vehicle with no working rear lights?

He is jaysus so pretty much does what he likes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Well it only looks like the driver got a bollocking and let on. While it's unlikely they'd move some are unsecured to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭hi5

Insecure load? What, did the bales think they looked a bit fat?

They were insecure because they were unsecure;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Jesus. wrote: »
    Didn't say that. But I wouldn't have a feeling of "happiness" when I hear of Cops doing folk for it. I feel nowt.

I feel like maybe we are one step closer to getting more affordable insurance for all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Completely and utterly incorrect

Whats incorrect about that? Is there something that stops you from driving after failing a driving test? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭flazio

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/790454715377192961

Going by the colour of the back of the bus, this is probably a well known public coach service. I hope that driver gets a P45 soon as well.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

flazio wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/790454715377192961

Going by the colour of the back of the bus, this is probably a well known public coach service. I hope that driver gets a P45 soon as well.

P45? A bit harsh now surely? A warning fair enough but the sack is a bit much.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭J.pilkington

millington wrote: »
    Whats incorrect about that? Is there something that stops you from driving after failing a driving test? :confused:

Where did I say what you claim? Another poster stated that the only country in the world where you can drive home after failing a test is Ireland which is not true.

Here is my original post with the other posters quote;
    Only in Ireland could you drive to a driving test, fail it, and get back in your car and drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

P45? A bit harsh now surely? A warning fair enough but the sack is a bit much.

Depends, if there were passengers on board it would put them at unnecessary risk not to forget the other motorists and pedestrians, it's also a PR disaster for the company. Sending the driver to a driver safety training course might be fairest option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Completely and utterly incorrect[/QUOTE]

I don't know of any other country where you can fail a test, get back in the car and drive. Can you name another western country where that is lawful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I don't know of any other country where you can fail a test, get back in the car and drive. Can you name another western country where that is lawful?

Can we please drop this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

Where did I say what you claim? Another poster stated that the only country in the world where you can drive home after failing a test is Ireland which is not true.

Here is my original post with the other posters quote;

Ah yes you were stating that us being the only country to do this is incorrect, oops :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

6bb4c3aaadfdcc73d7a91a6416a337d8.png

I dont even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭honda boi

inforfun wrote: »

I dont even.

Jaysus what a gobs**t!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

The Limerick guards are catching banned/uninsured drivers by the dozen, fair play. Or are they all catching as many but nobody outside of dublin and limerick can work the twitter machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,682 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The Limerick guards are catching banned/uninsured drivers by the dozen, fair play. Or are they all catching as many but nobody outside of dublin and limerick can work the twitter machine?

Good question.

Well I wonder what way does the Garda Twitter account work?
    Do all the Traffic Corp have access to the account and have the ability to tweet? Or do they have to essentially send it all to one person in 'HQ' who then tweets?

A lot of the tweets are related to Limerick, Donegal and Kildare (and Dublin, but you would have to expect that given the population etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

Good question.

Well I wonder what way does the Garda Twitter account work?
    Do all the Traffic Corp have access to the account and have the ability to tweet? Or do they have to essentially send it all to one person in 'HQ' who then tweets?

A lot of the tweets are related to Limerick, Donegal and Kildare (and Dublin, but you would have to expect that given the population etc.)

The Garda Press Office man the Twitter account which is dependent on individual Guards forwarding any photos to them via their sergeant or inspector, it's not a requirement of the Guards to provide the information/photos so very much relies on co-operation, some units forward plenty to the office, others don't for many reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

inforfun wrote: »

I dont even.

Genius levels of stupidity!!! Fair doo's.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Jesus. wrote: »
    Really?

I think it's fantastic they're taking those irresponsible gob****es off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

At least the car had nct. Hope he gets help and if ever is driving again will stop and think of others and not just himself .

Should be banned for much longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

It didn't say it was a he... please let it be the "shove the car up your hole guard, I'll get another one" Limerick wan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

nice_guy80 wrote: »

And a 'Shnyack bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

'Shnyack box surely?

Who the fock eats a snackbox watching crimecall on a Monday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

D Trent wrote: »
    Who the fock eats a snackbox watching crimecall on a Monday night?

someone who just robbed supermacs looking to see if they were caught on camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Did anyone watch it? Some of them cars should be scrapped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,497 ✭✭✭ofcork

That guy who bought the BMW was crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,497 ✭✭✭ofcork

That guy who bought the BMW was crazy.