Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangland Shootings in Dublin MOD Warning in Post #1 (updated 29/05/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,881 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Davei141 wrote: »
    It was a boxing weigh-in at a hotel. That means boxers, trainers, promoters, hotel staff, hotel guests, kids, general public and then the aforementioned criminals would have been present. I'm sure they were all criminals though.

Exactly. A friend of mine works in the hotel all be it off today I am sure will get the low down later. It's a very reputable hotel with guests ranging from people on holiday as well as airline staff who stay there. Likely that they will lose out on business because of this because of a bunch of selfish knuckle dragging scummers can't sort out their own **** away from normal civilization and people trying to earn a living, enjoy a holiday or go about their own lawful business.

Boxing has always attracted a dubious scum element. Interesting to see some of the attitudes who are less concerned for anyone innocent caught up in the scary situation like staff, holiday makers but "ohhh **** they cancelled my night of entertainment, why isnt this still going ahead im so pissed off".. eejits all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

and then southerners look down their noses at ulsters violence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

Davei141 wrote: »
    Nice to know that this incident, which could have easily killed innocent people, including children, is so funny to boards.

Utterly baffling what's funny about a man being shot dead.
    Serious saddoes making jokes about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Whats the going rate for a hitman these days..a friend is asking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,150 ✭✭✭✭bnt

One guy quoted by the BBC says the Garda told him the weapons were AK-47s.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

warpdrive wrote: »
    Aren't independent supposed to be one of the more respected news outlets in Ireland?
    Any semblance of respectability was lost when their big headline immediately after a politician was killed in a car crash was a claim that he was in the car with a prostitute.

She was the interpreter and later won a large defamation suit against them.

Dirtbags at the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Why do Rte and tv3 have no problems naming most gangland families but seem to rarely namedrop the Kinehans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Utterly baffling what's funny about a man being shot dead.
    Serious saddoes making jokes about this.

When you live by the sword, you die by the sword. This is not a thread about an innocent man shot dead. So far all reports are of one of the targets getting hit. A target who was involved in gangland crime. It's a horrible experience for the innocent people who were present but by all means do not expect RIP wishes for thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Shocking video.

This should put paid to the barstoolers who promote the idea of gangland figures taking each other out.
    This shows the collateral damage of possible innocent victims an traumatised bystanders.
    That poor kid and many others won't sleep well for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Specialun wrote: »
    Whats the going rate for a hitman these days..a friend is asking

From reading a book about the Limerick gangs the going rate for them seemed to be €20,000. Probably depends on who you're working for and who's the intended target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

That video is too like what I saw and heard from the Paris attacks. Past time these families found themselves playing cards in military prison for 40 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Whats the noise at 16 seconds? Is it glass being broke or a gun being loaded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

and then southerners look down their noses at ulsters violence
    Would ye like some salt & vinegar for that chip on your shoulder Daniel? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,411 ✭✭✭emo72

i was told about this happening earlier on and was told ak47s too. someone who knew someone that was in there. i think this could be a watershed like veronica guerin. its a step too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

Why do Rte and tv3 have no problems naming most gangland families but seem to rarely namedrop the Kinehans?
    everyone knows the name,but knows nothing about them,compared to say the Dundons in Limerick who are the in sunday world every week.the Kinahans seem to be a level above and apparently have very good connections with crime gangs/families across Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭jelutong

Was it an elimination contest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Any confirmation on who was shot dead and who was wounded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

From reading a book about the Limerick gangs the going rate for them seemed to be €20,000. Probably depends on who you're working for and who's the intended target.
    whilst im sure there is professional hitmans out there its well known most hits are carried out by addicts in debt to the gangs.thats why most hits are messed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

whilst im sure there is professional hitmans out there its well known most hits are carried out by addicts in debt to the gangs.thats why most hits are messed up.

That's completely wrong tbh

One of them did 2 documentaries on Kinnehan and the lifestyle he leads in the costa del sol and other countries. They went to various properties he owns that have been repossessed, they showed all the bars and businesses he's involved in and they did profiles on all his known associates. They even went to the prison he was in until recently in the Netherlands (I think).

They finished off detailing his business plans for the future to build luxury resorts in places like Brazil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,392 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Usually released around 9pm or so, possibly just after the news at 9 on online media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Didn't hear names yet, but all 3 very well known to gardai so thankfully no innocent bystanders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Didn't hear names yet, but all 3 very well known to gardai so thankfully no innocent bystanders

David Byrne is dead and Liam Byrne and Sean McGovern and the 2 in hospital, that's what I've heard anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

donvito99 wrote: »

Thanks for posting. Not a pop but articles like that glorify the situation imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Were the Gardai monitoring this event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

another sunday world article predicting this from just a few days ago

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/gerry-hutch-drawn-into-feud-with-costa-mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭power101

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

donvito99 wrote: »

That's a well written piece. Take note indo.