Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Help identifying hit and run driver

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Zillah wrote: »
    lol ok I don't care how you spend your time, but you're not helping him any more than I am by imagining you can see numbers where there is just noise.

I went through his source video frame by frame to see if there is any point at which the license plate isn't destroyed by video compression, and other than the 03, there isn't. The image I linked was just to show how ridiculous it was to claim you can see four numbers in what is patently just compressed noise.

The zooming in isn't what destroyed the image, it is what exposed how destroyed the image is.

Please don't post if you are unwilling to provide help. There are plenty of other forums where you can go and troll.

Thanks for skipping my post too.

Honestly, the motors section is just gone to sh*te with people posting rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

5W30 wrote: »
    Your whole argument was based on an image that you heavily zoomed in on.

No that was one little example to show how ridiculous he was being by trying to guess four numbers from a tiny section of an image that is composed of nothing but compressed noise.
    But I guess you'll be in the After Hours section in a few hours complaining about employers who don't want inexperienced people with masters eh?

I've been employed in working with video and image compression since I graduated years ago, not that my background changes the facts of the matter.

But shure, lads, maybe I'm wrong, yeah? You keep squinting at blurred gibberish (or use a magnifying glass as one particularly bright star suggested earlier) and send me a PM when you've discovered the right CSI algorithms or wizards spell or whatever you think it is that you're doing here and I'll eat my hat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Please don't post if you are unwilling to provide help. There are plenty of other forums where you can go and troll.

Thanks for skipping my post too.

You looking to fill the empty mod spot with that post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

CSI rubbish? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,751 ✭✭✭✭josip

Focus lads, focus.
    We have a rogue Octy to track down.
    Ignore the "noise" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

colm_mcm wrote: »
    image.png
    image.png
    Head out window waving fist?

Yeah good spot, looks like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,897 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Colm I've gone through the vid over and over and I think it could well be a lhd irish reg car.
    I think you can almost see the steering wheel being on the left.
    5w can you see if any lhd octys were registered in Ireland for those years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,931 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Is there any chance that these are joyriders? If it is rhd and some passenger is waving out the window, it seems fairly deliberate to me, or at least not avoiding the collision at all.

What have the cops said to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

door open or huge gap ? dunno :

bfc8292c98d8adb7301dca596fb38be5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭markc2951

Get the best screenshots you can and put them in instagram and apply all different filters.it will bring up the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

But shure, lads, maybe I'm wrong, yeah? You keep squinting at blurred gibberish (or use a magnifying glass as one particularly bright star suggested earlier) and send me a PM when you've discovered the right CSI algorithms or wizards spell or whatever you think it is that you're doing here and I'll eat my hat.

A magnifying glass magnifies the actual (original image) to a virtual copy only bigger on the eyes lens - unlike zooming an already pixelated image using a computer programme which creates further noise - not keeping the image as close as possible to the clarity of the original. Not such a stupid idea to use a good quality magnifier and your own eyes.

But then some of us are just offering suggestions for the OP not trying to derail a very interesting thread -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

A **** it. I won't bother with this **** any more...

5W30 closed his account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

bear1 wrote: »
    5W30 closed his account?

Jesus. The man was doing great work on this thread.
    Too much bullsh1t going on here to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

bear1 wrote: »
    5W30 closed his account?

When you have lads waiting 154 post to contribute this, who can blame him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

He was doing great work, what did ye lot have to come in here cutting at people trying to help a guy out?
    Like if ye didn't agree with it just leave it. Now we've lost a decent chap on the forum to your crap!

Well done to the posters who contributed sweet f all to the thread but it's downfall.
    I was doing well with him last night trying to narrow it down and next thing you know, you've got 2/3 posters coming into the thread bringing 0 help with them except smart arse comments and complete bolloxology.
    Sorry OP, but maybe we can still keep the thread going with help from others to get to the bottom of the half mising plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Psychosis

Not like this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Hi, I used to do a bit of this type of work trying to identify people from video.

i am just wondering is the native footage from the camera 25P or is it interlaced?

If it is interlaced then in each frame there are actually two distinct frames(fields), the frames need to be deinterlaced to get the sharpest image, you will get two fields from each frame which are slightly different from each other, so from a 1 second video you should have 50 frames. I often has severe problems getting a sharp image before deinterlacing.

I understand that some of you may have already tried this, but its worth a shot if you haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Hi, I used to do a bit of this type of work trying to identify people from video.

i am just wondering is the native footage from the camera 25P or is it interlaced?

If it is interlaced then in each frame there are actually two distinct frames(fields), the frames need to be deinterlaced to get the sharpest image, you will get two fields from each frame which are slightly different from each other, so from a 1 second video you should have 50 frames. I often has severe problems getting a sharp image before deinterlacing.

I understand that some of you may have already tried this, but its worth a shot if you haven't.

I'm getting the impression I might not be welcome here after recent dramatic developments but I can actually give a decent answer to this:
    If the footage was not being deinterlaced properly you would see a very specific type of visual artefact. Like this:
    XxUJwsZ.jpg

That's a pretty extreme example, but those horizontal lines are the classic sign of poorly deinterlaced footage. We don't see anything like that in the source footage so I would say it was shot progressive. The low resolution and high compression are the problem.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Is there any chance that these are joyriders? If it is rhd and some passenger is waving out the window, it seems fairly deliberate to me, or at least not avoiding the collision at all.

Yeah very unusual, nobody driving normally would have a passengers head out the window like this. def seems like joyriders given the driving off as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Cabaal wrote: »
    Yeah very unusual, nobody driving normally would have a passengers head out the window like this. def seems like joyriders given the driving off as well

Still if he identified the reg he'd be entitled to claim via MIBI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

I'm getting the impression I might not be welcome here after recent dramatic developments but I can actually give a decent answer to this:
    If the footage was not being deinterlaced properly you would see a very specific type of visual artefact. Like this:
    XxUJwsZ.jpg

That's a pretty extreme example, but those horizontal lines are the classic sign of poorly deinterlaced footage. We don't see anything like that in the source footage so I would say it was shot progressive. The low resolution and high compression are the problem.

It also sort of depends on the shutter speed, that looks like a pretty slow shutter speed shot combined with a fast moving object, the two fields are scanned at slightly different times and then combined, hence the blur. If you separated( deinterlaced) that frame then you have two much sharper fields.

I will look again the footage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

OP, sorry to hear about what happened to you, your in such a **** situation unfortunately.

The best advice I could give for you is to get in contact with Santry garda station, which I believe has a traffic unit (I do assume that you have obviously done this).

Give them the footage in its original state and ask see if they are willing to analyse it. Explain they you think it's a 03 reg but possibly a 05 or 08 and that its either a Carlow or Cavan reg. Any more then that is just speculation. ( Again I do assume you have done this)

I also noticed a glimpse of green/blue as well from his door when he hit you but at night it is quite hard to tell the difference.

It's a pity you didn't chase after him however I can fully understand that you thought your bumper was hanging off and you where probably shocked as to what just happened.

Hope this gets sorted for you soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,955 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

OP, sorry to hear about what happened to you, your in such a **** situation unfortunately.

The best advice I could give for you is to get in contact with Santry garda station, which I believe has a traffic unit (I do assume that you have obviously done this).

Give them the footage in its original state and ask see if they are willing to analyse it. Explain they you think it's a 03 reg but possibly a 05 or 08 and that its either a Carlow or Cavan reg. Any more then that is just speculation. ( Again I do assume you have done this)

I also noticed a glimpse of green/blue as well from his door when he hit you but at night it is quite hard to tell the difference.

It's a pity you didn't chase after him however I can fully understand that you thought your bumper was hanging off and you where probably shocked as to what just happened.

Hope this gets sorted for you soon.

Chasing another car on a motorway or any other roadway could lead to a bad accident and loss of life. Not to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Chasing another car on a motorway or any other roadway could lead to a bad accident and loss of life. Not to be done.

I didnt mean literly chase him. Even getting up behind him to get a proper look of the reg would have been a help. But this thread is not about what the op did or didn't do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

Some posters here really need to think a lot more before posting the childish, smarty-pants, unhelpful and sometimes plain rude posts that are unfortunately far too common in this forum and that have driven a decent poster to closing their account. This needs to stop! In the meantime some posters need to go back to the baby steps and should read this: How to Be a Good Poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Ginger83

hi any further luck on this?

Was thinking that myself recently, then I saw the thread had been reopened so I thought maybe he had asked the mods to allow him to post something.
    I'll pop him a PM to let him know it's been reopened.