Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Help identifying hit and run driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,318 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

the colour is blue-grey and would be down on the logbook as grey.

trying to post this for about 15 mins. internet fecked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

colm_mcm wrote: »
    the colour is blue-grey and would be down on the logbook as grey.

trying to post this for about 15 mins. internet fecked

Looks like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Just wanna say 'you guys' are fantastic..
    I wont be online now for at least an hour, I have a funny feeling the original footage which I will have soon on Google Drive will not be much of an addition!? But we'll give it a go. Thank You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Just wanna say 'you guys' are fantastic..
    I wont be online now for at least an hour, I have a funny feeling the original footage which I will have soon on Google Drive will not be much of an addition!? But we'll give it a go. Thank You.

The fact that we have narrowed it down to 02-CW-2XXX means we only have to identify one more number to narrow it down to the single car hopefully. Every pixel helps at this stage :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Ah sorry, it used to show you the tax expiry

No you are right, it usually does but for the odd car the info is not there.

A VLC recording is no help.

You need to upload the file straight from your SD card so that there is no quality loss.

A VLC recording will lose quality.

5W30 wrote: »
    A VLC recording is no help.

You need to upload the file straight from your SD card so that there is no quality loss.

A VLC recording will lose quality.

ok, I'll do that now.. It's a 10 min file so bear with me.. Remind me to reduce my 'loops' to 3 min segments, this upload from Sd card is taking forever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Has anyone got a magnifying glass? Rather than blowing up the image and further pixelating it - perhaps a good magnifier on a small screen might shed some light on identification.

Or am I going back even further than Columbo in my Sherlock ways? ;)

Well done to others on their narrowing down techniques and OP I hope you find them - cr*p thing to do on their part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Pretzill wrote: »

Or am I going back even further than Columbo in my Sherlock ways? ;)

bit of Eulerian n friends craic now :)

https://lambda.qrilab.com/site/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭Nichard Dixon

This scenario, some technology dashcam identifying car and websites being used to check reg, is but an interim stage in technology. One day the car will shop the driver.
    http://www.zdnet.com/article/car-calls-911-after-alleged-hit-and-run-driver-arrested/

Ok here is original, not much better I'm afraid,, Sorry.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_YFLwZJ798kWS03ODE1M3lxVWM/view?usp=sharing

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Just downloaded original video and I know ye all have said 02, but the first frame I can see of the number looks like a clear 03 to me.

371014.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

delly wrote: »
    Just downloaded original video and I know ye all have said 02, but the first frame I can see of the number looks like a clear 03 to me.

371014.png

Thats a definite 3 alright.

Yes that's what we 'thought' 03... Nearly for sure!?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

def a 03, no doubt about that,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Even removing camera shake and increasing brightness and sharpness I can't get a single clear digit from the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just a reminder, this thread is not for people to discuss roundabouts and their usage.

There are a total of 2 Octavias with the reg 03CW2xxx matching the colour.

03CW2105: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    03CW2188: OCTAVIA (SILVER)

Given that you have blue paint marks on your car and as colm_mcm pointed out that the light blue Octavias are registered as GREY, I wonder if it's the first one?

What colour is your own car OP?

I don't think we will get any more detail from that footage. Maybe someone should post the clip in the Photography section? They may have better ideas in making the snapshots clearer because I've tried everything I know in Photoshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

It's definitely not 03 RN no? I just went past Webb Motors on South Circular road with an 03 RN mk1 octavia in a light blue-ish sort of colour. it was parked parallel with the window, the passanger side right up against it.

It's not for sale on the website so it's probably in being repaired/serviced?

It's definitely not 03 RN no? I just went past Webb Motors on South Circular road with an 03 RN mk1 octavia in a light blue-ish sort of colour. it was parked parallel with the window, the passanger side right up against it.

It's not for sale on the website so it's probably in being repaired/serviced?

Looks like a C, not an R to me.

lUHVkQQ.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭NeVeR

If we only had something like this !!
    just-csi-and-those-awesome-cameras_o_555103.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

LQUN5JC.jpg

That's the closest I could get to the last half of the plate - Looks like 03 CW alright under the lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Yeah, 03-CW-3***?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

As a motion graphic designer it is stuff like that CSI scenario that makes my life a nightmare sometimes, its like some people dont get the idea that its fantasy and think we can really do stuff like that, I once had a person give me a photo of a guy face on and ask could I move the camera around to the back his head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Op, did you go back through previous footage to see if you had maybe passed the car earlier in your journey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

smash wrote: »
    Op, did you go back through previous footage to see if you had maybe passed the car earlier in your journey?

This. Check all previous footage on that journey, maybe you drove past a Mk1 Octavia ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,318 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Pretzill wrote: »
    LQUN5JC.jpg

That's the closest I could get to the last half of the plate - Looks like 03 CW alright under the lights.

last number looks like a 7

like 3757 or something.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    last number looks like a 7

That would indicate that the reg is in fact not 03CW2xxx then :o