Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help identifying hit and run driver

• 06-12-2015 5:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭

This is near on impossible, but if someone could help me with this reg I would really appreciate. Thank You in advance :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

This is near on impossible, but if someone could help me with this reg I would really appreciate. Thank You in advance :-)

sorry for the chat,

the best I can get from it is "08 cw ****"

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Also sorry for the chat - but if you're sure it's 08-CW 4 digits you'd stand a fairly good chance of finding the person with a will guard and someone IDing the make, model and colour of the car.

Could be my dodgy eyesight, but I'm getting an RN (roscommon) look from it?

carplate.png

Perhaps someone a bit better with their cars can ID the make/model.

As an aside, how come you didn't go after him? (you know you've a dash cam so you only needed to get up behind him to get the reg, not actually stop him?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

In the interest of helping out, it's almost definitely a Skoda Octavia. I'd guess a light green or grey. Reg is virtually impossible to make out, likely 02-04.

I'd wager its exactly LIKE this:

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/skoda/octavia/used-2003-skoda-octavia-glx-1-4-a-dublin-fpa-200814431956674300

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Agreed, definitely a Mk 1 Octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Didn't give chase because I thought my bumper might be hanging off, I didn't know what damage was done I was actually surprised the door opened.... Anyway thanks for all your help, at the end of the day it was the cheapest panel on the car that was hit, wing... And yes our first choice was older octavia...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Posts moved to a new thread.

This is not a thread for discussion on the OP's driving, only for identifying the vehicle.

OP, the raw footage from the camera is the best footage. Uploading to youtube results in compression and all sorts of nastiness, especially when the footage is poor.

What resolution is the cam recording at? 480p is what youtube uploaded, which seems lacking for a modern cam? Worth upgrading I'd say...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

looks like cn reg to me
    has it for chrome trim on the edge of the front door

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Has to be cctv in or around that area (M1/M50 junction?)
    You know the direction he went also, so maybe cctv down that way? Or back from where you both came from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

kceire wrote: »
    Has to be cctv in or around that area (M1/M50 junction?)
    You know the direction he went also, so maybe cctv down that way? Or back from where you both came from?

Up until recently anyway, they don't actually record. M1 may be different, but the M50 doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

That's the airport roundabout isn't it? Must be loads of cctv around there. Have you spoken to the Guards? They could also ask Eflow if they passed the M50.
    OP, can you upload that video in at least 720? I'm trying to go through it frame by frame and the best I can make out is 02-Cx-2xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Have you tried contacting Live Drive in Dublin City FM? They have access to all the traffic camera's, so may be able to check the feeds - if they record.

https://www.facebook.com/Livedrive/?fref=ts
    https://twitter.com/LiveDrive

What time / direction was it (difference between time on the name and the timestamp on the video)? Might be someone else on the site with dashcam footage going in similar direction who may pick up a silvery Mk1 Octavia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

you really need a higher resolution clip like 1080p but even then it maybe too motion blurred to read, if you can get the clip straight from your camera and onto a site like we transfer, then maybe I can enhance it.

In 2002 in CW there were only 3157 cars reg'd. So considering that the first number is probably a 2 then you'd have some job going through each reg.
    Tried OP to go through as many registrations as possible but nothing came up at least for Carlow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,750 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Most likely there is video coverage of it at the airport if that's where it was going. Also if they used the M50 toll it would be recorded their, whether they would give you access to all cars that went through within the previous half hour or so is unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Where's the "before" video? That car was beside you waiting at the lights.

Also, where is the thread discussing your driving? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

Out of interest OP, What brand is the dashcam?

Cheapo from Aldi or a dearer brand?

Where's the "before" video? That car was beside you waiting at the lights.

Also, where is the thread discussing your driving? :p

Very good point that, unless the video restarted the loop after a certain amount of time.
    OP go back through the history of the video and check to see if you can see the Skoda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

OP, is there any way you can upload the full video file to another site like DropBox or google drive that wont compress the video? There just isn't enough information there at 480P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Looks like 02-CW reg

79uhq7M.png

qEDn2hT.png

Would be good if you uploaded the raw footage somewhere. I could try extracting each frame where the number plate is visible, maybe there is a clearer looking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

We have checked before loops and can find nothing, the video time is 1hr ahead as I forgot to put it back... Also there was very little traffic at the lights before we got green, so seems he shot up from M1 and is not visible on any footage I have before the crash!... I will try to download the footage on one of those sites mentioned above.. Thanks again everybody for your input.

bear1 wrote: »
    In 2002 in CW there were only 3157 cars reg'd. So considering that the first number is probably a 2 then you'd have some job going through each reg.
    Tried OP to go through as many registrations as possible but nothing came up at least for Carlow.

Did some research.

These are the only registered Skoda Octavias in 2002, Carlow registration, number in the range from 2000 to 3000 which have the matching colour from the video.

02cw2032: OCTAVIA (SILVER)
    02cw2116: OCTAVIA (SILVER)
    02cw2147: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    02cw2607: OCTAVIA (BRONZE)
    02cw2687: OCTAVIA (SILVER)

OP, right now any little detail you can remember would help. Maybe those registrations will make you remember them somehow.

Did you notice anything significant? TDI badge? Elegance badge, whatever.

From the video it seems like the car is a standard silver one. Assuming the reg indeed starts with 02CW2 and the car is silver you only have 3 cars above.

If anyone has any ideas I can find more registrations with different criteria.

EDIT: The first registration above was transferred to a new owner on 29/10/2015. Maybe the driver bought the car and was uninsured? Worth investigating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Looking over the video over and over, I can't help it but think that the reg is 02cw2032, definitely seems really similar.

Funny that this particular reg also has transfer of ownership in the last 3 months too :o

OP, please upload the original footage if you can. Dropbox, Mega.nz, Google Drive, anything would be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Fair play dude, top notch detective work there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Y'all are scary sometimes...

I started the whole thing first :D :P
    I have checked a bit for Cavan also but it's harder. I reviewed the tape over and over and as I said at the beginning I would guess it's 02-CW-2xxx and im pretty certain one of the digits is a 3.
    As asked already, get as much of clear pic you can from the video and upload it here. I and the others can then continue the analysis

I started the whole thing first :D :P
    I have checked a bit for Cavan also but it's harder. I reviewed the tape over and over and as I said at the beginning I would guess it's 02-CW-2xxx and im pretty certain one of the digits is a 3.
    As asked already, get as much of clear pic you can from the video and upload it here. I and the others can then continue the analysis

02cn2181: OCTAVIA (SILVER)
    02cn2230: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    02cn2505: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    02cn2636: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    02cn2795: OCTAVIA (SILVER)
    02cn2943: OCTAVIA (GREY)
    02cn2957: OCTAVIA (SILVER)

These are all the Caevann reg Octavias that are silver in 2002.

Can you check DL too? Btw how are you checking that info?
    Also are you able to check if any of those are sw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I was wondering that too...

I built a little script to query the motor checker tools :pac:

What do you mean by SW?

Looking by the video though, I've no idea why you would think it's a DL reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

5W30 wrote: »

qEDn2hT.png

Just out of curiosity, if we could identify the car by means of elimination, would the above image prove "inconclusive" by an insurance co. or in court? Because the reg isn't 100% clear?

Whats to stop the offending car getting a new wing and denying all knowledge of being in the area at the time?

What a poxy situation to be in OP. Just goes to show that paying the extra for a good dash cam can really pay for itself in one incident. Hope you catch the pr*ck!

Op was any paint from the skoda left on your car? I'm wondering if I could also be a light blue.

There was no blue 02CW reg Octavias. One 02CN reg Octavia was blue though.
    NickDunne wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, if we could identify the car by means of elimination, would the above image prove "inconclusive" by an insurance co. or in court? Because the reg isn't 100% clear?

Whats to stop the offending car getting a new wing and denying all knowledge of being in the area at the time?

What a poxy situation to be in OP. Just goes to show that paying the extra for a good dash cam can really pay for itself in one incident. Hope you catch the pr*ck!

I guess if we get clear enough video footage that leaves only 1 car, there's nothing stopping the Gardai to have a look at the car at the registered address.

I don't think there has been enough time to repair the damage. I'd say it will be an expensive paint repair and chances are the owner won't bother fixing it until the New Year.

If the Gardai found the damaged car it would be obvious. If it's the wrong reg then: "Sorry Garda, I must have mixed the order" :pac:

I built a little script to query the motor checker tools :pac:

What do you mean by SW?

Looking by the video though, I've no idea why you would think it's a DL reg

SW - station wagon.
    DL popped into my mind probably after staring at it too long.
    What's the reg of the light blue Skoda?

SW - station wagon.
    DL popped into my mind probably after staring at it too long.
    What's the reg of the light blue Skoda?

I skipped the Combi Octavias, there were a few.

The blue one was 02cn2589. No idea of the shade though. It could be blue blue :pac:

NickDunne wrote: »

I think the new wing would have a different level of paint on it. Using a paint tool you might be able to determine that the level of paint is different than the rest if the car. Judging by where the skoda was hit id bet that the rear door may have gotten a knock.

I skipped the Combi Octavias, there were a few.

The blue one was 02cn2589.

And saloon/hatchbacks? That one is defo a saloon. If you filter it what shows up?

That year of Octavia doesn't come in a saloon.

They are either hatchback or estate although the hatchback looks a lot like a saloon :rolleyes:

EDIT: Still looking back at the Carlow registrations. That 02cw2032 reg appears to also has expired NCT since July 2015. Makes you wonder...

Judging by where the skoda was hit id bet that the rear door may have gotten a knock.

Spot on. Looks like the rear door took 99% of the knock. Now if only there was a way to get the address of a few 02 cn skodas. Any Guards reading, tis comin up to Christmas... :D

They are either hatchback or estate although the hatchback looks a lot like a saloon :rolleyes:

Jays like two colombos. Right, it would be interesting to see if any of those regs listed have valid tax... Any which are missing valid tax could also help point in the right direction.
    I did some more zooming options and its for sure a Carlow reg so id leave cavan alone for now which assumes the car is silver/grey and leaves us with 5/6 possible suspects.
    Other thing too, id be interested to know how many of those cws are registered to a Dublin address.

Jays like two colombos. Right, it would be interesting to see if any of those regs listed have valid tax... Any which are missing valid tax could also help point in the right direction.
    I did some more zooming options and its for sure a Carlow reg so id leave cavan alone for now which assumes the car is silver/grey and leaves us with 5/6 possible suspects.

See my previous post. 02cw2032 has expired NCT, transferred ownership last October.

Dunno about tax.

EDIT:
    Checked the CW reges, 2 have expired NCT:
    02cw2032: OCTAVIA (SILVER)
    02cw2116: OCTAVIA (SILVER)

See my previous post. 02cw2032 has expired NCT, transferred ownership last October.

Dunno about tax.

I'm on the phone at the moment so I cant confirm but doesn't the motortax.ie website show if a car isn't taxed? The arrears owed I think it is.

Pretty sure it isn't 2116.

I'm on the phone at the moment so I cant confirm but doesn't the motortax.ie website show if a car isn't taxed? The arrears owed I think it is.

Nope, can't see tax expiry.

Op... I've an idea. Take all those regs for cw and also cn and go to the eflow website and select that you want to pay a toll. Insert the date this happened and see if any come back as having travelled the m50 at that time.

Maybe I'm reading too much into this but you'd have to question why the driver came off at that exit but headed straight for the entrance straight back onto the m1, definitely lost. Surely a Cavan driver would know the airport exit if they were definitely heading for the airport. Whereas a Carlow driver may have misjudged and came of an exit too early for the m50...

This is all assuming the car is registered to its native address but would definitely point towards a CW address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭bilbot79

Op... I've an idea. Take all those regs for cw and also cn and go to the eflow website and select that you want to pay a toll. Insert the date this happened and see if any come back as having travelled the m50 at that time.

It would need to have gone all the way to the n4 exit though. It may not have

Won't work. eFlow allows you to pay even if you didn't drive through...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

EDIT: Still looking back at the Carlow registrations. That 02cw2032 reg appears to also has expired NCT since July 2015. Makes you wonder...

The Octavia hatchbacks of that era are actually fastbacks so yeah would look kinda like a saloon. Interested in the tool you put together. Good job! :cool: