Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Help identifying hit and run driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Does the car have body coloured strips on the side? Or the strips removed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,318 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Think it's just standard strips, it does appear to have aftermarket alloys on it though.

Psychosis wrote: »
    I think that car is blue for sure.

If you look at OP's headlights just as he hits you can see its a dark colour.

http://imgur.com/Y5mIlLU

Also the blue paint on the bumper OP posted, looks to me like

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C5%A0koda_Octavia#/media/File:Skoda_Octavia.JPG

Id say it's the lighter colour blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Anyone that thinks they can make out more than a 0 in that video is letting their imagination run away with itself. There might be a 3, a 5, or an 8 after the 0, it's impossible to tell. Everything else is pixel mush from which no useful information can be extracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

smash wrote:
    Yea, I don't really buy that. The person didn't stop because it's just the kind of person they are. Not because they had no NCT.

What if , maybe , just maybe, the person ran because they panicked in the spur of the moment and didn't know to react.

Probably some woman that got scared and didn't know what to do or how to react.

That being said, driving on was definitely not the right thing to do but most people seem to be jumping the gun assuming they had no NCT /Tax/Insurance or just ran because of the type of person they are implying the are some scumbag or something.

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,955 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Good thread lads. Great to follow.
    I might start an accident investigation unit.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    last number looks like a 7

like 3757 or something.

This is why witness testimony is so worthless. Where on earth do you think you're getting these numbers? Here is the license plate from that image, isolated and zoomed in:

reglol.jpg

There's nothing there. Image compression has turned it into mush. You may as well tell me that you see the face of Jesus in the license plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Zillah wrote: »
    This is why witness testimony is so worthless. Where on earth do you think you're getting these numbers? Here is the license plate from that image, isolated and zoomed in:

reglol.jpg

There's nothing there. Image compression has turned it into mush. You may as well tell me that you see the face of Jesus in the license plate.

I'm just sticking my head in here now and again to see what the next step is when a (guessed) reg number is agreed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

reglol.jpg

Yeah but zoom in on anything that isn't particularly clear to begin with and you'll get mush - Zoom in on the overhead signs and you won't be able to read them anymore - it's a mixture of catching the reg under the lights just for two seperate frames - (Just as the car is pulling away from Op's you can see the first two numbers caught on op's headlight I presume, and then further on under the street lights you can make out the two letters)- Zooming in will not enhance it further - It's the distance and the light - at the opening of the video we can clearly make out the reg plates of the car in front and to the side of the OP, they are well lit by the lights from the cars behind them, they are stationary and there are more streetlights.

I don't know OP how you would go about doing anything about this, even if you had gotten a clear image of the reg plate - Did you contact the gaurds?

3088 seems to be the highest reg number (maybe apart from much higher numbers for imports)
    So if 3 is the first number, then it can only be a 0 after that, if I'm right.

Now Ive checked 3007,17,27,37,47,57,67,77 and they're not a skoda, so it's either not a 7 or not a 3 at reg start

The only number it can start with for 03cw is 1 2 3 or 5 (import)

So if it is a 3 to start with, it's 30XX and the last number isn't 7

Done the same with 9 and if it's 30 then it's not 9 at the end.
    Same with 0
    Same with 9
    Same with 8
    Same with 7
    Same with 6
    Same with 5
    Same with 4
    Same with 3
    Same with 2
    Same with 1
    (Yeah I'm bored)

Conclusion : it can't be 30xx

Pretzill wrote: »
    Zoom in on the overhead signs and you won't be able to read them anymore

If you zoom in on something that is clear it will stay clear. If you zoom in on something that is illegible it will stay illegible.

The license plate is illegible. I isolated and zoomed in on it to force people to confront the fact that it is illegible, because while not zoomed in, for some reason, they are incapable of accepting that they are looking at random noise and just make something up.

The pixels are mush whether you're zoomed in or not. You are kidding yourself.

But sure, fine, ignore me and the clear demonstration I just did above. I see the face of Mary mother of Jesus and she says we should all stop touching ourselves. I'll forward it on to the Pope so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Is there not traffic cameras on the M1/M50 to help with this.

why not go on 1 of those radio shows, Joe Duffy,etc, explain your story and have the public keep an eye out for the car, cant be many with side damage to a specific area on a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Did OP upload HD video yet?

We got the original, it's no better than the Youtube link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,897 ✭✭✭✭bear1

3088 seems to be the highest reg number (maybe apart from much higher numbers for imports)
    So if 3 is the first number, then it can only be a 0 after that, if I'm right.

Now Ive checked 3007,17,27,37,47,57,67,77 and they're not a skoda, so it's either not a 7 or not a 3 at reg start

The only number it can start with for 03cw is 1 2 3 or 5 (import)

So if it is a 3 to start with, it's 30XX and the last number isn't 7

Done the same with 9 and if it's 30 then it's not 9 at the end.

Same with 5

(Yeah I'm bored)

Funny, I did the exact same thing as you... I was bored too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

If you zoom in on something that is clear it will stay clear. If you zoom in on something that is illegible it will stay illegible.

Huh? If you zoom in on the rubbish you're spouting it will stay rubbish. There are two frames (out of thousands BTW) where you can decipher the first four digits between them - zooming in on the grainy image will never enhance them - it's not CSI -
    Zooming in on 18k image will further pixelate it - I don't know what you're trying to prove.

There is a b&w sharpened image a few pages back where you can clearly see it's a 03 no need to zoom in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The license plate is illegible. I isolated and zoomed in on it to force people to confront the fact that it is illegible, because while not zoomed in, for some reason, they are incapable of accepting that they are looking at random noise and just make something up.

But sure, fine, ignore me and the clear demonstration I just did above. I see the face of Mary mother of Jesus and she says we should all stop touching ourselves. I'll forward it on to the Pope so.

Have you the Octavia straight yet?

reglol.jpg

To be honest, we have been able to make some ground with what we've been given.
    Zooming into a crappy 1 pixel image will obviously show the square root of jack **** but if you play with it and go step by step then you can start to make out some digits.
    Considering what we've been given to play with I think we've done alright getting that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

We got the original, it's no better than the Youtube link.

But the 03 is pretty damn clear. Certainly rules out it being a 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Please study a graphic design course before you come here spouting rubbish.

Why are you posting in this thread if you have nothing to offer?

bear1 wrote: »
    Considering what we've been given to play with I think we've done alright getting that far.

Yiz are like a bunch of people standing around a locked safe trying to guess what is inside. An apple? A gun? A priceless painting stolen by the Nazis and smuggled out of Belgium in 1942!? We're just working with what we have! I'm not saying don't help the guy, I'm just saying that you can't make out the license plate in that image beyond there being a 0 at the start, so don't waste your time.
    Pretzill wrote: »
    There is a b&w sharpened image a few pages back where you can clearly see it's a 03 no need to zoom in.

Yup, and I already posted saying that in that image, which is when the reg is much closer to the camera, you can make out a 0 and what is probably a 3, but could be a 5 or an 8 either, depending on how much the compression has warped it. The rest of the license plate is not visible.
    5W30 wrote: »
    Please study a graphic design course before you come here spouting rubbish.

I'm a media professional with a masters in the field, I know exactly what I'm talking about. If the image contained the data that we were looking for this conversation would have ended on page 1 (or when we got our hands on the original footage, if it was any better, which it isn't).

We are at least trying and no acting like a smart ass.
    You are saying we are wasting our time, but it is our time to waste. On the other hand you are also wasting your time by posting in this thread. Unless you also have time to waste.
    And no offence but I somehow doubt what your field is if all you did was zoom in on a picture.
    Cop on.

Lads, do ye se a fella sticking his head out the window just after the impact 00:40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

I'm a media professional with a masters in the field, I know exactly what I'm talking about. If the image contained the data that we were looking for this conversation would have ended on page 1 (or when we got our hands on the original footage, if it was any better, which it isn't).

Ah so you're good at waffling having a masters, cool.
    If you zoom in on something that is clear it will stay clear.

Not a chance you could get a diploma in media, never mind a masters with your statement ^.

Your whole argument was based on an image that you heavily zoomed in on. If you zoom an image above its actual size there are no more pixels in the image to have accurate data. The computer uses a mathematical algorithm to increase the image size which is inaccurate which makes a clear image look bad once it is zoomed in.

If you zoom out of an image, e.g display a small image at even smaller size it will look clear. So no wonder your image is dirt since you increased its size.

But I guess you'll be in the After Hours section in a few hours complaining about employers who don't want inexperienced people with masters eh?

As an experiment, open this thread on your mobile phone. You will see that all the screenshots of registrations look clearer than on your desktop. Explain this to me.

Lads, do ye se a fella sticking his head out the window just after the impact 00:40

I cant. Zillah could ya zoom into passengers side there.

Could even be a lhd car.
    Will post a screenshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,815 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Yiz are like a bunch of people standing around a locked safe trying to guess what is inside. An apple? A gun? A priceless painting stolen by the Nazis and smuggled out of Belgium in 1942!? We're just working with what we have! I'm not saying don't help the guy, I'm just saying that you can't make out the license plate in that image beyond there being a 0 at the start, so don't waste your time.

Yup, and I already posted saying that in that image, which is when the reg is much closer to the camera, you can make out a 0 and what is probably a 3, but could be a 5 or an 8 either, depending on how much the compression has warped it. The rest of the license plate is not visible.

If you have a masters in the field, do you not think that it reflects poorly on your ability that you could produce nothing better than a zoomed up image of nothing when others have at least used basic tools to do frame by frame analysis etc.
    The fact that somebody produced an image showing the 03 or possibly although unlikely a 05 shows that they had far more ability in manipulation the image than yourself.

Could even be a lhd car.
    Will post a screenshot

image.png
    image.png
    Head out window waving fist?

bear1 wrote: »
    We are at least trying and no acting like a smart ass.
    You are saying we are wasting our time, but it is our time to waste. On the other hand you are also wasting your time by posting in this thread. Unless you also have time to waste.

lol ok I don't care how you spend your time, but you're not helping him any more than I am by imagining you can see numbers where there is just noise.
    And no offence but I somehow doubt what your field is if all you did was zoom in on a picture.

I went through his source video frame by frame to see if there is any point at which the license plate isn't destroyed by video compression, and other than the 03, there isn't. The image I linked was just to show how ridiculous it was to claim you can see four numbers in what is patently just compressed noise.

The zooming in isn't what destroyed the image, it is what exposed how destroyed the image is.