Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Better late than never

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Murph_D wrote: »
    Excellent, another one on the No. 21 train.

Excellent. There is enough room for everyone so no pushing on the Platform.
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Choo Choo!

Denis_b no pressure but you're the bookies favourite :D

Must get Yaboya to revisit the form and see what the experts have to say now that declarations are coming to a close :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,427 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Must get Yaboya to revisit the form and see what the experts have to say now that declarations are coming to a close :D

As long as he gives me the handicap I deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

denis b wrote: »
    and back.....

Essentially had a 2 week enforced break with something or other!!! Did...

Monday
    45 mins Easy Run

Tuesday
    30 mins easy and 6x100m strides

and feeling as though I have recovered well enough.

Somebody suggested that a few boardsies who are close to breaking 21 mins for 5km should support (have a shoot out) each other in a Parkrun this saturday to try and get under 21 mins. Will be there.

It's going to be an exciting park run on Saturday !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Gulp!!!

Rest day today. Looking after the ould engine for Saturday. More Rolls Royce than Ferrari but looking forward to the final dash down the avenue. At least its wide enough for overtaking without being taken out of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Gulp!!!

Rest day today. Looking after the ould engine for Saturday. More Rolls Royce than Ferrari but looking forward to the final dash down the avenue. At least its wide enough for overtaking without being taken out of it!

Over taking, confident, good to see.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,427 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Gulp!!!

You haven't seen BG's cross-country elbow technique.

The night before and I need some inspiration. Will study my previous pb splits and try to balance out the run this time. Have to manage the first km a little better ( too fast last time) and continue to push a little stronger through the middle section ( a noticeable dip last time). Happy with the last 2 km last time so lets see how this works.

I think that there are 5 of us going head to head to see who gets under 21 mins for 5 kms. Will be good practice at the very least.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Just follow FBOT01 and let him worry about the pacing :D

See you in the morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Best of luck Denis see you tomorrow

Third time lucky writing the race report!!!

Yes, yesterday was smackdown Saturday at the Parkrun 5km.

Felt nice and relaxed arriving in St. Annes on a dry and warm morning. Chatted with Kenny G, Mrs Mac, BG, FD and Aquinn before heading off and getting in some strides. The 5km pb stood at 21 mins flat (Dec 2014) but I reckoned anything even remotely close to that would constitute a pretty good time for me. Its probably my best, and only pb that I have previously worked at with a dedicated programme. I had given it everything last time around.

I lined up behind FBOT01/Yaboya and dared to crouch over for a fast standing start. First km at 4.16 and next at 4.17. As I type this I can already see where I was at mentally. Felt pretty ok and the pacing made a huge difference. The even pace over the first km will stay with me for future reference... steady, steady, steady. The world rushed past us and came back as quickly over that first km.

Mentally I seemed to disengage during the third km thinking that today was not the day and that a good time would be enough. A 4.30 split told me what I already knew and I could see Murph D and Kenny G pushing on with the pacers. I tried to focus on what I needed to do and just kept working at it as best I could. The legs and body were working hard but there just wasnt any more power there to deliver. It seemed as though I was running as fast as I could. The last .88km was covered in 3.45 to give me a running time of 21:28.

Was delighted to hear about the Pb's all round. Aquinn had lashed past me on the avenue and I think I shouted some encouragement but it was mostly a blur. I had seen KennyG's socks finishing closely followed by a damn good run by Murph D. Well done lads. Inspiring and so looking forward to 2016. Was quite pleased with my time and it gives me some indication of where I am at for training purposes. Onwards and upwards.

The 5km/10km range is now firmly in my sights for some dedicated training and I think I hear some soundings about another re-run of this weekends 5km in the offing. Just sayin..... my 5km training starts tomorrow morning!!!!!!!!!

[ with the pacers. I tried to focus on what I needed to do and just kept working at it as best I could. The legs and body were working hard but there just wasnt any more power there to deliver. It seemed as though I was running as fast as I could. The last .88km was covered in 3.45 to give
    The 5km/10km range is now firmly in my sights for some dedicated training and I think I hear some soundings about another re-run of this weekends 5km in the offing. Just sayin..... my 5km training starts tomorrow morning!!!!!!!!![/QUOTE]

Next time no doubt, you where bookies favourite, but think bit of illness took
    bit more out off yourself & BG last few weeks, so rest up, will be concentrating
    on Raheny 5 myself for January, so if interested would love to give it quieter
    go again after that, and think we will all be in better form by them:)

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    rest up, will be concentrating
    on Raheny 5 myself for January, so if interested would love to give it quieter
    go again after that, and think we will all be in better form by them:)

G

Count me in. Have entered Raheny as well and got out on an easy 45 mins run this morning. Looking forward to 2016 already!

Back on track again after the 5km smackdown.

Response:
    Now I know where I stand and will be ready to go again in 4 weeks time. Following the grads programme but will augment with one McMillan Fast 10 km Programme session a week.

Monday
    45 mins easy run. Hamstrings and glutes were tight afterwards. Plenty of post run stretching.

Tuesday
    1km w/up and 1.5 c/d with 8 x 45 sec hill repeats. Really enjoyed this change. Its several months since I tried this. Ran it well and can feel some strength there. Could have managed another one or two.

Work party Tues evening so Wednesday run will be a little later than usual!!

Sunday

13km LSR to take a look at the Raheny 5 miler course. Ran from home and passed the Birds Sculpture on the Coast before passing yer Easter Island Man and heading back home.

Monday
    5 km recovery run. Starting to get these paces right once again. The legs really felt yesterdays run and was glad to stop and chat to an another running acquaintance and swap stories.

Got the full range of stretching in. Not back to 100% yet and think the last few weeks, including marathon recovery, have set me back a little.

Tuesday

Was feeling like a restday but got inspired after reading a few training logs over lunch. Went out and got a 7.5 km tempo run in:

Splits as follows

1km 5.37min downhill and handy
    2 5.33 min warmed up nicely
    3 6.07 uphill but slower than expected
    4 5.18 gradual increases in speed and nice to be finding a little pace again
    5 4.50 moving well and breathing easy over level ground. Peaked at around 4:25 pace in middle of km
    6 4.54 moving back downhill and easing back
    7 5.34 gradually eased back to easy pace
    7.5 slow uphill to home.

Probably one of the stronger post marathon sessions I have done. Been labouring during December and felt it was time to start picking things up.

Wednesday
    Couple of hours rock climbing for some cross training today followed by stretching and core session. Those 2016 goals wont just happen on their own.

ytd 2,211.07 kms run

Nice run Denis, I'm sure your goals will all be hit happy new year.

Thursday

Cheers G. Wont be for the want of trying. Raring to go for 2016.

Last run of the year. A pleasant 7.5 km easy run at 5:52/km and HR of 142 to give a total of 2,218.57 kms for the year. Its been a good year and have learnt lots after overtraining for the Belfast Marathon in May. I was lucky to get away with being able to salvage something out of the year and have to put it down to the advice from DG and company on the DCM Novices thread.

Happy New Year one and all.

These are my numbers for 2016. Would welcome any feedback or comment.

Distance|2015|2016
    1k|-|3:34
    5k|21:28|20:40
    5M|-|35:00
    10k|47:02|43:50|
    10M|1:18:01|1:14:00|
    HM|1:45:11|1:39:59|
    M|3:54|3:39|

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi denis, those figures look sound and achievable. I found last year that it is nearly impossible to hit/train for every target. It's probably not desirable to do so either? Pick two or three as main targets and another 3-4 should fall in along the way as you build towards your main targets. Best of luck and wishing you a great running year in 2016 :)

Friday

A rest day.

Saturday

12.25 km easy run at 5.52/km. Its warm out there today. Headed along by the coast at Clontarf and around St. Annes before heading home. Its pretty wet out there and was glad to have the paths for this one. For the DCM I ran most of my runs on paths/roads but am trying to get back on grass for some of my miles each week.

Graduates plan starts again on Monday and will be augmenting with one more specialised 5/10km session a week. Will adjust if necessary. 3 weeks to go for the next 5km sub 21:00 attempt and 4 weeks to go for Raheny!!!!

Thanks DG and wish you all the best with your own goals for '16. 5km and 10km are primary targets for the first 4 months at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi denis, those figures look sound and achievable. I found last year that it is nearly impossible to hit/train for every target. It's probably not desirable to do so either? Pick two or three as main targets and another 3-4 should fall in along the way as you build towards your main targets. Best of luck and wishing you a great running year in 2016 :)

Last year i trained for 2 training cycles, 10k and marathon, in the 10k training cycle i got 2 5k PBs and a 10k PB and in the marathon cycle i got a half marathon PB. So as DG says pick 2 or 3 main targets and im the sure the rest of the targets will follow. Best of luck with your running in 2016

Cheers Jake. I would more than settle for that. Best of luck in 2016 and hope to put a name to a face at some stage!!

Monday
    6 hours hill walking in the Mournes in the lashing rain/sleet on what was forecast to be a goodish day. Could feel my achilles tightening up on the ascents so the legs got 5* treatment afterwards. Have ran (slogged it) in the old Anderson Mountain Marathon a few times but cant imagine the place will every dry out again.

Tuesday
    50 mins Easy run today, which I converted into a recovery run after yesterdays escapade. Legs managed it fine but it is easily the slowest run that I have done in years. Was happy to take the recovery miles in the circumstances as it was teeming down first thing this morning.

You deserve easy day after that walk, fair play.

Wednesday

A dry and calm morning. Was in bonus territory before I even started. Its my first real attempt at intervals and I had the watch pre-programmed even though it was always going to be difficult to see it with the darkness.

Got my 10 mins warm up done and fired off on my first interval. Heard a beep but kept going as I didnt think the 90 secs was up and I couldnt see the watch clearly. After another misfire with a rest period I copped what went wrong. First two intervals + rest were merged. Held back and got into sync again with the watch. Got to feel a sort of rhythm with the run and rest that will be beneficial again. Finished the session out and did 15 mins cool down.

8.45kms : 50:10 secs and 12 x90 secs at 5km finished with about 25 mins wup and cdown.

Reviewed the session at home on the pc and several of the intervals were not as fast as they should have been. Still, at least a start was made and there will be less to concentrate on next time. That can only help the pacing.

Thursday

50 mins Easy run and got through 8.3km at average of 6:03/km. Had washed the HRM strap and recorded a max HR of 205!!!!!! Must wash it again. Was quite happy that this was an easy run as the mileage is creeping up again and this will be the largest cumulative weekly total since early Oct before DCM taper. Increase is manageable and gradual.

Friday
    Rest day - although it feels like a permanent catch up with the world day.

Saturday

First serious session this year and was very much on my mind last night. Saw "The Hateful Eight" at the pics but the prospect of this run was more unsettling. A wee case of early season nerves.

2km warm up
    6:00 km uphill
    5:58 km uphill

and then the HM paced run for 5 km

4:46 km
    4:43 km
    4:37 km
    4:40 km
    4:43 km

and then a cooldown at

6:06 km
    5:35 (.7km - 6:05 km pace)

Grand total of 9km and average HR of 176!!!!!!!!. Readings for HR have been bonkers this week. That was a hard session but recovered very quickly.

Good run Denis, well done on pacing.

Sunday

90 minute lsr from Camden St out to UCD and around their cinder campus track before heading back into town. The old running track at UCD looks kinda sad and broken. Still the cinder circuit is a super facility and winds its way through trees and hills and the student accommodation. Passed an Ireland Rugby Team in training to boot.

6min/km so that was a 15km run.

Monday
    Badly needed rest day.

Tuesday
    Away in the hills for the day complete with first winter blizzard. 50 mins easy run accounted for.

Wednesday
    10.17 min w/up (6.30 km) and 10 min cool down (6:00/km) plus

5 x 4 min at 10 km pace with 3 min recoveries.

4.32 km
    4.23 km
    4.40 km
    4.39 km
    4.55 km

Pretty much in the desired range except for the last interval. Was judging pace completely by feel. Good effort made but was not crushed by the session. Still, I used every second of the last recovery before trotting off home on my cool down.

The last Xmas biscuit tin is nearly finished so looking forward to gains from post xmas weight loss!!!

Thursday

A proper icy start in places. Any higher ground on the loop required some concentration to get the least icy line. Mind ya it didn't seem to cause any bother to kids bmx'ing to school this morning.

Easy 55 min at about 6.08/km. Pretty much went by effort and as this is slower than most of my easy runs then I am figuring that there is residual tiredness there.

My P&D "Faster Road Racing" had arrived when I was out so today and tomorrows rest day are now accounted for.